952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 6 2012, 08:28 PM)
Mr Wong,

Thanks for your explaination.

i understand the time line factor, what i m try to understand is
1) DDI in place since early 2008
2) market bottom end 2008
3) market high late 2010

a) as such DDI would have effectively average the buying price, however, it is not the case as PCIF shows a negative 23%. should i continue to dump money into unprofitable funds? so DDI for how long?

b) by comparison, Maybank, CIMB, PBB shares which followed the dip and rebound has recovered its losses incurred during post 2008? why haven't the funds recovered as well? How can the stock market which is preceived to be riskier recovered while so called safer instruments failed?

now Mr Wong, i know you have an explaination, however i prefer agents who are promoting and sell these funds or working with unit trust companies to answer. Mr Wong, you may PM me instead if you wish.

and to agents here, don't ride on Mr Wong's previous postings.  rclxms.gif
lunchtime:
Can u tell, why u comparing Maybank, CIMB, PBB shares with PCIF fund?
kparam77
post Jan 9 2012, 12:19 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 8 2012, 11:24 PM)
kparam77,

my reasons for comparing funds & stocks, market has dipped and rebounded. You stated DDI to average down the cost but even with the market rebounding, the fund is negative while stocks are positive. 

what is the reason?  rclxms.gif
I agree with u......... but dont compare local stock/fudns with PCIF.

local funds recovered follow with local stocks.

for PCIF, only more or less 10% allocated in local market, the rest invest in China, hong kong, taiwan etc.

pls read the financial report on PCIF.... http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a..._o%3d&tabid=260

kparam77
post Jan 9 2012, 12:27 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 9 2012, 12:22 PM)
are you saying china, taiwan, HK and whereever PCIF invested, the stocks have not recovered?
pls read the financial statment, n take some time to google abt the those countries economy /market outlook too.
kparam77
post Jan 9 2012, 01:19 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 9 2012, 12:41 PM)
in other words, you are saying malaysia have recovered but not other countries. share your thoughts.
u said before like this...

b) by comparison, Maybank, CIMB, PBB shares which followed the dip and rebound has recovered its losses incurred during post 2008? why haven't the funds recovered as well? How can the stock market which is preceived to be riskier recovered while so called safer instruments failed?

so, u agreed that malaysia stocks (not all-lah kawan) recovered.

I personaly think the KLCI from 800 points and now abt 1500+- , Malaysia market is recoverd or almost recoverd. (share market only-leh).

Normaly i dont follow other countries market, because I personaly invest purely in local funds or with 30% exporsure to foreign market.

normaly, i dont recommend foreign funds for my clients, unless they go for it by themself.

kparam77
post Jan 10 2012, 08:12 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 9 2012, 10:07 PM)
can you share with us why overseas funds has not recovered while local funds has recovered? why has this happened? and keeping this in mind, is DDI a wise choice or are there better alternatives? let's not beat around the bush. treat this as me sitting in front of you asking you for an answer.  icon_rolleyes.gif
u better read the investment objective/ allocations for oversea funds in prospectus. that why investors advise to read and understand the master prospectus.

u already shud know why those overc funds not recoverd yet. if u still dont know, better stay away from foreign funds.

if u sitting in front of me, i will give the prospectus and other reading material and will follow up later.

abt the DDI, it can be both. it depends how u plan.

Added on January 10, 2012, 8:31 am
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 9 2012, 10:07 PM)
can you share with us why overseas funds has not recovered while local funds has recovered? why has this happened? and keeping this in mind, is DDI a wise choice or are there better alternatives? let's not beat around the bush. treat this as me sitting in front of you asking you for an answer.  icon_rolleyes.gif
u can read tis too. http://www.publicmutual.com.my/Resources/MarketReport.aspx

This post has been edited by kparam77: Jan 10 2012, 08:31 AM
kparam77
post Jan 11 2012, 11:20 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Jan 11 2012, 10:52 AM)
Yes, KLCI can be speculated easily now, as our EPF is the largest fund in the stock market. EPF plus PNB, can have a significant control on the index.

So far, the main portion of china fund is still H shares, so looking at HSCEI is the most appropriate, but at the same time, still need to look at Taiwan index, TWSE.

I am not agency manager, but only a normal unit trust consultant with no ranking. Sometime, high rank people might not be interested to know so much, as they are more focus on sales smile.gif I do this for my own interest, so still no rank after so many years smile.gif

Added on January 11, 2012, 11:00 am

For sure, if the fund has no future, no matter what's your investment method, you will still suffer from loss.
In my case, I compare the investment method regardless of the fund's prospect, just compare the method. DDI is a wise choice, as nobody can time the market. And again, it's not the best choice to get max return.

To invest in anything, for sure we have to understand how the investment works and we have to spend some effort to study which fund has good prospect and suitable for your portfolio. This is prior to what method you want to adopt. If you have failed in this step, sure no matter what's your method later, you might still be failed. This applies to stock investment or even properties investment.

Again, you have to understand it before you invest any. So, don't just do investment decision by listening to those agent or so-called consultant (even I myself is an unit trust consultant smile.gif ). Unless you have engaged some professional financial or investment adviser who is independent from the investment companies, but he gets rewards directly from your pay.
leekk8,
we r the same low profile UT consultant-lah bro. I also no High Rank.

lunchtime:
I hope, now u got the answer why local funds recover faster than foreign funds.
kparam77
post Jan 14 2012, 11:59 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Jan 14 2012, 11:09 AM)
I have purchase some Ittikal Fund for investment before the door close. Do this fund still perform like its history and pay good dividen?. Thinking of swap to other counter like Public Ittikal Sequel Fund, can some UTC or siful advise me on this?
i think switching not nessacary as KLCI 1500++, unless switch to bond to lock profits.

both equity fund, p ittikal moderate, and the sequel expose to high risk.

cannot compare both because sequel is a new fund.

kparam77
post Jan 14 2012, 03:39 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Jan 14 2012, 02:43 PM)
But by limited the fund to EPF investment, and nearly full subcibe,  does it have effect on the unit price in future? i means that now is 0.83xx, can it perform better to 0.9 or 1.00 in  a few year time?
fully subsribe the units, nothing to do with fund performance. if the holding stock price goes up, the unit price may goes up too, because the fund value goes up. and vise-versa.

lest say the total units are 10,000 with fund value Rm10,000

the unit price is RM10,000 / 10,000 units = RM1.00

if the Fund value goes up due to holding stcok price goes up, let say increase RM100,
RM10,000 + RM100 = RM10,100

so, the unit price will be (assume UIC is the same)

Rm10,100 / 10,000 units = Rm1.01

same if the fund value drop with holding stock price drop.
kparam77
post Jan 25 2012, 10:48 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(1282009 @ Jan 24 2012, 11:27 PM)
I'm having some units in PIF currently. Any better fund to switch to?
why u want to switch?
lock profit?
bond fund is better.
kparam77
post Jan 26 2012, 08:46 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jan 25 2012, 09:37 PM)
I had invested into Public Mutual Fund since 2008 (an initial of ~2k and 200 more per mth, DCA). And friggiting frat - I only got 5% in total due date (notice it's not per year. counting by per year it should be like... 1% PA?)

I understand that this fund is pretty risky (80% equity), but still I think this fund is much under performed. Any input on my situation? Is it worthy for me to switch to something less risky like saving funds or something?
fund name?
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 09:41 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Jan 27 2012, 07:15 AM)
PGF to me is OK, but you are seeing a very low return % by paper because of that DDI you are doing. You should have known by now each time you invest you are being charged 5.5%.
it depend on fund performance, not the SC.

even with 10 diff acc, apply same metod for same time frame. all the acc will shows diff figure. this is because the fund performance.

agree?
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 03:53 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Jan 27 2012, 10:54 AM)
I can only agree with you partially. The question was, why after so many years the return is still thad low. And, given the fund annual return is 8%, losing 5% to SC means we are getting 3% in general by doing DDI. Of course, some years the fund sucked... good times, 12%?
ya, still need to pay SC-lah kawan. but still depends on fund performance for highr return and it will take time for the volatile market conditions. unless the price up..up..up. Or, u enter with lower price with lump sump during 2008. but same SC.

example:
rm10,000 SC = Rm1000 x 10 times DDI SC.

kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 06:21 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 27 2012, 06:01 PM)
Myself I only got 2 funds using my EPF: Regular Saving and Islamic Money Market. I am planning to switch Islamic Money Market to Regular Saving or Public Bond. What do you think?
money frm epf to money market fund for temp parking, boleh-lah. rugi kalau leave there for long term.

u already hv acc with regular fund, u can concider saving fund too. but for time being, better leave at money market. KLCI still above 1500++.
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 06:40 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 27 2012, 06:27 PM)
ya i know money market growth is like FD but i am too afraid to put everyone into aggresive fund. so, thinking to put it into bond fund. even though regular saving is aggresive fund, but it looks pretty stable too. so, still thinking which one to put. now wongmunkeong recommend me a few more funds somemore hmm.gif

Added on January 27, 2012, 6:32 pm

thanks for the info. i think my agent looks like a bit retired already.  laugh.gif
regular saving is moderate, same goes to saving fund. as wong guides u, u can take money market and bonds as temp parking lot for ur money.

if u scare, better dont touch the EPF, u hv to pay for ur wrong move.
study fisrt before action.
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 06:46 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Jan 27 2012, 06:43 PM)
What is DDI stand for? Anybody can help me.
direct debit instruction.
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 06:48 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 27 2012, 06:46 PM)
ya, that is my strategy. if market koyak badly, then only i consider to switch from money market to buy from the dip. that's why i put my allocation 50% aggresive (regular saving) and 50% conservative (money market).  biggrin.gif
good, happy fishing.
kparam77
post Feb 1 2012, 04:18 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Feb 1 2012, 11:21 AM)
Can a non bumi buy Islamic one?

My agent didn't recommend to me and invest Public Mutual Select Fund till now no return. making loss.  sad.gif
bond fund less commision for agetns.

ask him why no recommend for bond. did u ask him abt bonds?

yes, non bumi can bays islamic funds.

select fund? which 1?
kparam77
post Feb 1 2012, 08:19 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 1 2012, 05:51 PM)
Dont cut off the nose to spite the face.

The "lousy" agent gets 0.2% PER YEAR (yup U read that right) of loaded funds held only - ie. bond fund units that was never switched from equities will never be part of the loaded fund (KPARAM & TRANSIT, pls correct me if i'm in lalaland)

The cost of EXITING all funds and RE-ENTERING with a different agent will cost yr siblings:
5.5% for equity funds via cash
3% for equity funds via EPF
0.25% bond funds

Why lar? Just stop putting additional $ in and start, if wanted, with a better advisor.

Just a thought  notworthy.gif
i dont know abt the % since im only a below average earner.
beside the personal commission,
there are,
indirect commission from downline sales.
carrier banefit montly, personal/group - as long investors tied with us. not sure abt loaded/low loaded.
annual bonus, for cash sales only and the min RM400K annual sales. i never reach 100K annualy. below average mah.
and others.

if investor open acc XXX n tied with agent A. if want to cahnge from agent A for the same acc xxx.. and want to make agent B to continue as agents for acc xxx.

3 parties need to sign to change the agents for the invest.
1. investor
2. agent A.
3. agent B.

hopefully agent A agree to sign.

correct me if i wrong.

kparam77
post Feb 1 2012, 09:14 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 1 2012, 05:13 PM)
Then previous this statement is bullsh#t ?
Joking only.  smile.gif
Market will keep on going down for 3 years above?
Market cannot down for more than 3 years?

Nikkei has been going down for more than 20 years until now.

S&P 500 after 10 year still making a loss until now.
Nasdaq only 50% of its 2000 dotcom bubble.

China SSEC from 2000 until 2006 did not make a gain.

Not to mention 10 years of 1.5% management fee already can mean nearly 12~15 gone even if without the fund making a loss.
PCSF -

taken frm prospectus.

The fund generaly maintains equity exposures - 75% - 98%.

however the equity range of the fund may be lower depending on the fund managers assessment of the equity markets. The balance of the funds NAV will be invested in fixed income securites and money markets instrument.

if we c the asset allocation from 2008.....

equity:
2008 - 84.7%
2009 - 93.4%
2010 - 94.2%
as at oct 2011 - 88.16%

MM:
2008 - 14.4%
2009 -6.6%
2010 - 5.8%
as at oct 2011 - 11.84%

so, looks like FM more confident abt the equity stocks in greater china region. they increaces the allocation every year and less in MM. slitly drop in 2011.

i know some will say PM FM not good in china mrket. but why the FM increase/maintain the allocations? any reason?

is it because, as per stated in prospectus..... The fund allows the investor the opportunity to participate in the long term growth potential of a diversified portfolio of blue chip stocks, growth stocks, fundamentaly undervalued stocks and dividedns stocks in the greater china region???

i think the undervalued stock still undervalued rclxub.gif

any idea?

kparam77
post Feb 1 2012, 10:50 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(desertkids @ Feb 1 2012, 10:36 PM)
a lot lousy agents around u n me..tats y i choose 2analysis myself.n learn from other sifu.. rclxms.gif
as wat i noe..agent A & agent B hv 2under same GAM...the chance to get transfer is very very minimal..pray hard 2success la.
regarding the PCSF..because of its bad performance since the year of commencement, so now a lot of investor repurchase their unit. indirectly it oso affect its performance, so i tink mayb its 1 of da cons of open-ended fund...

i forget whr i had read bout 1 article relate to this PCSF, they say act PCSF is performing, jz the NAV n timing not right so until now stil generate loss..

bt if is me i wont invest in PCSF la..im nt so dare enuf..

above jz my 2cents ya..correct me if im wrong. icon_rolleyes.gif
when c the chart, its start perform from 2Q 09 to 4Q09 only, than back to squre.

can u post the article abt PCSF. any link? maybe that article was correct, but like to know the contents too.

18 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:44 PM