11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Chubbie Hamster V14

TSinfernoaswen
post Jul 20 2012, 12:14 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(pieplushie @ Jul 19 2012, 03:06 PM)
I went at like.. 2 or 3pm.. >.<

Added on July 19, 2012, 8:09 pmthe pet shop's like.. have to go 2nd floor from lift, then walk out of the (hallway?) then turn left. Discovery petz was it? haha.
not sure the shop name but i know its the floor below the cinema floor...somewhere around there....i dont usually like to go that place though...if i go also i walk fast fast coz the indon/china girls there when ever men cross will ask "massage?"...."massage sir?"..."come massage"....HAHA

but what i know is its the same pet shop as last year...last year it was 1st floor i think...then they shifted higher floor.

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jul 19 2012, 08:32 PM)
what do they got there? besides hammies?

thinking getting a hammy to replace my peanut  sad.gif
but dunno if i got the time for him later..

its an exotic pet shop that sells snakes, reptiles, scorpions, mice for snake food etc....well that was last time la...didnt go there quite some time already....hamsters not that much...few only & hamster items are limited too...

TSinfernoaswen
post Jul 25 2012, 12:45 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(nizam86 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:57 AM)
owh....i need to buy some meal worm then...
scared later go back home see the mother eating her babies... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Even if she started eating in front of you you should not stop her otherwise she will eat all then. Basically what I am saying is eating the babies issue is beyond your control so let nature take its own path. Just make sure not to disturb or touch it, don't even take a peek unless you can do it without touching or disturbing anything laugh.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 14 2012, 01:08 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Aug 11 2012, 10:53 PM)
Help!!! My hamster suddenly got this soft lump on his tummy. When i touch it, it doesnt feel hard.. It's like a soft fat oil that kind. He doesnt show any sickness or illness. When i touch it he doesnt show any sign of pain or struggles. He just eat & drink & play like normal. My hamster are dwarf hamster almost 2yrs old. He been quite chubby all the time.. cud the lump just a fatty oil for him? I was so woli & scare  cry.gif
i think its better to bring it to a vet for a check up....
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 14 2012, 02:57 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Aug 14 2012, 11:47 AM)
Which vet can you recommend? my hammy staying nearby genting klang. Normally how much is the check up fees?
refer to 1st page post #6. Personally i didnt go to any of the vets yet since hamster didnt have any problems yet (thankfully) but last time when i was reading around people recommended those vets. Not sure if its still good or changed already but i guess you can give it a try?
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 20 2012, 12:23 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Kitsune_Yuiyean @ Aug 18 2012, 03:17 PM)
My hamster broke her hind leg. How do I nurse it to health?

She's not in critical pain (still has mood to eat and climb outside) but when her injured leg got stuck somewhere she will rush over to her newspapers and shred it as i to ease her pain.

I've transferred her food, water and housing to the lower level just in case but she prefer to sleep out o her house on her shred papers.
how did she broke it btw? Take to a vet already? Did they say the leg can be healed?

I am not sure what can be done since i never experience this before but i think you should remove the wheel also until its fully healed. If its a dog or some bigger animal perhaps we can attach something to give support or protect the leg somehow but hamsters i dont think it would work because they will start chewing off whatever support/protection we give. Plus surely it wont feel comfortable with something attached to the leg.
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 21 2012, 09:33 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

i see but that kind of cages is not really recommended because of the metal bars. They tend to gnaw their teeth on that & it could damage it in long term. Plus is very noisy at night when they do that laugh.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 21 2012, 11:07 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:05 PM)
hi,im newbie to hamster. juz get 5 hamster n a ovo suite frm a good owner. i got few question

1. what bedding the best n good absorbent that can buy thru online or what shop?
-currently im using homefriends (it is good) that brought frm plc frm previous owner.but my place no plc.

2.what brand food the best for hamster n gets all the nutrition?
-nw feeding them versele laga oso frm previous owner

3.what brand bath sand suitable for hamster?im prefer those with fruity smell.
-nw using black color bath sand but duno what brand izit.
how big actually is the ovo suite? imo 5 hamsters is actually quite a lot to keep in a single ovo suite unless its really big.

1) any aspen bedding is good but i dont think you can find any right now in malaysia. But so far from what i used i find that delikate bedding is the best because its very soft but it seems like many place is running low in stock. Either havent restock or supplier not bringing in anymore. hmm.gif

If you couldnt find that then you can try chipsi bedding, that is not bad either but not as soft as delikate. I saw a few new bedding brands in PLC the other day but didnt try those new ones so not sure about the recent beddings. Never go for living world bedding, that is really bad for hamsters.

2) harry hamster & vitakraft is good. A good owner will not only depend on hamster food but give additional food to their hamster to ensure proper nutrition is given. Do read the first page as its filled with lots of useful info, but as for me i give mine mealworms once a week (high in protein), & apple, grapes etc depending on what i got in my fridge once a week too. Sometimes i give carrots too, but all these depends..sometimes like today give apple then the day after tomorrow give mealworms & so on.

3) delikate sand bath is quite good, but i dont think that comes in scented. Alex brand(comes scented flavours) is not bad either but delikate is the best because the sand is not as fine as other brands. Avoid those sand that are too fine, especially those dust type because that can cause respiratory problems.

edit: you can give them those furits, mealworms, sunflower seeds as treats. I highly recommend to get the burp brand "pineapple homemade cookies" that comes in a small packet in PLC as treats too. Its quite hard so it can help the hamster to gnaw their teeth. But do gnawing wood, toys for them too....gnawing is very important for them.

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Aug 21 2012, 11:15 PM
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 22 2012, 12:35 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Aug 22 2012, 10:12 AM)
Hi, what hamsters did you get? If it's syrian (the big ones) please know that they are solitary animals - they live alone which means one hamster per cage. They will fight or live under stressful condition by force. It's not a pleasant sight.

1. I'm also using homefriends the paper bedding. Avoid pine and cedar - can cause respiratory problem. Give them a generous amount for them to burrow

2. I feed mine with Delikate, burp, oxbow mix. I also give fresh food such as bean sprout and long beans every other day

3. It's better to find non scented ones but I myself bought a fruity one before I researched. I used Delikate, the green bottle - RM 15 I think. My hamster seems fine with it. Just like the other poster said, please get the sand one - not the fine dust one. It will get into their nose - respiratory problem.

I made my hamster a cage out of storage bin so he can have more room to roam around. Floor space benefit a hamster more than levels. Plus it's a cheaper alternative too smile.gif

Added on August 22, 2012, 10:14 am

If I'm not mistaken, long term gnawing on the bars can cause brain damage as the paint is scraped off. They also tend to gnaw because of cage aggression (limited space).
yeah forget to ask that, but even if its winter white 5 is a little too much to keep in a same place. If its robo then probably its ok if the space is very big.

nod.gif which is why we recommend to get the 2ft fish tank for hamster in the first page(if you lazy to diy), but that wont be enough for 5 hamsters though.

& yes thats what i read as well, forgot already but you remind me....it can damage brain & you dont want your hamster to become retarded do you? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 22 2012, 03:42 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Aug 22 2012, 03:30 PM)
eh where you find harry hamster? i been to plc 2 branches and pets wonderland 1 branch cannot find also .
they used to sell at petsmore last time...but then few months ago when i wanted to get it no more already....not sure if finish stock or they not bringing in anymore which is why i bought vitakraft then....

Maybe you can try searching at petsmore....hopefully they restock it.
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 23 2012, 04:37 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(FabuData @ Aug 23 2012, 12:29 PM)
Haha.. thank you very much~ I took out everything dee, the only thing in the cage are the food bowl , water bottle, and her nest house.. she ah very notti, always left the pups wriggling here and there.. while she went around and climb here climb there.. dig burrows all the way.. sometimes she just 'burried' her pups due to her digging and looked here and there , like wondering 'huh? where r my pups?' then she finally found them after another few session of digging and then she milked them  wub.gif

The dad is now very proud of himself.. kept showing off his 'thing' after grooming 'it'  doh.gif

Hey your little chubster.. very cute  laugh.gif

BTW i couldnt find the brands suggested for nursing hamsters like the ones mentioned on page 1 of this thread... PLC dun bring them in anymore izit ? I ended up getting another pack of Vitakraft Menu Vital.. can be good for her too yea ?
congratz. Its normal, my male hamster also have his genitals pointing out while grooming.

Usually its best to let the mum nurse the babies no matter if she is careless or dosent do an excellent job with it. Only if something happens to the mum then we should nurse the babies ourself. You can also fed mealworms to the mother to regain her strength as its high in protein & they love to eat it. Just make sure you cut the head off incase she didnt eat it & store in her pouch instead, that will ensure the mealworm wont hurt her or the babies it came into contact.

Also bread soak with milk is good too. You can give that but not so much la laugh.gif

QUOTE(kingsing84 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:40 PM)
I found abandoned 8 winter white hamsters with cage near rubbish room. I adopted all without thinking and sad to see that. Now they are happy n active. Im happy to keep them. Will upload pics after work![attachmentid=3012559]
rubbish room? blink.gif
probably another case where parents buy hamster for their kids because they looks adorable in display but now bored with it already. Good thing you did there sir...glad you found them smile.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 23 2012, 05:52 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(FabuData @ Aug 23 2012, 04:49 PM)
OKay.. another reason for me to get mealworms.. I tried to persuade myself to get mealworms for my sugar gliders but the thought of ickiness shut it off lol
So, you guys normally use fingers to hold the worms then another hand hold the blade to cut the head off isit ? do they have 'liquid' squirt out ah after u cut off the heads?  notworthy.gif
Gonna get mealworms later.. can I ask how many mealworms do you normally feed a nursing hammie? And how often per day? Everyday?

Thanks! smile.gif
for my case its different because my hamster will straight away eat the mealworm, so i dont see a reason to cut its head off. You can use fingers but some feel its disgusting so i think you can get a tweezers & use that also. Yeah you can use a blade & cut its head off then & nope they dont have liquid squirting out...but inside is a little soft & moist....

For nursing hammy i am not sure, i think you need to google more info about it. For normal condition i usually give them twice a week (sometimes once a week if i forget laugh.gif ). Around 5-7 worms at night if its time for mealworm. Too much is bad just like sunflower seed and they can also get quite fat if you give them too much. You can get it for RM1 & that also is way way too much for me.
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 25 2012, 12:04 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(kingsing84 @ Aug 25 2012, 11:53 AM)
Hi guys,
First row,i just picked from my condo.
2nd row is finished by my beloved hamsters.
They are loving it.
Pics tell thousand words!
safe for hamsters ar or for rats only? Never heard about it before lol...
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 25 2012, 12:16 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(kingsing84 @ Aug 25 2012, 12:12 PM)
Is safe for any animals n human. Wild animals fav food.
its palm! 油棕。
Its hard to get it from city. But easily found in my hometown.
Im staying in sri petaling,if able to drop by i can share with you or come to my condo,pick urself!
i see but too far dont think i will be going around that area laugh.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Aug 25 2012, 10:24 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Aug 25 2012, 09:09 PM)
I'm concerned my ham ham is overweight le. How to make him lose weight - aside from running in his ball.
not easy but maybe leave him to roam in your room every night and control his diet hmm.gif

for my hamster i do notice he uses his wheel often if i on my aircon, but not sure if that is the same case for you or not laugh.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 1 2012, 11:55 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

those are mealworms, if they bite cant really feel a thing unlike superworm. For hamsters who dont store mealworms in their pouch should be fine if you want to fed with the head. They will usually crunch everything before swallowing (check the hamster jaw picture in first page).

For those who store in the pouch its best to cut the head off. Even though the bite isnt pain but there is a possibility of infection so its a wise thing to do. But i dont think hamsters will store it in the pouch la since the mealworms will keep moving & the hamster wont be comfortable with that. Maybe only for the first time.
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 3 2012, 07:35 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(pieplushie @ Sep 3 2012, 06:33 PM)
icon_question.gif Where did u guys get ur mealworms? Is it dried or alive? o:
alive ones...prefer to feed fresh plus hamster prefer that compare to the dried ones. You can get it at any local petshop that sells fishes. I get mine from mentari. You can try to search it at there since its nearer to your university some more laugh.gif
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 4 2012, 05:11 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

lol why you guys hamster all so fat one....mine quite thin or maybe he is just getting old. My hamster back in those days quite active in his wheel but nowdays quite lazy but i think he is just getting old. Not excatly lazy but tired, i always see him sleeping all the time, even on the wheel he run for few minutes then fall a sleep on it already. Or while standing on his house he will fall asleep.

getting old already it seems. Anyways what are your hamster type & wheel size? small wheel for big hamster could be the reason too, make sure your hamster back dosent bend when running. If i am not mistaken in the first page there is a recommended wheel size for syrian. I saw a picture previously & the wheel that someone was using is too small for syrain. Also the silent wheel is quite smooth for running, that could prompt the hamster to use it.
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 4 2012, 08:44 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(FabuData @ Sep 4 2012, 06:59 PM)
I have no idea. When i bought him that time he memang a bit big liao.. my this particular hamster is actually a rejected one cuz nobody really wanna buy him, as he's the biggest among the colony, and that time the fella just told me kids and customers think he's no longer 'cute cuz he's big' .. i was like.. what kind of stupid excuse is this ? big so not cute so dont want liao ? only want small and cute cute one ?  rclxub.gif

So I bought him home since nobody wants him.. his wheel now is the standard squarish hamster cage mia wheel.. just nice for him, but due to his size he's kinda heavy and he just prefers to sleep and eat and run up and down the stairs and levels. he even sleeps like a boss with his 1 front leg falling out of the wheel
& what hamster type is yours? lol lazy go back previous pages but its syrain right? syrian needs around 8" wheel in diameter.
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 4 2012, 11:28 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(FabuData @ Sep 4 2012, 10:23 PM)
Mine is robo.. hehe..by the way his name is Fatso..  brows.gif
i see, but robo runs very fast & they are quite light so maybe the wheel isnt moving properly according to his speed. I would recommend you to get a sanko silent wheel as its super smooth & the friction is very little so minimum force is needed start the wheel rolling. You can get the medium size 1 since the small 1 is actually kinda small & the robo back isnt straight as seen in the picture. Straight back is important otherwise physical damage can occur & your hamster can suffer from back problems. Its a serious issue btw, dont play play...

Actually its kinda impossible if you guys say your hamsters dont use the wheel, by nature they will use it & thats the only thing that will keep company in their cage. Seriously almost all the hamsters loves their wheel & will learn how to use it by their own. I suspect its not the hamster is lazy but the wheel you guys are using isnt a proper ones. Get a proper wheel & it can last for many hamsters in the future too, most cages that comes in set provides wheel but those all can throw in the rubbish bin because quality is just too bad. If you go to petshop & compare with a silent wheel you will know the difference. Of course it isnt cheap though but its a great investment, i would say its probably the 2nd most important investment after the cage. I think i bought my big sized wheel was around rm60 or 70 blink.gif ? cant remember but it wasnt cheap...

http://www.wikihow.com/Exercise-a-Hamster

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:33 pmA good example would be the exercising bicycle. Take an example you are the hamster & the bicycle is your wheel. Now your bicycle is quite hard to use because you set the resistance to the max so even though you can use it but its kinda painful & tired right? Just few minutes & you wont feel like using it anymore but if the resistance wasnt max out you probably can use it for a longer period of time & burn more calories.

So its something like that. In the meanwhile you guys can try to lubricate the wheel with veg oil. Might not be as good as a silent wheel but it could help.

This post has been edited by infernoaswen: Sep 4 2012, 11:33 PM
TSinfernoaswen
post Sep 5 2012, 01:30 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

QUOTE(FabuData @ Sep 4 2012, 11:41 PM)
Oh.. his wheel looks like that..

But recently if u read Petster mag ( i think its Petster, the free copy one).. it talked about hazards of hamster wheels, that its not healthy for hamsters, cus if u compare the momentum and speed of the hamsters running in the wheel vs the wheel's buildup, the hamster's feet cud get caught in the seams.. end up one point in their lives their feet may need to get amputated if it's severe.. thsi alone freaks me out edi..

Now i start to wonder, it makes sense too, and if i really shud stop giving her wheels and find alternatives like give her a maze to keep her busy instead.. what do u think ?
never heard of that before but to think about it everyone is using wheels for their hamster & many seems fine but since i am not the 1 who is using i might not know if there is pain. I do hold my hamster feet time to time(i like to shake hand with him) & he dosent feel any pain either. But it could be true though....

you could find alternatives (diy maze or something) or let him roam in your room. I allow my hamster to roam in my room sometimes. But its quite hard also because their active time is when we sleeping, sometimes when i wake up around 3-4am i can hear my hamster is using his wheel....so wont be an easy task to replace the wheel. But maybe the research done is with lousy quality wheel? my silent wheel the surface is quite smooth & the wheel is quite big so it isnt spinning that fast either...but not sure leh....my hamster needs his wheel for exercise otherwise he might die of boredom laugh.gif

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:52 PM