Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

radver
post Sep 16 2011, 11:50 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Sep 16 2011, 01:58 AM)
Can any1 help me to identify type of shrimp in this picture?
Crystal red shrimp... Probably grade A or B...

Added on September 16, 2011, 11:51 am
QUOTE(booby @ Sep 16 2011, 08:10 AM)
wat could be the reasons fish jumping out from aquarium. 2 days ago one ember tetra jump n die, today one harlequin jump zzz i do 20% water change ady still happen. is it too muc co2?
New tank??? Any ghost shrimps???

This post has been edited by radver: Sep 16 2011, 11:51 AM
radver
post Sep 16 2011, 04:19 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Sep 16 2011, 02:32 PM)
Am i consider lucky to one of them?i get it when i purchase my sakura shrimp  biggrin.gif
Not so, they are one of the lowest grade among crystal red shrimps...
radver
post Sep 16 2011, 11:51 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 16 2011, 04:00 PM)
what kind of flora is best as carpet?
It must suit the scape, so that it won't spoil the overall aquascape...

As I know, all carpet plants require Co2 injection. Hairgrass will grow very slow. Gloss won't be too hard, I've grown it in gravel, no need aquasoil also can grow.

You also need to make sure the light is intense enough for them to stay low, if not enough light, they will grow tall like stem plant.

Hairgrass will be very hardy, but slow growing. Glosso is not so hardy, but grows very fast.
radver
post Sep 17 2011, 05:47 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 17 2011, 12:46 PM)
now my tank is naked, the soil still in the bag..
Like bushy forest but don't know how to do that without co2.  doh.gif
Use moss... Java moss, spiky moss or my favorite flame moss.

Just spread them in between 2 pieces of plastic mesh and tie both piece together.

I did that before, got a very nice carpet... thumbup.gif

Few weeks later

And when you say bushy forest did you mean like this.... tongue.gif

radver
post Sep 17 2011, 09:04 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 17 2011, 06:35 PM)
yes!! Bushy bushy!!!
Hmm~~ maybe Wei jie can help me with this..
He has all the things you mentioned..i think
Can you be more specific as what moss and which part?
Just google Java moss, Spiky moss, Flame moss etc and see which one you like. They have different shapes and growth patterns. But I feel Java moss would be great for starters, they are very hardy and they stick to any surface after a while. For spiky moss, if you let it grow too thick, the bottom part will die off and it'll start floating around.

Moss in my opinion is already quite hardy, I can keep them with hardly any sunlight for 2 months, and they will still be green and I still reuse them... rclxms.gif

Added on September 17, 2011, 9:11 pm

You only need to change 20% to 30% of water each week, no need to empty the whole tank.

No need to suck up the poop also, we just let it break down and dissolve by itself, once you put in the soil or gravel, you won't be able to find the poop at all. The landscape we only move when we want a different look.

Added on September 17, 2011, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Sep 17 2011, 04:45 PM)
Hi all,

Sorry for dropping by so suddenly but I don't know where else to ask.

My cousin has an albino tiger oscar (just a few cm big) and he wants another fish to accompany it.

I want to buy a fish for him for his upcoming birthday & he suggested Archerfish or Bichir.

Any idea if those fishes are available anywhere?

If not, any suggestions on a different type of fish to get him?
He wants one that will grow as large as the oscar because he doesn't want the oscar to eat it.

Thank you. biggrin.gif
We'll be of very limited help here. Cause the focus here is aquascaping, and big fish will tend to ruin everything we try to achieved. Most of the fish we keep don't grow more than 3 inch IMHO.

This post has been edited by radver: Sep 17 2011, 09:15 PM
radver
post Sep 25 2011, 06:37 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Sep 25 2011, 01:30 PM)
already go to NA just now..doest fit my taste (and budget oso) hahaha

looking for something like this
http://www.lelong.com.my/ans-co2-diffuser-...2-05-Sale-P.htm

coz i wanna make DIY co2 reactor
I bought mine in NA Subang, exactly the same, RM15, ISTA brand. But it was last year... tongue.gif

Saw it in SLS too, just a month ago, RM15 also, ISTA, same shape and size.
radver
post Sep 26 2011, 06:39 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ShotGun5203 @ Sep 26 2011, 04:18 PM)
any1 here got use be4 H.E.L.P advance soil ? any comment and about he soil ?
I just started using few months ago. No clouding, not much debris, particle size is like mixture of ADA normal and powder, Japanese hairgrass is growing well on it.

Just that I feel that it some how disturbed the water chemistry as all my cherry red shrimps died one by one even though there is no fish in it. They were living ok in my last tank before I had to transfer them there as the other tank was leaking. The shrimps were ok in quarantine for 1 week. But then right after introduce into the tank, they started dying, even thought I acclimatize them properly.

If your keeping shrimps don't use it. IMO.
radver
post Sep 26 2011, 09:06 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Sep 26 2011, 07:39 PM)
http://www.jpc-co.jp/help/english/soil/effective.html

@radver
could it be the PH ?? hmmmm

planning to rescape my tank this week  rclxm9.gif
Fuuuuu... Never did I think to search for it online. rclxms.gif

Ya, I suspected, but no pH tester so I not sure... But my unintentional experiment with RCS proved it to be not suitable for shrimps, and from the data you provided most probably its too acidic. blush.gif
radver
post Sep 26 2011, 10:53 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ShotGun5203 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:16 PM)
hais , i just set up my tank and thinking for put some plant and mainly is for my wild betta .. not yet put in any fish ..but no confidence ady .thinking of taking out the H.e.l.p soil ..
The packing of the soil  state there " ph drop dramaticaly ..but i google it some ppl say the ph will drop around 5.8-5.9..
You keep betta nevermind la, as long as not shrimps. Plants will grow one, don't worry.

Nah, my tank with HELP soil, that time was after 2 month set up i think. (the hairgrass I just put in few days so looks like dying, but now ok already)

More recent tank shot don't have yet. tongue.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(ShotGun5203 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:46 PM)
be4 putting in the soil didnt u guys rinse the soil ? or direct put in as instruction ?
Don't wash, you'll wash away all the nutrients also. Just put it in directly...

Wash only if your putting in gravels...

This post has been edited by radver: Sep 26 2011, 10:57 PM
radver
post Sep 28 2011, 08:06 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Sep 28 2011, 04:50 PM)
"One thing you have to remember in this hobby is: STOP IMPULSE BUYING! aka kena poison...
Easier said then done... rclxub.gif
radver
post Oct 7 2011, 06:14 PM

18 posts

My current tank, over ran with hair algae actually... grumble.gif

Now overdosing excel, hoping it'll kill all the hair algae.
radver
post Oct 7 2011, 11:31 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Oct 7 2011, 10:25 PM)
Let us know the outcome later huh....
BTW how is your CO2 rate? using solenoid or manual?
2bps... Solenoid, using inline CO2 diffuser. up to 90% diffusion...=P
radver
post Oct 8 2011, 04:07 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Oct 8 2011, 12:02 AM)
try to increase a bit to 3bps....and as long as your fauna not gasping  smile.gif
Will increase gradually see how... biggrin.gif
radver
post Oct 8 2011, 09:56 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(geediver @ Oct 8 2011, 05:03 PM)
I'm contemplating of doing a low tech 25 litre shrimp tank.

Tank dimensions - length: 40cm height: 25 cm width: 25cm.
Filter system: HOB
Lighting: LED clamp spotlight from Ikea
Substrate: ADA Malaya
Fert: JBL Ferropol 24

Fauna: Red Cherry Shrimps

Proposed flora:
Background - Hemianthus micranthemoides
Foreground - Echinodorus tenellus or Elocharis acicularis or Lilaeopsis brasiliensis

Start date: sometime after the 18th Oct. Wait for it ya
Make sure the LED lights is at least within the 6500K spectrum, cause not all LED are suitable for planted tanks. Good luck... icon_rolleyes.gif
radver
post Oct 13 2011, 05:41 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(desmond @ Oct 13 2011, 05:32 PM)
all sifus,

do you all have better way to solve blue green algae issue??

i tried adi blackout, but they come back..sad.gif

thanks in advance yo smile.gif
Blue green algae is actually not algae... Its a type of bacteria, suck out as much as you can. Or if you want drastic measure, get the gold fish powder, mix with some water and syringe it at the blue green algae.
radver
post Oct 15 2011, 05:21 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Oct 15 2011, 01:41 PM)
Wow....weijie going for higher level jor.Gratz
Now i cant even breed RCS  cry.gif
So,i should get gh/kh test kit 1st or PH?I have very limited budget only at the moment  sweat.gif
Check the temperature first. Must maintain at around 27 for RCS to breed. Give them a few months also. The Shrimps need to adapt to new tank.
radver
post Oct 16 2011, 12:46 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Oct 16 2011, 12:02 AM)
they with me around 4months jor...Very sad to see their population decrease day by day  cry.gif .
Haha
Shrimps only? Or with fish also?
radver
post Oct 16 2011, 09:44 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Oct 16 2011, 09:12 PM)
with fish also bro.2gold,8cardinal tetra,2otto, 2sae and 3yamato  biggrin.gif
Err... Enough hiding place or not? Must be like jungle so they got lots of place to hide.

hmm.gif Cause I think the reason the population dwelling is because of the fish. They are taking them as snacks, especially during their moulding where they are the most vulnerable. Last time I had a dozen harlequines with 30 RCS, they finished them off in a months time. Only 2 survivors, and that was because they were sucked into the filter. If your serious about breeding them, you need to get rid of the fishes, including the SAEs.
radver
post Oct 17 2011, 06:09 PM

18 posts

For cheap solution to the oily surface, just get a pair of mollies. They'll clean it up in no time and maintain it that way. I'm using them since I feel that putting a surface skimmer is ugly...
radver
post Oct 21 2011, 10:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(devil86 @ Oct 21 2011, 09:49 PM)
Dear all,

Newbie here..can we fill mineral water that buy from supermarket or those ro water into the aquarium instead of using the pipe water? If v use mineral water or ro water, do v need to put those anti chlorine kind of thing?

Sorry if my question sound stupid...

Thank u.
Pipe water good enough already, no need get mineral or RO water. Just put some anti chloride if you scare, 1 botol RM1 can last you very very long already.

0.0498sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:39 PM