Throttle controller, is it useful??

TSsamwongjyhhorng
post Aug 10 2011, 05:25 PM, updated 15y ago

i plan to install throttle controller in my persona..but dunno is it useful or not lo..pls help
sinister_sid
post Aug 10 2011, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Aug 10 2011, 05:25 PM)
i plan to install throttle controller in my persona..but dunno is it useful or not lo..pls help
ask for a test drive from a same model fitted with it from the shop la icon_idea.gif
i tried before a bm 325 with the throttle dbw controller thing , does do different
szeeonn
post Aug 10 2011, 06:25 PM

159 posts

can control open Faster , OR can make it open slower

open slower means save fuel if ur Right leg GATAL .

This post has been edited by szeeonn: Aug 10 2011, 06:26 PM
TSsamwongjyhhorng
post Aug 10 2011, 09:30 PM

so tat means is can increase performance.rite?
sinister_sid
post Aug 10 2011, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Aug 10 2011, 09:30 PM)
so tat means is can increase performance.rite?
nope
just increase the thottle respond only
u will notice dbw system have certain lag when compare with old school direct cable
TSsamwongjyhhorng
post Aug 10 2011, 09:58 PM

recently my setup for bullet and midbox,the distance between bullet and midbox is around 4inch..if i change the distance to 12inch,is it will affect the power?

Added on August 10, 2011, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Aug 10 2011, 09:42 PM)
nope
just increase the thottle respond only
u will notice dbw system have certain lag when compare with old school direct cable
means if i din install throttle controller,i oso can use the way like press the pedal more deeply to minus the lag,rite?

This post has been edited by samwongjyhhorng: Aug 10 2011, 09:59 PM
xshiro
post Aug 10 2011, 10:18 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Aug 10 2011, 09:58 PM)
recently my setup for bullet and midbox,the distance between bullet and midbox is around 4inch..if i change the distance to 12inch,is it will affect the power?

Added on August 10, 2011, 9:59 pm

means if i din install throttle controller,i oso can use the way like press the pedal more deeply to minus the lag,rite?
yes can think this way

if you use controller, it will send 2/3 throttle signal when you press that suppose to open 1/3 of the throttle

the controller will cheat the ecu. so you feel more power
TSsamwongjyhhorng
post Aug 10 2011, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(xshiro @ Aug 10 2011, 10:18 PM)
yes can think this way

if you use controller, it will send 2/3 throttle signal when you press that suppose to open 1/3 of the throttle

the controller will cheat the ecu. so you feel more power
so tat means install throttle controller is tipu myself lo??
xshiro
post Aug 11 2011, 12:33 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Aug 10 2011, 10:54 PM)
so tat means install throttle controller is tipu myself lo??
if you think like that, then it tipu you la. tongue.gif

it adds convinience la, press abit the car responds faster..

This post has been edited by xshiro: Aug 11 2011, 12:34 AM
xxboxx
post Aug 11 2011, 12:36 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Most cars in the 21st century have replaced the more conventional throttle cable for an ECM (Electronic Control Module) that translates how hard the pedal is pushed into electronic signals in order to provide power to the wheels.

The ETC (Electronic Throttle Control), which is also known as Drive-By-Wire, has the unfortunate downside of delayed response and subdued acceleration, which can create problems in certain situations such as up-hill starts, quick gearchanges and overtaking.

SprintBooster overcomes this throttle response delay for your vehicle by providing crisp, on-tap acceleration for whenever the driver demands it.

Results:
At low revs, the engine responds at approximately half the time in comparison to before.

The delay time whilst accelerating in 3rd and 4th gear and the engine in the mid-range, is almost zero.

Big differences in the higher rev range.

Improved response for downshifts and safer overtaking.

Overall safety and more fun on the road!

http://www.sprintboostersales.com/
xshiro
post Aug 11 2011, 12:38 AM

133 posts

there is another one, cheaper shadow e-drive throttle controller
szeeonn
post Aug 11 2011, 12:40 AM

159 posts

the Controller is : OPEN CEPAT SIKIT Or OPEN SLOW SIKIT base on what u set it to be

Open cepat sikit = more air goes in mai power lor

it is used For Faster / Slower throttle opening jek ~

This post has been edited by szeeonn: Aug 11 2011, 12:40 AM
TSsamwongjyhhorng
post Aug 11 2011, 08:48 AM

QUOTE(xshiro @ Aug 11 2011, 12:38 AM)
there is another one, cheaper shadow e-drive throttle controller
any difference for cheap and expensive?so all of u think is worth to install?
fluffy6640
post Aug 11 2011, 09:11 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Aug 11 2011, 08:48 AM)
any difference for cheap and expensive?so all of u think is worth to install?
heck. what if the cheap one screws up and while your not touching the accelerator, your car suddenly accelerates?

this thing i honestly think is garbage. start with intake and exhaust.
victor87
post Aug 11 2011, 10:52 AM

431 posts

Useful for people want to eliminate throttle lag.

Doesn't increase performance at all.
yeehau86
post Sep 13 2011, 09:23 AM

128 posts

anyone has installed this into their car? I saw in youtube that the device has to plug to the OBD diagnosis socket, is this true?
ThunderGod_Cid
post Sep 14 2011, 02:29 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Aug 11 2011, 10:52 AM)
Useful for people want to eliminate throttle lag.

Doesn't increase performance at all.
Quote for true facts
drexchan
post Nov 4 2011, 01:42 PM

91 posts

"Throttle Controller doesn't improve performance of the engine"

TRUE and FALSE.

Please don't forget that the ECU reads the signal from the TPS to compute the "Load". It's not about how far/deep you depress the accelerator pedal, but how fast you depress the pedal.

Look at these hypothetical graphs: -
(no intention to promote anything but this is all I have)

Take SP7 mode as example, the slope of the graph is greater than 'Nor' (unmodified signal). This slope is interpreted by the ECU as 'rate'. Greater the rate, higher 'load' the ECU reads.

Higher load = more ignition advance = better performance = better throttle response = faster acceleration.

Can you achieve the same result without an ETC? Technically YES.

Case study:
In SP7, it takes 50% lesser accelerator depression to achieve 100% (check graph above). If time is factored into the the X-axis, and you depress the accelerator 2x quicker, you can get the ECU into reading the same 'load', but your foot also need to work faster.

If 'throttle response' is a sensation of the relation between your foot work and the engine behaviour, then, working faster with your foot DOESN'T make the throttle more responsive.

Electronic throttle control is actually part of BMW i-drive, or other similar system that regulates the rate of throttle pedal depression.

Honda CR-Z has the same system built-in, just FYI.

Added on November 4, 2011, 1:46 pmBut don't trust me in this. I am a business person and I am always bias.
Do your own study, but try to understand what I am trying to tell, first.

This post has been edited by drexchan: Nov 4 2011, 01:48 PM
wandzul
post Nov 4 2011, 03:22 PM

152 posts

Use the money to do other mods (read as more worthy mods).. unless if you have lots of spare cash..

btw, increase throttle respond only need rm50 what.. no need of this specific gadget.. however, the advantage of this item is that you can alter the setting on the fly, no need to adjust throttle offset using PDT everytime..
drexchan
post Nov 4 2011, 04:03 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wandzul @ Nov 4 2011, 03:22 PM)
btw, increase throttle respond only need rm50 what.. no need of this specific gadget.. however, the advantage of this item is that you can alter the setting on the fly, no need to adjust throttle offset using PDT everytime..
Therefore the price, logic?

In addition to that, you only talk about ONE particular model. Lets talk about CARS IN GENERAL shall we?

This post has been edited by drexchan: Nov 4 2011, 11:13 PM

0.0219sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:51 AM