Hey guys, what's the most effective way to get a room? Websites? Agent?
Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan
Aug 26 2011, 11:42 AM
894 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Hey guys, what's the most effective way to get a room? Websites? Agent?
Oct 4 2011, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(LightEnchanter @ Oct 4 2011, 11:49 AM) anyone working in IT field in spore? Im curious on the salary part, if you're getting 5k here in msia, does it mean that when u go spore you can request the same amount in sgd? dollar to dollar? Today is my 11th day in Singapore. 2.5% increase in amount moving from M'sia to S'pore.The best thing so far, is the 10mins commute time + SGD1.62(two way) cost of transit per day. edit: IT field: network security This post has been edited by ky_khor: Oct 4 2011, 02:51 PM |
Oct 14 2011, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(Gengarbear @ Oct 13 2011, 08:42 PM) 2.5k sgd basic and there will be other allowances but wont be too high. 2.5k is freshgraduate pay in SG. If you're earning 3K basic in M'sia, at least aim for 3K in Singapore. Of course research is needed on your job offer's salary range. I got 3% pay rise number to number before currency conversion when I move there.current job rm3k another rm3 k I work on freelance basis during my off work hours thus not stable income.... so wondering is 2.5k consider good in sg? Conversion rate 2.47 recently during morning. |
Oct 19 2011, 11:53 AM
Just my sgd0.02:
Unless you're a top-of-the-league expert, you're competing with many cheaper, better foreign professionals here in Singapore. You got to bring in the advantage as a Malaysian: language, culture, thinking skill etc. That's how I landed my current job. Look at my department: Pre sales manager - Singaporean Pre sales consultants - Singaporean + Malaysian Chinese Post sales manager - Singaporean Post sales (team/project leads) - Singaporean Post sales (engineers) - ASEAN (lol) Singaporean Chinese, Singaporean Malay, Malaysian Chinese, Indonesian, Myanmarese, Vietnamese, Pinoy, Siamese... This post has been edited by ky_khor: Oct 19 2011, 11:54 AM |
Oct 19 2011, 02:04 PM
Oops I didn't expect to have non-Malaysian here.
My point is: get a job that requires more than just technical skills - Malaysian(especially Chinese) will have better chance then others. |
Oct 19 2011, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 19 2011, 03:26 PM) Have you ever seen a job ad that commits exactly what the salary is, no more no less? Financial Controller!! It's VP level on course towards CFO.At least this ad puts in an indicative salary so that applicants know generally how senior they should be before applying. |
Nov 8 2011, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(alvin227 @ Nov 7 2011, 09:01 AM) I was not asked to deposit min amount when opening DBS and Maybank. Although I was pissed off by Maybank Textile Centre receptionist saying that EP can't apply for SavingPlus. I log a report on their website, then print out the Maybank2u account opening prerequisites to the bank again the next day. The branch manager called me ask for clarification on WHO did it. I believe that girl kena gau gau. |
Nov 8 2011, 03:44 PM
Anyone here bought a HDB? Can single SPR bought HDB?
Understand from this site (http://singaporewatch.org/?p=663) that only single SG citizen who're 35 years old and above are allowed to buy HDB. But I overheard some exceptions around the internet. |
Nov 9 2011, 09:58 AM
I'll go back Malaysia first.
You're free to change job in Malaysia as you see fit so that you can have more professional skill and professional ASAP. Then only you travel to Singapore for big bucks. Anyway now it's also the time where you need to research the expat demand in Singapore for your job and industry. |
Nov 9 2011, 10:02 AM
Is being scold by superior not your culture?
According to my friends, audit line in Singapore is worse than audit line in Malaysia - workload, stress, employment bond. |
Nov 10 2011, 12:10 PM
Anyone owns a Singaporean bank credit card? (POSB/DBS)
Is there any cons to use it in Malaysia compare to using a Malaysia local bank credit card? |
Nov 10 2011, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Nov 10 2011, 01:19 PM) When you said this, does it means that you have personally experience all this or just read from the media? I have driven on the Malaysian road for more than 20 years, i have not experience once on the tailgaters or road rage parang and basebal bat wielders..... My Singaporean friends once said:Malaysian drivers: extremely fast but safe. Singaporean drivers: moderately fast but reckless. My personal experience for 25 years in Malaysia: tailgaters yes, just stay out of their way. Road rage parang baseball bat wielders No. I've got golf club in my trunk all the time, does that makes me a golf club wielder? |
Nov 11 2011, 09:47 AM
Flash is good. But it's a horrible nightmare for mobile device.
Nov 11 2011, 02:50 PM
My job in Malaysia is a lot more hectic than present too mainly due to difference on company culture and job scope.
Anyway IMO Singapore is famous of competitiveness. Malaysia is famous of mismanagement. Both leads to high workload and high stress lol. |
| Change to: | 0.0210sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:31 PM |