11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

TeliLeti
post Jan 18 2012, 08:16 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(gaianeo @ Jan 16 2012, 07:48 PM)
my friend hedgehog have its penis growth like a ballon (around 0.8cm diameter) .. do any one know what happen to him? or should he immediate bring it to vet?
Seems like a pointless question to ask here because an abnormal growth would probably mean it's a tumour or something. Hedgehogs are rather prone to cancer.

I wonder why people fail to do research before buying their pets. Tsk tsk.

If you have the funds to bring the hedgie to the vet, do so immediately.

QUOTE(ZforZebra @ Jan 17 2012, 09:01 PM)
royal canin is the brand name and RC32 is the product name la??
izzit this below the pic??
It's not the Persian one. It's the 'Fit' one.

RC36 (Kitten) is recommended for hedgies 6 months & below since it's higher in fat, which is good for growing hedgies.
RC32 (Adult Fit) is more suitable for those 6 months & above due to its' lower fat content.

If you have a fat hedgehog that's still below 6 months (which I do), RC32 would be the better choice.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Jan 18 2012, 08:21 AM
TeliLeti
post Feb 9 2012, 02:29 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(imbahabis @ Feb 9 2012, 12:50 AM)
My 2month+ snp has a redness on her skin..wat is it??mites symptom??and at bottom of her left ear near to her body has benjol..can anyone give explanation about it..

Redness on her skin...where specifically?

Pictures would help a lot more.

QUOTE(kahogod @ Feb 9 2012, 01:04 AM)
OMG.. Too Late... =..="

My Mom Buy It Secretly While I Go To Work Today...  rclxub.gif  LOL... She Think It Good For My Pair Of Hedgies... "Jimat Ruang" She Said.. cry.gif

Need To Find A Good Excuses Or She Would Be SAD..  hmm.gif  icon_question.gif

..............................................................................................................................

After A Deep Thinking.. I Wonder... If I Cut and Alter it... Make a Few Ventilation Holes Around The Cabinet.. Could It Be OK..?  sweat.gif

Doesn't Want My Mom Say I "anak X Mengenang Budi la.." sweat.gif
You mean you plan to JOIN the different small plastic boxes? In that case, that will take up a LOT more space than one single, LARGE (six-wheeled) Toyogo box.
You can use the cabinet to store books and whatnot but not suitable for hedgies, honestly.

TeliLeti
post Feb 10 2012, 07:51 AM

18 posts

If you've connected them together with tubes or something, the space should be good enough for a hedgie. biggrin.gif

I wonder if the height may be a bit low though so you might want to monitor your hedgie to see if he/she can climb out. I've had my hedgies escape a few times and poo/pee all over the floor.
TeliLeti
post Feb 16 2012, 11:46 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(nethelp @ Feb 15 2012, 09:49 PM)
ur female not yet mature lah! u will coz damage to her permanently if u breed her this age. 10-12 months is the recommended age for 1st breed.

Usually not recommended to breed for newbie, unless u hav experience on them.
I thought it's 6 months and above?
I've read that their pelvic bones fuse together after 1 year old, so it would be dangerous to breed them because the mother and babies could die during delivery.

How are your hedgies? biggrin.gif
TeliLeti
post Feb 17 2012, 01:47 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(nethelp @ Feb 16 2012, 09:19 PM)
I'm not sure about the pelvic bone, but I wait at least 10 months only to breed them.

All my hedgies are UP AND RUNNING, thank you for ur concern. In fact I've adopted an adult tortured female 3 months ago, her front head spike and both ears hav been trimmed to half, damn sick ppl. Will upload my hedgie family photo soon
10 months is definitely a safe period. Gosh, that poor hedgie. Only a sick idiot would do such a thing. D:
Did her spikes and ears heal up okay?

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Feb 16 2012, 10:51 PM)
your hedgies all have their own wheel in their cage? i read online they say need at least 12" wheel? where the heck you guys get 12" wheel?  shocking.gif

i am thinking of getting a hedgehog...need to find a suitable storage box first....need it to be less than 25" x 17/16" x 14" (height). reason for this specfic size is because i want to put it under my hamster tank  rolleyes.gif & thats the only available space left  doh.gif is it too small for a hedgehog?
You can buy 11" ones at Pet Lovers Centre. About 45 bucks. smile.gif
No need to buy so many wheels, they can share.
I don't allow my older male and female hedgie to use the wheel because I think they're at optimum weight already and they never gain weight.
Their son, well... that fat boy needs the wheel.

No, that cage is too small for a hedgie.
They need at least 2 feet x 1 feet worth of space.
If you REALLY cannot help it, make sure you have a wheel for them or they'll become bored. (How would you feel if someone put you in an empty elevator for life?)

I'm glad you're doing research first before buying a pet. smile.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Feb 17 2012, 01:48 PM
TeliLeti
post Feb 20 2012, 08:44 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Dkai @ Feb 17 2012, 04:26 PM)
wuu!~ why everyone also have a healthy hedgehog.. but i dont =(
since i bought back aredy have mites problem..then bring its to vet also 4 times le..
costs me alot of $$ on vet!~ sian loo!~  cry.gif
What bedding do you use? Wood shavings can carry mites.
TeliLeti
post Feb 21 2012, 08:59 AM

18 posts

You can litter train hedgies but not all hedgies.

Usually, hedgies like to do their business in one corner of the cage. Identify which corner it is. If there's poop elsewhere that's not near the corner, scoop it up and dump it in that corner. (can try putting a litter pan there but can't guarantee the hedgie will still do its business there)

Apparently, it helps if the hedgie sees you scooping it up and putting it in the corner. I've tried it before but never seemed to work with my hedgies.

Try it for a week and see. Of course, you don't leave the poop there all week long. Just leave it in the corner for a whole day, then clean it up at night. If you can't stand the smell, don't bother litter training. xD
TeliLeti
post Feb 22 2012, 05:46 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Feb 21 2012, 11:14 AM)
i see...but how is their poop look like...is it those gooey & mushy type? have you encounter where your hedgehog poop in the wheel & the wheel is covered with poop in the morning?
They look like...rat poop?

If they're stressed out or their food didn't get digested well enough, it'll turn out light green & watery/gel-like.
If they're healthy & happy, their poop turns out dark green & soft. It'll harden up after a few hours.

I don't really have pictures to show you because I don't make it a habit to take picture of hedgehog poo. wink.gif

Hedgehogs do not poo on the wheel on purpose. Running loosens their bowel system; therefore, they can't help but poo & pee while running.
It doesn't matter where they poo/pee, as long as they're running, you can expect that they will start pooping & peeing soon.

Of course, they could careless that there's poo and pee on the wheel, so they keep running! rclxub.gif

Just so you know, certain hedgies don't like being watched when they run so they don't run when you're around. If you see signs of poo & pee in the morning, you know that they certainly hate being watched while running. wink.gif Huffster and Pinto don't like running when I watch them. Well, actually- just Huffster. Pinto is just too fat & lazy to run properly. He walks on the wheel... like a boss. Sloooowllyyyy... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Feb 22 2012, 05:50 PM
TeliLeti
post Feb 22 2012, 10:07 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(pemberan|x @ Feb 22 2012, 09:00 PM)
my hoglets age about 2 month already. they can already eat by themself rite?. but mine they don wan to eat by themself!. just go to the food(rc36) and take some smell and start digging and climbing so damn active. but when i put the food on my hand they'll eat it. wtf so mengada!. im afraid that their cant eat by themself sad.gif
I'm pretty sure it's just lazy. They 'buat perangai' sometimes. Like my hedgies went on a hunger strike for 2 days when i changed their food brand. If they don't want to eat, dont worry. They'll eat when they gets hungry enough.You can count the number of kibble you put in, then leave it overnight n see how many disappears.

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Feb 22 2012, 10:10 PM
TeliLeti
post Feb 23 2012, 05:51 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(CK_15 @ Feb 22 2012, 11:42 PM)
im newbie here. wanna know if the bedding i using Wood shavings is smelly so what should i go? am i gonna change all wood shavings or just take it out which is dark colour enough and add some new wood shaving. tat all?

Welcome to the hedgie thread!
I would not recommend using wood shavings.

#1: They could carry mites, meaning poor itchy hedgies & high vet bills.
#2: They get stuck on boy parts when they pee/get horny.

I don't use any sort of bedding at all. You could use newspaper (there are concerns about the ink & hedgie's tendencies to bite the paper, this ingesting the ink). Or... shredded paper (the ones in the pet shop, but again- the concern is that the dust can cause respiratory problems). Fleece is the best solution. It's quite cheap. It's a bit too lengthy to explain everything so I suggest you Google up using fleece as bedding. wink.gif

If you want to stick to wood shavings, you can either change the wood shavings every one week or change it everyday, scooping the dirty ones out and replacing them with clean ones. smile.gif

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Feb 23 2012, 12:13 AM)
oh...its not the poo that i am worried of....because if its mixed in the bedding then wont smell that bad....but if on the wheel then i am affraid later my whole room will smell & my mum will get mad because of that...lol
I can guarantee that poo & pee will be sticking to every nook & cranny of the wheel when you wake up in the morning.
There's no hedgehog that won't poo or pee on the wheel. Like I said, running loosens their bowel system.

If you don't want it to smell bad/clean up the poopified wheel every morning, don't put a wheel in. Instead, spend an hour or so with your hedgie by letting it run around somewhere in the evening.

I would suggest the toilet. Huffster runs around like Sonic when I put him in the toilet. After they poo & pee, just wash them off, down the drain. wink.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Feb 23 2012, 05:59 PM
TeliLeti
post Feb 24 2012, 10:49 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Feb 24 2012, 05:24 AM)
telileti - what name did you decide to go with for dibs?
Ahahahaha, not 'Dibs', sadly.

I merely named him Pinto.

I call him Fat Boy nowadays though. He's gigantic. Bigger than his mother and father.
TeliLeti
post Feb 27 2012, 12:01 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Feb 24 2012, 09:38 PM)
D:

recent pictures of pinto when feasible please, does pinto get along with his mum & dad?
I'll get a few of those pictures snapped soon. wink.gif
He's such a chubby boy now. My mum told me to starve him. shakehead.gif

How's your hedgie? Her name escapes me now. Sorry!

He tries to hump his mum & he bites his dad. The biting incident scared the heck out of me. I placed him on the toilet floor with his dad while I washed their cage. Took my attention off them for a second and BAM! His dad started squealing because Pinto attacked him. D:
TeliLeti
post Feb 28 2012, 08:49 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Feb 27 2012, 03:39 PM)
lil tongue.gif

ouch and huffy is supposed to be the temperamental one doh.gif how's pinto's attitude towards you, is he a friendly character?
how many hogs do you currently have in your care right now :?
also, random picture of lil sleeping in her pot doh.gif

older pics of her -

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=45566834
Eeee, Lil looks supah dupah cute in her pot. laugh.gif

I have pictures of Chubster, Huffster and Pinto on my phone now but I can't transfer it now because I forgot to bring the cable to work. Meh. Perhaps later today.

Pinto's a mix between Huffster & Chubster. He is a bit jumpy, like his dad, so I need to let him sniff my hands before I pick him up. He's a neat eater, leaving no crumbs behind, like his dad as well. Chubster's a very messy eater. Like his mum, he's easy to handle & lets me touch his ears. Huffster doesn't like me touching his ears.

If I leave him on the floor to roam, he tends to just sit there or walk a bit. Huffster will run off like Sonic. Chubster just sits there and sniffs the air. rolleyes.gif

Pinto, all in all, is just too adorable. I'm sure Lil is too, isn't she? ;D

Here's the Christmas edition of my hedgies (I'll just leave the link so it doesn't stretch the page):
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphoto...188970491_n.jpg < Chubster could care less about Christmas.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphoto..._54357418_n.jpg < Huffster hates Christmas.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphoto...219934682_n.jpg < Pinto loves Christmas.
TeliLeti
post Feb 28 2012, 09:24 PM

18 posts

Here are my 3 babies. Photos taken yesterday.

user posted image Huffster. He's still very huffy.

user posted image Chubster. She used to be chubby.

user posted image Pinto. One of Huffster & Chubster's offspring. He's a fat hedgie.

Here's my hedgie photo collection, documenting their growth. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Feb 28 2012, 09:25 PM
TeliLeti
post Feb 29 2012, 08:02 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Feb 28 2012, 11:28 PM)
wonderful ictures. I personally like the Huffy in a "tight alley" photo. laugh.gif
Thank you. biggrin.gif
Actually, it's Pinto in that photo. Huffster turned out to be a snowflake after he changed his quills.
Pinto is the salt & pepper (slightly snowflake-y) pinto hedgehog. nod.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Feb 29 2012, 08:03 AM
TeliLeti
post Mar 1 2012, 09:10 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Feb 29 2012, 03:10 PM)
huffster grew up to be quite a looker didn't he! i always thought pinto would be the show stealer once he matures but in my books huffster - rockstar xD

and no, not really. lil used to be pretty docile in terms of attitude and table manners but i believe she's going through a rebellious stage. she huffs whenever she sees me but the moment i reach my hands out to her she'll calm down and wait for me to pick her up and cup her in my palms. to which she'd start licking and sniffing around whilst trying to ball up to get comfy.

that and she used to not leave any crumbs scattered around her playpen but recently, gurgh ._.! it looks like a spring break massacre i tells ya.
addendum*

i do like how she takes care of her wheel though, she still runs as normal as she does with the addition that she actually stops to do her business before continuing (sometimes). as a result i don't have to clean her wheel daily like before, but every week or fortnight when she simply can't resist the temptation to go on the fly, or rather run.
He's a handsome boy. nod.gif He has this 'look' whenever I take pictures. Sometimes I feel like he's giving me the evil eye. laugh.gif

D'awww. It's probably a phase. Chubster gets that way sometimes too. Lil's a smart one, isn't she? I've never heard of a hedgie that gets off the wheel to do its business. xD

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Feb 29 2012, 08:37 PM)
oic, in the photo album I also saw three baby hedgies. One of them grew up to become Pinto so where's the other two? tongue.gif
The other two (male & female)- I had to sell. My mum wanted to make hedgehog curry already because they took up too much space & smelled bad (Imagine 5 hedgie's worth of poo & pee). Today, I have 3 and they're already taking up quite some space. The smell is still overwhelming in the morning. rclxub.gif
TeliLeti
post Mar 4 2012, 04:35 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(JayneT @ Mar 4 2012, 01:30 PM)
I'm using olive oil to apply on my gal...
especially her ears... she have flaky ears...
after applying some olive oil, it will be better and it will last for about 2 days..

Vaseline works as well. biggrin.gif
TeliLeti
post Mar 12 2012, 04:38 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(vespa_lovers @ Mar 12 2012, 04:24 PM)
im interested with hedgehog..bored with my hamster tongue.gif

1) can i know about hedgehog cage?better with picture smile.gif
2) hedgehog diet?they eat veggie or fruit ?
3) im currently a student..can i travel with hedgehog on the bus?
If you could get bored with your hamster, there's a chance you'll get bored with a hedgehog one day.

Hedgehog cages should be bigger than 2 feet x 1 feet. That's the minimum space that one hedgehog can have.

They eat dry, good quality cat food. I would suggest Royal Canin 32 or Royal Canin Kitten 36 (for hedgies less than 6 months). This would be considerably more costly than hamster food. I paid RM90-ish for a 4kg bag of RC32 a few days ago. A few mealworms or crickets can be given once every week or so as treats.

Hedgehogs do not like travelling long distances. If the travelling takes less than 1.5 hours, it's okay. Just put him/her in a shoe box (with ventilation holes & plenty of tissue paper/cloth inside). If it's more than 2 hours, I'd suggest you find a place for your hedgie to stay & be taken care of while you're away.

For more information, visit this website: http://www.freewebs.com/thehedgieden/hedgehogcare.htm

It's really helpful and will tell you almost everything a good hedgie owner should know. smile.gif

This post has been edited by TeliLeti: Mar 12 2012, 04:40 PM
TeliLeti
post Mar 15 2012, 11:54 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(berman517 @ Mar 15 2012, 10:41 PM)
wat is the clicking mean?in the how to choose a hedgie...
bought 1 today...about 3 weeks old according to the seller...
he is hissing all the time whenever i touch him T_T

Added on March 15, 2012, 11:12 pmomg...my hedgehog been drinking from the waterbottle for 15 minutes...
so thirsty meh...@@
Hissing is normal behaviour for a hedgehog that feels unsafe. He doesn't know your smell yet so he will hiss.

Before I got a hedgehog, all my research told me NEVER to buy a hedgehog that clicks at me. However, I find that to be rather untrue because even my nicest hedgie clicks at me when I scare her accidentally.

This is what huffing and clicking sounds like. Not very good sound quality though but you'll recognise it in real life if you hear it.

How to choose a hedgehog? Make sure they're healthy, walks normally and their eyes are clear? Buy them from reputable breeders. smile.gif
TeliLeti
post Mar 16 2012, 08:41 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(berman517 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:58 PM)
ic...hissing sound kinda freaking me out but i try learn to used to it...
can advise me on how to setup a cage(home?) for hedgie...
dun wan to stress up this little thing...

Added on March 16, 2012, 12:05 amgot him at around 10 just now.
settle down around 11.30 in his temporary paper box...
non stop eating and drinking until now...1st night here...= =
You're supposed to prepare everything BEFORE you bring your hedgehog home.
You're subjecting him to unnecessary stress because you just brought him into a new environment (the paper box in your house) and you're going to take him out of that environment again soon into the new cage. That's just unnecessary stress to the hedgehog.

Please try to do more research on your own.

You can use a large Toyogo box, the one with six wheels. Also, buy an 11 inch wheel from Pet Lovers Center so he can get his exercise at night.

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0577sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:11 AM