US and UK TV Series: New Series /Season Review, For new airing only

TSdundermifflin
post Mar 6 2012, 11:50 AM

237 posts

The Finder

meh.. too ordinary, nothing special. try to be funny, but im not amuse.

the cases are non sense.. finding 2 bullets from 20 years old crime? finding spaceship?.. nah..
TSdundermifflin
post Mar 15 2012, 02:04 PM

237 posts

for the end of March, i will probably try Missing. start tomorrow..

Missing
The story is about a worried mother (Ashley Judd) who takes it upon herself to travel to Europe and track down her son (Nick Eversman), who disappears while on a summer internship in Italy. She is a retired CIA agent and uses every means necessary to get her son back.

look alike synopsis of Taken, and established movie star in it (Ashley Judd)

and Mad Men is back, among my favourites..

TSdundermifflin
post Mar 26 2012, 07:51 AM

237 posts

Touch

i believe the pilot are promising.. i hope they didnt stick to feel -good ending.. coz shite happens everyday. will watch the 2nd episode tonight..

and my favourite show Mad Men come back after 2 years wait, awesome rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Mar 27 2012, 07:45 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Mar 27 2012, 10:19 AM

237 posts

My April's list:

Must Watch
>Game of Throne S2 (Mon 02/04)
>The Killing S2 (Mon 02/04)
>The Borgias S2 (Mon 09/04)

Possible Watch
>Scandal S1 (Fri 06/04)
>Apartment 23 S1 (Thu 12/04)
>Veep S1 (Mon 23/04)

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Mar 27 2012, 11:45 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Mar 29 2012, 12:52 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(xy2610 @ Mar 27 2012, 09:04 PM)
Possible Watch
Girls
possible a new Sex and the City?.. its HBO, i dont mind a chick /woman flicks, if they provide R Rated scenes cool2.gif

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Mar 28 2012, 10:11 AM)
Didn't like Touch at all and I am a fan of Kiefer Sutherland. Found the whole 'every life is connected' plot point to be a little contrived. However, I will give it a few episodes more but as of the pilot, I am not convinced.
Touch

im fairly impressed with the pilot.. the 2nd are quite good.. but im not entirely convince i can keep my interest.. all feel good /heart warming ending.. they need to mix it up with tragedies, accidents, some screw up etc.
TSdundermifflin
post Mar 29 2012, 03:40 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Mar 29 2012, 03:24 PM)
when it comes to dramas, i cannot take the whole episodic stories where one episode is barely connected to the next which is why i much prefer shorter seasons as what is done for cable series (breaking bad, mad men, boardwalk empire).
yeah me too..

but sometimes, episodic episodes series are okay (like CSI, etc) cause not all viewer would like to 'committed' to tv series..

im also, if i happen ive free time and turn to AXN, CSI /House /Leverage is on, ive no problem to watching it.. dont really bother they on what episode or season..
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 1 2012, 07:10 AM

237 posts

Mad Men S05

the new season is back, with double episode. cheeky French song by sexy Megan. overall its OK, nothing spectacular. this series certainly still my favourite on going series..

being a faithful husband looking odd for Don...

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Apr 1 2012, 07:11 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 2 2012, 10:17 AM

237 posts

generally speaking, which one have better quality? WEB-DL or HDTV?

usually the content are same right?
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 6 2012, 10:23 AM

237 posts

The Killing S2

i think they start s2 very nicely.. offer us more intriguing plots and twists..

but hopefully they will not go down same to s1 path, red herring after red herring..
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 13 2012, 07:25 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Sizty @ Apr 11 2012, 08:53 AM)
Anyone watch Suits on Diva/hallmark?
watched it few months ago.. re-watching it @702, if i have a free time..

Suits, very good series.. House of lawyers.. full of sarcastic lines..
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 19 2012, 07:43 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Apr 18 2012, 03:38 PM)
Dexter good or not ? Sometimes cannot believe overseas review, we Malaysian have different taste tongue.gif
the S1, S2, S3 and S4 are very good. one of my favourite series /character..

lesser in S5, and S6 its becoming too average..

i'll follow the next season though.. hopefully they plan the end game.
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 20 2012, 07:20 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(xy2610 @ Apr 18 2012, 12:36 PM)
Girls
It is quite entertaining overall, mostly because of the way the main character, Hannah, dealing with her predicaments...Too bad, it's only 30 minutes per episode.
Due to its time limit, most of the characters cannot be fleshed out yet.
But Hannah is somewhat likeable. I like her mean mother too.
Her struggle to get a paid job is painstakingly realistic while the indecisiveness of the other girl, Marnie, to get out of her relationship is a bit annoying though. That might be a good start for this girl to grow.
Anyway, I will stick around to see these girls grown up.
And it is nothing like Sex and the City, at least for now, although it was briefly mentioned.
i thought it was OK-ish.. im not not fancy this kind of girl-ish drama.. 30min are too fecking short for drama.. i'll try another 2 episodes before drop it, or not..
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 23 2012, 08:04 AM

237 posts

Magic City

i think its poor, or it just mildly average.. definitely nowhere near Mad Men or Boardwalk Empire class. the characters are forgettable, even the lead isnt convincing..

i cant see the direction of this drama. but its still an early days. ill give benefit of the doubts, and give shot for another one or two episodes.. the chicks are main attractions though cool2.gif

The Game Of Throne S2

OK-ish start, the show are must see..
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 24 2012, 07:16 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Apr 23 2012, 07:45 PM)
Has anyone seen the new HBO show Veep yet? smile.gif
i heard a lot of good comments on Veep.. will watch it tonight.. HBO always provide us a good stuff..

QUOTE(hfi @ Apr 23 2012, 07:53 PM)
I just started watching Awake and it's pretty good i must say. Actually, its the best thing i've seen in a while since GoT and Breaking Bad. The premise while not completely original, is still intriguing and the story in each eps so far have been absorbing.
im pretty skeptical first, but im really like it now.. its really good show. just some common little tips if for Awake, before u start confusing who's who..

red-ish picture = the wife alive
blue-ish picture = the son alive

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Apr 24 2012, 07:21 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Apr 26 2012, 07:19 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Apr 24 2012, 07:39 PM)
I just watched EP1 of Veep. I really enjoyed it, will def watch more. Its a political 'drama' but seems more realistic than previous similar shows.
its really nice.. office jokes ala The Office and Parks and Recreation, without mockumentary style.. more mature jokes, some light political stuff, realistic stuff.. its really promising..

im looking forward for Veep and Girls from HBO..

do anyone the status of Ringer? are they cancel it or the story are concluded.. kinda cheesy and cheap soap drama, etc.. but i like it..

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Apr 26 2012, 08:46 AM
TSdundermifflin
post May 2 2012, 07:49 AM

237 posts

The Client List

if u want to make series about sex /prostitution (its actually about massage center offering 'extra service'), its incomplete without nudity..

i think its poor. the story are too ordinary.. watched it only because of Love Hewitt.. will definitely drop it..
TSdundermifflin
post May 21 2012, 09:07 AM

237 posts

series that have completed in the past few weeks /days:

The Office S8 [2011] US
poor season, though better than previous one. i've clanged to it because of the past good seasons (with Michael Scott).. pointless, and i think i'll drop it..

The Big Bang Theory S5 [2011] US
consistent, always my favourite sitcom..

Fringe S4 [2011] US
great series..

Once Upon a Time S1 [2011] US
great debut season..

Person of Interest S1 [2011] US
cheesy action stuff.. have a high and low. i still keep my interest.

Missing S1 [2012] US - Cancelled
typical spy stuff.. poor version of Taken plus Bourne. the father gone missing, then the son, and at last the mother, WTF.. good decision to cancel it..

Scandal S1 [2012] US
smart political thriller.. like it..
TSdundermifflin
post May 31 2012, 07:48 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ May 31 2012, 02:25 AM)
@dundermifflin

Is Scandal worth watching? Its only 7 episodes right?
i think i like Scandal.. the main case are very interesting (the affair between White House temp & President), nice twist and turn.. the other case are ordinary.. try the pilot episode, it'll give u a clear picture the course of the series..

it wasnt really good, but still worth my time and i am waiting for the 2nd season..

QUOTE(profpoyo @ May 31 2012, 04:35 AM)
Continuum felt forced, cheesy and very predictable

Since this is US thread I'm gonna go off topic a bit.
There's a new UK series Miss & Hit with just 2/6 episodes released
it is about a pre-op transsexual hitman that know she had a son when she was a man
the actor is real female but wear prosthetic pea nurse biggrin.gif
Continuum are cheesy, and cheap scifi series.. but im still like it.. its like watching The Sarah Connor Chronicles (nothings alike but similarity are there. no terminator, terrorist group go back to the past to re-group)
TSdundermifflin
post Jun 5 2012, 07:33 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Reimao @ Jun 4 2012, 10:11 PM)
Community

Anyone watch this series? Currently waiting for Season4. Its by far one of the better comedy series out there. Better than BBT i might add.
i watched 4 or 5 earliest episodes of Community few years ago.. i think i dont really like it at that particular time.. its probably good (general opinion), but it already in S04. so dont think i have a time catch it up..

recently i try to watch Men At Work. watched 2 episodes. dont like it.. i watched solely because i saw the ad, they put it side by side with TBBT. i thought they as good as TBBT..
TSdundermifflin
post Jun 10 2012, 10:20 AM

237 posts

Hit & Miss [2012] UK

i think its really ok. watched the first 2 episodes.. the kids actors generally poor i think. the transsexual are pretty, but weird to see nude pretty woman, with penis..

i dont aware that UK TV allowing frontal nudity.. Sky Atlentic isnt it?

Hatfields & McCoys [2012] US

3 episodes mini -series. though it was on History Channel, dont expect historical semi documentary series, full of facts and historical stuff..

its like regular tv series.. post American civil war, 2 ex -army families in a country side going toe to toe. murders, revenge and vigilante. make law on their own..

good stuff..

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Jun 10 2012, 10:21 AM

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:14 PM