[OFFICIAL] ATI X800GT/GTO/GTO² Disscusion Thread, 3DMark 03/05 comparison and discussion

almostthere
post Nov 3 2005, 02:50 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 3 2005, 02:08 PM)
gto cannot softmod into 16 pipelines u got the wrong card laugh.gif
Correction it's not can't but lower chance of unlocking the pipelines that's all
almostthere
post Nov 3 2005, 06:08 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 3 2005, 04:03 PM)
oo sry my bad but which 1 can? what model what brand?
AFAIK, the Connect3D GTO's have shown a rather high sucess unlock rate actually
almostthere
post Nov 3 2005, 06:18 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(DeathWing @ Nov 3 2005, 06:14 PM)
16 pipes with R423 core wink.gif

Dont we all want GTO2 for its R480?
Depends on how you like it...higher clocks but higher heat emission and energy consumption, or a decent X800XT replica which doesn't suck up the juice
almostthere
post Nov 4 2005, 11:12 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 4 2005, 10:47 AM)
x1600 is 12 pipelines and its more expensive if its 1100-1500 while gto2 can be modded to 16 pipelines we sure wan better performance
Sure you may say that, but at 12 pipes, the performance of the X1600's are better in many aspects. How does video encoding done thru the X1000's which are faster then a Dual Core A64 by 5x sound to you? Let's not even go to it's HDR+AA support too
almostthere
post Nov 4 2005, 12:06 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Nov 4 2005, 11:49 AM)
[off-topic]

almostthere,

the HDR feature you're talking about is the High-Dynamic Range lighting for Half-Life 2:Lost Coast ?  unsure.gif

If so, then that's why ATI make those X1000 series to support those new features for Lost Coast right ?  unsure.gif

[/off-topic]
In a way yes, but in this instance what makes it different from NVIDIA's solution (Which I admit has supported HDR quite sometime already) is that ATi intends to combine both the HDR and the AntiAliasing effects together as smoothly as possible in terms of frame rates so I've been told.

And the RV530 (X1600's) are actually an indicator as to what the R580 would be as it's more closer in relevancy to that card then to the R520
almostthere
post Nov 5 2005, 11:14 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(catsper @ Nov 5 2005, 08:25 AM)
Does a DDR1 ATI X800GT perform better than a normal DDR3 6600GT?
I know there r 2 types of X800GT. The X800GT with 128mb (DDR1) and 256mb (DDR3). Is that true?

Pls forgive my noob question.
No, X800GT with DDR1 will be outperformed by the 6600GT and can't clock as high either. Hope that helps
almostthere
post Nov 6 2005, 01:42 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 6 2005, 01:37 PM)
AGP one got?
GTO2 dun have and AGP also AFAIK X800GT 128Mb DDR1 models
almostthere
post Nov 6 2005, 06:32 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Nov 6 2005, 06:30 PM)
thinking of letting go my Powercolor x800Gt...
when the time i bought this card didnt count my bank account properly...

u guys think should i let go?
Depends on how much you're willing to let it go biggrin.gif
almostthere
post Nov 8 2005, 07:43 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Yamsap @ Nov 8 2005, 07:37 PM)
What is your post gonna contribute to this thread?  shakehead.gif

We are not interested in weather your GTO2 arrives or not, this is a disscusion thread, wanna post like that go to your BULK thread.

Post some result and contribute something, not spam.
Easy there on the poor n00b, he's new and got quite a bit from me this morning over something similiar. and next time superdav007, do read around our policy at H/w. Here's a quick run down

1.) No flaming
2.) Got a question to ask? Use the Question and Answer sub forum unless it's related to current topic
3.) Fanboyism strongly disallowed
4.) No foul language
5.) Google is your best friend, use it first
almostthere
post Nov 11 2005, 10:57 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

No Picture, No Talk. That's the rules of pimping here. Show us some benches and clocks then we might be amazed
almostthere
post Nov 14 2005, 06:00 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(awetan @ Nov 14 2005, 01:44 PM)
icic... thnx for the reply storm88.

the reason i favour the HIS gto is because it has artic silencer which doesnt make as much noise as sapphire gto.

for those who owns sapphire x800gto does the cooler make loud noise?
well, my reasoning is this. If you calculate the cost of getting a non-HIS brand GFX and factor in a Silencer, you come to about the same price but with the added bonus of getting a known quantity of an overclockable card which just needs sorting of cooling. don't you think so?
almostthere
post Dec 5 2005, 03:55 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Dec 4 2005, 10:35 PM)
if x800gto vs x1600xt which 1 perform better?
I'd dare not speculate much but with the fact that the X1600XT promises to clock at core 600Mhz and mem 1Ghz, we might be in for a close fight and not to mention that the fact that RV/R5XX cores will have some form of support for HDR+AA, and (finally) SM 3.0 makes a done deal especially for gamers.
almostthere
post Jan 11 2006, 10:59 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

I though ATi Tools allows presets storing for per application? I noticed that in the recent releases by Omega
almostthere
post Mar 9 2006, 06:45 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Topic " X800 GTO AGP" by cuoreboy merged here. And AFAIK, only 1 card has had a 100% successful unlock rate which is the GTO2 PCI-e. The other cards have been quite a gamble. This may be of help but I can't guarantee anything

http://hardware.mcse.ms/message277103.html

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=8060
almostthere
post Mar 10 2006, 10:32 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Awan Afuqya @ Mar 10 2006, 02:25 AM)
I just bought a 2nd hand HIS X800 Pro which the previous owner unlocked it to 16 pipelines. I'm not an OCer, don't know if it does any good.

*Edit: Forgot to mention, it's an AGP.
VIVO or non-VIVO? Curious to know cos the non-VIVO unlocking is quite unproven and would love to know it was done with yours
almostthere
post Mar 10 2006, 04:21 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Mar 10 2006, 03:49 PM)
i read somewhere that VIVO models absolutely is able 2 mod to 16pipes

and NON VIVO wont mod 2 16 pipes, so thats a big difference
VIVO actually just need to flash BIOS of XT. Non-VIVO would require a few tricks but the sucess rate is very low on it. One would have to hard mod by bridging pin 1 and 3 and also solder resisitors at the back of the card. And then flash a modded BIOS. The success rate for that is rather low and there have been cases of some getting 4 pipelines only
almostthere
post Mar 11 2006, 01:25 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(superdav007 @ Mar 11 2006, 01:15 PM)
flash to vivo got wat advantage?
He means for X800 Pro VIVO flash the BIOS and you got urself an XT. that's what he meant

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0159sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:52 AM