QUOTE(kiien_kyan @ Sep 7 2011, 09:13 AM)
flashing is updating/changing of the firmware.SAMSUNG GALAXY ACE Official Thread V3, Mid Range Phone, Released Date Feb 2011
SAMSUNG GALAXY ACE Official Thread V3, Mid Range Phone, Released Date Feb 2011
Sep 7 2011, 09:37 AM
458 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Sep 7 2011, 11:01 AM
Sep 7 2011, 03:41 PM
Sep 19 2011, 12:07 PM
just reverted back to KPH from KPB. One major difference i see between the two versions is the GPS lock.
In KPB it can take upwards of 3~4 minutes to get a GPS lock but it's less than 1 minute under KPH. Gonna stick with KPH for now. |
Sep 20 2011, 09:05 AM
Oct 17 2011, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(Miracles @ Oct 17 2011, 01:02 PM) Yea i know right ^^. Although CM7 is so much faster.. and you can set almost everything you want but the missing parts is a killer. give Go Launcher EX a try. it's free, easy to use and quite customizable. No lags too.Im sure it's kang. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1263292 Will try other launcher. But right now need to find the missing Market. lol.. |
Oct 17 2011, 03:24 PM
Oct 18 2011, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(Miracles @ Oct 18 2011, 01:36 AM) Thanks. But something weird happened. When I connect to WIFI, the market suddenly appeared! Then logged in as usual and auto-updated to 3.1.5. Wasted my time to download SDK thing. i think the phone has a built in one? Press the HOME button for more than 2 seconds and the task killer will appear. Otherwise, Go Launcher EX also has one built in although it can only close all running tasks >.<Any good task killer/manager to recommend? Noticed there's no task manager. Thanks for the suggestion. |
Oct 18 2011, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(Miracles @ Oct 18 2011, 09:31 AM) Okay. if ur using Go Launcher, after you tap and hold, a popup should appear for you to move,delete, uninstall the app. No need to drag. |
Oct 19 2011, 10:39 AM
Oct 20 2011, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(Miracles @ Oct 20 2011, 11:03 AM) Tested QQplayer and MOBO. Couldnt play my music videos downloaded form utube. the video plays it very slow but audio is ok sync issue usually caused by not enough processor power or ram. Anyhoo, i usually d/l my vids onto phone at 640 res via tubemate. Plays flawlessly with QQplayer. |
Oct 21 2011, 08:11 AM
yo mate,
will try to answer based on my limited knowledge. Just a sharing from my personal views. 1. If i am not mistaken, the ROMS being firmware specific may be because of the baseband. So, if for example some ROMS you flashed you cannot connect to the m'sia cell towers . However, i have had no problem flashing the official 2.3.4 for Europe. Works perfectly. Basically, what i did was just to grab the ROM i wanted (KPH, or KPE, or whichever GB one). Then, run ODIN, making sure i had the USB drivers for Samsung installed. Then choose the correct files to map for each of the items, and flash. Thats it. No need to unroot, etc etc beforehand. 2. afaik, all the ROMS are flashed through ODIN ( At least, that's how i did it. ) Didn't do any firmware update... 3. this one, not sure. Never tried those custom ones for my SGA . Hope helped you a bit. I agree that flashing samsung is a bit more complicated - on my Moto, just one file, run RSDLite and thats it |
Oct 21 2011, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Oct 21 2011, 08:47 AM) thanks for the reply. oh ok, now it's a bit clearer for me to answer you I thought some ROMs need a certain (say XXKPH) before we can flash it? so is it i need to upgrade the firmware first cause hers is like dinosaur firmware. 2. i know usually samsung should flash through odin but i've seen some roms saying copy into sd card and flash zip from recovery (exact same thing i did for my desire.) so i asked just to confirm. Anyway, thanks. I have no problem being complicated and all, i just want it to success so i can continue flashing roms for her. may i ask what rom you flash? im not so sure about the compatibility with malaysian cell tower thingy. Thanks alot. basically, two types of ROMS exist, official and custom ROMS. For official ROMS, you would typically flash via ODIN or via KIES For official roms, i don't think you need to take into account the previous firmware as it will basically wipe and overwrite everything. For custom roms, they are usually flashed via ODIN, or via open recovery ( hence the need to root and install open recovery first). Custom roms also tend to be based on a particular version ( e.g. a baseline that they used to modify from). some custom roms are full flashes, but there are others which are just updates. Hence, sometimes you would need to have a base firmwware first ( the ROM read me should tell you anyways). For my samsung, i flashed XXKPH which i found to be quite stable and has a fast GPS lock. |
Oct 21 2011, 12:28 PM
[quote=lemontea09,Oct 21 2011, 11:20 AM]
you mean before this you didn't enable your packet data? [/quote] when i was using froyo, i can select 'mms' directly under APN Type in the APN setting before enabling packet data (to avoid 3G data charges) and the mms will work. in GB you will need to select 'internet + mms' first, enable packet data, then only change APN Type to 'mms'. The Froyo method of MMS setting in the 1st Post of this thread no longer works in GB. i am surprised that other SGA users did not have this issue. [/quote] didn't encounter this problem on my XXKPH. Can set the MMS APN directly wihout having to change to a different APN Type first. |
Oct 27 2011, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(Miracles @ Oct 27 2011, 01:59 PM) Could try the method here. Also uses gParted but instead of CD it's running from thumbdrive instead. I presume u have enough USB slots tho.http://www.techcredo.com/android/tutorial-...ndows-pc-ext234 |
Oct 27 2011, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(ahchong04 @ Oct 27 2011, 12:47 PM) cant really recall the procedures, but i think on your pc u need to have the usb modem driver for the phone installed. ( this should be there if you have installed KIES on your pc).then, u need to go to your control panel, add a new modem and select your phone as the modem. after that create a dial up networking connection or something like that. Mind you, these are from memory so i may/may not be correct. Will try it out tonite when i get home and post my findings. there's a webpage detailing how this is done. Maybe can give this a try http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/a...n&answer=182134 This post has been edited by ninehneh: Oct 28 2011, 10:43 AM |
Nov 1 2011, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(jamilhisham @ Nov 1 2011, 10:42 AM) bro.... last time i try connect to public wifi at KFC my phone can connect and surf easily, just in my office only can be connect but cannot surfing/browsing... i really dont know where is mistake....... please help if it's a connection issue from your office ( i.e. using ur office wifi) then the issue may be due to proxies. Usually offices will set a proxy o to block websites and unauthorised logins. U'd best check with your office IT admin tho. |
Nov 1 2011, 03:40 PM
Nov 9 2011, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(jamilhisham @ Nov 9 2011, 12:00 PM) contoh nya mcm kita seret kat screen utk unlock kita seret dia akan bergerak setengah saja tak habis so xboleh nak unlock... u guna USB cable yang datang dengan fon atau usb cable lain? ada cerita fon lain yang hadapi masalah sama bila guna USB cable yang tak ori dengan fon.kalau u cabut cable screen kembali ok? p/s: maafkan bahasa saya.. dah lama tak guna This post has been edited by ninehneh: Nov 9 2011, 12:09 PM |
Jan 11 2012, 04:20 PM
guys, does your ace have the mobile tracker function?
| Change to: | 0.0430sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:07 PM |