Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

Noobish
post Oct 24 2012, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(efariz @ Oct 24 2012, 11:26 PM)
oh..i see..i already prepared a wheel, but he seems not interested with it sad.gif
3 months is still considered as babies.. Babies tend to sleep a lot.. Normal.. Plus they are nocturnal.. They are most active after midnight..
Noobish
post Oct 25 2012, 12:32 AM

hard to say because he's balling.. some people say as long can turn into a ball, not count as obese.. but it is not true in all cases.. do you feed him mealies? if he is obese, limit his treats (but not food) and encourage exercise.. some hedgies only wheel in the dark and only when no one is around..

mine used to sleep over 20 hours when I first got him.. and even now he sleeps mighty lot..

even if you don't see him wheeling, poops on wheel indicate he wheeled as hedgies tend to poop and pee when they run. he's balling and hissing because he's not used to you yet..

spend at least 30 min each day to bond with him.. remember that consistency is important.. if you spend hours in a day, and go off without bonding after that, he might revert back to being defensive.. put your used shirt in his cage so he relate your scent to comfort..

don't be afraid to handle him, as he might learn that hissing and balling will get you to leave him alone.. and being afraid of him will frighten your hedgie even more as he don't know why you are afraid..

actually balling and hissing is his prey instinct.. and normal behavior of a hedgie.. you are soo many times bigger than he is.. and he doesn't know you.. i think you'd be afraid to if it were you, right? you have to slowly gain his trust.. smile.gif
Noobish
post Oct 27 2012, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(rexeren @ Oct 25 2012, 03:28 PM)
Hi all, sorry for the late updates.
I've seen some users asking for photos of their hedgie's homes, so here's mine.

Basically my hogs' homes are divided to 2.
1) Basic Toyogo box home - sleeping, eating, pooping etc
[attachmentid=3120408]

2) Play pen made of corrugated plastic board + C & C cupboard(Link)
Reassembled to look like a play pen
[attachmentid=3120409]
And finally, a picture of Cottie sleeping behind me while I'm working on my work ^^
She earns a special spot on the chair since she can sleep soundly while I move around
[attachmentid=3120411]
can i know where you get the C&C cupboard?
Noobish
post Oct 31 2012, 01:02 AM

^
Miko chan, where are you located? Can u post a picture of the hedgie?

U can use newspaper for bedding as well.. But might be a little messy..
Noobish
post Oct 31 2012, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(Miko_Chan @ Oct 31 2012, 10:57 AM)
How come this thread so little people response? Only 3 people responded so far... I wish to look for a responsible good adopter who is willing to bring the hedgehog to the vet for checkup... Since I caught him from the road, afraid there might be injuries or so...

Anyways,  i tried giving him cucumber, he/she not interested...
Give cooked carrot, not interested...
Give 4 mealies... Ate all =.=

But from what i know, main diet suppose to be cat kibbles right?
Only mealies is not good, cause they are fat not proteins....
I am busy fostering three puppies and the hedgehog, totally forgot to take picture of it...
Yes, main diet is premium cat kibbles. Some hedgie don't eat vegies and fruits at all, like mine. Did he/she eaten anything (beside mealies) since you got him? You can crush some dog kibble for him/her in the meantime..
Noobish
post Oct 31 2012, 12:18 PM

He's scared since he's not used to his surrounding yet and you.. Balling and hissing is the normal hedgie behavior.. Since that is his defensive method. Did you observed that during daytime? They are most active past midnight since they are nocturnal.. Most hedgie will only sleep during daytime..
Noobish
post Oct 31 2012, 12:57 PM

:/ That's not a good to hear. Do tell if he still breathing weird after you change the bedding. I think if it still there he needs to see the vet. Poor guy. He must not have anything to eat (much) while he was lost. Must be really hungry. Some hedgy won't eat much when they are at new places. Mine took 3 days after he got back before eating like normal. Had to syringe feed him since he only eat a kibble or two for the whole day. Since they are small their body can quickly shut down without any food in them.
Noobish
post Oct 31 2012, 02:10 PM

I just use newspaper.. Before, I use fleece, but they track paw prints and liner dive.. Then I tried putting wood bedding in their litter pan, but it's too messy.. So last resort I just use newspaper after they got treated for mites (precaution).. I don't know where you are located, but the ones I heard good are Bandar Kinrara vet, the one near zoo negara (forgot name, I think he was mentioned in the vet list thread), Dr. Jenny (but I heard retired.. Not sure, maybe at Cats and Paws).. My second hedgie is REAL grump when I got him, but he only act tough.. Lol. Don't be afraid..The worst thing is cuma terkejut je when he hiss and pop (and maybe bite, but it doesn't hurt that much, only you shock a bit la). I don't use any temperature regulator as those that use that mainly lives in country with winter. I think our temperature is good enough if you don't put it outside of the house and control the temperature if you put them in air-conditioned room.
Noobish
post Oct 31 2012, 03:31 PM

Though I don't know what kind of ink the newspaper used, most newspaper now use soy-based ink.. Another reason why newspaper is not recommended is because it's cold, but since we're in the tropic, we don't have that problem. Another thing is newspaper is not absorbent, so if water is spilled, or if the newspaper is pooped on, it'll get wet, or smelly. This can be solved by putting a litter pan in the cage with different bedding (I use paper towel), and for spilling, they tend to do that when bored/stress and can be avoid by providing a wheel inside the cage.

I heard she retired, but then I heard she's still working. I've never went to see her, so I dunno. Based on what I heard (or you can say read) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Noobish: Oct 31 2012, 03:34 PM
Noobish
post Nov 1 2012, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(Miko_Chan @ Nov 1 2012, 04:19 PM)
Wow, im so new to hedgies, I feel like a frog in the well...
I had no idea the poop is like that.. OMG... so weird!!  shocking.gif

It is suppose to be dark black? like BLACK ink colour... but when u pull apart, it's like chewing gum...
Normal ar?

I don't even dare to pick him up, how to shower @@
Any vet you can recommend me?
Reasonable price...

Oh ya, I also called Hands N Paws just now,
they say checkup for hedgehog will be RM20-22...
Really ar?
I thought it will be very expensive...
Yes, belly button is a boy..

Should be brown.. after some time then it'll turn black.. it's not supposed to be chewy-gummy though. stomach upset maybe.

Check up don't cost much..

QUOTE(pacatU13 @ Nov 1 2012, 04:27 PM)
already shared in page 8+.. lazy to type back..  tongue.gif

this is when i found him..

[attachmentid=3132347]

this is now..  brows.gif

[attachmentid=3132350]
Wow! so handsome now rclxms.gif
Noobish
post Nov 3 2012, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(Miko_Chan @ Nov 3 2012, 09:56 AM)
Oh, really? Will bring him for checkup tomorrow at Kinrara Veterinary Centre...
I had work from Mon - Sat...

Anyone wants to adopt it?

Added on November 3, 2012, 10:02 am

Will bring him to checkup tomorrow, hopefully no big deal, else I also can't afford...
Pray~~~  notworthy.gif

Efariz, Are you still interested to adopt?
Didn't you say your friend want to adopt it? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Noobish: Nov 3 2012, 05:30 PM
Noobish
post Nov 23 2012, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(aros @ Nov 23 2012, 04:49 PM)
Hey,

I was just wondering if anyone have attempt to train their hedgehogs to do any simple task?

Thanks,
Best,
Aros.
There was a thread in hedgehog central back then about someone training his hedgie to respond to a clicker. But no update on that topic.
Noobish
post Dec 22 2012, 04:56 PM

^Deviline, maybe this can help u?

http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=5841
Noobish
post Feb 5 2013, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(efariz @ Feb 4 2013, 11:37 PM)
try contact her : https://www.facebook.com/fanthaghiro.roses
he sell custom made wheel.. recommended to hedgehog lover  thumbup.gif
Actually a she lah.. tongue.gif

------------

Anyone know where I can get Solid Gold - Katz n Flocken? Better yet, shop that do delivery by courier? I've searched highs and lows for this brand.
Noobish
post Feb 9 2013, 10:09 PM

Anyone ever seen Solid Gold - Katz n Flocken sold anywhere?? Anyone??

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0571sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:19 AM