Kenneth's Workout Journal - Gym goer, Priority = weight loss

TSbomberkenny
post Jul 19 2011, 10:08 PM, updated 15y ago

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

After reading some of the journals, I've decided to write a journal for my weight loss, and in the same time hearing some of your valuable advise and suggestions. I do not exercise in the past, at least 10 years since I was actively playing basketball. I grew fat at the age of 22, overeating and lack of exercise are the main reasons. I realized that I don't look appealing and not interested in ball games anymore, so it made me to lose weight. I've tried Herbalife's products, Lipo6 without work out (not motivated), but they never work as the products were quite expensive and I kinda tricked to believe that one can lose weight healthily without exercising which I was wrong.

First off, some of my details which you might be interested and maybe could relate to yourselves.

Gym attached to : Fitness First Leisure Mall, joined 1st July 2011
Job : Salesperson (Walks quite a bit)
Height : 168cm
Weight : 83kg
BMI : 29.4 (Overweight, inclining towards obese)

Daily diet are usually
Breakfast : Maggi goreng biasa
Lunch : KFC, economy rice, restaurant food
Dinner : Mom's dishes, heavily meat. (might take a photo sometimes and we can discuss how much kcal)
Fat burner : Lipo6 black 3 caps in the morning (30mins before breakfast) 2 caps before work out after work

Workout in gym
I always walk to the gym from my place, 10 minutes. Straight to the threadmill
1. Threadmill, 3.0 for 1min, 5.3 for 4 mins, 6.0 (slow jog) for 5 mins, 9.0 at 2mins . And then I'm so beat I can't do anymore, so no HIIT there.
2. Upper back machine 3 sets of 15 reps at 10-15kgs
3. Legs' back muscle machine 3 sets of 15 reps at 15kgs
4. Upper/Middle abs 3 sets of 15 reps (cramp after that.....)
5. Bicep machine 3 sets of 15 reps at 10kgs.

And then I go home..... I do not have a PT, and I am very clueless about workouts.

This is written on the 19th July which I have only visit 6 times to the gym. So kindly comment/advise/suggestions. I will probably update once in a week.
razorboy
post Jul 19 2011, 10:56 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(bomberkenny @ Jul 19 2011, 10:08 PM)
After reading some of the journals, I've decided to write a journal for my weight loss, and in the same time hearing some of your valuable advise and suggestions. I do not exercise in the past, at least 10 years since I was actively playing basketball. I grew fat at the age of 22, overeating and lack of exercise are the main reasons. I realized that I don't look appealing and not interested in ball games anymore, so it made me to lose weight. I've tried Herbalife's products, Lipo6 without work out (not motivated), but they never work as the products were quite expensive and I kinda tricked to believe that one can lose weight healthily without exercising which I was wrong.

First off, some of my details which you might be interested and maybe could relate to yourselves.

Gym attached to : Fitness First Leisure Mall, joined 1st July 2011
Job : Salesperson (Walks quite a bit)
Height : 168cm
Weight : 83kg
BMI : 29.4 (Overweight, inclining towards obese)

Daily diet are usually
Breakfast : Maggi goreng biasa
Lunch : KFC, economy rice, restaurant food
Dinner : Mom's dishes, heavily meat. (might take a photo sometimes and we can discuss how much kcal)
Fat burner : Lipo6 black 3 caps in the morning (30mins before breakfast) 2 caps before work out after work

Workout in gym
I always walk to the gym from my place, 10 minutes. Straight to the threadmill
1. Threadmill, 3.0 for 1min, 5.3 for 4 mins, 6.0 (slow jog) for 5 mins, 9.0 at 2mins . And then I'm so beat I can't do anymore, so no HIIT there.
2. Upper back machine 3 sets of 15 reps at 10-15kgs
3. Legs' back muscle machine 3 sets of 15 reps at 15kgs
4. Upper/Middle abs 3 sets of 15 reps (cramp after that.....)
5. Bicep machine 3 sets of 15 reps at 10kgs.

And then I go home..... I do not have a PT, and I am very clueless about workouts.

This is written on the 19th July which I have only visit 6 times to the gym. So kindly comment/advise/suggestions. I will probably update once in a week.
Bolded words mate, you've gotta revamp them. There's a lot of good routines and nutritional tips in the stickies. Try reading through them. It would help both you and those who would comment in your thread.

and lipo-6 is not a magic pill. It's not going to work if the diet and training routine is not in check. I'd suggest you stay away from herbalife and such.

Sample Training Routines

Pre-W/o and Post-W/o Nutrition

Diet Plan Samples

and if you have more questions, try asking in the Bodybuilding Thread. Not many would actually notice a workout journal until you bring it forth to them. And most of the time, the guys usually hang out in the Bodybuilding thread.

This post has been edited by razorboy: Jul 19 2011, 11:02 PM
TSbomberkenny
post Jul 20 2011, 11:36 PM

Gun Down your MOM!
1,617 posts

Thanks razorboy for your comments. I knew my eating habits hasn't been good. It will be hard for me to replace all meals into low carb high protein healthy food immediately, what I am going to do now is to replace them into proper meals and not fast food/mamak food. I can't say I have the time to prepare the perfect meal for breakfast and lunch, as a sales person my lunch is pretty much depends on where I can find food.

My short term goal now is to build stamina, long term goal is still reducing body fat. So I'll probably leave the proper diet until I have good stamina to do the HIIT.

Besides, I'm not into bodybuilding yet. I don't want to deviate my original plan for body fat (weight) reduction.

Added on July 27, 2011, 1:13 pm25/7/2011 update

Just did a measure at the gym
Weight 81.4kg
BMI 28.8
BMR 1684 kcal
Fat% 30.6% (24.9kg fat mass)
Target body fat 20%
Fat to be shed 10.8kg

I changed a bit of my diet
Morning
At home 2 capsules of lipo6 black
Office a cup of hot milo 3 in 1

Afternoon
Restaurant food like economical rice, noodles, no more kfc and a glass of herbal tea with sugar

Evening
Mom's cooking, no rice with smaller portion of meat, protein n vege

Workout logs
I've changed also my daily routine after advise from a PT in FF
Monday, wednesday, friday- treadmills 20 minutes each set for 3 times. In between slot in leg curl and leg extension 3 sets each with 10-15kg

Tuesday, thursday - bicep and triceps with cable, 7.5 - 10kg, 3 sets 15 reps. Upper back machine, shoulder machine 3 sets 15 reps. Abs crunch bench 4 sets of 15 reps. Back exercise 3 sets 15 reps.

Sorry if this post is messy as i was typing with my phone while waiting for my lunch.

Added on August 1, 2011, 8:58 pm1/8/2011 Update

Nothing much to update about my diet other than cutting down the meal size.

Workouts have been changed to suit my body.

Monday
-Treadmill jogging for 15 minutes

-Leg push 3 sets of 15 reps 40kg

-Leg curl 3 sets of 15 reps 10kg-15kg

-Leg extension 3 sets of 15 reps 10-15kg

-Then treadmill to end it with 10 minutes jogging

Tuesday

-Warm up with 10 minutes of jogging on treadmill

-Cable biceps 3 sets 15 reps 7.5-10kg

-Cable triceps 3 sets 15 reps 7.5-10kg

-Shoulder upward push 3 sets 15 reps 10-15kg

-Upper back 3 sets 15 reps 15-20kg

-Up/mid abs crunch 3 sets 15 reps

-Lower back ups 3 sets 15 reps

Then rest wednesday, Thursday, Friday repeat the lower body, upper body exercise, Sunday with a upper body exercise and Monday repeats with lower body + treadmill.

Haven't weigh myself yet, but going to do it next week's Monday.

This post has been edited by bomberkenny: Aug 1 2011, 08:58 PM

0.0150sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:11 PM