27 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 >Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Oct 1 2012, 08:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saintprayer @ Oct 1 2012, 07:13 PM)
Thanks. The reason I mention want try others is that there are privilages or offers that are not provided by Maybanks, so want try others tongue.gif

My insurance is around 800/month (including my parents one, they dont have credit card so they pass me cash and I pay for them), and have another yearly recurrent of 1800/year... So... average less than 1k/month like you said.

Monthly expenses you mean is specifically to use on new card? My other expenses like petrol, groceries, bills i try to pay with Amex currently if they accept the card, usually less than 400/month. Unless the new card give higher rebate I will still stick to Amex.

Looked through the SCB cad, any difference on the business card and personal one? Unfortunately have annual fees for the card, which then again, not worth taking for the new card?
Bro, SCB 1st year annual fee waived. Did you read my article on SCB Biz? It earns you cash back plus point whereas the normal does not earn you cash back. And if you sign up this month, not only will you get cash back BUT you get 5% cash back for Petrol for limited time. So worth it or not up to you if you want the FREE money and try out SCB tongue.gif You should go check out SCB thread, people there applying all types of SCB cards to get FREE Money even tho the T&C says only applicable to one card.

Yah, you are right, if can use AMEX, better use it and earn 5XTP. Even without the 5% cash back on weekends, it's the best card for local spending, that is if the merchant accepts AMEX.

Talking about privileges, what you want? For Movie Tickets and Coffee Bean Citibank Clear Card is good. If you want KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge, then get the SCB Platinum instead of SCB Biz cards. For Dining Privileges click here.
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 12:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saintprayer @ Oct 1 2012, 09:11 PM)
I think I read through all of it, but i miss the comparision on biz and non-biz card? Coffee bean and movies are things that  only use once in a blue moon so I think will pass, but the dining benefits seems good for me. I think will apply for the biz card, thanks very much smile.gif But i feel awkward to use a credit card at a fastfood like KFC or burgers though...

Btw the application page for biz plat card does include Plaza premium lounge, the free annual fee is for 2 years smile.gif
Bro, I did not compare SCB Biz to non Biz in my article but expect you to go read your self at SCB site on the non Biz tongue.gif

And thanks Bro, I missed the Plaza Premium Lounge thingy for Biz card notworthy.gif

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Oct 1 2012, 11:36 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: if got is the best!
3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Insurance, Installment Plans, online purchase.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.
5. Considering CC from banks: Citybank clear card or any better?
6. Others: cash back, good rewards & benefits.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM900 - RM300 petrol, RM250 Insurance, RM100 Dining, RM100 Telco, RM50 movies and others RM100.
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: temporary none
haha, it is Citibank lah. Citibank Clear Card is not a cash back card and as such does not meet your requirement. Now, your movie RM50 per month is for one person or 2 persons? If for 2 person, and if you go to the movies on Friday only, then the Citibank Clear Card is good. Click here to read my article The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets.

Based on your current income, looks like for cash back, your option is UOB One Classic Card where it at least earns you 5% for your Petrol and Movie Tickets, 2% for Telco and the rest 0.3%

For installment plans, Maybank credit cards are accepted at many merchants, however, since last year, Maybank increased the annual income for their card to RM30K.year. So once your income reach this level, go apply for Maybankard 2 Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 2 2012, 08:36 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 03:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(GongFuChau @ Oct 2 2012, 11:43 AM)
Anual income: 48k-60k

Free lifetime annual fee: not a must but a bonus if got.

Card required for: petrol about 400-500 per month, Internet bills 150, insurance 200. Occasional food and beverage + shopping at malls. Mainly looking to get cash rebate, points are ok too.

Existing cc: none

Looking for cc/bank: nothing specific

Others: I do quite a bit of online shopping as well for console and pc games. So about 400 a month when games are coming out.
Wah RM400 per month for games notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

For your case, get OCBC Titanium MasterCard and earn 5% cash back for your petrol, Internet Bills and Dining. Insurance you will get 1% cash back and same for online transactions.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 02:29 PM)
So i'm guessing that you suggest OCBC more than UOB?  biggrin.gif
That's a no brainer question tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 06:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Oct 2 2012, 06:26 PM)
apply MBB2Card and get x5 point/ringgit ( 2.5% cash back, but low chance my insurance actually accept AMEX) OR apply OCBC TI card and get 1% cash back.

My question is this. What should I do with my Ambank card? Cancel? Ask to change to another card? I dont see any nice Ambank card... and I dont see any benefit on keeping it either.
you can always check now it your insurance company accept AMEX. Some AIA branches do accept AMEX and so does Etiqa.

As for the AmBank card, you answered your own question.
TSGen-X
post Oct 3 2012, 07:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(GongFuChau @ Oct 3 2012, 02:34 AM)
Thanks for the reply. I was looking at Citibank Platinum since my friend recommend it as well, what is your take on that card?
Citibank does not offer auto annual fee waiver mechanism for their credit cards.

Why your friend recommended you Citibank? Ask him to read the following articles and I bet he will fast fast go get OCBC TMC tongue.gif

Citibank Platinum Cash Back - You do get 5% cash back for Petrol but general transactions you only get miserable 0.3%

Then ask him to compare it with OCBC Titanium MasterCard where one earns 5% for Petrol, Telco, Utility Bills, Dining and Groceries and other transactions 1% cash back.

OCBC TMC beats the heck out of Citibank Platinum Cash Back for all categories (even for petrol because Citibank PCB got a RM30 cash back cap). Only thing is that OCBC TMC cash back is capped at RM50 per month.

Please click here to my article MACH by Hong Leong Bank where I have a table of comparison between OCBC Titanium MasterCard versus Citibank Platinum Cash Back vs Maybankard 2 AMEX vs. MACH vs UOB One Card and you and your friend can observe that OCBC TMC is far superior than Citibank in terms of cash back one can earn.

Get the Citibank Cash Back Platinum only if you can use up the OCBC TMC RM50 monthly allocation. But if that is the case, better get the FREE For Life Maybankard 2 Cards tongue.gif

However, if you want Free Movie Ticket at TGV and 20% discount at Coffee Bean until end of this year, then yes Citibank cards are good.

Dining Promotions with My Credit Cards

The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets

Come to think of it, the RM400 for your online transactions, do you pay with PayPal too? If yes, the Maybankard 2 Card AMEX is good as you can also earn 5% cash back here.... need some planning and in this department, i.e. how to get 5% cash back with Pay Pal deposits, fruitie is the expert.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 3 2012, 08:26 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 4 2012, 12:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Oct 3 2012, 09:17 PM)
Hi, thanks for your reply. I wish to know, with my current income, is there any other cash back card other than the UOB card which need 60 swipes per year in order to waive the annual fee?
Yes there are other entry level cash back credit cards but they will earn you less since Petrol is your major expenses.

For example, Mach by Hong Leong Bank is an entry level card where minimum income required is RM24K/month. But for petrol it only earns you 0.2%. However if you opt for the Dining option from the start, you can earn 5% cash back but you only spend RM100 for it. Anyway, in my MACH article I have a comparison table, use it as a guide to see how much you can earn with the UOB One Card versus Mach.

Also click here to my article Entry Level Credit Card - Income Less Than RM30K per year to see other cards you are eligible for.

Or maybe, go apply for Standard Chartered Bank Business Gold credit card where for a limited time it earns you 5% cash back for petrol. And best fo all, it gives you cash back (appy online for more). And when the petrol promo expires, you apply for the UOB One Card and then later when you earn more, go apply for OCBC Titanium. The SCB annual fee is waived for 2 years if you had read previous post just before your earlier post.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 4 2012, 12:08 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 9 2012, 10:12 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(broarrkid @ Oct 9 2012, 09:43 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must
3. Card required for: F&B, Groceries, Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions
4. Existing credit cards if any: NIL
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nothing specific
6. Others: Cash back preferred. Will also be used for online shopping or paypal perhaps.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM300 Petrol, RM300 Insurance, RM400 Food & Beverages
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Online shopping (Local & Internationally)
If your income is near RM36K/yr, go and try apply for the OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you can earn 5% cash back for your Petrol and Dining everyday. For the insurance you earn 1% cash back.

However, if your income is in the lower RM30K/yr range, apply for Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X Treats Points PLUS 5% cash back on Saturdays and Sundays for all transactions including petrol. In other words, you can earn more from Maybankard 2 AMEX compared to OCBC Titnium MasterCard. So it is extremely important to know if the petrol station(s) and places you dine accept AMEX. The Maybankard 2 Cards also comes with either a Visa or MasterCard which is good for overseas transactions since MBB cards have the lowest conversion fee.

Other options are UOB One Card which earns you 5% for petrol for for general transactions it only earns you 0.3% cash back.

Anyway, click here to my article The Best Credit Cards for Petrol 2012 and from there I have links to my reviews on the Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 9 2012, 10:13 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 9 2012, 10:19 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 9 2012, 10:13 AM)
1. Annual Income: Rm48k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST

3. Card required for: Petrol and daily needs. Occasional installment plans for houseware. And also Touch n Go.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Not considering anything.

6. Others: Cash back preferred, pay with M2U online transfer from savings.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Insurance rm200 (2 person), petrol (rm300), TnG (rm150), houseware installment

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: nil

Have no experience with credit card yet >.< not looking to spend on anything else except houseware installment, petrol and TnG. seldom buy online.

TQ!
What is houseware? I think for your case OCBC Titanium MasterCard is good for you because it earns you 5% cash back for Petrol, TNB, Telekom, Astro, Syabas Bills and Dining & Groceries too. However, if these amount add up to RM1K, you will need another card as the monthly cash back is capped at RM50.

So the next card to consider is Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X Treat Points and 5% cash back on weekends.

If you household expenses add up to more than RM1K, you should get both OCBC TMC and MBB 2 Cards and with proper planning you can earn back more than RM600 a year.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 9 2012, 10:20 AM
TSGen-X
post Oct 9 2012, 01:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 9 2012, 11:13 AM)
houseware is like buying a unit of aircond and pay it in 6 months etc. not buying yet but plan to use the credit card for that purpose.

with regard to MBB 2 cards, when i signed up for it, i will receive 2 cards? so confusing haha and why do i need the 2 cards offered by the MBB 2 cards?
If you are looking at installment plans, i.e. 6, 12 and 24 months equal repayments, Maybank credit cards are accepted at many merchant for these kind of plans.

Most of us who has the Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium and other credit cards keep the Visa or MasterCard in the drawer. The Maybankard 2 Cards is great, as Human Nature mentioned, pay only a single GST for two credit cards. The AMEX earns you 5X TP and 5% cash back and the Visa or MasterCard is good for the installment plans, overseas usage and where AMEX card is not welcomed.
TSGen-X
post Oct 10 2012, 12:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hspace @ Oct 9 2012, 11:34 PM)
What would you recommend for the following?
1. Annual Income: Qualify for platinum cards
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Just conditional annual fee waiver is fine (spend 3x, etc)
3. Card required for: Cash back, LCCT airport lounge.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Alliance Gold Cash Back, Citibank Plat, Citibank Cash Back Plat, RHB Plat, SC Business Plat > want to cancel to 2-3 cards only
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Don't know.
6. Others: Best bang for the buck in terms of cash back/rewards. Rewards in terms of cash vouchers at Jusco, Metrojaya etc.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM300 petrol; dining RM1000; groceries RM500; Maint fee, TNB, phone auto-debit: RM400, Misc RM1000
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Air tickets RM2000 every months, overseas spending RM2000 every few months
Not considering the discount you can get from your current credit cards at selected merchants, if purely for cash back, you can consider cancelling all of them, hahaha

From your expenses

RM300 petrol; dining RM1000; groceries RM500; Maint fee, TNB, phone auto-debit: RM400 TOTAL RM2,200 go get both the OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Maybankard 2 Cards.

upgrade your Alliance Gold to Plat and earn more cash back at places that do not accept AMEX like Insurance.

Actually, those are the only three cards you really need as far as cash back and rewards are concerned. And to prove my point, read my following articles:

OCBC Titanium MasterCard

Maybankard 2 Cards

FREE Money from Maybankard and Bonus Link

And for comparison:

See the table comparing Citibank Cash Back Platinum versus Maybankard 2 AMEX and OCBC Titanium MasterCard

Click here to see RHB Credit Card versus Maybankard 2 AMEX

Click here to see Standard Chartered Bank Business versus Maybankard 2 AMEX.

Click here to read my article Earn Pocket Money with Credit Cards.

If the above articles (and links to more of my articles) should give you an idea how you can earn more RM1,200 with the Maybankard 2 AMEX and OCBC Titanium MasterCard smile.gif

Having said that, both the OCBC TMC and MBB 2 Cards do not grant you free access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge like you Citibank Plat and SCB Plat. As for your current credit cards, if you are getting rewarded for using them at selected merchants, keep them if you earn more than RM50/year (at least can cover GST), e.g. Citibank at Coffee Bean and TGV Movie Tickets and RHB Plat at Selected Restaurants & FREE vouchers on Friday.
TSGen-X
post Oct 18 2012, 01:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(haikal87 @ Oct 18 2012, 11:18 AM)
1. Annual Income: rm24000

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No

3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate, Installment Plans

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: RHB, Maybank, Cimb

6. Others: Please be specific. Example: I want to pay amount due with my M2U online savings account.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Example RM800 - RM350 petrol, RM150 groceries, RM100 Dining, RM150 Telco, RM50 movies.
Bro, unfortunately Maybank credit cards annual income requirement starts from RM30K.

For CIMB, I don't think they offer cash back cards for classic or gold, and if they do, it would be competitive.

For RHB, click here to read my review of RHB Credit Cards and maybe if you really want a RHB credit card, you can consider their Travel Money card.

I would recommend you UOB One Card based on your sending pattern. Below shows you how much cash back you can earn with the UOB One Card.

Petrol RM350 x 5% = RM17.50
Groceries RM150 x 2% = RM3
Dining RM100x 0.3% - RM0.30
Telco RM150 x 2% = RM3
Movies RM50 x 5% = RM2.50

Total cash back = RM26.30 or RM315.60/yr less RM50 GST = RM265.60/year which is not too bad.

And if you pump petrol at BHP you can eaqrn another 2% SMART$ Cash and at GSC 5% SMART$ Cash.

You can also look into MACH by hong Leong Bank which you do qualify; but since Petrol is your main expenses, the MACH may not be useful to you unless you start to eat out more often.

Once your income touch RM30K/yr go look into Maybankard 2 Cards and at RM36K/yr go for OCBC Titanium MasterCArd.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 18 2012, 01:59 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 18 2012, 02:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(haikal87 @ Oct 18 2012, 02:09 PM)
What if i am looking at installment plan?
Maybankard is the best.

UOB does have installment plan but it is not 0%

And with your current income, best you save money instead of purchasing stuff with installment plan. Click here to read my article, 0% Installment Plan Is A Trap.

TSGen-X
post Nov 5 2012, 01:27 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(VoteForPedro @ Nov 5 2012, 12:47 PM)
hi experts, need some advise from u guys since i don't have any experience using cc.

annual income: RM48 to RM60K

Free Lifetime Annual Fee: no.

Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Installment Plans.

Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Not sure.

Others: Actually I want to have a credit card because my wife is pregnant and i worried that i dont have enough money to pay for hospital charges. so, i want to have a cc as a backup incase of emergency and i might as well use it for petrol,cash back and installment plans.

Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM350 petrol, RM200 Dining

Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: RM1600 for housing loan monthly, RM2K for new gadget.

thanks guys!
If you do pump at Petrol Station that accept AMEX (e.g. Shell or Esso), do look into getting the Free For Life Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns you 5X Treats Points everyday and EXTRA 5% cash back for any transactions on Saturday and Sunday.

Also check if the hospital your wife you going to deliver your child accept AMEX or not. If no, still got the MBB2 Visa or MasterCard except that you only earn 1X TP

However, if you cannot pump petrol on weekends or or pump at Petornas (where most do not accept AMEX), then consider getting the OCBC Titanium MasterCard which earns you 5% cash back everyday for Petrol, Dining, Telco Bills (please click here and read OCBC Thread) where you may not get 5% if you pay at Maxis Centre), Utility Bills and for Groceries.

And FYI- you cannot use credit card to pay your housing loan.
TSGen-X
post Nov 7 2012, 01:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ic3kacang @ Nov 7 2012, 10:02 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K

3. Card required for:  Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate, Overseas Transactions, Dining Offers.

4. Existing credit cards if any: N/A.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: HSBC, Standard Chartered, Citibank. (Or if you have better recommendation)

btw, how many mths of payslip is required? cause i just started working for a month only
You need 3 months payslips usually.

And since you did not post item 7, i.e. your spending pattern, can't really give you a good recommendation since I cannot get an idea on the returns you may get. For general cases, you can get some ideas from my articles below:

The Best Credit Card for Petrol 2012

Click here to read my article Dining Promotions with My Credit Cards.

Maybank credit cards are good for overseas transactions whereas the card you want from HSBC, Citi and SCB would have higher overseas admin fee. Click here to CC Foreign Exchange Thread to learn more.

And since you are new to credit card, I suggest you check out my series of articles under my Credit Card Tutorial Page.

And since you want a Standard Chartered Bank credit card, go to their website and check on their latest promo and you may earn FREE cash.

QUOTE(hcstwb @ Nov 7 2012, 10:37 AM)
1. Annual Income: > RM100K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Preferred

3. Card required for: Business Travel Oversea

4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybankard 2 Cards, OCBC Titanium

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: None

Thinking to getting another card for travel purpose, pls recommend sifu!

Edited: Looking at Citibank Business Platinum Card now.
If you like your Maybankard 2 AMEX which earns you 5X TP everyday, then you will also like Maybankard Visa Infinite. In my opinion, if you not into Enrich Points, the MBB VI is one of the best credit card for overseas because we earn 5X Treats Points with it smile.gif

Click here to read my review of the Maybank Visa Infinite. So far, for my overseas transactions, after I consider the 5X TP (equivalent to 2.5% returns), I am actually paying less than Forex spot rate thumbup.gif

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ Nov 7 2012, 11:33 AM)
1. Annual Income: 36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: dont mind

3. Card required for: 0% interest installment plans

4. Existing credit cards if any:  none

5. Looking at CC from: dont know
The Free For Life Maybankard 2 Cards. Reason being many merchants accept Maybank Visa or MasterCard for 6, 12 and 24 months 0% Installment Plans. But let me warn you, 0% Installment Plans are a traps to make you spend beyond your means. Click here to read my article - 0% Installemnt Plan with Credit Card IS A Trap.

If you can pay in full and the merchant accepts AMEX, the Maybankard 2 AMEX will earn you 5X Treats Points everyday and EXTRA 5% cash back on Saturday and Sunday.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 7 2012, 01:13 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2012, 03:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Nov 12 2012, 02:05 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a recommendation for a CC that provides buy 1 free 1 @ GSC Signature tickets (I remember HSBC used to have that) and preferable discounts/rebates at coffee houses (Starbucks & Coffee Bean). It would be great if there's additional discounts at retail outlets such as Zara, etc, etc. Do note, the CC will only be used for the above and not for groceries or petrol.

Currently listed down to the Citibank Clear Card. However, the buy 1 free 1 tickets are only valid @ normal GSC. Furthermore, they're only valid on Fridays. On the plus point, there is a buy 1 free 1 for Coffee Bean beverage though.

Would appreciate any feedback, thanks in advance! icon_rolleyes.gif
I don't think there are any credit card that offers Free Movie ticket for GSC Signature unless there is a limited time promotion (e.g. Previous offers by AMEX Plat and OCBC).

However, you can get cash back up to 20% with the revamped RHB EVO Visa or MasterCard. To learn more on card for movie tickets, check out my article below:

Click here to read my article - The Best Credit Cards ofr Movie Tickets.
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2012, 11:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Nov 12 2012, 09:54 PM)
1. Annual Income: above RM38k

3. Card required for: Unlimited Cash Back/Rebate Only for all retail transactions

4. Existing credit cards if any: MBB 2 & SCB business platinum

5. Looking at CC from: Any

6. Others: I want cash back/high rewards pts for all retail transactions. Better if is straight cash back. If reward pts value is higher than cash back, I'm ok also.
Bro, looking for a card to replace you SCB Biz so fast tongue.gif

If you had read Petrol Thread, MBB Petronas Visa until Feb 2013 earns the card holder minimum 5X TP everyday which is really good.

However, above is for limited time, as for unlimited straight cash back - HLB Essential with 1% cash back comes to mind.

If you spend between RM2K to RM5K per month, Alliance Plat is really good and got Unlimited entries to KLIA PPL with it.

Anyway, click here to read my previous article at My Credit Cards titled Earn Pocket Money with Your Credit Cards where I gave different scenarios for different spending pattern.
TSGen-X
post Nov 15 2012, 11:14 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 14 2012, 10:23 PM)
hello GenX sifu, i also went and read your blogs about cc.Very good info there.

But i cant find your review on current MBF platinum MC Any where you have info on this card and how best to get benefit from it?

of course i have read from MBF website but i still think your review gives more details and first hand info, TQ
Bro, MBf cards does not interest me and therefore I have never done any article on them. Just put it this way, you hardly find anyone mentioing MBf cards here except for a few of them who has MBf Premier cards.

QUOTE(aeropig @ Nov 15 2012, 08:38 AM)
Hi. I would like to get some recommendation for CC.

1. Annual Income: around RM33K

3. Card required for: Mostly petrol and cash back.

4. Existing credit cards if any: nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC titanium, maybank Amex or you recommend.

6. Others: Nothing.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: petrol around 200, dining 200, movie 50, others 100

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: nothing yet.

Thanks in adv.
For your case OCBC TMC best but you income slightly below the required amount. You can try apply for it OR maybe wait till next year and see if you got increment smile.gif

The FREE For Life MBB 2 Cards may also be good IF the petrol station you pump with accept AMEX. MBB Treats Points are everygreen.

Click here to my article on MACH by HLB. I am not asking you to get the MACH but refer to the table I have prepared comparing the cash back you can earn from various cards. And also see if the UOB One Card is worth your time.
TSGen-X
post Nov 24 2012, 01:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(KageBunshi @ Nov 17 2012, 07:39 PM)
1. Annual Income: Basic Rm60k
3. Card required for: Oversea spending
4. Existing credit cards if any: OCBC Titanium.
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: None
6. Others: Im using OCBC Ti for all my local expenses.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: None - If I see something nice then i will buy at oversea as im alwaya away on business trip.
Need a card that have good return at oversea transation, as i dont wish to exchange money all the time. I have many currency with me now!
Is the OCBC Ti good enough?
For overseas transactions including online, the Maybankard MasterCard will give you the lowest conversion rate. Also check out Maybankard 2 Cards thread - Post#2 jchong's table and this thread on Overseas Conversion.

QUOTE(playerzaki2000 @ Nov 17 2012, 10:34 PM)
Hi and a very good day, after reading through some pages (mati la if read all... LOL) and some other pages from GenX variation of super long posts in the vast number of websites (why do you need to make so many website? hahaha.. but luckily most of them redirects to the same thing), i concluded that the best card would be

Maybank 2 gold card (not eligible for platinum) and
ocbc titanium

but still would like to ask for advice as i might mistaken or misunderstood some stuff while reading... so, here it goes
1. Annual Income: RM40K to RM50K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: lower than RM300 (the lower the better, free is best!!!)
3. Card required for: [B]most probably groceries, bil payments and also movie tickets. owh probably will get my own health insurance soon, so, that as well.[/b]
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: I dont quite actually know this
6. Others: I only have 1 bank account with CIMB currently but dont mind opening other bank accounts
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Never tried using a CC before and i dont normally keep track, after this will keep track i guess (not so good habit thus far)
hahaha, the reason why I have so many blogs is explained here - hahaha New Blog Again and here - Notice

The card to get is OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you can get 5% cash back for Groceries, Telco bills, Petrol, Dining, Electricity Bill, Water Bill and ASTRO. You will get 1% cash back for insurance.

Also read my reply below and check out my Credit Card Tutorial Page.

QUOTE(Jabberwocky @ Nov 22 2012, 02:01 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K
3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate, Installment Plans, Gym Membership Monthly Payment, Online Purchase
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nil.
6. Others: Nil.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: ~RM1.5k: RM170 Gym Membership, RM250 Petrol, Installment Plan for Laptop (RM4k), Online Purchase RM700
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Nil.
Thanks!  nod.gif
I guess you should get both the OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Maybankard 2 Cards - American Express with Visa or MasterCard and with some planning, you will get maximum return. Check out the link below to MACH by HLB where in the article I have prepared a table comparing various credit cards cash back from different spending categories (please note for your case I am not recommending MACH by HLB but asking you to refer to the comparison table).

The Maybankard 2 Cards Amex or Visa or MasterCard are accepted at many places for 0% Installment Plan. And you can even use the MBB2 AMEX to pay for Unifi and Telekom bills. For overseas transactions including online, the Maybankard MasterCard will give you the lowest conversion rate. Also check out Maybankard 2 Cards Thread.

and since you are new to credit cards, I also recommend you check out my Credit Card Tutorial Page where I have a series of articles which may benefit you.

QUOTE(j-insigh @ Nov 23 2012, 11:20 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM60k
3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate, Installment Plans,  Online Purchase, Movies treat,
4. Existing credit cards if any: HLB GSC Visa
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: NONE
6. Others: Nil.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card:
- Plan to put some bills payment with it
- Petrol usage, minimum level
- Insurance payment
- Entertainment (Movies, restaurant occasionally, groceries 
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM:
- unexpected large sum where do not have cash (shopping(rare), vehicle servicing/insurance)

Tips:
- seldom travel around
- use CC just to get the maximum quality of money instead of using cash
- A great fan of keeping myself debt free, so im a good financial controller.
- Cash rebate/voucher redemption would be great in return! biggrin.gif

thanks for your time and recommendation sifus!
What you stated is too general. If you do not state your spending pattern amount, what is there to recommend?

Having said above, I guess you should go get the OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you can earn 5% cash back for Petrol, dining and groceries. Please note, csah back cap at RM50 per month i.e. for 5% category, that's RM1K spending per month.

If you want 0% Installment Plans, go with Maybank credit cards.

QUOTE(ssnowyss @ Nov 17 2012, 02:22 PM)
1. Annual Income: Basic Rm24K
3. Card required for: List all your needs. petrol, instalment needs, shopping
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank, Ambank, etc
6. Others: Please be specific
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: None so far
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM:
see below. i guess UOB One Card may be good for you.

QUOTE(hong999 @ Nov 23 2012, 01:58 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K (Gross)
3. Card required for: 0% interest Easy payment plan, online shopping, restaurant discount, cash back (optional), pay utility/ bill
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: prefer more branches in KL , no CITI Bank pls
6. Others: Nil
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: around RM1.2K per month- RM250 petrol, RM570 Dining, RM120 utility, RM40 entertainment, RM200 Insurance .
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Nice dining at weekend RM 100-200 (2 month once)
Since MBB credit cards minimum income starts at RM30K/yr or else the Maybankard 2 Cards looks good for your case.

So I guess you can go with UOB One Card Classic where the 1st year annual fee will be waived and earn 5% cash back for your Petrol usage.

OR

maybe the MACH by hong Leong Bank ffering 5% cash back for Dining will benefit you too.

Let's see, what is the cash back you can get with your spending pattern:

Option 1 - UOB One Card

UOB 5% petrol you will get RM12.50/month or RM150/year
Rest Dining, Utility, Entertainment and Insurance RM930/month x 0.3% = RM2.79/month or RM33.48

Option 2 - MACH by HLB go with Trendsetter Package

Dining 5% RM570 = RM28.50/month or RM342/year. Good enough.

And best of all, the trendsetter package, you'll get 1% cash back for Uniglo, Cotton On, etc and Air Asia thumbup.gif

Conclusion - go apply UOB One Card for petrol and MACH by HLB for Dining
TSGen-X
post Nov 25 2012, 07:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lcclcc @ Nov 25 2012, 05:51 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM300k
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No necessary but preferable
3. Card required for: buy airline ticket, online transactions, petrol, shopping goods, bills
4. Existing credit cards if any: Public bank platinum CL25k
5. Looking at CC from: Visa infinite or signature that give more CL.
6. Others: - I preferred to get two to three CC each with CL100k. That will be helpful for some urgent needs for business.

Alternative one:
I recently joined the HSBC premier banking in china, and will also get the same account in kl soon. If some body advise if I can achieve the abovementioned through premier banking account?

Alternative two:
I am planning to buy a property in kl too, if the property loan can provide the fast track for the cc?
Again, I m facing the income proof for the property loan, trying to submit my available documentation and if acceptable.
You want 2 or 3 CC with RM100K CL based on RM300K income blink.gif Even if you deposit RM10M in FD, some banks won't even give you RM100K CL if you don't have a good credit history.

Option 1 - asked your China HSBC RM to get the ball rolling so that all the necessary documentation are ready when you get back to Malaysia to open your HSBC Premier Account here and be issued their World MasterCard.

Option 2 - banks previously do issue credit cards when you sign up for housing loan, but with BNM latest guideline, I am not sure if they still do. Having said that, certain banks do award their customer Premier or Priority Banking Status with reasonable amount of housing loan and as such you can get a credit card issued with the PB status. But one does not sign up for a housing loan for credit card but which product can offer him/her the most savings from lower interest rates.

You may want to read my article titled Premier Priority Privilege Banking Accounts where I mentioned what cards are issue with PB status.

Tip - go talk to Maybank Private Banking Centre when you are back here. If you can deposit more than RM500K in FD or if you get a housing loan more than RM1M, check if they are willing to issue you the Maybankard 2 Cards AND Maybank Visa Infinite which I reckoned are one of the best credit cards for local and overseas transactions respectively.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 25 2012, 10:50 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 26 2012, 01:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(veejin @ Nov 25 2012, 11:40 PM)
Hi. I would like to get some recommendation for CC.

1. Annual Income: 42k

3. Card required for: Cash rebate

4. Existing credit cards if any: cimb gold , HSBC amanah platinum

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: you recommend.

6. Others: use cc for e-payment as I'm a insurance agent

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: 30k-50k

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: nothing yet.

Thanks in adv.
With RM40K income and wanting to charge RM40K to RM50K per month, you may need to go to the bank and deposit cash frequently to free up your credit limit.

The card that comes to my mind is Hong Leong Bank Essential credit card which has 1% unlimited cash back. Therefore better than your HSBC Amanah 0.5%.

As most insurance agents would know, the best is to use Alliance Bank Platinum Credit Card for up to RM5K per month and earn cash back of RM68/month and points too. However, you may not be able to do e-payment with Alliance cards.

So I guess you can consider both the above mentioned card and do some planning to maximize your return.

Having said that, you may want to consider Hong Leong Bank Fortune Visa Cash Back Card too. However, you need to do a lot of planning and keep track of your transactions so that you can earn the bonus RM1,080 to maximize your return.

Note: If you want to use e-payment with a particular CC to pay insurance premiums to a certain insurance company, you have to go check yourself if it is possible.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 26 2012, 01:55 AM

27 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 >Top

0.0596sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:35 AM