Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

PepsiCo
post Sep 27 2011, 07:54 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Sep 27 2011, 02:58 PM)
they forgot to update their system...My friend get an email from an agency that ask her to call the agency because my friend putting malaysia number...They are not willing to call your Malaysia number  rclxub.gif
yes, some company are unwilling to make that overseas call
PepsiCo
post Sep 27 2011, 08:17 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 27 2011, 04:16 PM)
Marine/ OnG industry. But i dont expect a white collar fella to cope with the demands of the job. In my previous company, 2 out of 3 potential employees will resign within the first 6 months since most cant stand the job and the environment. Working inside a ship tank where the humidity is like a sauna, the ambient temperature hovers around 40 C, you need to work at height climbing ladders nearly 5 stories high and doing this for 5-9 hours straight everyday. Plus your exposed to confined spaces and the danger that explosions may happen, lack of oxygen or being poisoned by H2S is an ever present danger.

I have little hope that pencil pushers would last even a month before giving up. There was one singaporean guy who just finished NS, went to work for just one day and that was the last we ever saw of him.
Marine industries safety record is very bad, at least 1 fatality per month
PepsiCo
post Sep 27 2011, 08:56 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(rcv86 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:39 PM)
My friend left his Malaysia IC in Singapore and now he is in Malaysia. Is he able to cross to singapore without his Malaysia IC?
he should be more concern about not having the ic with him when he's in Msia
PepsiCo
post Sep 27 2011, 09:01 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:56 PM)
Lester might as well sign a death warrant each time he puts his arse on his bike and rides out. I wonder which roads are worse, singapore or malaysian for motorcyclist coz a few of my colleagues who do drive to work from malaysia say that singapore roads are more treacherous then malaysia due to the singaporean motorist and china truck drivers.
The risk is there but you'll just have to minimize it with some barriers in place, etc , keep lane discipline, do not ride during rain, do not speed, safety helmet, bike in good condition, bla bla bla ... Every job also got risk, it's just how u manage it.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Sep 27 2011, 09:02 PM
PepsiCo
post Sep 27 2011, 09:03 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Sep 27 2011, 09:02 PM)
Speaking to my supervisor won't help since it is like a long queue project lining up to wait for serve(Sales person already confirmed with the client and passing the deadline to my project manager. I just felt like a lil not fair from what I'm getting > <' ). Furthermore we're just 3 developer. 3 of us are freaking busy from morning to night everyday. Good thing is that a new developer coming in, hopefully the job will be separate equally among. If not it is a real gg...

God bless me please > <'
maybe should start looking for other job already.
PepsiCo
post Sep 27 2011, 09:06 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Sep 27 2011, 09:03 PM)
You in risk management?
i know this stuff. Risk management & mitigation flex.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Sep 27 2011, 09:06 PM
PepsiCo
post Sep 28 2011, 02:03 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 28 2011, 01:57 AM)
Good also, anyone can help me getting a prepaid number from SG? I can bank in to you. PM me if anyone would be able to help me out, thanks! biggrin.gif

Btw, how much would the roaming be? Do i have to pay roaming fee everyday? Or only when phone call in then i will get extra charged?
Getting a Prepaid SIM Card
Singapore supports dual-band, tri-band, quad-band mobile phones. The prepaid SIM cards in Singapore come in various denominations ranging from S$10 to S$50. There are 3 mobile phone service providers that offer prepaid phone service in Singapore – SingTel, MobileOne (M1) and Starhub.

Prepaid SIM cards in Singapore for any of the three phone companies can be purchased at the following locations:

• Retail outlets of Singtel, Starhub, and M1

• 7-eleven stores

• Cheers Convenience Stores

• Singapore Post

Since 2006, Singapore government has made the prepaid SIM registration a mandatory requirement. This means the card must be registered under the name of the person who will be using it, in this case you. As a result, you will be required to produce your passport or Singapore ID at the time of buying the prepaid mobile card. Once registered, the card is ready for use immediately.

Prepaid SIM Card balance in Singapore is normally valid for 6 months which means any unused balance will expire after 6 months.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Sep 28 2011, 02:04 AM
PepsiCo
post Sep 28 2011, 03:21 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Sep 28 2011, 01:34 PM)
Dupe account?
kick--> ban --> kill biggrin.gif
PepsiCo
post Sep 29 2011, 02:44 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Sep 29 2011, 01:00 PM)
What kind of job can earn a 25 years old >3.5k a month in singapore? anyone here at age <25 and earning that amount?
you probably should tell us your qualifications 1st. yeahs4.1 is definitely above SGD$3.5k per month when he was 25.

Added on September 29, 2011, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(alvin227 @ Sep 29 2011, 10:45 AM)
Thanks dude, looks like the fire happen at etylene cracker complex. smile.gif Big candle light as seen on 2010.

very light material and potential toxic vapour. Judging from the 2 recent explosions this afternoon, i'm guessing they are doing the 'cooling' method. Very fortunate there is no fatality.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Sep 29 2011, 02:53 PM
PepsiCo
post Oct 3 2011, 09:48 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Oct 3 2011, 09:04 AM)
Hey tell us more about yourself la... or come join us for gathering  brows.gif
any gathering coming up ? would luv to meet you guys and gals ohmy.gif
PepsiCo
post Oct 3 2011, 02:56 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(cha-cha @ Oct 3 2011, 01:38 PM)
im working in Apple ,Ang Mo Kio
Staying Ang Mo Kio too~

Female~ tongue.gif

nice avatar drool.gif . Welcome to the thread. It's our tradition to bring a newbie out for dinner and it's my turn by the way. So dinner on this fri nite ? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Oct 3 2011, 02:57 PM
PepsiCo
post Oct 8 2011, 02:32 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Oct 8 2011, 02:08 PM)
Haha, some more this she is a pok pok chui one. wub.gif
well you know the drill, pix or ...

PepsiCo
post Oct 13 2011, 10:48 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Oct 13 2011, 09:43 AM)
I have been pondering a long time to move this thread to Kopitiam.  As for you concern even if it is moved to Kopitiam, I reckon that same old dudes are the one posting, so you will still get your fair doses of batang gaythering plans.
Tell me, how much post you need to filter before getting a proper information in this thread now which is no different from the materials in Kopitiam.

The only reason why this thread is still here is because occasionally some queries by new members are replied quick promptly, that is before someone come in and ask for what's your gender.
It'll never stop. The thread will just get troll even more if it's move to Kopitiam and will eventually end up pretty dead. I'm not sure if anyone is complaining here, except maybe, YOU ?

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Oct 13 2011, 10:49 AM
PepsiCo
post Oct 19 2011, 10:36 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Oct 19 2011, 10:15 PM)
for me 50k/annum in sg = 90k/annum in OZ.

wow... 50k/annum shocking.gif

Added on October 19, 2011, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(mea05key @ Oct 18 2011, 08:37 PM)
Any transport?
Keretapi Tanah Melayu, stop just in front of the plaza rclxms.gif . what else could you ask for ?

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Oct 19 2011, 10:38 PM
PepsiCo
post Oct 30 2011, 09:03 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Oct 30 2011, 12:26 PM)
Anybody knows if it will be possible to catch a bus from Larkin to Melaka next coming Friday since it will be a public holiday on Monday? I am attempting to catch one after 7pm.
try go to the bus company website and check it out.

This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Oct 30 2011, 09:04 PM
PepsiCo
post Nov 2 2011, 12:45 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Nov 2 2011, 12:38 AM)
Hi can anyone recommend a good online singaporean career forum like this? Not hwz please smile.gif

Thanks!
sammyboy, definitely drool.gif

0.0479sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:16 AM