QUOTE(wzeroc @ Jul 26 2012, 12:16 AM)
hi, can you elaborate more on the 'Emergency payments for the car and house stuffs'?Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)
Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)
Jul 26 2012, 12:22 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 28 2012, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(tzejingtan @ Jul 28 2012, 02:59 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM33K. Hi, you did not mention much about your spending pattern. Looking at you want cash back and reward points, there is no other better card than Maybank 2 cards (amex + visa/mastercard). You get 5% rebate for weekend spending (capped att RM50 per month), and 5x points everyday using amex. Free for life.2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. 3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate Only, Reward Point or any other benefits. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: No preferred choice. 6. Others: I want cash back, reward point or any other benefits. 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. |
Jul 29 2012, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(tzejingtan @ Jul 29 2012, 02:51 PM) Thanks for your quick reply =D. My spending pattern errr....I plan to use it to pay for the utilities fees and maybe some purchases that below RM200 that not that frequent as I don't shopping every month hehe. So my intention was use credit card to pay all these instead of using cash or e-banking, then I can earn some reward point for redemption. capped att RM50 per month means every month max can rebate for RM50 only? Yup, monthly RM50 only. That is why most of us here usually have OCBC ti which gives another up to RM50. However, you mention that your spending usually less than 1k, thus getting just one card is sufficient for the moment. Take note that amex is not as widely accepted as mastercard/visa. OCBC ti gives 5% for all utility, groceries, dining and petrols. 1% for others. Your call.add: you may wanna have a look at UOB one card and Hong Leong Mach for comparison too. Added on July 29, 2012, 3:31 pm QUOTE(maiffa71 @ Jul 29 2012, 03:11 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM100k If you mostly spend on weekends, Maybank 2 cards Amex would do you good whereby you can get cashback up to RM50 monthly. The only setback is, the acceptance is not as wide as mastercard/visa. You get 5x points everyday too.2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: preferred but not a priority 3. Card required for: petrol, online purchase, dining, bills 4. Existing credit cards if any: BSN Visa 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: ?Maybank 2 cards 6. Others: Looking for CC that gives lots of benefits... (continuous promotion,discounts, etc.) 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Should be around 1k.. Another option is the OCBC Ti which offers up to 5% cashback for all dining, petrol, utility and groceries. 1% for others. No reward points though. Maybank offers more promo and discount compared to OCBC, but still cant compete Citibank or standard chartered here. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jul 29 2012, 05:50 PM |
Jul 30 2012, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(Redondo04 @ Jul 30 2012, 08:58 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K Maybank 2 card + OCBC ti would be a good start. You may read up on several prior posts for the benefit of both cards.2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Not a must 3. Card required for: Petrol, shopping, expensive electronic gadget. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil 6. Others: Must be easy to pay the CC bills. best if i can use publicBank(Pbe) or Maybank(MayBank2U) e-banking to pay it. 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K What card should is the best for me? Will be my first CC. Thx in advance. As for the electronic gadgets, you may look at Mach by Hong Leong which offers: - 2% Cashback on Tech stuff including: Machines, IT Hypermarket, Epicenter and so much more (MCC 5045 and 5732) - capped at RM100(? unsure) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/242121 ps/ not to be busybody, but your estimated expenditure is that high? This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jul 30 2012, 09:18 PM |
Jul 31 2012, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:21 PM) I see. CIMB Touch 'n Go Visa any good? I never applied credit card before. Just because I want pay gym membership fee and phone bill with auto credit facilities so i have to apply one. Other usage like petrol. Annual fee is it free? Why dont you post according to the format first, so that we can give a better recommendation. |
Jul 31 2012, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:37 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM18K to RM30K I would recommend you to have a look at Mach by Hong Leong for its Savvy package:2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Must, or cheaper annual fee 3. Card required for: Example Petrol, Gym membership and phone bills auto credit. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Never applied before 5. Considering CC from banks: CIMB Touch 'n Go Visa (not really sure though) 6. Others: easy go for online repayment 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Not more than 1k CIMB Touch 'n Go Visa, any good? Any limitation like must swipe at least RMxxx to entitle waive the annual fee? - 2% Cashback on Health & Fitness: Celebrity Fitness, Fitness Concept, True Fitness, Fitness First, GNC's, Watson's and Guardian - 3% Cashback on Mobile: DIGI, Celcom & Maxis - 2% Cashback on Groceries: Giant, Tesco, Cold Storage, and many more (MCC 5411) Not sure how high is your gym membership bill to benefit from the 2% cashback. If your gym accepts amex and you can meet the requirement, i would definitely recommend maybank 2 cards for its 5% cashback, cap RM50 (weekends) + 5x points (everyday). Read up more on this card. As for the CIMB touch and go, annual fee is waived, no swipe condition but i dont see any reason why you want this card. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jul 31 2012, 03:14 PM |
Jul 31 2012, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Jul 31 2012, 04:09 PM) I see. Looks like great offer. But the cash back on Health & Fitness not applicable for Gorgeous fitness =( if its not listed as the accepted gym, then no point dy this Mach card.btw, whats the annual fee? I choose CIMB because i have CIMB a/c so I can easily make repayment online and no annual fee. While it is convenient to have card tied up with saving account, you can also make IBG to pay other cards from your CIMB account at a minimal fee. I think lets wait for Gen-X to come and give his recommendation |
Aug 3 2012, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(jun7898 @ Aug 3 2012, 10:33 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K Have a look at Maybank 2 cards whereby its amex gives 5% rebate (cap RM50) on weekends and 5x points everyday. No annual fee.2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must 3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate 4. Existing credit cards if any: UOB one card 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: any 6. Others: nil 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 3 2012, 10:57 PM |
Aug 3 2012, 11:29 PM
Aug 4 2012, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(jun7898 @ Aug 4 2012, 12:13 AM) may i know what do you need the uob one card for? maybe cancel it, replace with mbb2 + ocbc ti combo. haha crazy idea Added on August 4, 2012, 12:17 am QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 4 2012, 12:06 AM) But if you frequent merchants that do not accept AMEX, then the OCBC Titanium MasterCard better with 5% cash back for Dining, Utility, Telco and groceries. and petrol too This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 4 2012, 12:17 AM |
Aug 4 2012, 12:36 AM
Aug 4 2012, 12:49 AM
Sep 24 2012, 11:56 PM
i would suggest take the ocbc ti first as it suits your spending pattern. only consider to add another card when your expenses increase.
Sep 25 2012, 12:02 AM
Oct 9 2012, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(dynames07 @ Oct 9 2012, 11:13 AM) houseware is like buying a unit of aircond and pay it in 6 months etc. not buying yet but plan to use the credit card for that purpose. Yes, the MBB2 card is something like a package. You get 2 cards, Amex + Visa or Amex + Mastercard. Only need to pay RM50 GST once (annually) for this package. Find out more from the Maybank 2 cards thread.with regard to MBB 2 cards, when i signed up for it, i will receive 2 cards? so confusing haha and why do i need the 2 cards offered by the MBB 2 cards? This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 9 2012, 01:33 PM |
Oct 14 2012, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Oct 14 2012, 12:09 AM) can find more comments here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1833032 |
Oct 14 2012, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Oct 14 2012, 12:39 AM) Need advice from following, thanks a lot !! Get the following combo:1. Annual Income: RM100k 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must 3. Card required for: F&B, Groceries, Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions 4. Existing credit cards if any: HSBC classic card 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nothing specific 6. Others: Cash back preferred. Will also be used for online shopping or paypal perhaps. 7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM300-RM400 Petrol, RM700 Insurance, RM500-RM1k Food & Beverages 8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Online shopping (Local & Internationally) 9. Might need a supplement card for my wife as well, prefer to annual fees waived if possible - Maybank 2 cards AMEX gives you 5% cashback for weekend (cap RM50 monthly) + 5x points everday. Annual fee waiver. The visa/mastercard gives one of the best foreign transaction rate. If your wife qualifies, get her to sign up as another principal instead. - OCBC Ti mastercard gives 5% cashback everyday (cap RM50) for dining, groceries, utilities and petrols. 1% for others. Annual fee waiver with 12x swipe. If you dont get specific benefit from the HSBC classic, can consider to terminate it already. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 14 2012, 12:56 AM |
Oct 14 2012, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Oct 14 2012, 11:43 PM) Hi HumanNature, it means the ceiling, maximum amount of cashback.what is "cap" means ? Btw, I can request Maybank to provide me just a single card instead of 2 cards ? I do want hold so many card you cant, it comes in a 2 cards package but you only need to pay GST once. most of us here usually just keep the visa or mastercard in the drawer |
Oct 16 2012, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Oct 15 2012, 11:52 PM) Thanks for the reply Hye! Sorry, bad language ...it is swipe instead swap The idea is to keep your cards secure and never let anyone use it.Added on October 15, 2012, 11:54 pmThe Agent now approach me on HSBC Visa signature and say the existing point from classic card can be carry over and each ringgit spend will get 5x points...now sure if that's true ... Dont let the name and perceived status of the card distract you. What is more important is, how are you going to benefit from the card, any card? Go through the list of benefits and so on and decide yourself whether you willing to have the card in your stable or not. |
Oct 22 2012, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(ruud9985 @ Oct 22 2012, 04:21 PM) Hi all, Looking for a credit card. Any recommendation? 1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K. 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. 3. Card required for: Mainly hotel booking and air ticket purchase, Petrol, Others is a plus.. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Anything. 6. Others: Preferably pay with my M2U online savings account. 7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM300 petrol, , Hotel:RM400, RM200 Dining.. 8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: None.. Thanks.. QUOTE(onejme @ Oct 22 2012, 10:52 PM) Hye im new and in need of suggestion from u all, I recommend the maybank 2 cards.1. Annual Income: RM30K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must 3. Card required for: F&B, Groceries, Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, 4. Existing credit cards if any: NIL 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Nothing specific 6. Others: Cash back preferred. 7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM400 Petrol,RM400 Food & Beverages 8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Online shopping (Local & Internationally) Tq 5% cashback (max Rm50 per month) for weekend transactions for AMEX. 5x points everyday for AMEX Note, AMEX is not accepted as most petronas stations. The visa/mastercard gives competitive overseas exchange rate. Added on October 22, 2012, 11:50 pmhttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2434771 sse first page for more info This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 22 2012, 11:50 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0561sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:28 PM |