Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment

BoltonMan
post Feb 7 2006, 01:19 PM

Ass man
1,769 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 7 2006, 01:09 PM)
My brother opened a PremierInvest fund before. I took the policy to my financial planner to evaluate and he said that this fund or policy is stupid. The protection and investment is low as compared to investment-linked insurance policy and mutual fund/unit trust.

So, I have no idea about this. I let my brother to decide and he terminated the policy after heard the advices of my financial planner.

Stitchy®
oic...then think i better buy back public mutual....

i already got 2 fund for public mutual....

ur financial planner is what company? public mutual?

SUSDavid83
post Feb 7 2006, 01:42 PM

52,874 posts

He's doing a lot of services. He's a PM agent too.

Stitchy®

smwah
post Feb 7 2006, 04:34 PM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

some agent are very cheeky, they like to twist and turn. Bashing your old investment, and advice you for new investment. Anyway getting 2nd opinion is better.
...PS...
post Feb 8 2006, 11:12 AM

132 posts

David83, BoltonMan : where can i find more info regarding the Maybank premiervalue saver and premier invest fund as what you all said? what i can see from the maybank website is only Premier 1... and the interest rate is damn low... much more lower than the FD!!!

I heard about the InvestmentLink from my friend who is doing the insurance business... he told me that it will be far more better than the conventional insurance, where the return is higher and also it come with protection. And this definetely higher than the FD... but what i dont understand is: what is the interest rate for this investmentLink? 8%? 10%? i dont know.. and from the chart he showed me only assume that the FD is 4% and none of the InvestmentLink interest rate. He said should be around 9%... can anybody tell me what is the exact amount, or the range of it?

I just bought 1 mutual fund from PM, and also a conventional insurance. i assume the PM will give me about 8% return in 5yr. But what about the conventional insurance? which one is better ha? really no idea... but what i can say is that if anything happen to me, then the conventional insurance is really good la... but if anything happen to my financial status, and cant continue to pay the insurance, then surely rugi a lot lor... not like the PM, i can stop anytime i like, only that it wont give protection lor...

So talking about InvestmentLink, Conventional Insurance, and MutualFund, anyone can give more details about it ha? Comparison, which one better, long term and short term...

This post has been edited by ...PS...: Feb 8 2006, 11:14 AM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 8 2006, 01:23 PM

52,874 posts

Should be available at Maybank web site ... as my financial planner did send me a URL regarding that. Sorry, I didn't keep the link.

Stitchy®
cherroy
post Feb 8 2006, 09:51 PM

25,802 posts

Only FD return rate is fixed, others like mutual fund and insurance their return rate is not at a certain rate every year. They (primary mutual fund) only used the previous, historical achieved returns rate as a benchmark but for the future 1, 3, 5 or 10 years time, nobody can give you an answer, it may 1%, 10%, 50%, 100% or even with negative return rate.

Insurance primary objective is to give you the financial protection especially for your family if anything happened , investment purpose is its secondary objective.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 8 2006, 09:52 PM
mobiusone
post Feb 8 2006, 11:25 PM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 8 2006, 09:51 PM)
Only FD return rate is fixed, others like mutual fund and insurance their return rate is not at a certain rate every year. They (primary mutual fund) only used the previous, historical achieved returns rate as a benchmark but for the future 1, 3, 5 or 10 years time, nobody can give you an answer, it may 1%, 10%, 50%, 100% or even with negative return rate.

Insurance primary objective is to give you the financial protection especially for your family if anything happened , investment purpose is its secondary objective.
what if the central bank increase or decrease the interest rate?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 8 2006, 11:43 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(mobiusone @ Feb 8 2006, 11:25 PM)
what if the central bank increase or decrease the interest rate?
If BNM alters the rate, other institution banks will or must follow.

Stitchy®
...PS...
post Feb 9 2006, 09:38 AM

132 posts

did anyone invest in the Insarance company InvestmentLink product? i wanna know how many insurance company that provides such InvestmentLink product, because one of the agent told me that there is only 3 companies in M'sia have it - Alliance, Manulife, and Prudential... is it so ha? I saw from the Star paper, there are a lot of insurance company doing the investmentlink fund... which one is the correct one?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 9 2006, 10:36 AM

52,874 posts

Great Eastern Life and UniAsia also got. I don't think only confined to that 3 companies.

Stitchy®
Ken
post Feb 9 2006, 10:51 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

PS, what fund u buy from PM?

is it ur investment is put RM1k initially, then every month top up min RM100?

or u put 1 lumpsum?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 9 2006, 11:22 AM

52,874 posts

It's not encouraged to buy mutual fund especially those based on equity funds in large sum method.

Stitchy®
...PS...
post Feb 9 2006, 02:57 PM

132 posts

Ken: i bought the PM Far East Select Fund, which just launced last November, as the first overseas fund.. i invested several K as initial as there is 1% bonus... hehehehe.... then RM100 every month lor...

until now it has been 2++ months liao... and the progress i think quite good la... but i see the pattern from my opinion, not very stable la...

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...erformance.aspx

it is second last from the drop down list...

This post has been edited by ...PS...: Feb 9 2006, 02:58 PM
Ken
post Feb 9 2006, 06:08 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(...PS... @ Feb 9 2006, 02:57 PM)
Ken: i bought the PM Far East Select Fund, which just launced last November, as the first overseas fund.. i invested several K as initial as there is 1% bonus... hehehehe.... then RM100 every month lor...

until now it has been 2++ months liao... and the progress i think quite good la... but i see the pattern from my opinion, not very stable la...

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...erformance.aspx

it is second last from the drop down list...
yes. i know this fund my agent also got ask me, she said is the first fund pb invest abroad and got high potential...but i din invest also because not much cash in hand every month then....
SUSDavid83
post Feb 9 2006, 08:47 PM

52,874 posts

My PM agent/financial planner said that PM is very careful with this new fund as you guys also aware that it's the first time PM invests abroad. He advised me to wait and see at this moment while keep topping up my investment.

Stitchy®
Intrigue
post Feb 9 2006, 11:58 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

i think we should have a sub forum just to discuss investment since a lot of lowyater here are working people.

We can discuss our investment such as UNIT TRUST, STOCK, etc.

Geminist
post Feb 10 2006, 01:09 AM

- ドSãªå½¼å¥³ -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Feb 9 2006, 11:58 PM)
i think we should have a sub forum just to discuss investment since a lot of  lowyater here are working people.

We can discuss our investment such as UNIT TRUST, STOCK, etc.
Suggestions noted.

However, it's not feasible currently as there's still insufficient traffic for a sub forum to discuss about investment smile.gif
mobiusone
post Feb 10 2006, 09:07 AM

imma chargin' mah gauge
1,478 posts

anyone here knows any site that provide articles or news that is equivalent to those articles in "the economist"?

I subscribed to that magazine,but i'm too lazy to read it.Since i spend half of time infront of the computer,i would rather read it on the net
...PS...
post Feb 10 2006, 10:59 AM

132 posts

i also think that no need to open a new topic lor, since we can still talk about all the investments here... heheh
dEviLs
post Feb 10 2006, 12:30 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(mobiusone @ Feb 10 2006, 09:07 AM)
anyone here knows any site that provide articles or news that is equivalent to those articles in "the economist"?

I subscribed to that magazine,but i'm too lazy to read it.Since i spend half of time infront of the computer,i would rather read it on the net
You can always surf this
http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/index.jsp

85 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0156sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:25 PM