Restaurant Name: Iketeru
Dining Time: Dinner

Ika Shiokara @RM12.00++
Outlook: 3/5
Creativity: 4/5
Taste: 3/5
Price: 2/5
Overall: 3/5 - Sourish taste to trigger our appetizing mood. But I doubt it has to be worth that much for such a tiny bowl. I should say cup instead.

Chuka Salad @RM32.00++
Outlook: 4/5
Creativity: 3/5
Overall: 3/5 - May Lynne at last able to eat her favorite Tako! To me, it is just a simple salad which does not worth that much.

Suishio @RM225.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Requesting to change to fish only but has been declined because the waiter said their Sashimi Moriawase are all fixed by the chef. I think it is more like fixed by the restaurant themselves. So the waiter made me to get a more expensive range of Sashimi Moriawase. They have plenty of range which starts from RM168.00++ up to RM500.00++ with the same amount of kinds and number of pieces per kind. The difference is just the quality of the Sashimi. By choosing this Suishio, they make one of the Maguro to be grilled its skin to make it the additional one kind. As for overall taste for this Sashimi, I will say this is the worst ever that I have in such a prestigious restaurant. Because I ate one of the Maguro with a heavy fishy smell. Really spoiling my appetite. I thought they does not have enough Maguro meat and had to borrow from Sushi King.

Spider Roll Maki @RM40.00++
Taste: 4/5
Overall: 3/5 - This is the most gigantic Maki I ever seen. It stuff well with the ingredients in it with tiny layer of vinegar rice. Really delicious! As for the price, RM10.00++/ piece? Is it worth that much? I know I am inside Hilton Hotel but I feel like I am paying 90% on the hotel's name and 10% for the Maki Roll.

Foie Gras @RM105.00++
Taste: 1/5
Overall: 2/5 - Bigger than what I had at Kampachi but as for the taste I will say this is way way off the price which it is supposed to be. Usually a good goose liver should have able to melt in your mouth without the need of chewing it. But this one, you need to do some chewing works and with slightly over grilled taste. Really bad.

Hiyashi Chuka Ramen @RM45.00++
Overall: 3/5 - This is a cold Ramen and also my first time I try a cold Ramen. It is not a bad one too! The sauce brings sourish taste which is meant to mix together with all other ingredients in it like mixing the Yee Sang. We really did say some auspicious sentence wishing each other. Hahaha... If you do not like the sourish taste, you may put a little will do. As for the price, I can eat 2 cold soba with that price. Ridiculously overpriced!

Ambiance: 4/5
Service: 1/5
Food Serving Speed: Fast
Will I Revisit?: No the reason is just too long to explain here. You can read them if you want to in my full review link below.
Full Review: Iketeru

This post has been edited by RazorVista: May 28 2012, 10:43 AM
TSRazorVista
post May 28 2012, 09:57 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ May 28 2012, 03:07 PM)
thinking to go try Suki-ya at Paradigm Mall this coming weekend. ummm
Do it! and share it here fast!
TSRazorVista
post May 31 2012, 12:50 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Ishin Jap

The first Japanese restaurant that is using iPad 1 as their menu. Truly very high tech. All the food photos shown in this iPad are really attractive and mouth watering! Very cleverly done which work better than the old school menu which the color of the photos will fade away one day.

Deep-fried Ebi as our appetizer. Taste not bad but I am expecting something sourish which works best as an appertizer.

Sashimi Moriawase @RM62.00++
Price: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - The cheapest Sashimi Moriawase that I have ordered so far. Pretty thick and delicious too! About freshness, Ishin Jap never let me down even such a price. In this Sashimi Moriawase which is all fishes which are Tuna, Salmon, Amberjack, Yellowtail and Butterfish. 5 kinds with 3 pieces per kind. If you noticed, I really prefer to order all fish only in my Sashimi Moraiwase and Ishin Jap allowed us to make the change. I just dislike Ika, Ebi and Tako because they are pretty cheap stuff for me.

3 Taste Mini Chawanmushi @RM14.00++
Outlook: 5/5
Creativity: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - You just have to give them a lot of credit for making a simple chawanmushi to be this delicious and creative. The 3 tastes are from fish roe, sea urchin and crab roe. Because they are inside an egg shell so there is not much in it. I really do not wish to share this dish!

Unagi Yanagawa @RM42.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Usually we have Unagi Kabayaki which is in teppanyaki style but Ishin Jap making it different to soak the unagi in an egg mushroom gravy. Slightly salty because of the gravy but overall it taste good. Superb new experience in Japanese dining. However, I am pretty upset when they served so differently than what they have displayed in their iPad menu. In the iPad menu, it supposed to be in a mini pot and with a little stove below to keep it hot.

Taste: 5/5
Price: 3/5
Overall: 4/5 - They are having the Sakura season promo where they served their Inaniwa Udon in Sakura flavor. For your information, Sakura season in Japan is between April - June. At first, I am pretty reluctant to try it because the bad experience I have with the Mochi Sakura at Mochi Sweets. However, I convinced myself that as a food explorer I just need to try something different. So I tried and I am glad I did not do something regretful. It was really delicious. The special sauce comes along with it was so delicious and really comparable with the one at Xenri Japanese Restaurant.

Eat a cold noodle can never be this fun without this sauce.

Omu Rice @RM25.00++
Outlook: 2/5
Creativity: 2/5
Taste: 2/5
Price: 1/5
Overall: 1/5 - I always dream to try the Omu Rice which I have seen in the Japanese Drama series called Lunch no Joou or known as "Lunch Queen" which was aired since 2002. So when I saw them serving Omu Rice, I was delighted. I thought I can experience like what Yuko Takeuchi did but unfortunately is totally different. By the look of it is a disappointment and after tasting it, further disappointment. Too much MSG. Probably a mamak Nasi Pattaya is way better than this and it just cost RM5.00.

Service: 2/5
Food Serving Speed: Moderate
Will I Revisit?: No but recommended to others who is not Amex cardholder and also not very fussy about their service.
Full Review: Ishin Japanese Restaurant
TSRazorVista
post May 31 2012, 03:20 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ May 31 2012, 02:17 PM)
sakae sushi at sunway pyramid also using ipad for menu and order..
Sakae Sushi is fixed on each table. You can't hold one like this per pax
TSRazorVista
post Jun 3 2012, 12:56 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Zipangu Japanese Restaurant

Onigiri Shake @RM10.00++
Overall: 2/5 - I always wanted to have Onigiri as I watched too much of Japanese drama. However, not many restaurant served that. Luckily Zipangu does served them! However, the looks of it is not what I have seen in those drama. Haha...seems like Onigiri in the drama looks nicer. As for the taste, this Onigiri is quite big and full of cooked salmon meat inside. A person can easily full by just having this only.

Soft Shell Crab Temaki @RM20.00++
Overall: 2/5 - The soft shell crab was not bad even though it is a little over deep fried. This temaki has more ingredients in it than just their vinegar rice.

Foie Tougan @RM25.00
Price: 4/5
Overall: 3/5 - I wonder if this is a real foie gras because it is so cheap. Consider the cheapest I had so far and some more I am dining at Zipangu. After tasting it, yes...it has the foie gras taste but unbelievable cheap. The bottom of the foie gras is the winter melon.

Sashimi Moriawase @RM280.00 + 2 Fresh Oysters @RM6.00/each
Overall: 4/5 - As always, I ordered fish only and they customized to our needs. 7 different kinds of fishes with 4 pieces each. Even the most expensive Toro is included. If to compare with Kampachi, this Sashimi Moriawase is way way more worth it. About the fish freshness, I will say is tip top and I have no complain at all.

The fresh oyster is not in their menu. Specially ordered and they are so delicious. We wish we have ordered a dozen instead because they are so fresh. I can't taste any fishy smell in it.

Among all the fishes, I always dislike most is the Maguro (Tuna). I do not know why somehow they are not really tasty enough no matter which restaurant I have been until at Zipangu, I am sure Maguro is still a good fish to eat. Look at the way they cut the Maguro, It is holding each other without broken it no matter how we picked it up. This way of preparing the Maguro is the best! I really taste the sweetness of the Maguro meat in it.

Somen @RM35.00++
Overall: 2/5 - The somen is sticking each other and very hard to pick it up. It is not the usual Somen I used to eat. However, I have to give the credit to the sauce. The sauce contains alcohol in it and is the only restaurant so far I have taste alcohol in their sauce. Really unique and delicious. I should have order a Cha Soba instead.

No quail egg given like other Japanese restaurants but they have delicious mushrooms.

Gindara Kousou @RM60.00++
Overall: 3/5 - This is a fish meat which I prefer them to serve it earlier instead the last because the gravy is so sourish and it opens up our appetite again. We wished to have a Japanese rice to serve together with this dish.

Japanese Melon @RM120.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Since our appetite has been opened up again after the previous dish, so we have a dessert to finalize our day at Zipangu. Once again, we ordered something which is not in the menu which is their Japanese melon. This is the most Japanese melon I have come across. I thought Kampachi already scored the highest, who will think of a slice of Japanese melon can breach RM100 mark. Only crazy like me will wanna try so as you can see I did. Same melon same sweetness same delicious. Just overpriced. That's all. I rather choose Fukuya for their Japanese melon next time.

Service: 3/5
Food Serving Speed: Moderate
Will I Revisit?: Yes
Full Review: Zipangu
TSRazorVista
post Jun 3 2012, 11:09 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Jun 3 2012, 02:18 AM)
Butao Ramen @ hongkong

By far the best ramen i've ever had. Santouka would be on top of my list if it had bigger portion and less salty soup base. Didn't really bother trying Ippudo or other renowned ramen shops since Butao received better overall reviews. Really regretted not ordering the hard-boiled egg( because of the HKD15 price tag..was thinking, RM7 for an egg? u must be kidding me), because i saw every other table ordering it and it looks gorgeous.

David's Ramen @Hongkong

I doubt anyone has seen hardboiled eggs with yolks like this. Butao's looked way nicer. It was bright orange and pure creaminess.
Soup base is slightly milder than Butao's. So is the taste. Nonetheless a very good bowl of ramen. Really miss the egg.

Very nice share thumbup.gif

However, the egg you mentioned can be found at My Cookbook. You can find all kind of eggs at My Cookbook.
TSRazorVista
post Jun 4 2012, 10:49 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jun 4 2012, 12:56 PM)
Best Japanese restaurant in KL in my opinion right now would be

Ten Restaurant in Publika

http://tenrestaurantkl.blogspot.com/

It's a fine dining restaurant and it simply puts all others to shame, and yes - it is fairly expensive but you really do get what you pay for. Whether if its food quality or service. This place is top notch in every aspect possible. Price range from Rm80+ till the sky is the limit.

Ichirou Sushi in Isetan 1 Utama would be my next choice. This place serves authentic Japanese sushi, which is just like what I had in Japan when I was there on holiday this year. Again, this place is fairly pricy but certainly not as expensive as Ten. Price range from RM40+ per pax for the set. 

Probably share some pictures the next time.
You sound like been all others Japanese Restaurant, mate? Anyway, is a good recommendation. They just opened not long ago and got the award.
TSRazorVista
post Jun 5 2012, 12:59 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Jun 4 2012, 11:13 PM)
is japanese steambot lai geh, so-so la  laugh.gif
huh? u dunno ar?
TSRazorVista
post Jun 12 2012, 06:47 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jun 11 2012, 03:51 PM)
I've been to quite a few... including most of those that you write on your blog. Unfortunately, most Japanese restaurants here are quite a huge letdown. I think maybe I'm just picky when it comes to Japanese cuisine.

Ichiro sushi in 1U Isetan is one of the better places for sushi that I've been to. Prices are definitely above average but worth every bit of money for the quality of food.
Letdown? Y letdown? How they let you down? Tell us in more details
TSRazorVista
post Jun 26 2012, 10:25 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Kuriya Japanese Restaurant
Dining Time: Lunch

Sashimi Moriawase @RM68.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Only 5 kinds with 2 pieces each. As for the taste, they are fresh but... I do not find it tasty. Suyin had the same opinion as well. Is it what the movie said about knife skill? A good knife skill can bring out the real sashimi taste? Hmm...I wonder...

Soft Shell Crab Maki
Overall: 3/5 - The soft shell crab taste very good but I find it the rice is somehow taste like what my mom always cook. Not the Japanese rice that I have tried all along.

Beef Skewed
Overall: 3/5 - Suyin said their beef is their highlights so she ordered this. Unfortunately, she was totally let down by it. Seems like it does not happen what she have tired before previously.

Salmon Steak
Overall: 3/5 - If you can see the below picture there is a tiny layer of light brown sauce on top of the salmon. Seriously spoiling the taste of the sweet salmon meat.

A closer view

Soba Gozen
Overall: 2/5 - Not really remember the name of their soba. But it is their handmade soba which is one of their restaurant highlight as well. There is only one type of soba so most likely you will not miss it. However, the worst part is the sauce for the cold noodle. It is not the soba sauce but it is a normal soy sauce that we used to dip our sushi and sashimi! Terrible! It was so salty! Unbelievable for a restaurant like this serving such a sauce to their customers.

Unagi Chawanmushi @RM18.00++
Overall: 2/5 - This expensive chawanmushi just has that slice of unagi meat and others are all just steamed egg. The do not bother to put any extra ingredients in it. Very plain.

Service: 2/5
Recommended?: No
Full Review: Kuriya Japanese Restaurant
TSRazorVista
post Jun 26 2012, 06:40 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(LOLxx @ Jun 26 2012, 06:10 PM)
tenji @ soho kl closed liao, changed to shogun...
Wow...really? I thought they did pretty well? Now is the era of the Shogun huh? They have so many branches already
TSRazorVista
post Jun 27 2012, 11:42 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 27 2012, 10:49 AM)
That bad? The Singkapo outlets all very popular and award winning one woh.

Kuriya Dining is Best Japanese Restaurant in People's Choice 2011/2012
Maybe in Singapore...I tried d...terrible...the most unacceptable one is their Soba Sauce...ridiculous....

Sometimes, this kind of People's Choice award which has not much fame in it is usually bought. You can buy an award you know? Because I know how..
TSRazorVista
post Jun 30 2012, 12:16 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Ten Restaurant
Dining Time: Lunch

Since someone claimed this restaurant put all other Japanese Restaurants in disgrace...I just have to make my point here...haha

Salmon Carpaccio @RM55.00++
Overall: 4/5 - The carpaccio sauce which mixed together with the fresh salmon was just supremely delicious. Wow...I seldom use the word "supreme" and now I used so you should try too. If to compare with Xenri D' Garden Terrace, this scores the upperhand.

Sashimi Moriawase @RM110.00++
Overall: 4/5 - 5 kinds of sashimi with 3 pieces each. When they served, I only see 4 kinds which are Salmon, Tuna, Yellowtail and marinated Tuna. So they gave extra pieces to compensate. The marinated Tuna is the most unique ones and it is my first time to taste that. It is quite salty but I find it quite delicious somehow.

Inaniwa Udon Gozen @RM45.00++
Overall: 4/5 - Just additional RM5.00++ more you can have this lunch set which comes with appetizer of the day, fresh green salad, chawanmushi, Japanese rice (see picture below), tea/coffee(see picture below) and a dessert (see picture below). Their set lunch are so much worth it when the price of just the Inaniwa Udon Gozen cost RM40.00++. As for the taste, they are delicious without a doubt. Really up to their standard.

This is the Japanese rice which comes in the set.

Inaniwa Kamonanban Udon Gozen @RM50.00++
Overall: 4/5 - This is a hot type of udon which May Lynne's mom is not into cold stuffs like sashimi and cold noodles which happens to be our favorite. However, this taste not bad at all! So big bowl and plenty of ingredients in it! Extremely delicious and worth it!

Una Jyu @RM100.00++
Overall: 4/5 - This is the longest unagi I have ordered so far. No wonder it is cost so much. We ordered the set but we cancel the rice even though the price is still the same without the rice. Well, I just wouldn't want to waste something we might not able to finish it. The taste of it was really great. I like the soft and tender meat melting slowly inside my mouth while the unagi sauce flowing out slowly from it. Excellent! P.S: The price for the lunch set and without lunch set is the same price.

Chawanmushi - it is delicious and most important part is...it is free.

Having my Earl Grey Tea, while May Lynne is having her coffee and her mom is having a Wild Berries Tea. Excellent after dining experience!

Lastly, we were pampered by their lovely Ice Cream Brulee. Very delicious and that's how it supposed to be like for a premium Japanese restaurant.

Ambiance: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Will I Revisit? Yes
Extra comments: Very high quality food! Excellent, ya...some similar class Japanese Restaurants like Kuriya and Fukuharu should be in disgrace...but...why always has a but? Anyway, 2 pieces of paper for their main menu which inclusive desserts? Seriously?
Full Review: Ten Restaurant

This post has been edited by RazorVista: Jun 30 2012, 12:19 AM
TSRazorVista
post Jun 30 2012, 01:38 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Jun 30 2012, 10:55 AM)
even the 1 in puchong bandar puteri also closed dy, on march.
Is ok...I never like a Japanese buffet anyway...
TSRazorVista
post Jul 14 2012, 10:32 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Ten-Ichi Japanese Restaurant

Sashimi on Boat @RM130.00
Price: 5/5
Overall: 3/5 - Look is deceiving and the price is deceiving too since this is the cheapest you can get in a Japanese Restaurant like this standard. 9 types with 3 pieces each is really really cheap. I was shocked when the chef is explaining to me. However, the taste of the fishes...yucks! Like Sushi King standard which is very fishy especially the Tuna which I almost vomit in front of the chef but I was kind enough to swallow all of them and rinse thoroughly with their green tea.

Onigiri Sake (left) and Onigiri Ume (right) @RM5.00/each
Overall: 2/5 - The onigiri sake is not bad but the onigiri ume is a nightmare. A large chunk of minced plum inside which numbs my tooth when everytime I chewed on it because of its sourish.

Cha Soba @RM14.00
Overall: 4/5 - The most decent dish among all I have ordered.

Mochi Osuimono @RM6.00
Overall: 3/5 - Not bad but nothing special.

Service: 1/5
Recommended?: No - I diarrhea at their International airport 15 minutes later. You can called it a good detoxification process or lucky enough I did not get food poisoning before I leave that place.
Full Review: Ten-Ichi Japanese Restaurant

This post has been edited by RazorVista: Jul 14 2012, 10:59 AM
TSRazorVista
post Jul 14 2012, 10:57 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(Dunker @ Jul 14 2012, 10:48 AM)
Kuriya at BSC is underwhelming for lunch, but surprisingly good for a dinner party considering it's pork-free. Avoid their sets and you should be ok.
Nah...not a good restaurant when you can't even provide a good consistency. My advice to them now is either they downgrade their level or they improve their consistency in quality
TSRazorVista
post Aug 10 2012, 09:51 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Aug 9 2012, 10:18 PM)
Have anyone tried Coco-Tei? I bought 50% voucher from Groupon.
Good choice...go ahead and try! It is a good restaurant. But I hope there is no double standard if using a coupon.
TSRazorVista
post Aug 11 2012, 08:56 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Aug 11 2012, 12:46 PM)
anyone tried Kamimura in The Weld ? any review ?
you always ask. Have you not visit any Japanese restaurant so far that you wish to share? tongue.gif
TSRazorVista
post Aug 12 2012, 08:51 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Aug 12 2012, 12:04 AM)
I visit but i malas share la  tongue.gif
Then you no good lo...always take but not give
TSRazorVista
post Aug 16 2012, 10:55 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Aug 15 2012, 08:35 PM)
I saw the nigiri set on the review page and it's 150 ringgit LOL

I'm not sure if I can afford that XD. Having a second recommendation is nice nod.gif
Tell me what is your budget and what you prefer to eat...smile.gif

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:00 PM