4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung GALAXY SL (Super Clear LCD) (GT-i9003) V2, Simply Amazing

lee82gx
post Nov 5 2011, 12:12 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

wifi no change. I'm gonna leave it ON 24/7 to see if SOD occurs but not having high hopes.

Papago navigation with voice is still crashing but the occurrence has dropped a lot. Used to crash after 2-5 turns but now can navigate almost 30-40 turns.

I find my Launcher Pro Plus not so smooth as before now and even TW Launcher seems smoother a bit, though its not as loaded with as many widgets. Need some time in the toilet to try this (yeah its my throne and the only place for daddy to have peace and quiet)..
lee82gx
post Nov 6 2011, 05:13 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I think Gingerbread has messed up my Launcher Pro Plus, its not as responsive anymore. Now it feels like Go Launcher is better, and stock is best. But the problem is TouchWiz is limited to 4x4 in home screen..
lee82gx
post Nov 8 2011, 10:55 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Nov 8 2011, 12:27 AM)
hey is there any way to get more internal storage from SL? The default internal partition is 1.5GB iinm?

It's my friends who is using an SL, and it seems its not enough. I know its ridiculous, 1.5GB seems a lot to me, no idea how it is not enough.

I've checked the XDA forum, can only find a bunch of speed related improvements. So far Cranium ROM is the best?
if you install Papago, it takes up abt 700mb ++ so there...
lee82gx
post Nov 9 2011, 10:20 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

+1 battery life is better during idling / sleep. For the first time since buying the phone it can last more than 24hrs without charging.

Unplugged yesterday 9am, wifi on, gmail, fb, google calendar syncing, 3-5 short phone calls, 11pm 73%.

This morning 9am start at 60%. Heres hoping it'll last till 10pm.
lee82gx
post Nov 9 2011, 10:37 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

i used ace b4, between both running froyo, battery life is slightly longer on the SL, if very low usage with wifi syncing i think my ace can tahan 16hrs day, but sl can go to maybe 20hrs.

recently with gingerbread i now can achieve 48hrs with my sl but i don't have any experience with the ace in GB.
lee82gx
post Nov 10 2011, 03:26 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Nov 10 2011, 02:15 PM)
anybody got experience... the problem of push mail..

eg gmail/whatsapp and the sorts not receiving msgs/email

when the phone using KP9 is in sleep mode ?
I just tried to send a mail to my gmail. Phone was not touched for about 1.5hrs. Email notification received almost at the same time as my web client.

Friendcaster also working (I guess tho I don't really care about it) whereby a lot of notifications are coming thru.

I have noticed that web browsing is slightly faster in page load speed.
lee82gx
post Nov 14 2011, 11:56 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 14 2011, 09:04 AM)
Don't see any other improvement other than the over-scroll animation... and now my Power Widget for GPS cannot turn on and off, it will bring me to the Location settings page instead.  Maybe need to upgrade my widget.

GO Launcher homescreen is very unresponsive now.  App drawer is ok.  Anyone else facing this?
more or less all 3rd party launchers are worse in GB than in Froyo...sigh...

If you are really critical, can notice that touchscreen is less responsive in GB too. The pin # lock screen is very unresponsive.
lee82gx
post Nov 15 2011, 09:22 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

i'd like to ask all those using cf-root from xda / ganeshbiyer , any issue so far?
lee82gx
post Nov 16 2011, 02:01 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 16 2011, 08:08 AM)
After a few days of use, my GO Launcher seems to have improved and is responsive and less laggy.
No problem so far.
Hi Dannyl
Can you tell if factory reset was necessary for you?
lee82gx
post Nov 16 2011, 04:24 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 16 2011, 02:27 PM)
As far as I can remember, this is what I did:
1)  flashed to 2.3.5 via Kies, did manual factory reset (last Fri night)
2)  setup everything, used phone (including GO Launcher) for 1 day
3)  flash CF-ROOT to get root privilege
4)  setup everything, realised GPS performance sucks monkey ass, like in 2.2.3
5)  shut down and restarted phone, GPS turned good!
6)  today (Wed) realised GO Launcher not so bad, not sure what happened or when it happened

Now after unlocking the screen, I can swipe left and right... got some lag, but very functional... before this, I swiped a few times also no response.  I'm not using any task killers.  Hope this helps...
I see, ok guess its now my turn to take the plunge.
lee82gx
post Nov 17 2011, 09:52 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 16 2011, 10:29 PM)
I just had a phone crash.  Turned on my wifi to connect to my home network and the phone froze sad.gif  dunno whether due to 2.3.5 or CF-ROOT.
thanks for notifying, for me even in stock, I've had wifi locked up whereby cannot switch off or on. But the phone still worked for other functions. Had to restart.

lee82gx
post Nov 17 2011, 03:05 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Nov 17 2011, 01:55 PM)
I called up Samsung - 1800 number to check for SL 2.3.5 OS, a man called Ridzal told me it is not out yet. I told him I got notification from KIES. He then check with his technical person and confirm even there is no 2.3.5 update via KIES.

So, I redial again and the same guy picked up. I close the phone and redial, another man call Shakir answered. I asked the same Qs and he told me it is available.

Sigh!!!!

Qs to all - (1) it's 2.3.5 right? (2) future - where there be 2.3.X??? Cos no point to go to Samsung Service center and do OS update twice or thrice. Ya, I prefer to go there then updated over KIES - risky.

Thks!!!
Better call the service center you plan to visit directly to confirm. No point some Tom, d*** and Harry promise its available generally but not where you plan to go.

anyway this 1 or 2 days not many new release over kies so i expect their servers and network won't be that jammed.

it takes about 1-2hrs over my 1mb streamyx line. Else use Odin which is much faster but you're phone will factory reset. Over Kies, most things are carried over including apps.
lee82gx
post Nov 18 2011, 09:16 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

ok, its confirmed that wifi is still a problem : Wifi will suddenly drop connection, even during the middle of surfing. Then wifi will just freeze, not able to disconnect-reconnect. Only a reset will solve it.
lee82gx
post Nov 18 2011, 02:10 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 18 2011, 02:06 PM)
How about restarting the wifi driver?  At the dialer, type *#*#526#*#*.  See if it works.
Gingerbread supposedly has better battery management.  I feel my battery lasts longer now, but maybe's it placebo effect laugh.gif  but the most important thing is that the GPS is superb now!  Sometimes before Papago finishes loading, the voice already said, "voice navigation started".
first thing i did was try the wifi driver code. Does not work. Saw some threads in xda about this even in xxkpn, there were claims that using static ip address can solve it so I'm waiting to go back home to try.

FWIW, at office I don't have this issue yet.

BTW 2.3.6 xxkpq is out smile.gif
lee82gx
post Nov 19 2011, 10:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Nov19 11, 09:18 PM)
Guiys,i need some help here.Right now i have a i9003 with DXKP9 on it,when i tried to use the CF-ROOT for DXKP9 from XDA WIFI won't work.I tried clearing the caches/done a full wipe etc but it still doesn't work.
I flashed again the whole firmware with odin.
lee82gx
post Nov 22 2011, 05:45 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Nov 22 2011, 03:27 PM)
Juz got mine flashed to 2.3.5 today. didnt know how the batt consumption yet.

Added on November 22, 2011, 4:00 pmCan any help, after i downloaded Kies 2.0 when i tried to install it keeps asking me to connect to internet even though I'm connected to internet via Maxis BB ody. Can any help?

Thx
try to make sure internet explorer can connect to internet. Some proxies are set in your pc?
lee82gx
post Nov 23 2011, 03:45 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(clal @ Nov 23 2011, 02:33 PM)
Hi Everyone,

My Malaysian stock I9003 was running original firmware DXKB2 2.2.1 and after officially updating to DXKP9 2.3.5 via KIES, it started to hangs up all the time and also the Back and Menu Button unresponsive.

Using ODIN3v.1.83, I downgrade my firmware to DXKF1, then upgrade to DXKB2, then to XXKPE, before to DXKP9 finally. Throughout the updating process in each firmware, the Menu and Back button are still NOT RESPONSIVE at all. Before doing these, the phone hangs up few seconds after use (after updating from DXKB2 to DXKP9 directly via KIES), and the Menu and Back button not responding. Now, the hang up issue no longer happens, but the Menu and Back button still not responding at all.

Could anyone please help? Thanks in advance.
I would bring this to the service center. If not you can try reflash of dxkp9.
lee82gx
post Nov 29 2011, 10:28 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Currently into my 4th day running Poseidon custom ROM

Never knew it was that easy to install a custom rom and with cwm recovery, its damn safe too!
lee82gx
post Nov 29 2011, 02:39 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 29 2011, 01:54 PM)
Has anyone tried change to EXT4?  Is the improvement significant?

Also, with CF-ROOT, there's a Tweak Manager.  Has anybody tried those tweaks?  Do they work?    Like I/O: Scheduler, Kernel Scheduler, etc.
Have you tried the screen improvement mod on DXKP9?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1365179
Currently calibrating my battery from 100% to 0%...don't want to reboot, but damn this is tempting.

Poseidon rom has ext-4 built in but i don't know what effect compared to overall. Also antutu crashed when reach IO test so no comparisons there...

Haven't tried any CPU governor or IO Scheduler yet.
lee82gx
post Nov 29 2011, 06:52 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Hunz @ Nov 29 2011, 06:07 PM)
remember to update kernel v4
but at own risk smile.gif

suddenly i feel that SL worth my bucks on buying it. stock froyo that time so sucks
Will stick with the custom rom as is to check stability....later will go for custom kernel.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0365sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:23 PM