125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V3 - $1950?, Gold rush brings windfalls and warnings

junhaussen
post Oct 19 2011, 11:24 AM

73 posts

there was some forumer mentioned before that Public bank GSA account online price spread is lower than what we saw from their public website...

Can anyone share about the spread. i Dun have Public Bank GSA account so i wanted to know the different.

Thanks smile.gif
Debuantu
post Oct 19 2011, 11:57 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Oct 19 2011, 09:53 AM)
No, I trade with a local broker in Singapore...
100 oz contract.....I usually don't hold my position overnight and never longer than a week...and put tight stops to limit my losses if the direction goes against me...
Contra trading hey?
hongchai888
post Oct 19 2011, 12:16 PM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Oct 19 2011, 09:53 AM)
No, I trade with a local broker in Singapore...
100 oz contract.....I usually don't hold my position overnight and never longer than a week...and put tight stops to limit my losses if the direction goes against me...
My heart cannot effort, heart attack. Too huge amount, if lose jump aeroplane
Jutawan
post Oct 19 2011, 12:24 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(lipton tea @ Oct 19 2011, 01:06 AM)
im thinking of buying physical gold from UOB bank...like Canadian Gold Maple Leaf, Australian Kangaroo, Gold Nugget, Swiss Kinebar,Swiss Pamp Gold and Singapore Lion Gold Coin in small quantities la of course....i have about RM5K to spare....just wondering....if i keep if for 3-5 years...my concern is it not being insured by PIDM.....dunno secure or not..

THIS IS A NON-PRINCIPAL PROTECTED PRODUCT. THE RETURNS ON THIS INVESTMENT ARE SUBJECT TO THE GOLD PRICE FLUCTUATION. THE RETURNS ON THIS INVESTMENT ARE UNCERTAIN AND CUSTOMER RISKS EARNING NO RETURNS AT ALL. THE CUSTOMER IS REMINDED THAT THIS PRODUCT IS NOT INSURED BY PERBADANAN INSURANS DEPOSIT (PIDM).

What do u guys think...
Every investment have pro and cons... if afraid of risk? Put your money under your pillow maa... put also got risk right? Kecurian... rumah terbakar.. dll..

Our life also have risk right? But it is better for calculated risk? Risk can be calculated? Do you know about it?
eXTaTine
post Oct 19 2011, 01:02 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Oct 19 2011, 12:16 PM)
My heart cannot effort, heart attack. Too huge amount, if lose jump aeroplane
Never trade more than you can afford to lose..that being said, you don't have to trade as large a volume as me, you can start with the mini contracts or trade on the spot markets, you can trade as low as 1oz..
personaforever6789
post Oct 19 2011, 01:41 PM

475 posts

juz pumped in some amount of gold in UOB biggrin.gif
mcdkfc
post Oct 19 2011, 02:12 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(iamtheone2020 @ Oct 19 2011, 01:41 PM)
juz pumped in some amount of gold in UOB biggrin.gif
good investment at the good time... gold price is low today...
SUSbuysell
post Oct 19 2011, 02:18 PM

592 posts

....speechless hmm.gif

This post has been edited by buysell: Oct 19 2011, 08:55 PM
mcdkfc
post Oct 19 2011, 02:53 PM

65 posts

be ready to top up... gold price dropped...
forty-40
post Oct 19 2011, 03:09 PM

24 posts

price is below RM170 now !!!
personaforever6789
post Oct 19 2011, 03:31 PM

475 posts

yup..time to buy n top up..
eXTaTine
post Oct 19 2011, 04:15 PM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

What will this news do for the Gold/Silver markets, especially with the large short positions that JP Morgan holds?

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/10/18/...E79H0P720111018

(Reuters) - The United States pushed through its toughest measures yet to curtail speculation in commodity markets in a tight vote on Tuesday, likely shifting the focus of a fierce four-year debate from the regulators to the courts.

In a measure decried by Wall Street and trading companies as a misguided political attempt to cap soaring oil and grain prices, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission voted 3-2 to approve "position limits" that will cap the number of futures and swaps contracts that any single trader can hold.

The rule, which was being modified until the last minute even after months of intense review, offers some relief for the industry, relenting on several contentious provisions, as expected.

But that will do little to temper frustration over a plan that could force banks like Morgan Stanley and traders including grains giant Cargill to scale back business, and could stanch the flow of financial capital into commodities.

The divisiveness was stark from the opening, making a legal challenge potentially more likely. That would be another hurdle for CFTC Chairman Gary Gensler, who is struggling against emboldened Republicans and a hostile Wall Street to put in place the rules required by recent financial reforms.

Swing vote Michael Dunn, a Democrat whose term has already expired, said he would follow the Dodd-Frank financial reform law but blasted the limits as a dangerous distraction from bigger issues. Dunn can remain through the end of 2012 until a replacement is confirmed by the Senate.

"Position limits are a sideshow that has unnecessarily diverted human and fiscal resources away from actions to prevent another financial crisis," Dunn said. "At worst the limits may harm the very markets they are intended to protect" by making prices more volatile and hedging more difficult.

The decision also failed to appease those who had called for tougher limits, such as British charity Oxfam and Senator Bernie Sanders, long a vocal proponent of tougher limits.

"The CFTC has moved a step forward, but much more has to be done and I intend to play an active role in that process," Sanders said in a statement.

CHALLENGE LOOMS

As expected, the commission's two Democrats, Dunn and Bart Chilton, voted with Gensler, while Republicans Jill Sommers and Scott O'Malia opposed the measure. O'Malia said the agency had overreached its mandate and echoed the industry's argument that there was no "empirical evidence" to substantiate the rule.

"We went beyond the statute" by doing things like narrowing the bona fide hedge exemption, Sommers told Reuters. "Those are the things that people can use for a legal challenge."

The CFTC has never faced a lawsuit over one of its rules, according to an agency spokesman.

A lack of proof that excessive speculation leads to high prices is at the heart of the issue. Without evidence of any damage wrought by failing to limit traders, it may be difficult to demonstrate the net benefit of the measure.

Dozens of academic, government and bank studies on the subject have differed on whether speculators -- in particular the institutional investors who have poured some $300 billion into commodity markets over the past decade -- influence prices or whether prices simply respond to market conditions.
marcusboy
post Oct 19 2011, 04:35 PM

93 posts

Hey guys, need advice. What do you all think about Panda gold 1 oz? Ok to buy? I know Panda silver is relatively sought after but what about Panda gold compared to maple, ASE or the buffalo?

bamkai
post Oct 19 2011, 08:09 PM

167 posts

drop drop drop!
chrischin
post Oct 19 2011, 09:19 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Oct 19 2011, 04:35 PM)
Hey guys, need advice. What do you all think about Panda gold 1 oz? Ok to buy? I know Panda silver is relatively sought after but what about Panda gold compared to maple, ASE or the buffalo?

Not sure if mine is an advice but just my thought.

An oz of gold is an oz of gold (similarly silver for that matter). I will go for the popular, easy to dispose and lowest premium. So i will go with maple, or aussie nugget or pamp gold - whichever that is sold with the lowest premium. But that is just my "investment" brain operating. For collection purposes, it may be different.

This post has been edited by chrischin: Oct 19 2011, 09:20 PM
mcdkfc
post Oct 20 2011, 09:03 AM

65 posts

today good time to buy... price drop below USD1630/oz
quackpack
post Oct 20 2011, 10:34 AM

327 posts

ahh awesome... 15xx mark is on sight!

captain I'm coming back onboard real soon!

nothingz
post Oct 20 2011, 11:27 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

now seems attractive to go in, any comment?

interested to buy from UOB. If i open GSA at UOB, i have to go personally for all the buy/sell transaction?
hongchai888
post Oct 20 2011, 11:38 AM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

Arghhhh will it up or down when Europe market open? If Europe market also down then we definitely can see RM 155 - 160 very soon.

Wait or not... or buy more now....hmmm

This post has been edited by hongchai888: Oct 20 2011, 11:38 AM
echoesian
post Oct 20 2011, 11:42 AM

3,294 posts

how is the PBB online spread?

125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.3830sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled