Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

j.passing.by
post Jul 1 2012, 04:56 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 1 2012, 04:08 PM)
Those funds distribution policy is not annual and they're not committed to declare it unless they're performing extreme well and have excess cash that they don't have idea where to invest too which I highly doubt that given current world economic situation.
no need extremely well... just positive returns would do, and PM will announce to the whole world. tongue.gif

j.passing.by
post Jul 1 2012, 08:48 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 1 2012, 07:11 PM)
Come I join u here tongue.gif

Let me add a useful point to consider icon_idea.gif

Get it? icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
much ado about nothing... because us simple investors only care about returns, only the positives ones, the negative ones good riddance!

i think somewhere inside there does explain why a recent fund, with 'incidental' income, and negative NAV per unit can gives a distribution. nod.gif

QUOTE(MakNok @ Jul 1 2012, 07:29 PM)
i hate Public Mutual
coz now got charge for switching for less than 90 days...
0.75% fee.

Have stop investing New fund into my portfolio.
yes, now has to pay to fiddle with the switching - because now too easy to do it online... previously it was too cumbersome doing it via the phone... press 1 for english...

my reason to stop investing new fund is due to the service charge... okay-lah pay service charge to UTC for first several years, but now after more than 10-15 years, and can do online, still want us to pay the UTC for no service... PM should revised the pay structure; I think UTC all kena con, because once they bring in a new customer, customer most likely to remain loyal and stay for life. How can they do like insurance agents, when we only buy insurance once in a lifetime, but unit trust is different... we keep buying till retire. Now i still not sure what to do with bulk of EPF when withdraw at 55; sure don't want to invest in PM.

j.passing.by
post Jul 2 2012, 12:53 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 2 2012, 10:12 AM)
hhehe - even i am getting cheesed with PM though, holistically (bond funds & equity funds) they are kinda ok.

My beef with them are, like nearly everyone else, the service charges + the non-availability of EPF-investable REITs type of mutual funds
Going to Amara for my next few EPF withdrawals - for self-directed investments in KLSE stocks.
oh, more people is joining my personal boycott campaign... smile.gif

FYI, the fund I said I was interested in is a PB bond fund, and only open to EPF investment... so not going to pay the SC for new equity funds. Not yet anyway, as I guess PM will come around sooner or later. Damn sore because last time I put in EFF money was before 2008, before the new 3.0% for EPF was effective... double sore if there was some news beforehand and UTC did not inform me.

QUOTE(karhoe @ Jul 2 2012, 10:40 AM)
Really, please link me to the other thread, I will be absolutely interested to join the debate.

Well, you can easily see if the fund is showing return by seeing if the NAV/unit has grown. If the fund is showing negative return, you won't even be getting distribution...
Pink Spider got the link in previous page... the debate was over when I called it kindergarten stuff and another poster got upset. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 2 2012, 11:53 AM)
Not necessarily. See my posts.
forgot to add... well done on the long post yesterday. smile.gif

Cheers. Happy investing, everyone. Till we meet again.
j.passing.by is just passing by...

j.passing.by
post Jul 23 2012, 06:17 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Jul 20 2012, 09:21 AM)
It Public Select China Fund is the worst fund you guys consider it? I personally felt it is as till now still making lost and no dividend. Shit Fund.
QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Jul 21 2012, 03:58 PM)
My consultant ask me to buy this fund and every month DDI. Later 3 yrs check back this performance and it is dissapointing.

Got stuck.

I imagine those who bought at ealier stage. Starting price 0.25 to compare now.  sad.gif
QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Jul 21 2012, 04:08 PM)
Unbearable pain and emotional dissapointment with this investment after checking it. It is making a 4 digit lost and 2k++.

If I switch, it will lost in capital depreciation and sales commission.
When you make a switch to another fund, sales commission or service charge is not lost; what was paid is already paid... yes, you will miss the rebound (IF, and it's a big IF, it ever happens).

Looking at its 3-year performance chart, it is on the decline since mid of 2011, with lost of about 25% from 22-July-2009 (if you have made a lump sum investment at this day), plus the service charge of 5.5%, it is a NEGATIVE 30%.

Since you're making monthly DDI, you have average out the highs and lows, and the depreciation is not likely to be as bad as 25%.

IMHO, you should continue and wait for its rebound before making any switch to another fund.

You could opt for a slight rebound, not a total rebound that will breakeven and recover all the lost, since this fund goes up and down very sharp and very quick... so don't hope to time the switch perfectly. Another method would be to switch out partially, about 20-30% at a time.

The main reasons in my suggestion to hold on and not stop the DDI is:
1) Unit trust is long term savings. (I prefer using "savings" than "investment".)
2) You are making monthly DDI.
3) Buy low, sell high. This is the mantra... if you switch out now, you're buying high, selling low.

All the best.

j.passing.by
post Jul 27 2012, 12:39 PM

1,639 posts

Hi all,

I have been browsing this thread on and off... and lately it seemed that most of the new posts and posters lost the plot of what Public Mutual is all about. I may be wrong...

To me, PM is old man's retirement planning, a financial tool for regular savings. What's the b****ing of losing money in 2-3 years all about? And comparing it to stocks & forex? It already has a high entry cost, and will lose 5.5% upfront when buying its equity fund, so why the hue and cry? Do enlighten me...

As mentioned, a unit trust fund to me is long term financial tool ("long term" in my definition is more than 7 years, and more like 10-20-30 years for retirement planning). It is long term regular savings; and the "wealth" is from your savings and you get "wealthy" from your job or business, which generates the savings. I have yet to hear of people becoming fabulously rich from "investing" in unit trusts, or maybe I'm wrong, as usual...

Yeah, in my previous posts, I mentioned losing some money in PM, but I don't blame PM or its sales agent. I understood that the "unit trust consultants" are sales agents, not my personal financial planners.

I lost money because I did not do "dollar cost averaging". And secondly I treated an aggressive fund as if it was a balance fund; and bought into it in a big lump sum (at the wrong time). In short, I treated unit trust as a one-time investment instead of being a regular savings financial tool.

Anyway, it is "paper" lost as said by one poster, as I have yet to make a total withdrawal from PM; and is confident that all would be fine when the current global economy turns around. In the meanwhile, I am starting another portfolio, and will (hopefully) get it right this time.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jul 27 2012, 05:09 PM
j.passing.by
post Jul 27 2012, 09:43 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 27 2012, 08:36 PM)
Not just PM, EVERYONE ELSE investing in China-focused funds LUMP SUM during 2008-2010 will be still in the red now.

And did u do some homework on your own?

If u don't have the technical knowledge and time to do so, did u keep pestering your agent about your investments?

Don't just complain if u did nothing about it.

P.S. - I'm not PM agent, nor am I a PM client. I'm anti-PM in fact tongue.gif But I find that investors like u...too many of them around.
If I had bought a lemon (insert car brand here), will it help if I pester the car salesman? biggrin.gif

Yes, not a special case; in fact very common... but don't la give wrong direction; also maybe not easy to find that agent now after 4-6 years! So better vent anger here. smile.gif

j.passing.by
post Aug 1 2012, 03:30 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 07:58 AM)
PUBLIC MUTUAL ONLINE (PMO) CAMPAIGN 2012
1 AUGUST 2012 TO 31 OCTOBER 2012
We wish to inform that we will be launching the Public Mutual Online (PMO)...
Thanks for the news... maybe the discount will be permanent in future?

Noted that when purchasing online, there is a selection on the agent code, and "NONE" can be selected. Maybe in future, more discounts can be given when no agent code is selected. If the commission is 1.75% for EPF investment, the online charge should be 1.25%...

It will be great if the online service is directly linked to EPF, no more filling in forms... have to go through several forms in my last purchase to get the thumb-print right.

-------------------

btw. the PMO is reputed to be fool-proof, maybe try whether you can change the epf fund from 're-invest'?

-------------------

INVESTMENT TIP
A bond fund has slightly better returns than FD; in fact a good bond fund can be better than EPF. (The sad news is that good bond funds in PM is normally closed for new investments.)

With Public Mutual Online and e-banking, you can easily purchase a unit trust fund in bonds (and re-purchase) online and transfer monies from your savings account (and back.) The charge is only 0.25%.

It is more convenient than transferring your money from savings to a Fixed Deposit Account.

The rate of returns is pretty linear in bond funds, and it is not significant to determine the date when to make the purchase, just as in making a fixed deposit. But unlike FD, there is no fixed term and no interest lost in early withdrawal.

The measly 0.25% can be recouped in less than a month.

Cheers.

j.passing.by
post Aug 1 2012, 03:59 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 03:45 PM)
I bloody wish (EPF forms no more and all online) but someone's palms must be heavily greased for that to happen i think tongue.gif

As for the lower service charges when / if selecting "NONE" for online transaction's agent, ooo nice and can be done IF PM has the nuts to withstand the war cries of sales agents (ie. no value add flers).

Both the above still wishful thinking only heheh.

Ooo yeah, i've tried before, screwing around with PMO. Nope, can't change "reinvest" to "payout"  sweat.gif
Yes yes - i had similar ideas  brows.gif
Not too wishful thinking on the lower charges... just spreading the idea at every opportunity... and market forces will eventually prevail. biggrin.gif

If "NONE" is selected, no agent will get the service charge either...

j.passing.by
post Aug 1 2012, 05:39 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Aug 1 2012, 04:13 PM)
the SC will goes to company.
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 1 2012, 04:20 PM)
Yeah, that is like cutting off the nose to spite the face tongue.gif
No, no, don't get me wrong... am not anti-agent, just telling the truth as it lays.... if "NONE" is selected, whether lower charges or not, no agent will get the service charge. If the agent code can be manually filled in, will be happy to fill in your agent codes.

I also invest in PB series; and went to the nearest branch or most convenient branch with easy parking previously; and now, the name of the agent in the online service appears as "PBB"; and it appears 3 times in the selection. rclxub.gif Previously in the statements, the agent's name was shown, now just "PBB".... So I do think something will change in the near future. And maybe the online campaign is sort of a testing ground.

(No, I don't think all the 3 PBB agents had resigned, as the latest purchase was last month.)

If the service charge is higher, and other fund houses are more attractive, a smart investor would know where to invest. Am not disputing whether a UTC deserves the fee or not, but whether PM will get the business. This is what I meant by "market forces".

Cheers. Happy Investing.

j.passing.by
post Aug 10 2012, 12:45 PM

1,639 posts

Anyone know the reason behind yesterday sharp drop in Public Islamic Income Fund? It also happen to several other bond funds, but not as drastic as PIIncome.

j.passing.by
post Aug 10 2012, 08:21 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 10 2012, 06:23 PM)
i also noticed that, the islamic bond series.
EPF? Making extra huge profit taking and spooking the market again? tongue.gif

Or maybe some toll company in trouble because they got to give discount to the balik kampung horde next week?
(not all the islamic bonds got hit, mainly the infrastructure ones...)

j.passing.by
post Aug 11 2012, 10:56 AM

1,639 posts

no fancy analysis stuff here; but i think PIOF is better than PSmallcap.

btw good or not, PSmallcap is closed! tongue.gif

Q: Is it good or not to share info on funds? Maybe will get blame when it is wrong... or maybe fund will get too popular and closed before the recommendater get chance to invest!

j.passing.by
post Aug 11 2012, 11:33 AM

1,639 posts

"er.. i'm not sharing info on funds leh j.passing.by."

why not, eh? i come here to share info. If info is wrong, you guys can help to correct them. If people choose to act on it, and things went sour, we're all adults and understand the risks of "investment".

If the info is correct and of use to some posters or lurkers here, I don't think the chit-chat in this thread can move the UT market. smile.gif (If it can, we should feel proud. rclxms.gif )

Added on August 11, 2012, 11:40 am
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:10 AM)
I also notice that those funds who have been closed will tends to perform better. This particularly true for fixed income series. Public Bond, Public Islamic Bond, PB Islamic Bond, tends to perform better than those still opening for subsription.
I got hit by the recent drop in Public Islamic Income. It was the best bond fund that is not closed. Got to notice it by chance when switching here and there, then put in 10k on it early this month... so unlucky! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Aug 11 2012, 11:40 AM
j.passing.by
post Aug 11 2012, 12:38 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:49 AM)
i also not understand what there is such a big correction for 3 bond funds, Public Islamic Bond, Public Infrastructure Fund, and Public Islamic Income fund were affected that day. My invested PIBF is affected, but not as serious as PIIF.

I also invested in PB Islamic bond fund, when the above funds affected, this fund increase by 0.07% on the same day. Un explainable.
Yeah, the drop is still a mystery, anyone?

btw. some may think this is nitpicking as the drop is about 0.5%, but it is in a stable bond fund where the daily increase is just 0.0001 to 0.0003 sen, then suddenly 0.0058 drop, wiping out all the gains for the past 40 days!

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:23 PM)
Dave, u should be opening a new thread...

i think you got a point here, i don't read the weekly reviews too. They are clouting up my email too and i have to mark them as spam.

=========
sorry, newbie here... misinterpreted your post!

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Aug 11 2012, 12:42 PM
j.passing.by
post Aug 11 2012, 12:43 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2012, 12:40 PM)
If it's not due to distribution, I think as an investor, u should write to PM to seek clarification nod.gif
lazy la... thought you guys are more informed.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0529sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:37 AM