Personal Loan - V2, which banks offer the best deal?

b00n
post Sep 29 2011, 11:40 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Never seen any salesmen in here showing the effective rates of Ploans yet depending on how many tenors one is choosing.

Most of the time is fellow forumers whom advised on it... whistling.gif

Anyway, with BNM tightening on Credit Card regulations; we predict the next to come would be on Ploan. BNM and the government are already concern on the rising debts. Thus the word is BNM is coming up with a guideline to request banks to take full documentation of income proves as well as calculation of DBR.

Card's business is the 1st to hit where BNM had requested for full income documentation and verification. Last time it's just applying 1 card then you can get many more from other banks. Now you can't. Thus the next to hit sure is Ploan.

So good luck to all the sales. I know Citi is one that is moving away from Ploan where they have developed another product similar which is a mixture of cards, ploan and OD. Cards because it's revolving. ploan because one can have term payment as well by converting the balance. OD because it's daily rest interest and there's a checking facility.

Some countries like Singapore Citi is using this product as a saving account as well which gives interest upon saving into the same account. Not likely to see it in Malaysia yet. But think that's their concept in coming out with an all-in-one kind of product.
b00n
post Oct 5 2011, 01:05 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(kenshin1 @ Oct 5 2011, 10:38 AM)
sorry .. not so sure... but i saw flyers.. around 20% pa...
Why would they be fliers if it's borrowing from friends and families?
It's just an agreement stamped for legality.

As far as I know, there's no such ruling in MY on a cap of 20%.

Even for some bank loan facilities, effective interest rate can go above 20% p.a - OD for instances.

Added on October 5, 2011, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(sweetcat @ Oct 4 2011, 02:42 PM)
i am not sure which category he falls into, but he didnt pay up his credit card bill due to no income at some point then the credit card has been barred from using, but now he have gotten a job, but the credit card amount has roll up to double (from 3k to 6k+),  he would like to finish it off in a lump sum which the bank offered him at about 4k.

so he is thinking to get a loan or some kind because he dont have that much to pay off at once.

so, in this case, he should be in a or b?  rclxub.gif
After he fully settled, request for a release/settlement letter. Use that as a prove.
Then after that it's the bank's discretion whether or not to lend based their underwriting policy. Some might lend with a higher interest rate because of past default history. Some might reject still.

This post has been edited by b00n: Oct 5 2011, 01:09 PM
b00n
post Oct 11 2011, 05:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(kenshin1 @ Oct 10 2011, 11:50 PM)
everybody still asking wat is scoring.....it's like a scoring board... but make it simple... most scoring problem...CCRIS....

overdue date... got 1 = cut score...1 more 1= cut more score.... got 2 sure reject.... (but some others that u hv 1 already reject)
card outstanding... >50%  >70% >90% overlimit....over limit sure reject ...>90% most of the banks rej....

so...sometimes u get rejected due to FAILED SCORE/LOW SCORING...this is the meaning...ccris sucks

*applied too much card/ploan application 6mth b4 this...some banks also rej this for scoring too...

understand???
Your statement shows the lack of understanding on scoring methodologies as well as characteristic used for a score card.

Before everyone get's confused, the term scoring is not widely used in Malaysia yet. Not every banks in Malaysia has credit scoring as a baseline for approving loans. Even when some banks do have some sort of methodology to do scores it doesn't mean that it will be applied to all products. Most would have a score card for Credit Cards as a qualifier to weight whether to approve or rejects but not necessary for the other loan products. Reason being to develop a score card, one needs a sound historical data for calculating statistics and probability of accounts going bad. Why credit cards is more widely used is because most banks has a large base of credit cards thus justifiable for using a score card as a qualifier and more statistics ti drill down.

However personal loans is still considered young in the market and the base is also considered small to most banks. Thus most banks I knew of doesn't really have scoring applications to qualify customers. Even if they do, a lot would still by pass the score parameters and do judgmental approval instead.

And no - scoring is not based on "if fail this, cut 1 mark, fail that, cut 1 mark". To keep it simple it's more like if I pass this I would have "X" score, if I pass another criteria I would have "Y" score etc... and the score adds up to see whether or not you pass. Like taking an exam.

However, it's not a simple objective exam where correct is 1 mark and wrong is 0 marks. It's more towards a subjective type of exam. To illustrate, let's take payment in arrears as most banks would definitely looks at it. So if one person has 0 payments in arrears, meaning prompt paymaster; he would get full mark for that say 10 is the full mark. If he missed 1 payment, then maybe the mark would become marginally lower e.g. 8. If missed 2 payments, eg his marks might go down to 4. And if he missed 3 and above; maybe the score is 0 for that criteria. Thus it's not the logical I fail this, cut 1 mark; fail another level, cut 1 mark. The level of how the marks are arrived at depends on statistical analysis, thus like my example; if we want to use the "cut" methodology, then it's 1st level cut 2 points, 2nd level cut 4 points etc....

Take another example. i.e. Income. If income is above RM10k per month, say 10 point full mark. If income is between 9k to 10k then 9 points, if income is between 8k-9k then 8 points...However if income is below the threshold set by the bank say RM1.5k then it would be an outright reject which doesn't even go through score.

In our local context, scoring looks at customer's demographic as well as customer's bureau details. In more advance country like US, there is a credit bureau score widely available to the banks which they can use as another layer for approvals besides looking at own internal scores based on customer's demographic. In countries like Hong Kong and Australia where bankruptcy is high, there's even score developed to predict probability of customers going bankrupt known as bankruptcy score.

To sum it up, score is just another tool for profiling and qualifying. And no, it's not only used for approving or rejecting loans alone. There's a wide usage towards it which Malaysia is still at a young age in using scoring methodology.

This post has been edited by b00n: Oct 11 2011, 05:15 PM
b00n
post Oct 11 2011, 07:43 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Oct 11 2011, 06:58 PM)
I have recently went to a few banks for personal loan applications. Unfortunately for me, I don't meet the requirements for those banks. Some only approves for Govt or GLC. Some minimum income of RM 3k per month, which I am not. And the latest is I'm not qualified due to I don't have any loans or credit cards, meaning currently I'm living a debt free life (except for MARA). Anyone can advice me on this matter ? I understand that RHB Easy is one option, but with high interest rate per annum, I wish to avoid it if possible.
Banks nowadays relies heavily on past credit records which is easily accessible via CCRIS. Thus for people without any facilities in CCRIS meaning to say they didn't even own a credit card, it's difficult for the banks to judge the profile of the customer. However usually they do do look at additional customer demographics for example age. i.e. if one is 30 years old and above, the assumptions is hardly one will be without a credit card as credit card is already viewed as common. Also hire purchase loan.

Thus for someone whom doesn't have any credit facilities out there, and their first application is personal loan; usually the bank would be more cautious since personal loan is viewed as high default rate as well as for people whom are more credit hungry.
b00n
post Oct 20 2011, 07:54 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(DanielOoi @ Oct 19 2011, 10:37 AM)
I'm referring to Credit Card Restructuring and Cash Advancement via EPP (Easy Payment Plan) offered by 3rd party.  Most bank credit cards are accepted and the rate is relatively low, considering you don't need any documents, collateral, etc.  The only requirements are that you are the principle card holder and the card is active for transaction.

It is illegal:
QUOTE(b00n @ Oct 7 2009, 03:38 PM)
Credit Card Conversion to EPP Service is no longer allowed in LYN as it would be classified as a criminal offense

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...6251&sec=nation
Wednesday October 7, 2009
‘Merchants’ helping debtors save on credit card interests

GEORGE TOWN: Credit card debtors are now seeking the aid of “collusive merchants” to help them pay off their fully utilised credit limit to save on overdue interest.

State Commercial Crime chief Asst Comm Roslee Chik said there have been four such cases in the state over the past three months alone.

He said, through this tactic, credit card debtors save between 6% and 14% on overdue interest imposed by banks.

“Banks usually charge 18% per annum on the principal amount but still allow you to continue using your card if you pay the minimum charges monthly.

“In this case, if the debtor fully utilises the credit limit of RM10,000, the ‘collusive merchant’ will help them clear the payment in one sum.

“The credit card holder will have to pay the ‘merchant’ RM1,800 (18%) in cash,” he said.

ACP Roslee said the “merchants” would then pretend to be electrical companies and “create” a transaction for the purchase of electrical goods worth RM10,000 in an easy payment plan, to be paid in instalments between one and three years.

“For Easy Payment, banks charge card holders only 4% interest per year.

“So if you pay in one year, you’re paying only 4% interest instead of 18%, plus you can pay the RM10,000 in monthly instalments.

“If you’re paying via Easy Payment for three years, you’re paying only 12% (3x4%) instead of 54% (3x18%) interest,” he said, adding that the “merchant” earned RM1,800 per transaction.

ACP Roslee said the “merchants” could be charged under Section 420 of the Penal Code with fraud while the card holder could be charged under the same Act for abetting the merchant.

b00n
post Nov 22 2011, 02:36 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Nov 22 2011, 01:24 PM)
Just got spam email about personal loan.
i don't apply it just want to share.
don't know either this is true or not.
seems to good to be true.

http://pcboost.jimdo.com/easy-bank-loan-me...n-dengan-mudah/

tq.

I personally think that if the advertisement is being forwarded to BNM or KFH, the said person of that site might get a hell from both party especially on mis-presentation. Don't think any sane banks would allow such advertisement without being vett through by their legal unit to clear of any legal implications.

b00n
post Dec 9 2011, 03:43 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Dec 9 2011, 03:00 PM)
Better go for Maybank credit card cash advance. Only 3.88% one time charge and up to 90% of your credit limit.  icon_idea.gif
Cash advance is charged at 18%p.a. daily compounded interest. No bank can escape that.
Unless you're talking about "unsecured" loans given to the customers riding on the Credit Card's term and lines.
b00n
post Oct 1 2012, 06:45 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Why does ppl always thinks that by borrowing a PL is a better way to settle CC outstanding?

If one really wants to settle CC outstanding, just pay the minimum due of 5% timely every month and don't spend further. It is the same commitment and discipline as paying a PL installment.
b00n
post Oct 5 2012, 09:32 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(sam0919 @ Oct 1 2012, 06:53 PM)
paying minimum wont help u settle ur cc outstanding in 2 years time
QUOTE(stevenkwan @ Oct 2 2012, 04:03 PM)
yup, paying minimum won't settle your debts within certain period of time, whereas PL have a time frame for you to settle the debts.
What logic is that?!

Does that meant you get PL you don't have to pay?!

And always remember card is on reducing interest whereas PL is on flat interest.

Assuming RM30k balance the min pay is 5% i.e. RM1500. So if one is committed to pay the RM1500, one can pay up within 2 years.
If go by the same logic of PL for 2 years with interest rate of 10%. Monthly repayment is lower at RM1,500. But interest is RM6,000 vs RM1,536 if you pay promptly RM1,500 per month.

Although cards you see the interest rate is 15% (if you pay promptly for 12 months).
b00n
post Oct 16 2012, 12:13 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(sam0919 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:03 AM)
Lolz what's wrong with you?  You so mad for what?  We are here to looking for personal loan services.  Before we proceed here I believe most of us has visited financial management.  And we decided to get pl for our own.  If you too rich to understand what we are facing,  you can stay out of here no offense.  You are staff of here but doesn't mean what you say we have to be agreed with you other than the terms and conditions of this forum. I respect every rules you made in here but if you getting mad for what I have said and you think is funny so just leave man.
You are assuming I am mad. However I am not. Since we are in Financial Discussion forum, we have the obligation to "advise".
The equation is as what I have stated. So how committed you are all depends on yourself.

QUOTE(stevenkwan @ Oct 15 2012, 03:03 PM)
brother, if you pay RM1,500 each month, then it is not called as "min pay 5% per month".  If you using calculator or Excel worksheet to calculate the payoff of RM30k by 5% min payment (or RM50, whichever is lower),  then the pay off months that you need is 120 MONTHS. (if you want the detail worksheet, i can email to you smile.gif )

We are now discussing on using 5% min payment and not pay by fixed instalment that you mention (RM1,500 per month)

Are you seriously in sales? 5% of RM30k is RM1,500 as the min payment. Min payment of RM50 only applies for those balance RM1,000 and below. doh.gif But obviously if your balance outstanding is less than RM50, then you have to pay the full amount.

If you want to argue, you can basically argue based on the fact that once your paid the initial RM1,500 min pay then the subsequent month min pay will be lesser. But then again if one is committed to pay RM1,500 monthly installment in PL, why not their cards?

To make it work, then the PL installment will need to be lesser than the min pay i.e. same example, but you cannot afford to pay RM1,500 monthly. Hence you need a lower repayment. But the flip side will be longer tenure and ultimately the total repayment is higher than what you will owed in cards.
b00n
post Oct 17 2012, 11:59 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(kintsuchi @ Oct 17 2012, 11:53 AM)
can i do  5k loan any bank , to buy camera

how long to wait to get a loan approve and get the money
Do you have credit cards? If yes, then most camera shops offers installment plan via credit card purchase.
b00n
post Oct 17 2012, 01:37 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(kintsuchi @ Oct 17 2012, 12:23 PM)
i have pb credit card somehow my card to small and almost hit limit... but i LF to buy secondhand camera and accessory ..i cant use my card there sure want cash
That just proved you cannot afford the camera as well as your lifestyle.
Pls move on.
b00n
post Oct 17 2012, 06:25 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(tygel87 @ Oct 17 2012, 02:54 PM)
Apply a p loan to settle down your credit card if got extra use to buy camera lah
You did notice your previous similar post was gone. It is because we are in finance section and we are meant to talk about sensible and responsible finance. i.e. getting a ploan to settle credit card just for the purpose of buying a camera is not one of them. Unless the obvious is you are a professional photographer whom relied on cameras for livings.
b00n
post Oct 18 2012, 01:34 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(tygel87 @ Oct 18 2012, 10:38 AM)
I guess u dont understand me. He mention that he got an high outstanding. Im juz giving a way to let him settle his credit card,if he continue not paying it will become ccris then a day if he wish too apply a home loan also cant. Mean by extra money is if u hav extra income ok! Tq
He can pay by committing himself to pay at least the minimum payment or more. Or paying the same amount he is committed to pay for a personal loan. So why does he need a personal loan? To pay off the card so he can immerse himself more in card debts with additional PL debt?

Added on October 18, 2012, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(jessch @ Oct 18 2012, 01:14 PM)
my brother bought a house with 120% loan. i asked him how he get so much. he said bank gave 90% house loan + 30% loan for lawyer fee and renovation. i look at the 30% rate, BLR+1 quite high like personal loan. and pay for 10 years

can bank do such thing. like topping up personal loan to a housing loan
It is indeed a personal loan as I believe the bank has no right to collateralize the property towards his additional 30% margin. That also explain why the high interest rate. I believe this must be OCBC.

QUOTE(nellyt99 @ Oct 18 2012, 01:34 PM)
Hi.
Need 10k pl for 1 yr repayment
5K for cc settlement n 5k for moving house.
Any good bank offer?
Why the additional 5k for cards?! Why is everyone thinking of using PL to cover card's debt? Read my explanation few pages back.
If you are committed to pay off the RM5k PL within one year, then use that money to pay down the card. RM5k for renovation I would understand, but for card repayment.... it is always not advisable.

One have to remember PL for short tenure and low amount usually comes with higher interest rate. If big amount or longer tenure, then the interest rate will be lower. That is the nature of PL business.

This post has been edited by b00n: Oct 18 2012, 01:41 PM
b00n
post Oct 18 2012, 01:54 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(tygel87 @ Oct 18 2012, 01:47 PM)
This is only your own thinking. Everybody have their own way and of cz yoy can gav ur opinion but not using the tone making people feel uncomfirtable. I appreciate ur opinion but every of them is needed to folow the way u gave. By the way, for me cc percents is higher than p. loan y we cant apply a p. loan to settle cc down?
Give me an example and calculation to convince me.
CC interest rate is 13.5% if one is prompt payment and is on reducing balance. Some banks even gave lower than 13.5% interest.

PL interest rate is how much? Say example the RM5k in 12 months?

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 20 2012, 09:14 AM
b00n
post Oct 18 2012, 02:41 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

CC example by your logic of committing to pay RM458 every month:
1st example using the highest interest rate i.e. 17.5% per annum:
    Month Bal interest Payment Interest
    1 5,000 17.50% 458 66.24
    2 4,608 17.50% 458 60.52
    3 4,211 17.50% 458 54.73
    4 3,807 17.50% 458 48.85
    5 3,398 17.50% 458 42.88
    6 2,983 17.50% 458 36.83
    7 2,562 17.50% 458 30.68
    8 2,135 17.50% 458 24.45
    9 1,701 17.50% 458 18.13
    10 1,261 17.50% 458 11.71
    11 815 17.50% 458 5.21
    12 362 17.50% 458 -1.40
You can finish paying by 11th month and total interest is only RM400. Total Payment RM5,400

Using 13.5% per annum:
    Month Bal interest Payment Interest
    1 5,000 13.50% 458 51.10
    2 4,593 13.50% 458 46.52
    3 4,182 13.50% 458 41.89
    4 3,766 13.50% 458 37.21
    5 3,345 13.50% 458 32.48
    6 2,919 13.50% 458 27.69
    7 2,489 13.50% 458 22.85
    8 2,054 13.50% 458 17.95
    9 1,614 13.50% 458 13.00
    10 1,169 13.50% 458 8.00
    11 719 13.50% 458 2.93
    12 264 13.50% 458 -2.19
Same thing, finish by 11th month and interest paid is only RM302. Total payment RM5,302

So, your point again?
b00n
post Oct 18 2012, 06:45 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(tygel87 @ Oct 18 2012, 03:47 PM)
I agreed with you but their have a quetion for you too.
Your interest for cc 13.5 is the lower interest buy y dont u use the higher one to do the calculation comparing p.loan 17%? My point is, if your outstanding is lower than rm10k sure your way will be better but that hav a lot of people their outstanding is higher than rm10k. Using p. loan a better way to settle.
P. loan flate rate= loan+%=devided/ month. The rm468 is maintain in p. loan, but difrent with cc loh. wink.gif
Like I mentioned before, read back a couple page back on my post.

QUOTE(tom_87 @ Oct 18 2012, 04:00 PM)
how about a personal loan to overlap car loan and also the balance to invest in other things? any sifu here to advise me...smile.gif
Car loan interest is lower than ploan and both are flat rate. So why the need for a ploan?!
b00n
post Oct 18 2012, 11:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(optiplex @ Oct 18 2012, 10:51 PM)
You maybe right if your 13% reducing balance is cheaper than PL rate..
But if eg
Profit Rate:  16.31%  (SCB islamic), reducing balance, yup your 13% beats it.

But if some of us we have default a payment or so , our cc rate is at 17 or even 18%.
I was looking at my UOB cc statement, at the back it mention tier 1 rate is 15%, t2 17 , t3 18%..
Well 15% is VERY close to the PL rate..

Hmm my cimb cc statement also 15, 17, 18% respectively... I wonder where u get 13%
Ooopppss... Me still stuck at the old tiering. blush.gif nonetheless my example got onterest rate of 17.5%.
But for one to be charged at tier 3 just makes me wonder whetherr or not he should be taking a ploan since he can't even afford to be prompt and disciplined in payment. Tier 3 meant missed more than 2 times in last 12 months.

Btw, for credit card debts.... Wouldn't balance transfer be a smarter moves than ploan? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by b00n: Oct 18 2012, 11:09 PM
b00n
post Oct 19 2012, 01:40 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(optiplex @ Oct 19 2012, 11:06 AM)
balance transfer, u are assuming u have 2 cards?
What if a person hold 4 cards?
min pay for card A , B, C , D
min 5% of each card already hard to handle .. .
then balance transfer say 12 mths..will make matter worst.
Like I mentioned a couple of pages back, it will work only when the monthly repayment of the ploan is lower than the monthly repayment for the cards. If it is the same, then no point taking up ploan to settle cards.

Hence looking at previous example quoted, it makes no sense to take up ploan. But your scenario is different. However if this type of scenario same like ur example occurs, I think this guy really needs to learn financial management.

Btw, some banks now do internal restructuring in converting card balance into sort of installment plan. Hence one can always explore that possibility as well. Some balance transfer program offered by banks also go by that logic with interest rate lower than ploan rate.
b00n
post Jun 1 2013, 12:32 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

As far as I know, Citibank doesn't have PL anymore.

0.0278sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:16 AM