post Apr 27 2012, 09:04 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Apr 26 2012, 10:45 PM)
tis could help u.....

Example :
Let assume that an investor invest RM10,000 in a fund where the price is RM0.50 on that day(NAV). The service charge is 5.5%.
Amount invested / NAV Per unit
RM10,000 / RM0.50 = 20,000 units
Service charge per unit = NAV per unit x Service Charge(%)
= RM0.50 x 5.5%
= RM0.0275
So, The total service Charge incurred by Investor is
= Service Charge per unit x Units credited to investor
= Rm0.0275 x 20,000 units
= RM550.00
Following the above, the total amount payable by investor is
= Amount invested + service charge
= RM10,000 + RM550
= RM10,550
Normaly SC will be deducted from amount invested or capital,
Now, assume the capital is RM10,550

formula for SC is;

SC =Service charge = 5.50% per unit of NAV.
(A) = capital = RM10550
SC = A - [A / (1+5,5%],
SC = (10,550) – [(10,550) / (1+5.5%)],
SC = RM10550 – RM10550/(1+ 0.055),
SC = RM10550 – RM10550 / 1.055
SC = Rm10550 – RM10,000
Sc = RM550.

After minus the SC from the capital, the balance will invested to buy the units as per below;

RM10550 - RM550
= RM10,000

the purchased units = RM10,000 / RM0.50(NAV) = 20,000 units.

i dont hv any excell yet, maybe wong can help to get the excel.

Wong pls if any.
Hear ya go.
Added a check with my own units received, just in case - must lar, sharing right info/data mar.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  SC_and_Units_received_calculations.zip ( 8.21k ) Number of downloads: 138
wongmunkeong
post Apr 27 2012, 10:41 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ Apr 27 2012, 09:58 AM)
rclxms.gif Early early open laptop get good news! Thank you both of you  biggrin.gif wongmk, do you rely much on the Excel sheet? I'm used to seeing data in excel  hmm.gif
Hi Malformed.
Yeah, i do rely on Excel a lot as i know my weakness - simple logic can get confused when lots of numbers are thrown around, my processing power low mar, thus outsource to Excel lor laugh.gif

Anyhow, i'm doing this at work (Excel to prove savings, VS comparisons, etc.) thus, it's second-nature to me to "break things down" in Excel to use simple logic on.
wongmunkeong
post May 9 2012, 05:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(autobeng @ May 9 2012, 05:27 PM)
In the first page of this topic, I saw "Repurchase Charge: NIL" But how come I see in my monthly statement of my regular saving fund a 5.5 tax when i repurchase every month?
Beng, just to clarify:
a. when U BUY from Public Mutual, U get whacked for 5.5% service charges.
b. when U SELL back to Public Mutual, called Repurchase, there's 0% charges

Thus, U sure U are using the right terms for the right actions and not confusing one for the other?
wongmunkeong
post May 17 2012, 01:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ May 17 2012, 01:51 PM)
When you buy before 2.30pm the price will be today's price, which will be announced on the next working day - normally around 11 am - 12pm.
PM's website updates NAV at around 8pm to 10pm
Heheh - i've been grabbing the NAV via my Excel for awhile now.

eg. today's PRSF or PIX end of day NAV will be on PM's website at 8pm to 10pm tonight
eg. The foreign focused funds will show yesterday's end of day NAV by 8pm to 10pm - like PFEPRF, PFES, PRSEC
Usually 8:30pm have already but sometimes gawd knows why, late 10pm only domestic focused funds are updated.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 17 2012, 03:50 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 18 2012, 04:07 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mwkiller @ May 18 2012, 02:58 PM)
sad.gif   shakehead.gif
goodness.. another repeat of Jul-Sep 2011, when Greece gave us the bugaboos, again?
OR
perhaps even worse since Spain's in the game too now..

Hehhe - no down, means no value fishing.
Happy fishing. notworthy.gif

PS: Last round this happened, KLCI dropped about 15%+/- from it's maximum.
Just to share a gauge if U are interested.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 18 2012, 04:10 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 18 2012, 10:11 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kent05 @ May 18 2012, 08:31 PM)
are u currently fishing too?  rclxms.gif
Nope, not yet.
It's now only 4% to 5% drop from the max KLCI (recently hit a highest point mar).

4% to 5% is does not even cover service charges if cash investment tongue.gif, thus, i don't consider it value yet to fish.
I prefer shooting a barrel of fish laugh.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 19 2012, 07:30 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(mois @ May 18 2012, 10:44 PM)
Target between 10-15%?  tongue.gif  using cash or switch from bond?
Hm.. something like that lar for a bit of target practice.
When lower than that by about 20% to 25%, then i'd use "dynamite fishing" instead of "shooting a barrel of fish", more effective tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 19 2012, 01:48 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 29 2012, 08:46 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 29 2012, 07:50 PM)
Yet FSM still have overweight call on China-related funds laugh.gif  doh.gif  shakehead.gif

Emerging Markets also seem a doubtful call now... hmm.gif
China's prices fell like stone already, near 2008-2009 NAVs and indices, maybe that's why they are overweight on China-related funds.
Buy low, sell high gua

Added on May 29, 2012, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 29 2012, 08:42 PM)

I'm just wondering is the current "low" REALLY a low hmm.gif
The local "current low" is only about 4%+/- drop from last KLCI highest of high (hit earlier this year 1600++).

So, low meh?
Last Aug-Oct plunge due to Euro scare was about 15%+/- drop from the highest then KLCI (15XX++ if i'm not mistaken - too lazy to check but i remember the % drop).

Even the 2011 Euro scare is nothing VS so called "market correction" expected of 20%+/-, not PLUNGE like 1997/1998 (80%+) and 2008/2009 1st qtr (40%+/-) yar.

Thus, how low is low? heheh.
Ohm... ohm..

Just some thoughts to bounce out loud Pink Spider notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 29 2012, 08:52 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 29 2012, 09:34 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 29 2012, 09:20 PM)
damn wong sifu laugh.gif

my earlier statement of "low" was not referring to KLCI, I was referring to Emerging Markets lar doh.gif

KLCI...with the backroom "support", u can never tell when is the low shakehead.gif
I guess Dollar Cost Averaging is the only way to play local equity funds hmm.gif
Gomenosai Spider-san (my apologies). Watashiwa hentoni baka neh (i'm very big idiot) doh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 29 2012, 09:47 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 30 2012, 04:38 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 30 2012, 03:58 PM)
How do you derive existing or new account?

I have one fund with UTC A and another fund with UTC B. Are these considered existing account?
Yup, you're right.
But er.. just a thought ar... even if "no agent" is selected when U invest online via Public Bank or Public Mutual Online, U still bleed 5.5% for equity funds and 0.25% for bond funds.
Thus, why bother with having different "agents" / "no agents"?

In addition, pls keep in mind:
Equity A under Agent 001 CANNOT BE SWITCHED to Equity B or Bond B under Agent 002.
Thus far lar from my experience - i've like 2 accounts from different agents. The rest all under self heheh.

Just a thought notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 30 2012, 10:13 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 30 2012, 09:56 PM)
Once again, you have solved my problems. But if I create an online account, which agent am I tied to?
Just to clarify:
An online account is NOT tied to any agent, in case U are thinking that.
Only your online newly bought fund's account number is tied to an agent or PM itself (if no-agent selected)

Personally, if i was a customer (not self-service agent tongue.gif),
a. IF i have many accounts (ie. different funds) with Agent A NOW,
When i buy a new fund online,
i'd just select Agent A coz it'll be much easier for me to SWITCH between accounts under Agent A - UNLESS U hate Agent A's guts or something smile.gif

b. IF i have only 1 account (fund) with Agent A + 1 account (fund) with Agent B and both funds are minimal amount NOW,
When i buy a new fund online,
I'd just select no-agent IF U do not wish to cultivate some business deals/services with either existing Agents (ie. U don't like their face/guts/etc.)

c. IF i wish to cultivate some business / services with either of my 2 existing Agents,
I'd talk with the selected one and get a mutual understanding and When i buy a new fund online,
I'd select that Agent as my Agent for the new fund's account.

Er.. those are just my personal thinking yar - no point cutting off nose to spite face as i still get charged 5.5% for equity funds.

PS:
Note that if U SWITCH from Fund A under Agent 01,
to a new Fund Z,
that Fund Z account will ALSO be under Agent 01
due to the "originating" $/units coming from a fund account under Agent 1, which is Fund A.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 30 2012, 10:37 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 31 2012, 08:12 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ May 30 2012, 10:49 PM)
"Personally, if i was a customer (not self-service agent  tongue.gif ),..."
LOL, I have the FMUTM card; but never use it and just let it expired.
Hhehe - why ar?

With self-service, my estimated cost of investing into equity funds is about:
a. Cash: 3.4375% (including income tax of 25%) - near the "normal rates" of most fund houses and distributor
b. EPF: 1.6875% (including income tax of 25%) - beats the "normal rates" of most fund houses and distributor

+ can get access to those nice historic data for monkey-ing around with heheh.

wongmunkeong
post May 31 2012, 01:46 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 31 2012, 01:41 PM)
Can I know what is self-service? I'd like to learn how to reduce the charges too!
Self-service = become an agent (sit for exam, pay yearly fees of about$100, become a UTC), then buy from yourself and service yourself (+ family lar IF they invest).
Additional $90 for the programs/application and access to historic daily NAVs + statistics & etc. brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 31 2012, 01:54 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 31 2012, 03:14 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 31 2012, 02:48 PM)
Is it easy to go through the procedure? How long would it take?
Those days sup sup water if U are an investor (know about things like asset classes, calculations, comparisons, etc.) + just mug up on rules/regulations & specific unit trust "structures" (fund house, trustee, investor, governing body, etc.).
Done in 30 minutes (minimum time even if finished those days).
These days - should be similar gua. 2 friends of mine just took it (one last year or so, another in 2009/2010).

Checkout the topic/thread on being a UTC / mutual fund agent somewhere in the Finance area or... <shouts> KPARAM!!! tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 31 2012, 04:06 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Malformed @ May 31 2012, 03:33 PM)
Back to the twinvest formula again, it is all about buying, what about selling, is there any formula for us to calculate?

My relative took it back in 2010 too, might as well ask and see how is it like. Is it easy for people without knowledge in this field previously?
I'm in the IT field leh, not Accounting nor Sales nor Investment related sweat.gif
Though i've a passion to grow things and make things lar (typical nerd and systemizing or automating) hehe.
It's easy enough.

Ok - on TwinVest, very astute of U to notice that TwinVest is an ENTRY rule only heheh. rclxms.gif
In the book, it says if 300% of start NAV hit, sell all and reboot the program but that will never happen here due to distribution.

Personally, i couple TwinVest entries with EXIT rules where i sell/SWITCH to bonds/Money Market (depending on how's the interest rate lar)
WHEN my transaction's net profit (yes, i track PER transaction) is severely over the average / expected per annum, eg. 25%pa
OR 60% if less than 1 year's holding for a transaction.

Note (again, just what i do ar, may not work for anyone else):
1. I don't sell/switch all of the transaction's units - i leave the abnormal gains there to continue running up or down (very minute chance of going zero mar), its extra gravy.
2. I then "tweak" my TwinVest and add the $witched/$old into the unused capital
3. I've an over-arching Asset Allocation to "over-ride" any "Exits" - in case i'm having waaaaaaaay too much % in "Fixed Income" (eg. >60%+), thus Exiting an Equity fund into Cash/Bond funds/MM fund unbalances my already lopsided asset classes held.
BTW, i've never had my Equities being lopsided (ie. too much Equities VS Fixed Income) while running my several TwinVest programs + Opportunistic investing pot shots.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 31 2012, 04:07 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 1 2012, 03:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

er.. just to share some perspective since I've already done it for my friend to calm her down, the attached PDF shows:
PAGF, PRSEC and PSmallCap
8 transactions
and their value (profit/loss) for 2008 Nov, 2010 Dec and 2012 May.

Thought it'd be useful for those who say "long term programmatic investing" but now shivering and shaking / second guessing.

Bottom line? Buy low more, don't buy high much tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 1 2012, 03:10 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Funds__transactions_tracking_with_3_different_Dates__NAV___2008_Nov_Vs_2010_Dec_Vs_2012_May.pdf ( 372.51k ) Number of downloads: 69
wongmunkeong
post Jun 1 2012, 06:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 1 2012, 05:55 PM)
ask specific questions, not open questions like this
Aiya Pink, maybe ada orang "sell him" that there's a product called "public mutual savings fund" leh. sweat.gif
and he didn't even bother going to Public Mutual's website and looked at their products ( http://www.publicmutual.com.my/OurProducts...Prospectus.aspx ), just want to be spoon-fed by see-food(s) here leh..
thus, please be kind to little furry ones that needs some feeding lor tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 1 2012, 06:02 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 1 2012, 08:25 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(joequah1 @ Jun 1 2012, 07:20 PM)
Sorry for not specifying the question.
And I did look through the website, but got no idea what's in there
Just to get some clarification
What are those fees and charges?
Is it charge per annual?
What is the risk of this fund? Saving and growth.
And what are the return, the how to look at those price?
Thank you.
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/Resources/U...ustLessons.aspx
IF after reading the above, U are still totally clueless...
THEN give it up, it's way beyond your current capacity.
U need time to grow first, then perhaps can relate better thus understand - my apologies for being blunt notworthy.gif
ELSE
Continue to the previous link KPARAM and i shared
END IF
tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 3 2012, 07:26 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 3 2012, 06:43 PM)
there's a gazillion funds in public mutual which are very very similar. if really streamline/consolidate those funds, probably left with a handful.

i think public mutual can learn from hwang dbs, that rarely launch new funds but yet able to provide respectable returns. superior performance over the years attracts new funds, rather than non-stop launching of nonsense funds.

just my 2 sen.
PM can also learn from all the other fund houses outsourcing to FundSupermart - lower cost for DIY, where "advisers" / UTCs are as useful to these DIY investors as "bicycles to fishes" tongue.gif

My $0.02 notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jun 10 2012, 10:15 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jonproperty @ Jun 5 2012, 08:54 PM)
U don't know the power of compounded interest? google it.

invest smartly.. with right strategy, almost impossible to lose money in UT. r u losing money? let me know ur profile and i make u earn money for next 10 years? is that a deal?  icon_idea.gif win-win.

invest 6 years with every month DDI RM500 ringgit, on 7th years u can withdraw RM500 for next 20 years. No joke, i show u the fact. Result speak thousand word. Detail investment secret? when we meet up, i share with u.

like some told me they invest in property, said lose money, but many other investor, earn money. Depend on where u invest, how u invest, and what strategy u have.
er.. JonProperty, the moment i invest in ANY UT/mutual funds (excluding back load only UT), i lose at least 0.25% (bond funds).
For equity funds, i straight lose 3% upon investing, if via EPF.

In addition, PM's "good equity funds" average around 7%pa to 9%+pa CAGR based on 10 years' history
+ PM's "good bond funds" average around 5%+pa CAGR
NOTE: All these are EXCLUDING service charges

Thus, please enlighten us how:
"with right strategy, almost impossible to lose money in UT" + "6 years every month DDI RM500, on 7th year onwards can withdraw RM500 for next 20 years"
can be achieved via
DCA via DDI (ie. brain dead $500 pm into equity or equity+bond funds?)

To achieve those results, a CAGR of equal or more than 10.55%pa.
Are U are telling us that your secret strategy is:
a. DDI into PM's publicly sold funds (equity, balanced or bond funds)
b. can hit an average CAGR of 10.55%pa, which is above all the "good equity funds" track record of 10 years which EXCLUDES service charges
c. OR DDI into something ultra-secret of PM?

I understand U are stating that it has been done before and can be proved.
Would U be able to share the tracking data?
BTW, personally, how, how much and what do U invest in?

I'm just curious, my apologies if i sound disbelieving notworthy.gif
Maybe i don't understand your "right strategy" via DDI and/or i don't know some secret combination of funds to do DDI. To me, DDI is simple DCA, which is just mindlessly plonking in same amount of $ no matter value is low or high. Thus, hitting 10.55%pa CAGR for 26 years is whoa.. sweat.gif
I'm all ears to learn if U are willing to share details.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jun 10 2012, 10:18 AM

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0570sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:43 PM