4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

iPhone Club v14 - iPhone related news & Questions, FAQ/Q&A Thread

azraeil
post Jul 30 2011, 07:29 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I also suggest you get a local factory unlocked set from either Maxis/Digi/Celcom. All the hassle with regards to warranty and unlocking is not worth it at all. You save 200 ringgit and end up buying the Gevey sim which cost you money, and having to make sure you never update just in case Gevey doesn't support the firmware and then if you have anything happen to your phone like the home button issue, the mic issue and all other issues associated with the iPhone 4 is just an added stress that you don't need.

Buy a local set with 1 year local warranty from Maxis/Digi/Celcom and you can't go wrong.
azraeil
post Aug 3 2011, 02:56 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(doggy1989 @ Aug 3 2011, 08:36 AM)
emm..but whats the recommended memory to have available to avoid any lagness?
Laggyness I think is related to the Memory and not the space availability. I am on iPhone 4 and I have around 2.5GB available (16GB version) and facing no issues.

I think in your case, just do a house-cleaning exercise and you should be okay. Always remember to kill any apps that's running in the background to free-up memory.
azraeil
post Aug 9 2011, 10:34 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I don't think so. All iPhone are local warranty so I don't think they would want to deal with any overseas set.
azraeil
post Aug 10 2011, 04:31 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

It must have been a locked set and previously was jailbroken and the seller must have installed ultrsn0w. The only way you can unlock you 3Gs is by restoring it to a custom firmware and most likely you will need to install the iPad baseband (which will kill the GPS).
azraeil
post Aug 10 2011, 04:44 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(maderfader @ Aug 10 2011, 11:35 AM)
Am i able to restore it using ultrasn0w even though i'm not able to view the homescreen n itunes??
You need to restore it to a custom firmware via an application called sn0wbreeze or pwnagetool for the Mac. During the preparation of the custom firmware, there is a box that will ask you if you need the iPad baseband. Once everything is down (a bit of a long process) but once the custom firmware is created and once the iPhone is restored using that custom firmware, only then you can install ultrasn0w via cydia to unlock your iPhone.

There is actually a couple more steps that you probably need to do and you can go to iClarified.com to get a fill guide on how you can restore your 3Gs to enable it to unlock the iPhone.

Keywords that you need
TinyUmbrella to get your SHSH from Cydia.
sn0wbreeze or pwnagetool.
Stock firmware from Apple for your 3Gs (preferably 4.3.3 and below).
azraeil
post Aug 10 2011, 06:06 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

He is using a 3Gs, cannot use with Gevey which is only for the iPhone 4
azraeil
post Aug 10 2011, 06:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Aug 10 2011, 01:11 PM)
hv 3gs ver. 1
So you're saying that Gevey version 1 will work with the 3Gs? Sure ahh?
azraeil
post Aug 11 2011, 11:25 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

There is the DFU method to restore and I suggest you follow the guide in http://iclarified.com and choose the proper devices and you should have an idea.
azraeil
post Aug 12 2011, 06:34 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

The jailbreak thread is closed so we should not be talking about the methods and guide to jailbreak. All I can say is that since you are already jailbroken at 4.1 then most likely Cydia has saved your 4.3.3 SHSH in their server (just check the top window in Cydia when you open it and it will say what SHSH it had saved for your iPhone.) which should allow you to restore to 4.3.3
azraeil
post Aug 13 2011, 03:13 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Greenlp_87, sakurazz said his iPad will not show the charging sign when charged using his laptop and not his iPod. Different device lorr.
azraeil
post Aug 18 2011, 11:23 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Aug 18 2011, 11:15 PM)
Hi sifus...got a question. I gave my hubby to use my iPhone 3G...as I just got the iPhone 4.

He noticed that my email contacts are still in there (probably the memory) even though I've deleted the contacts. Is there anyway to delete?....as some of these email addresses that pops out when he keys in an alphabeth are my bosses. He's afraid that he may accidentally send to them.
Just restore the iPhone via iTunes and then set it up as a new phone. The iPhone will be wiped clean
azraeil
post Aug 25 2011, 06:47 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:40 PM)
....versi 8GB dijangka dilancarkan beberapa minggu lagi kata sumber itu...

which paper mate??can provide the link for it??  hmm.gif
Check iclarified news as well but even the cheapest iPhone will cost more than 200 bucks which is not cheap.
azraeil
post Aug 28 2011, 08:32 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 28 2011, 08:04 AM)
Hi guys, wanna ask if i travel to another country and get a prepaid sim there, will i be able to use it on my digi iphone 4 without the need to re-activate the phone on itunes? because i wont be bringing my laptop and i really dont want to get stuck with a useless phone for the whole trip. Anyone has any experience before using our malaysia iphone set in another country, with a foreign simcard?

Thanks!
Malaysian iPhone (if you bought them from Digi/Maxis/Celcom and not from some tepi jalan kedai) is factory unlocked which allows you to use it with ANY GSM SimCard all over the world. There will be no need to re-activate the iPhone via iTunes. It will be just plug and play.
azraeil
post Aug 28 2011, 10:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

You guys realise of course that this means jailbreakme is dead. For those hoping for something similar for ios5, can forget about it.

QUOTE(Norazam @ Aug 27 2011, 10:18 AM)
Apple hands internship to Jailbreakme.com developer "comex"
By Chris Foresman | Published about 9 hours ago
After building the semi-famous website that allowed iPhone users to jailbreak their devices by simply clicking a link, 19-year old hacker Nicholas Allegra, aka "comex," now has a job at Apple. A longtime member of the jailbreak community, Allegra announced late Thursday via Twitter that he accepted an internship with the iPhone maker.

Allegra made use of a flaw in iOS's handling of PDF files in order to create jailbreakme.com. The website made the process of jailbreaking an iPhone—necessary to install unofficial apps and hacks—as easy as visiting a webpage. Apple quickly patched the flaw about a week later, but Allegra used other flaws in later iterations of the site. The third version of the site used a similar PDF-handling flaw that could jailbreak the latest devices, including the iPad 2. Ironically, the jailbreak community also offered a patch for the flaw before Apple released its own nine days later.

Allegra, uncovered as a Brown University student by Forbes earlier this month, has been involved in the iPhone-hacking scene for some time. Last year he helped George "geohot" Hotz build a jailbreak tool called limera1n. He also co-developed a workaround for jailbroken iPhones that refused to load DRM-protected iBooks.

Forbes suggested that Allegra's iOS hacking skills were so good that Apple should offer the student an internship, and now the company has done just that.

"It's been really, really fun, but it's also been a while and I've been getting bored," Allegra wrote on Twitter. "So, the week after next I will be starting an internship with Apple."

This isn't the first time Apple has dipped into the jailbreak scene to hire an intern. MacRumors noted that Peter Hajas, developer of the jailbreak app MobileNotifier, was hired by Apple this past summer as an intern. While Apple likely considers jailbreak hackers somewhat of a nuisance, the steady stream of exploits they discover certainly keeps Apple's security team on its toes. iOS hacking looks as though it may be a straight path to a job with the company.
Source
azraeil
post Sep 5 2011, 10:44 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(narien @ Sep 5 2011, 12:28 AM)
For those not on jailbreak, Electronic Arts & Gameloft are having labour day sale for this month. lot's of their games for iphone & ipad are on .99 cent only.
Errr, I also on jailbreak and I buy stuff from both the Cydia store (tweaks) and the App Store. What has jailbreak got to do with not buying the apps?
azraeil
post Sep 8 2011, 02:27 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Sep 6 2011, 08:21 AM)
my friend bought a celcom set, iphone 4, preloaded with ios 4.3.2. cannot update to 4.3.3 and only allowed to update to 4.3.5. need to wait for ios 5 release soon!
4.3.2 can be jailbroken by visiting jailbreakme.com via the mobile safari. No need to wait for iOS 5.

azraeil
post Sep 10 2011, 09:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Even if your iPhone is not jailbroken, I would not recommend clicking on erase all content and setting. It is much easier and probably safer to just download the firmware you want to restore the firmware to and click Shift + Restore. The iPhone will be erased/wiped clean and it\ll be like coming out of the factory.
azraeil
post Sep 11 2011, 01:07 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 11 2011, 04:34 AM)
any other solution to my problem?... cry.gif  cry.gif
Read in some forum that the solution is to try and restore it using a Mac. WimpyKid also mentioned that he managed to do it once he used a Mac so that could be the case.
azraeil
post Sep 11 2011, 03:50 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 11 2011, 10:33 AM)
is it possible?...nearby my house got 1 machines!..i will go have a try!
You've got nothing to lose bro.
azraeil
post Sep 12 2011, 12:16 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Waaahhhh so cheap ahh. Ori or not?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0222sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:36 PM