°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

n00b123
post Aug 21 2011, 08:54 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Aug 20 2011, 07:02 PM)
what does it mean? is semi-syn oil will still be used as DEFAULT engine oil from 15k service onwards?
yes...according to the service engineer, the default engine oil for insight is always semi sync
so, the car does comes with semi sync oil and HM have used semi sync oil during our 5 & 10k service as well
for 15k service onwards, you have the options to either continue with the semi sync or to go with full sync

Added on August 21, 2011, 8:58 am
QUOTE(ahh meng @ Aug 20 2011, 11:02 PM)
i really wan to t*u Honda install such a palia battery for this car...

just now my insight unable to START engine, on genting ler...need to go ask around to get a cable to jump start then only settle. really sweat ==''
i thought insight go hibernated under such cold temperature !!

i think i'm not the 1st one having this problem...lastime got another fren here oso battery kong at home if i not mistaken.

advise: get yourself a jump start cable on car to standby, dono who will be the next victim.
ooh..i just drove my insight to genting last week
didn't have such problem...anyway, the warranty for this maintenance free battery is 2 years if i'm not mistaken

This post has been edited by n00b123: Aug 21 2011, 08:58 AM
n00b123
post Aug 21 2011, 10:01 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Aug 21 2011, 08:54 AM)
yes...according to the service engineer, the default engine oil for insight is always semi sync
so, the car does comes with semi sync oil and HM have used semi sync oil during our 5 & 10k service as well
for 15k service onwards, you have the options to either continue with the semi sync or to go with full sync
1 thing i forgot to ask is the mileage interval for full sync engine oil
it seems like the mileage interval for semi sync oil could last for 5k only..which is the same as the typical mineral oil

This post has been edited by n00b123: Aug 21 2011, 10:02 AM
n00b123
post Aug 25 2011, 10:51 AM

312 posts

Check this out..

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101...&type=1&theater

Small sized car like Fiesta only getting like 11km/litre
so, those driving insight whom are getting 18-20km/litre shouldn't be complaining so much about low mileage fc.
n00b123
post Aug 27 2011, 09:44 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Aug 26 2011, 10:59 PM)
One of my friends just got this car for his wife, complaining that the pick up is not that strong.... any comments?
I personally feel that the pickup is good when you have the ECO mode turned off..
I've tested the pickup after crossing the toll, accelerate and rev the car rpm to 4-5k, usually managed to smoke most of the cars behind...but doing it will burn a lot of fuel tongue.gif
n00b123
post Sep 2 2011, 05:39 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(jacek @ Sep 2 2011, 04:36 PM)
total damage for 4th service is RM251.17
breakdown as below:

1.Labour          - RM58.50
2.Engine oil      - RM117.41
3.Washer Drain - RM2.10
4.Oil Filter        - RM30.68
5.Alignment      - RM30
6.Balancing      - RM35

Item 2,3,4 entitle 15% discount ... d@mn, didnt know it was 25% discount promo end 31-Aug.

Question is:
1. is it neccessarily to do alignment and balancing every 15k km? As advise by SA, it is neccessarily eventhou we did not hit any pothole or etc.

2. is true that IMA battery still price at RM10k and above? SA said the price still at this range and the market mentioned RM6k for the battery wasnt true. Now I am thinking twice whether it is worth to drive Insight if the IMA batt cost RM10k and above

3. 20k km service will cost approx RM500 because of the air-cond filter change. Is it neccessarily to change air-cond filter every 20k km?

Any bros can advise?

Added on September 2, 2011, 4:38 pm

RM3k does it include front grill and spoiler?
If not, it is expensive. I found RM2xxx for all...include front, side, rear skirting, with mugen grill and spoiler.
price include installation.
wow...the last time i went for my 10k service, there's already a charge for Alignment and balancing @ RM 58
Is it compulsory to check the same thing again for the 15k service? hmm.gif
n00b123
post Sep 4 2011, 01:47 PM

312 posts

wow..latest promotion Toyota Prius is offering Free 5 years maintenance
this kind of offer will never happen in Honda..
n00b123
post Sep 28 2011, 12:18 PM

312 posts

no lar...my windscreen got some minor chips as well last week..thanks to those irresponsible lorry drivers spilling out the stones in the highway...went to dr winscreen to check if there's anyway to repair it...after they examined, they advised to leave it as it..no need to repair since there is no crack...during the conversation, i've asked if they could provide a windscreen replacement for my model just in case if needed in future and the price quoted is 2k+ only..originally imported from Honda Japan..
n00b123
post Sep 28 2011, 02:02 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(infinitium @ Sep 28 2011, 01:28 PM)
I once had a small chip <1cm on my windscreen - brought to my windscreen repair shop. They said it was too small for them to submit a insurance coverage claim, so u know what they did?

They just took a hammer, whacked my screen, then took a photo. Submit that to the ins company as proof of damage. Now the hole damn big mah. Sure cannot say no to claims, right?

Very smart fellas smile.gif
yah..that guy from dr. windscreen also advised me the same thing..ask me to get windscreen coverage next year
until near the expiry and no accident, can just send my car to them and they will replace a brand new one for me inclusive of tinting...as for the photo, they said can kautim for me, no need to use hammer..lol...hahhaha

but i did asked if the windscreen they gonna provide is original from Honda...apparently, the answer is yes and they have many partner vendors in japan to purchase and ship the spare parts for the recon cars(SLK, BMW, alphard, etc) as part of their business here...
n00b123
post Sep 28 2011, 02:24 PM

312 posts

sensor included...otherwise, it will be priced around 1k...just the same like for vios and city
actually, that guy also told me..if i were to fork out my own $$ for windscreen, can get a cheaper windscreen without the sensor or move the sensor to elsewhere
n00b123
post Oct 11 2011, 08:29 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(I-Kurosaki @ Oct 10 2011, 03:53 PM)
My service interval is every 7500km according to my SC. This is being shown on sticker (next service is 17.5k, after my 10k service). What about u guys?
QUOTE(STC @ Oct 10 2011, 07:55 PM)
I am planning to make an official complaint about the required every 5000KM service. I probably need many signatories as I believe that it is unethical to force customers to service car more often than required. If you guys remember that in 1997 when Peugeot launch the cars, one of their selling point was service was only required every 10000KM. I have checked with US maintenace manual and it also recommend something like 12000km under normal driving condition.

I think for a gentle use of a hybrid car, synthetic oil is unnecessary unless you expose your car to high revs. There are several automotive blogs explaining the difference between mineral and syntheitic oil.

Meanwhile, did HM overcharged us for the Insight? The government said zero duties so why are we paying RM99800 for a US19000 car? Even after adding the sales tax, it is still expensive. Our Honda Insight is the lowest of model of the insight.
weird...my service center in puchong requires me to go back for service every 5,000km interval
furthermore, they never return me the balance of engine oil everytime I went there for service hmm.gif
perhaps i should switch to the SC in Klang
n00b123
post Oct 12 2011, 12:52 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(iTrump @ Oct 12 2011, 12:04 PM)
Done my 15k service last week.

By default, they are using SM 5W-30 Engine Oil (Semi) (RM99.80) and not the mineral oil as stated from honda website.
Remember to claim the RM40 e-voucher. The first bill they issue only deduct RM 20 for the e-voucher, but after verify again and they made some several calls, they issue me another bill with the deduction of RM40.  rclxms.gif

The next service (20k) will be very expensive!! RM 400 plus.. sweat. sweat...
hmnn...not aware of the additional RM40 voucher blink.gif
anyway, did you ask them why the semi sync engine oil would last for 5km only instead of 7.5km?
n00b123
post Oct 13 2011, 11:09 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Oct 12 2011, 12:52 PM)
hmnn...not aware of the additional RM40 voucher  blink.gif
anyway, did you ask them why the semi sync engine oil would last for 5km only instead of 7.5km?
QUOTE(iTrump @ Oct 12 2011, 01:02 PM)
Will poke them the question during next service. But they will probably say is the "rule". What can you do then? Unless we together made a official request/complain to HM to allow a longer service period or else still back to square.
well, I made a call to HM customer service this morning to enquire about this
According to HM, it is made compulsory for every customers to come back to the SC for car servicing on every 5KM milage/3 months basis whichever comes first to avoid issues concerning warranty claims in future

so, regardless what type of engine oil you use (ie mineral, semi sync or full-sync), u will still need to change it at every 5km interval...so, we can actually opt for the mineral oil for Honda Insight since the lifespan allowed is only 5KM or mayb switch to the SC in Klang biggrin.gif

btw, how did you get the additional RM 40 voucher? I've asked HM to check for me and they told me that the only voucher that HM would provide is the RM20 voucher which I have already used it... ohmy.gif

n00b123
post Oct 13 2011, 11:55 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(STC @ Oct 13 2011, 11:52 AM)
So they are not telling it will void the warranty but maybe an issue with the warranty claim in the future and I am very sure if you write a letter to them they wont confirm that in writing.
lol..the problem is that there is no email address published in their official website and neither in anywhere you can find it..
so, just screw it...since the SC in Klang allow us to extend up to 7km for using semi-sync engine oil, just switch over to there lor..considering their quality of service is better also
n00b123
post Oct 13 2011, 01:27 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(STC @ Oct 13 2011, 12:14 PM)
The SC is coy about the actual mileage for servicing. This may interest you http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/owners/partsan...priceservicing/  This only happens where the government is interested in protecting the consumers rights.
And compare the maintenance cost of Insight and Accord 2.4.

For Insight RM8141.65

For Accord 2.4 RM7130.70

The difference is RM1100 but okaylah over 48 months. Just about 100 plus full tank of fuel. rclxub.gif
yeah..so, it means that we are forced to pay for the unnecessary engine oil change for such a short interval
although we are benefited through the free import duty scheme from the government but that doesn't mean HM could slaughter our $$ paying for unnecessary maintenance this way vmad.gif
n00b123
post Oct 13 2011, 02:43 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(STC @ Oct 13 2011, 02:08 PM)
Not only that! HM has disabled the multi info display which will provide you the information about the engine oil lifespan. If you look at the manual all insight cars are monitored by the on board computer for maintenance. It will automatically remind you for service or whenever the engine oil quality drops. The only function I can change is the lock time, lights and the speedo colour. So why did HM disable the function?

BTW, is the toll free line working?
yeah..the toll free num 1800-88-2020 works from 9-5 on weekdays

Added on October 13, 2011, 2:45 pm
QUOTE(chidorizzz @ Oct 13 2011, 02:42 PM)
i pick silver bcoz of my parents told so~~ i prefer white BTW..
but lots of my frends+family says.. HEH 1.3 JOR?? can pickup KA?

Im lazy to explain for them~  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

manage to squeeze RM1500 discount from my SA.. but dono he will give me freebies or not..
U guys think its worth it?
1.5k discount is dem good offer..last time, the max i managed to squeeze from the SA was only RM500 discount rclxms.gif
but then, the price still remains @98k before the tsunami

This post has been edited by n00b123: Oct 13 2011, 02:45 PM
n00b123
post Oct 17 2011, 10:45 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(Kensim00 @ Oct 16 2011, 12:32 PM)
Funny actmar.. Last service set me 7k interval.. This round set me 5k..
Somemore the guy asked me: did u repaint ur car? Original ar? Seldom see black
ooh...that's weird
so, are you going to follow the 5k service interval using the honda recommended semi sync oil?

n00b123
post Oct 20 2011, 03:16 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Oct 20 2011, 02:53 PM)
contact this person permanon.my@gmail.com
he do posting with pos laju smile.gif
i get mine from him as well.

the result ok la...at least after 1 week the car still look "just" wash. but u dont expect it to be like no need to wash kind..then u will dissapointed.
do you still need to apply wax on the car after applying permanon?
or just wash with plain water is enough to keep the car clean?
n00b123
post Oct 23 2011, 10:29 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Oct 23 2011, 09:26 AM)
sedih... my charming lost his virginity today... front bumper scratched... OUCH. yesterday just got its 5k service... haish, i will ask the SC to touch up at  10k service... at the mean time checking out DIY advices at 2nd pos

edit: autospa better or easy touch up?

autospa seem easier... the latter got more steps...  sweat.gif
SC got offer free touch up?
n00b123
post Oct 24 2011, 02:31 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Kimichi @ Oct 24 2011, 12:06 PM)
guys
just want to know how much ur were able to save after using insight?

example :
before this U use Myvi 1.3 and travel to work (petrol) cost rm10 per day.
now Insight only cost RM5 .

thanks smile.gif
well...this is very subjective..can't really give u an answer for that
but for my case, I used to pump 4 full tanks of petrol for my monthly travelling
after switching to insight, I only need to pump only 3 full tanks every month
n00b123
post Oct 24 2011, 03:02 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Oct 24 2011, 02:31 PM)
well...this is very subjective..can't really give u an answer for that
but for my case, I used to pump 4 full tanks of petrol for my monthly travelling
after switching to insight, I only need to pump only 3 full tanks every month
oh yah...i was driving a 1.3l manual iswara aeroback back then..didn't really keep track the FC (cent/km) for this ride

0.0520sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:40 AM