My toilet renovation memories.

TSsheraton
post Jul 27 2011, 11:48 PM, updated 15y ago

115 posts

Hi Guys,

I'd learned a lot from this forum during my small renovation process. Just want to share with you all my personal experience now.

Day 1: Main con Raymond, plumber, sub con YC came.
Laid protective layer on floor.
Plumber removed all existing sanitary fittings.
Measured WC length.
Plumber to install water heater in another bathroom. Stopcork malfunction.
Demolition man was missing.
Call Builders to order WC and water heater. Online remittance.
Arranged delivery on Wednesday.
Tiles from GaHing arrived as schedule.

Day 2: Plumber came to fix stop cork, installed water heater. Water heater leaking!
Sticked plastic to wall as dust barrier, wrapped nearby furniture.
Plastic was too light, and it was fanning.
Demolition man started to hack tiles on wall.
Clear debris and kept their tools at end of day.

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 12:05 AM
mx007
post Jul 27 2011, 11:57 PM

153 posts

What are t he end result? Pic?
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 12:07 AM

115 posts

Day 10: Tiler fixed tile on master bathroom where stopcork was replaced.
Stick tile on concrete top.
Tiler determined floor tile level orientation, and laid tiles on floor.

Day 11: The 2 holes on the concrete top seemed doesn’t fit nicely.
Tiler trying to refix tap hole and pop-up waste hole.
Raymond came for concrete top rescue.
Tiler continued with floor tiles.

Day 12: Plumber to install new fittings.
Tiler continued with floor tiles sticking.
Apparentice came to mix cement and clear rubbish.
Cleaner came to clean, but had to wait.
Putting on ivory grouting.
There were 6 people in the bathroom trying to get their parts done.
Eventually plumber was re-scheduled.
Apparentice put on black grouting.
Cleaner and contractor waited to clear rubbish and toilet for hand-over.
Done by 8 PM.

Day 13: Plumber continued to install fittings.
Clumsy sales staff came to take measurement for shower screen.
Reported to Raymond as door couldn’t be fixed.

Day 14: Sunday. Tested rain shower. Working.

Day 15: Tiler came in evening to cut door cos floor level was raised.

Day 16: Another tiler came to touch-up floor tile orientation, white & black grouting.

Day 18: Shower screen installation.
Night: Impregnator application on wall tiles.

Day 19: Put on the mirror…
KIV: Another acid wash required for cement stain due to all the drillings. Hair-line scratch treatment required. Waiting for replacement ceiling piece which was missing.

There are many people to thank in this renovation process:

Wei Seong: thanks for recommending the main con. Janet: thanks for recommending though we didn’t engage your friend. Chee Yit: for giving us some insight about construction in general. Mdm Lai senior, my in-law for allowing us to use their bathroom on few days, plus the great home-cooked meals.

For labour & supervision:
- From Saffron Contracts, our main con Raymond Lim Seng Guan (M: 012 3269 563). Thanks for the great advice and helping us to put our ideas into fruition. I guess He's keeping his fingers crossed as much as we do. If we call, it means problem! Plumber Abang Adi is a very straightforward and easy-going man.
- From YCRC, our sub con YC, his tillers: Hong, Alan, Wong; and Hadi the multi skilled staff aka demolition man.

For products:
- Sorento fittings: Johnson Suisse WC, Joven Heater.
From Builders Hardware Kepong, Zean Lim aka zheilwane (M: 016 6680 362), thanks for the great discount and timely delivery. Mr Lim senior was very helpful on engineering related advice. We surveyed almost the whole town. They gave the best price for Sorento and Johnson Suisse items!
- Niro Granite Tiles:
From GaHing Trading Old Klang Road, Alvin Hooi (M: 012 375 2217) is the right guy for tile matching and demo. Chow is always looking forward to assist including giving direction. Subsequent order was easy.
- Johnson Suisse Basin, Pop-up waste.
From Deparamax Puchong, Marie and Suki, thanks for changing the basin before delivery. Cos i mis-calculated the width of space available. Also I had mixed up these two beautiful ladies.
- From Solid Glass Lucky Garden, Ze Xian and Daphne, thanks for the clear product explanation. Delivery was earlier than scheduled. Though the installation staffs could have been more careful to not create cuts and scratches on newly laid tiles.

There are some good and bad things happened in between. A few right and wrong decisions made here & there. This is not only a process that put our physical into great test, but our mental strength as well.

Will this toilet stands regular use? Only time will tell…
At least we don’t see white particles flowing in the air … on daily basis, for the time being.

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 12:26 AM
zheilwane
post Jul 28 2011, 12:10 AM

4,184 posts

finally ur reno has completed, hope u like the new rain shower system.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 28 2011, 12:15 AM
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 12:12 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 28 2011, 12:10 AM)
you can now post the remaining photos....
Done! Thanks again Zean for all the helps and advice.

Added on July 28, 2011, 12:19 am
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 28 2011, 12:10 AM)
finally ur reno has completed, hope u like the new rain shower system.
I definitely loving it! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 12:19 AM
wrb7878
post Jul 28 2011, 01:11 AM

843 posts

The shower head is sorento 10"?
zheilwane
post Jul 28 2011, 01:16 AM

4,184 posts

nope, 12" ahaha. Just trust me, get the 10" one, 8" too small.

Here is a close up of the 12" sorento rain shower, looks good rite?

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 28 2011, 01:17 AM
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 01:16 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 28 2011, 01:11 AM)
The shower head is sorento 10"?
Yes. tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Jul 28 2011, 09:18 AM

2,017 posts

how much does it cost to transform it like that?
xecton
post Jul 28 2011, 09:23 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 12:07 AM)
I'm interested in the shower partition that you have there. Can you explain a bit more about it? Do you know the cost of it?
gjohn
post Jul 28 2011, 09:23 AM

388 posts

very nice...what's the total cost??
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 09:27 AM

I just hope I do!
10,318 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 28 2011, 09:18 AM)
how much does it cost to transform it like that?
yeah TS.
how much for the overall (minus the shower screen).
19 days, huh?
cool.
great sharing by the way.

question. you are using water storage heater? any pump?
where did your orginal heater go? can sell off 2nd hand?
tiensong
post Jul 28 2011, 09:44 AM

2,237 posts

I can't see any water heater/water storage heater.....where you put?
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:02 AM

I just hope I do!
10,318 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 12:07 AM)
tiensong,
notice formerly it's about 8.5 ft to 9 ft (count the tiles. assuming it's 1 ft tall).
after reno it's about 7.5 ft tall. storage water heater conceal after ceiling.
this is what i assume lah.
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 10:17 AM

115 posts

hi guys,

the total cost is around 12k:

Niro Tiles - Rm1.8k
Fittings - Rm3.6k
Shower Screen - Rm1.1k
Workmanship - Rm5.5k

I didn't install water pump coz my condo water preassure is enough for this rain shower. The boiler was installed at my kitchen. I have limited space at the ceiling that's why can't even consider hiding the boiler on top or even change to plaster ceiling. doh.gif

Vincent
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:23 AM

I just hope I do!
10,318 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 10:17 AM)
hi guys,

Niro Tiles - Rm1.8k
Fittings - Rm3.6k
Shower Screen - Rm1.1k
Workmanship - Rm5.5k
I didn't install water pump coz my condo water preassure is enough for this rain shower. The boiler was installed at my kitchen. I have limited space at the ceiling that's why can't even consider hiding the boiler on top or even change to plaster ceiling.  doh.gif

Vincent
more help pls.
niro tiles. how much per piece (size?)? i'm guessing it's 1'x2' homogeneous tiles?
workmanship rm5.5k? how much total sq ft are we talking about here? and got waterproofing or not?
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:25 AM

285 posts

Bro,

How come your ceiling looks like office ceiling?

Your storage tank in Kitchen, so your copper pipe is quite long oh.... Did you insulate your copper pipe ?
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 10:34 AM

115 posts

Niro Tiles is around Rm11.50 for my case. It's 1'X2'. Under Wave series.

Er... about the ceiling... yeah it's the original ceiling plank. i haven't think about any way to do it. coz it's pipes right on top after we take away the plank. any suggestion?

Vincent
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:36 AM

285 posts

use plaster ceiling... Lower down abit the ceiling height to cover approximate 75mm of the tiles... This will make it your wall tiles looks tidy....

Put a access panel (Manhole) for the piping area.. this is for maintenance purposes... Oh ya remember to use Moisture Resistant ceiling board ya...

Cheers
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 10:39 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 10:23 AM)
more help pls.
niro tiles. how much per piece (size?)? i'm guessing it's 1'x2' homogeneous tiles?
workmanship rm5.5k? how much total sq ft are we talking about here? and got waterproofing or not?
My toilet dimension is 6'x9'x9'. Yeah all waterproofing done. did the pond test twice to make sure there's no leakage.

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:41 am
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:36 AM)
use plaster ceiling... Lower down abit the ceiling height to cover approximate 75mm of the tiles... This will make it your wall tiles looks tidy....

Put a access panel (Manhole) for the piping area.. this is for maintenance purposes... Oh ya remember to use Moisture Resistant ceiling board ya...

Cheers
hmm... will consider that too. Thanks!

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 10:41 AM
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:44 AM

I just hope I do!
10,318 posts

2x (6+9) x 9 = 270 sq ft wall tiling
6x9 = 54 sq ft floor tiles.

324, say 350 sq ft tiles = 350 x 5.75psf = 2012.5 for tile price. you got rm1.8k. good.

but workmanship = rm5.5k/324 = 17psf. personally think this is very high. unless it include plumbing workmanship, waterproofing, etc. but still high ler.

if like this, definitely gonna affect my budget for my own reno. i renovating 3 bathroom tim. with fairly complicated design. sei moh.
chamelion
post Jul 28 2011, 10:49 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

perhaps now is to make sure u dont put the toilet brush that high anymore... blush.gif
vatiore
post Jul 28 2011, 10:58 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 11:17 AM)
hi guys,

Niro Tiles - Rm1.8k
Fittings - Rm3.6k
Shower Screen - Rm1.1k
Workmanship - Rm5.5k
I didn't install water pump coz my condo water preassure is enough for this rain shower. The boiler was installed at my kitchen. I have limited space at the ceiling that's why can't even consider hiding the boiler on top or even change to plaster ceiling.  doh.gif

Vincent
bro,
wonder why you don't change of your ceiling
nakashimakazuma
post Jul 28 2011, 11:44 AM

189 posts

after reno
look more simple and nicer compare to the initial toilet which look complicated and also messy
tiensong
post Jul 28 2011, 11:59 AM

2,237 posts

previous one got a bath tub..u don't like it?

periwater
post Jul 28 2011, 02:02 PM

324 posts

It looks like my bathroom, ha.. ha.. light colour wall tiles with dark colour floor tiles..

zheilwane
post Jul 28 2011, 04:08 PM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Jul 28 2011, 02:02 PM)
It looks like my bathroom, ha.. ha.. light colour wall tiles with dark colour floor tiles..
Both of u using Johnson and Sorento also ahha
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 05:06 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Jul 28 2011, 11:59 AM)
previous one got a bath tub..u don't like it?
Yeah main purpose for this reno is to get rid of the bathtub. Never use it yet have to clean it really often. Also very slippery i fell down few times in the bathtub. doh.gif

Dunno why i'm kinda fine with the ceiling. Didn't really think it's too necessary to put on the plaster ceiling. Will definitely add another light on top of the mirror soon.

Periwater pls show me your toilet picture also? tongue.gif
zheilwane
post Jul 28 2011, 09:23 PM

4,184 posts

periwater
post Jul 28 2011, 11:32 PM

324 posts

Thanks Zheilwane, that's my humble bathroom smile.gif

In fact, I have to thank him a lot, as total novice in bathroom renovation, I PMed him in wee hours after I found this forum and googled bathroom supplier. Surprisingly he replied on the spot, and I am impressed by his service, hardworking attitude and product knowledge.

The next day, we went to his shop and bought almost everything (including a jacuzzi) within an hour. He was like a personal shopper, always asking what we want and explaining all the pros and cons. We appreciate his recommendations and suggestions - to date, we are happy with our purchase.

We didn't even go to other shop to compare his pricing or products. I have no idea on the pricing until I read more in this forum after my purchase. Then I realised that he has always give a good pricing and good after sale service.

Thumbs up and keep up the good work, Zheilwane!
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 11:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 28 2011, 09:23 PM)

wow that's my initial plan to install a ceiling rain shower, but due to my low ceiling constrain, gotta settle on wall type. It still works like dream though. biggrin.gif

I think periwater you have 9'-10' height in your toilet? Mine is just 8' before hitting the pipes. That's why can't do much for the plaster ceiling also.
shila83
post Jul 29 2011, 12:11 AM

13 posts

Dear Sheraton,

Your bathroom looks very beautiful thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif . i would recommend you to do plaster ceiling so it would look better. Feel free to contact me if you feel of doing it. i would give you a good price for it laugh.gif .

our website: http://reno4u.webs.com/
periwater
post Jul 29 2011, 12:51 AM

324 posts

I counted my wall tiles, it's 9.5 feet after the plaster ceiling. My storage water heater hides above the plaster ceiling.

I can't shoot an overall pic like yours with the rain shower and shower screen. Maybe I don't have much skills in photography or the ceiling is too high.

There is always a never ending wish list for the renovation, but we have to be practical and realistic as well. In my opinion, your bathroom turns out perfectly nice and comfortable!

The shower of praises will come pouring in soon!
mx007
post Jul 29 2011, 07:23 PM

153 posts

u didnt do anything with the ceiling? But overall... Niiiiiceee... looks like a toilet you can sleep in. hahaha
kochin
post Jul 29 2011, 07:37 PM

I just hope I do!
10,318 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Jul 29 2011, 12:51 AM)
I counted my wall tiles, it's 9.5 feet after the plaster ceiling. My storage water heater hides above the plaster ceiling.

I can't shoot an overall pic like yours with the rain shower and shower screen. Maybe I don't have much skills in photography or the ceiling is too high.

There is always a never ending wish list for the renovation, but we have to be practical and realistic as well. In my opinion, your bathroom turns out perfectly nice  and comfortable!

The shower of praises will come pouring in soon!
very nice. pls check out my thread and give comments on which type is the best.
search under washroom renovation thread pls.
how much does your reno for bathroom costs?
please let me know especially the vanity top. great job. just like those 5 star condo in klcc or hotel!
zheilwane
post Jul 29 2011, 09:09 PM

4,184 posts

basically all the items are from my shop.
Basin = Johnson Suisse Trezzo 480
Toilet bowl = Johnson Suisse Lago
Rain shower, Basin Mixer + etc = Sorento
wrb7878
post Jul 29 2011, 09:29 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 10:44 AM)
2x (6+9) x 9 = 270 sq ft wall tiling
6x9 = 54 sq ft floor tiles.

324, say 350 sq ft tiles = 350 x 5.75psf = 2012.5 for tile price. you got rm1.8k. good.

but workmanship = rm5.5k/324 = 17psf. personally think this is very high. unless it include plumbing workmanship, waterproofing, etc. but still high ler.

if like this, definitely gonna affect my budget for my own reno. i renovating 3 bathroom tim. with fairly complicated design. sei moh.
My bathroom size is 6x6. Workmanship to hack and install the tiles(floor only) + water proof = lump sum amt rm750
while the wall is 10psf.

with fairly complicated design??? can share the design bo? cos i also dun know wat color and design for my bathroom now.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 29 2011, 09:30 PM
kochin
post Jul 29 2011, 09:34 PM

I just hope I do!
10,318 posts

wrb7878,
pls search for washroom renovation thread. pls give me comments especially on the timber basin.
phoenix69
post Jul 29 2011, 09:43 PM

1,836 posts

Any comments on Hans Grohe "Rain Dance" shower feel as compared to the others? blush.gif
wrb7878
post Jul 29 2011, 09:44 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 29 2011, 09:34 PM)
wrb7878,
pls search for washroom renovation thread. pls give me comments especially on the timber basin.
i don't have any idea on timber basin le...
i bought all my item from zheilwane....prefer modern white basin....hehe

timber basin...maybe u can search along the sungai buloh main road...maybe can find the design u like?

zheilwane
post Jul 29 2011, 10:00 PM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jul 29 2011, 09:43 PM)
Any comments on Hans Grohe "Rain Dance" shower feel as compared to the others?  blush.gif
Previously there was one customer who told me about hansgrohe saying that it has anti-scale technology, air power and etc. I was amazed and i did some research, i even get the salesman to bring a few sample to my shop for me to test it with my grundfos water pump. However, it feels almost the same and not as great as what my customer told me. FYI, the anti-scale technology, every rain shower with rubber nozzles can do the same thing as well, it is not any new technology. Just bcoz of their marketing gimmicks, the rain shower is around RM 2k while Sorento is RM 300+.

I told my customer to test out the rain shower before purchasing and she end up getting a Sorento 400mm rain shower (tatz a very huge rain shower, bigger than sheraton's one)
new[x]
post Jul 29 2011, 11:11 PM

411 posts

Just curious who design the overall concept like
- what tiles to use?
- what tiles color to use?
- where to place the basin?
- placement of mirror?
- etc?

Did you design it yourself or the contractor assisted you?

Thanks!

wrb7878
post Jul 30 2011, 09:47 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 01:16 AM)
Yes.  tongue.gif
I have bought your 10" square shower head that you trade in to zein. rclxms.gif
TSsheraton
post Jul 31 2011, 12:50 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(newx @ Jul 29 2011, 11:11 PM)

Just curious who design the overall concept like
- what tiles to use?
- what tiles color to use?
- where to place the basin?
- placement of mirror?
- etc?

Did you design it yourself or the contractor assisted you?

Thanks!
We used Niro tiles - Wave series. You can have a look at SS19 Niro showroom. They have plenty of choices there.

We basically design the layout ourselves with long discussion with our contractor for technical details. Get a contractor that's willing to work with you.
bteoh
post Jul 31 2011, 04:26 PM

158 posts

saw your beautiful wave series.....beige i suppose...

i am trying out with GREY and WHITE series of WAVE........flooor using GREY and WHITE series of CEMENTUM respectively....

will show u all the outcome when its done.....not SO SOON!
wrb7878
post Jul 31 2011, 06:49 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Jul 31 2011, 04:26 PM)
saw your beautiful wave series.....beige i suppose...
i am trying out with GREY and WHITE series of WAVE........flooor using GREY and WHITE series of CEMENTUM respectively....

will show u all the outcome when its done.....not SO SOON!
What is the cost range of Niro for 1*2 and 2*2 ?
weikee
post Jul 31 2011, 07:19 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 31 2011, 06:49 PM)
What is the cost range of Niro for 1*2 and 2*2 ?
2x2 Cementum is RM 29.5 list price from Niro. They give 28% discount until today. Buildermat selling around 22.5.

Think the other higher range is about 32.00 per pieces of 2x2. In buildermart around 25+-
zheilwane
post Jul 31 2011, 09:11 PM

4,184 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 30 2011, 09:47 PM)
I have bought your 10" square shower head that you trade in to zein.  rclxms.gif
lol not him leh, another forumer "gensys"

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 31 2011, 09:12 PM
bteoh
post Jul 31 2011, 09:25 PM

158 posts

i book within the sale period....its 28%, so happen i need in within a month time, or else...can't make it.

Niro price very "fixed", they control their price unlike other brand where they allow price cuts from seller.
weikee
post Jul 31 2011, 10:01 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Jul 31 2011, 09:25 PM)
i book within the sale period....its 28%, so happen i need in within a month time, or else...can't make it.

Niro price very "fixed", they control their price unlike other brand where they allow price cuts from seller.
Buildermart do give some good discount. Think around 20++%
TSsheraton
post Aug 1 2011, 09:18 AM

115 posts

If i remember correctly i got my waves 1x2 tiles at Ga Hing at old klang road around rm11.20 per pc. you can check it out there too. they gave a better price than Niro showroom though.

yeah i kinda like cementum series white too. Was ding donging around cementum and waves. At last chosen Waves series as my wife prefer that. smile.gif
zeese
post Aug 1 2011, 11:46 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Sheraton, for the shower screen, is is actually a glass partition (fixed partition) or a sliding door type where you can fully close the shower area?
TSsheraton
post Aug 1 2011, 08:29 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 1 2011, 11:46 AM)
Sheraton, for the shower screen, is is actually a glass partition (fixed partition) or a sliding door type where you can fully close the shower area?
it's a frameless type with swing door. got it from solid glass during Reno Expo mid valley. Rm28 psf including installation.
periwater
post Aug 2 2011, 11:36 PM

324 posts

That's a good price for shower screen. Mine is at RM29 psf, sliding type by Reliance Metal.
zheilwane
post Aug 2 2011, 11:45 PM

4,184 posts

Sliding is more expensive than swing door. I guess for swing the cheapest u can get is RM 27-28 psf
Neoh1979
post Aug 3 2011, 12:09 AM

1,811 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Aug 1 2011, 09:18 AM)
If i remember correctly i got my waves 1x2 tiles at Ga Hing at old klang road around rm11.20 per pc. you can check it out there too. they gave a better price than Niro showroom though.

yeah i kinda like cementum series white too. Was ding donging around cementum and waves. At last chosen Waves series as my wife prefer that.  smile.gif
Yeah, Niro tiles are the best. Can't find
any nice tiles in so many places, but went
to Niro showroom...it's all there.
Nice especially wave n cementum...regal as well
TSsheraton
post Aug 3 2011, 12:10 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Aug 2 2011, 11:45 PM)
Sliding is more expensive than swing door. I guess for swing the cheapest u can get is RM 27-28 psf
yeah sliding type is more expensive but i prefer swing type with the handle that i can hang my towel on it. smile.gif
periwater
post Aug 3 2011, 12:48 AM

324 posts

OIC, I choose sliding type as I'm a bit clumsy and I don't want to keep banging the swing door.. smile.gif
gunnerstkd
post Nov 2 2011, 11:10 PM

247 posts

hi Sheraton,

The 12K costs you paid, does it include the basin, bathtub and toilet bowl?

That's a very nice and neat bathroom

0.0404sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:17 AM