Paint for Plaster Ceiling, Plaster Ceiling
TSJo_da48
Aug 16 2011, 01:46 PM, updated 11y ago
All, Any suggestion what brand to use for painting Plaster ceiling, that didn't produce too much on small powder that impact us on long ran? According to this link "http://www.ehow.com/how_5130546_paint-plaster-ceiling.html", suggestion given as below, any hint what this refer to on our local here?
Choose a high quality latex paint. Look for a 100 percent acrylic paint. Not all acrylic paints are full acrylic, and some can contain additional additives and chemicals that may not adhere to a plaster ceiling. To be considered 100 percent acrylic, the can's label must specifically have that printed on it.
OlgaC4
Aug 16 2011, 01:51 PM
Get the normal white one cost only Rm40 per container.
weikee
Aug 16 2011, 01:53 PM
I'll use the same as wall
TSJo_da48
Aug 16 2011, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Aug 16 2011, 01:51 PM) Get the normal white one cost only Rm40 per container. You meant Normal White Paint?
kelvyn
Aug 16 2011, 04:58 PM
Just apply a coat of wall sealer plus 2 coats of the Nippon Matex Ceiling white.
enriquelee
Aug 16 2011, 05:31 PM
Just get normal emulsion paint will do, such as ICI maxilite or equivalent. But make sure the painter don't add cc powder to the paint, then you should safe from powdery problem.
TSJo_da48
Aug 17 2011, 01:17 AM
Confused now. Is not Maxilite is the one most of plaster ceiling folk using? And when touch will feel having powder on hand?
SUSceo684
Aug 17 2011, 01:35 AM
Matex Ceiling white
enriquelee
Aug 17 2011, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 17 2011, 01:17 AM) Confused now. Is not Maxilite is the one most of plaster ceiling folk using? And when touch will feel having powder on hand? Yes, contractor tend to use maxilite for ceiling painting, due to it is cheap. But if they follow the specification to paint, it will not be powdery. One of the reason it become powdery is, the painter mix the paint with c.c. powder, which increase the volume of paint and decrease the quality of paint. Tips for everybody, ceiling paint is more likely to mix with c.c. powder as compare to wall to cheat us. Reason being, we can touch the wall anytime but not the ceiling (Unless you use a ladder/chair).
TSJo_da48
Aug 17 2011, 11:35 PM
If I supplied myself to them, than should be safe as not reason why the need to save cost.....Rights?
tiensong
Aug 18 2011, 12:06 PM
I am planning to use Maxilite to paint the plaster ceiling...
weikee
Aug 18 2011, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(tiensong @ Aug 18 2011, 12:06 PM) I am planning to use Maxilite to paint the plaster ceiling... Do you have someone staying in the house with allergic problem? if not mistaking Maxilite will give some powder when you rub it right? This can cause lots of problem for people with allergic.
TSJo_da48
Aug 18 2011, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 18 2011, 12:19 PM) Do you have someone staying in the house with allergic problem? if not mistaking Maxilite will give some powder when you rub it right? This can cause lots of problem for people with allergic. Wee Kee, after sometime even if without Allergic it will still possiable cause on asthma especially kids
tiensong
Aug 18 2011, 01:31 PM
So, what paint to use?
tiensong
Aug 18 2011, 01:31 PM
So, what paint to use?
weikee
Aug 18 2011, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 18 2011, 01:27 PM) Wee Kee, after sometime even if without Allergic it will still possiable cause on asthma especially kids  Agree, the specialist doctor will give advice parent what to avoid. Added on August 18, 2011, 1:56 pmQUOTE(tiensong @ Aug 18 2011, 01:31 PM) emulsion paint like Pantalite? Supreme? Or get cheaper brand but similar range. This post has been edited by weikee: Aug 18 2011, 01:56 PM
kelvyn
Aug 18 2011, 02:02 PM
Use the Nippon matex paint. They have lesser powder than maxilite. This is according to the painter
papaya2
Aug 18 2011, 02:24 PM
i also use use nippon matex ceiling white, at least it is designed for ceiling...so trust it...
enriquelee
Aug 18 2011, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 17 2011, 11:35 PM) If I supplied myself to them, than should be safe as not reason why the need to save cost.....Rights? Yup, that will reduce the tendency of it. QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 18 2011, 12:19 PM) Do you have someone staying in the house with allergic problem? if not mistaking Maxilite will give some powder when you rub it right? This can cause lots of problem for people with allergic. If paint maxilite follow the manufacturer's instruction, that will not be powdery.
ycs
Aug 19 2011, 08:57 AM
i painted my ceiling using maxilite diluted with only little bit water to make it easier to paint and got no problems with powdery surface
weikee
Aug 19 2011, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 19 2011, 08:57 AM) i painted my ceiling using maxilite diluted with only little bit water to make it easier to paint and got no problems with powdery surface Give it few years.
Gary1981
Aug 19 2011, 03:28 PM
Me nipon matex white too for all ceiling...
TSJo_da48
Aug 19 2011, 03:54 PM
It seem like either
nippon matex (http://www.nipponpaint.com.my/homeowners/products.php?catID=3&rangeID=36) or Delux maxilite (http://www.icidulux.com.my/EN/products/maxilite_plus_interior_emulsion_paint_A919Line.html)
Hmmmm
enriquelee
Aug 22 2011, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 19 2011, 03:54 PM) It seem like either nippon matex (http://www.nipponpaint.com.my/homeowners/products.php?catID=3&rangeID=36) or Delux maxilite (http://www.icidulux.com.my/EN/products/maxilite_plus_interior_emulsion_paint_A919Line.html) Hmmmm More or less yes. Ofcourse you still can look for other brand like Seamaster, SKK or PAR. They are not bad too.
TSJo_da48
Sep 18 2011, 03:23 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 19 2011, 03:54 PM) It seem like either nippon matex (http://www.nipponpaint.com.my/homeowners/products.php?catID=3&rangeID=36) or Delux maxilite (http://www.icidulux.com.my/EN/products/maxilite_plus_interior_emulsion_paint_A919Line.html) Hmmmm Endup I'm getting ICI Pentalite white instead of above. RM280 for 20L x 2 = RM 560
elwin1102
Sep 19 2011, 08:59 AM
Anybody know JB area where can get ICI Pentalite 20L?? Went to 3 shops, only 5L available... >.<
Diaz mocta
Nov 23 2011, 12:48 AM
What about jotun paint? Any idea if i want to DIY? contractor charge rm500 for paint..
wrb7878
Nov 23 2011, 11:20 AM
What is different between Nippon Matex Ceiling white and Perfect White?
Gary1981
Nov 27 2011, 08:28 PM
Better ask the seller..
Skydrop
Dec 5 2011, 05:00 PM
Bro, my contractor said can use maxilite for plaster ceiling but have to wait for at least one week for the plaster ceiling to dry up before painting. Then no powdery problem.  a lot of different info.
chooyang
Dec 5 2011, 11:17 PM

most contractor use maxilite to paint the plaster ceiling, and so far no problem occur at my side.. it depend on how the contractor mix the paint or how he brush ..
Skydrop
Dec 5 2011, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(chooyang @ Dec 5 2011, 11:17 PM) most contractor use maxilite to paint the plaster ceiling, and so far no problem occur at my side.. it depend on how the contractor mix the paint or how he brush .. Unfortunately I have to paint myself due to no budget  I am no expert in painting but most shops also recommend sealer first because it will last many many years. Just hope it is true and not just trying to sell me more paint
popice2u
Mar 13 2015, 11:49 AM
is plaster ceiling paint different from wall paint? due to budget i intend to paint myself. so need help and tips on type of paint for plaster ceiling and wall (will choose white)
TSJo_da48
Mar 16 2015, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(popice2u @ Mar 13 2015, 11:49 AM) is plaster ceiling paint different from wall paint? due to budget i intend to paint myself. so need help and tips on type of paint for plaster ceiling and wall (will choose white) Ceiling are more cheap...but if you have $$$ can use the same as wall
enriquelee
Mar 21 2015, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(popice2u @ Mar 13 2015, 11:49 AM) is plaster ceiling paint different from wall paint? due to budget i intend to paint myself. so need help and tips on type of paint for plaster ceiling and wall (will choose white) ICI maxilite or Nippon Matex are both reasonable good and economic options that you might look into.
karwaidotnet
Apr 8 2015, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Nov 23 2011, 11:20 AM) What is different between Nippon Matex Ceiling white and Perfect White? anyone know the differences between these two types of paint? i know the Perfect White is the more expensive paint. 5x times more costlier than the normal Matex paint... question is WHY?
henrychia90
Aug 20 2015, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 21 2015, 07:48 PM) ICI maxilite or Nippon Matex are both reasonable good and economic options that you might look into. Due i have limited budget, any tips or experience to share how to Paint on plaster ceiling. Normally will do sealer first or just use Matex paint it that's all?? This post has been edited by henrychia90: Aug 20 2015, 10:38 PM
enriquelee
Aug 24 2015, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(henrychia90 @ Aug 20 2015, 10:37 PM) Due i have limited budget, any tips or experience to share how to Paint on plaster ceiling. Normally will do sealer first or just use Matex paint it that's all?? If budget constrain, just apply 2 coats of the paint will do.
soules83
Dec 28 2018, 02:58 PM
one of my landed house room keep on have powdery dust on the floor and bed. Do you guys think it cause by the aging plaster ceiling?
aizielectreon
Oct 22 2022, 03:41 PM
i want to repaint plaster ceiling after 17 years. do i need to scrape old paint, recoating and paint
or just straight paint?
mini orchard
Oct 22 2022, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(aizielectreon @ Oct 22 2022, 03:41 PM) i want to repaint plaster ceiling after 17 years. do i need to scrape old paint, recoating and paint or just straight paint?This, if no peeling of old paint or plaster or patching of cracks. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 22 2022, 04:09 PM
aizielectreon
Oct 23 2022, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 22 2022, 04:07 PM) This, if no peeling of old paint or plaster or patching of cracks. this is my ceiling now. been 17 years. is this just old paint or mold? the texture is smooth. i tried to sand small sample but only some gone. still can see some though. i think i just want to repaint it.  This post has been edited by aizielectreon: Oct 23 2022, 02:19 PM
mini orchard
Oct 23 2022, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(aizielectreon @ Oct 23 2022, 02:17 PM) this is my ceiling now. been 17 years. is this just old paint or mold? the texture is smooth. i tried to sand small sample but only some gone. still can see some though. i think i just want to repaint it.   Mold, some minor leak. What is above the ceiling ? If you are diy, then paint few coats. My place yellowish leak mark after few coats, looks ok. If want perfect white, then add more coats. One big tub maxilite not expensive. Keep bal also have to throw later. Mix some water b4 painting but not too much. As long the painting swipe is smooth. Too thick, after dry not so nice . This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 23 2022, 04:25 PM
SUSceo684
Oct 23 2022, 09:29 PM
looks like mold. pls ensure the room is well ventilated; and toilet does not vent into the ceiling space because all the moisture will be trapped like tupperware..
if u dun believe.. u wet a towel completely and see how long it takes to dry indoors.. that is the problem with moist air
aizielectreon
Oct 24 2022, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 23 2022, 04:22 PM) Mold, some minor leak. What is above the ceiling ? If you are diy, then paint few coats. My place yellowish leak mark after few coats, looks ok. If want perfect white, then add more coats. One big tub maxilite not expensive. Keep bal also have to throw later. Mix some water b4 painting but not too much. As long the painting swipe is smooth. Too thick, after dry not so nice . Apartment 6th floor. There is no leak as far as i know.hmm Forgot to close the window when its raining i think.throught the years. Shoud i paint anti fungal coating first?
aizielectreon
Oct 24 2022, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 23 2022, 09:29 PM) looks like mold. pls ensure the room is well ventilated; and toilet does not vent into the ceiling space because all the moisture will be trapped like tupperware.. if u dun believe.. u wet a towel completely and see how long it takes to dry indoors.. that is the problem with moist air I checked my bathroom ceiling. There is no mold spots. All white.
mini orchard
Oct 24 2022, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(aizielectreon @ Oct 24 2022, 11:18 AM) Apartment 6th floor. There is no leak as far as i know.hmm Forgot to close the window when its raining i think.throught the years. Shoud i paint anti fungal coating first? What you can do is to use a scraper to remove the mold as much possoble, then paint. No need anti fungal coating. Wear a mask or face shield. This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 24 2022, 07:34 PM