Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 LYN Official Users Club v1, For Future & Current Users Of The P7510

phantomash
post Aug 2 2011, 09:46 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 2 2011, 09:37 AM)
At one of the mobile kiosk, I took out my 5 inch  dell streak to take a call. The young salesgirl later ask me whether it is  the latest ipad3? OMG just unbelievable!
hahaha laugh.gif not surprising actually.

what did you answer her?
phantomash
post Aug 4 2011, 11:41 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Aug 3 2011, 10:58 PM)
will launch at september. quad core!!!
nah its gonna be october, and Asus Transformer 2 will probably be the first tablet to come out with Tegra 3
phantomash
post Aug 12 2011, 09:35 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(keeplwk @ Aug 12 2011, 09:32 PM)
wah uncle Benny is rich..got 10.1 some more..ehem..i though u not gonna to buy 10.1 ?keke
uncle benny buys all sorts of gadgets brows.gif that's his hobby

btw, is Starbust overall the best custom ROM available for Tab 10.1 so far? planning to flash one of them

This post has been edited by phantomash: Aug 12 2011, 09:36 PM
phantomash
post Aug 14 2011, 12:47 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

after flashing the latest overclock kernel for starbust rom that uncle benny shared earlier, the tab feels significantly faster when running at 1.4ghz.
anyone who wants absolute speed should definitely give it a try. brows.gif
phantomash
post Aug 14 2011, 01:12 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 14 2011, 12:54 AM)
They markup above rrp. They only sell rrp if u ask for it. *******... try to con consumer

Added on August 14, 2011, 12:57 amBtw, anyone try titanium backup?
I've used it when flashing into starbust rom, why?
phantomash
post Aug 14 2011, 10:18 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 14 2011, 01:44 AM)
Just wan to double confirm how to use. I using free version, so once backup each apps d, I just restore them once after the flash? From the settings it seems its function its merely to download frm market n install the app then restore data correct?

Added on August 14, 2011, 2:09 amA slight review of the case. Everything is as good as the review mention. Just gt one small issue.
The backed up data are stored in your local storage, and when restoring it doesn't download from market, and but from the backed up data instead. No Internet connection is required, hope that helps. smile.gif
phantomash
post Aug 14 2011, 09:50 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

anyone else tried customizing the homescreen? mind sharing? trying to get some ideas smile.gif

here's mine so far

this is how it looks like vertical

This post has been edited by phantomash: Aug 14 2011, 09:54 PM
phantomash
post Aug 14 2011, 10:16 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Aug 14 2011, 10:09 PM)
i'll show u mine.. when i get the tab.. sad.gif
aww.. why the sad face. lol
be sure to share some of your screenshots later
touchwiz UX made it sooo easy to capture screenshots.. laugh.gif
phantomash
post Aug 14 2011, 10:27 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Aug 14 2011, 10:22 PM)
cz SME still dun wanna launch it..  mad.gif n i have no confident with AP sets.. so no choice but to wait..
lol yea, true that's annoying. got money also can't buy grumble.gif
phantomash
post Aug 15 2011, 11:46 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Wonton @ Aug 15 2011, 11:40 AM)
i got my tab a week ago. could not wait any longer. i am enjoying it. fast and stylo.
just one question, does your screen lag when you are sliding from one "home screen" to another?
anyone buying screen protectors? i need one, any recommendations?
thanks all!
yes there are minor lag here and there when navigating around the tablet,
but after flashing Starbust ROM plus overclocking to 1.4Ghz speed, there is significantly less lag now.
phantomash
post Aug 15 2011, 12:31 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(kevlzx @ Aug 15 2011, 12:17 PM)
bro but i guess casing is to protector the entire tab, and screen protector is to protect the screen. cos even if u're just using finger, sometimes it may accidentally scratch the screen.

so urs also decreases the sensitivity? cos i dun hear ppl complain on the Ipad. i wonder why. hmn.
Galaxy Tab is using Gorilla glass, it doesn't scratch even if you tried.
SP is unnecessary, but if you absolutely want to then go ahead just in case.
phantomash
post Aug 15 2011, 02:36 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 15 2011, 01:26 PM)
imho this is bs. i have a real gorilla glass device (n8) and the glass i tell u is ntg like the soft glass u have on the tab. the glass on the tab is more like the old LCD surface quality where when u press u have the NR effect.
uhh really? you sure its not because N8 is using AMOLED panel hence why it doesn't have the NR effect you mentioned?
and TBH I don't see this NR effect that you mentioned, I don't see why you'd call the N8 "real gorilla glass" device and not the Tab.
I have a HTC Desire, and I don't see how its different from the N8 my friend is using in terms of surface quality.
both are claimed to be gorilla glass display as well, as well as the Tab too.

Nowadays gorilla glass are very common and nothing worth bragging about anymore as I see it.
But if you still insist on applying SP, sure go ahead, its not like its a bad thing to have an extra layer of protection anyway.
phantomash
post Aug 21 2011, 08:44 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 21 2011, 08:39 PM)
since no one is reporting any new NR issue with the local set i am assuming they corrected the issue d.... rite?
I doubt it, its internationally known issue, I suspect its a design flaw.
but its not related to the Gorilla Glass like you thought it is, because Gorilla Glass is just the outer layer glass of the screen (which does its jobs protecting the screen from hairline scratches).
my guess is its more like because its too thin, thus causing the internals to be pressed on the screen layer
phantomash
post Aug 21 2011, 10:58 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 21 2011, 10:37 PM)
What is the display panel being used? S-LCD?

Saw the report about how it oust iPad2, but my friend who went and tried it feels iPad2 display better.

Where can I find a demo set to play with? Wanna see progress on Honeycomb.
Super PLS panel, Samsung's improved IPS panel display
quote from wikipedia
A new technology developed by Samsung is Super PLS (Plane to Line Switching), an advanced display touting 100 percent improvement in viewing angle and 10 percent increase in brightness. It is intended to supersede conventional IPS, with decreased production costs up to 15 percent as well as increased image quality. Display resolutions up to WXGA are supported. Mass production is planned for early 2011 for integration into smartphones and tablet computers.[4] Super PLS displays are used in Samsung's own Galaxy Tab 10.1.[5]

iPad 2 is using IPS display from LG, go figure

phantomash
post Aug 21 2011, 11:04 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Aug 21 2011, 11:00 PM)
Just play air attck hd.....
Omg i shock to see such nice graphic on tab.... Ipad lose in this graphic
yea! that game's quite breathtaking when playing on the Tab. One of my friend is kinda sold when I first show him Air Attack running on this Tab laugh.gif

btw try Galaxy On Fire THD too, that game's graphic is one of the best (for now).
phantomash
post Aug 22 2011, 12:12 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 22 2011, 12:09 AM)
Marketing stuffs I'm not interested. Thank you.
nah, I'm not trying to do marketing. LOL (why would I? I'm not selling anything)
just explaining stuff to you in a formal way laugh.gif or maybe you should have did some research yourself.

damn, even spoon feeding is hard these days.
phantomash
post Aug 22 2011, 12:24 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 22 2011, 12:18 AM)
I have seen that before, just wanna confirm.

I'm referring to samsung claim, not yours. Don't misunderstand. Seeing is believing, wanna see with my own eyes, not interested with brightness numbers.
alright, I misunderstood then, sorry about that. biggrin.gif
just wanted to help.

This post has been edited by phantomash: Aug 22 2011, 12:25 AM
phantomash
post Aug 22 2011, 09:23 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Aug 22 2011, 08:26 PM)
any1 face problem using the stock browser?
yesterday my browser still ok but today duno why my browser cannot load 100%
it will stuck around 70% then hang there...
any1 face this problem and how to solve it?
i try to clear chace but still no use....

Added on August 22, 2011, 8:38 pmOk back to normal after restart :-)
yea I have this problem too, I think its a bug dry.gif
phantomash
post Aug 22 2011, 11:58 PM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 22 2011, 10:43 PM)
Just back from 1U... so many people there due to Jusco reopening...

Back to the topic, tested the Galaxy Tab and I have to say still not there yet. Honeycomb problem or Tegra2 problem? Since Honeycomb is using GPU accelerated GUI, any lag would surely be a sign of the weakness of Tegra2 GPU? Am I wrong to think so?

Its hard to describe the screen. I think its something to do with the color, but neither do I like or hate it. It just felt so different from IPS or S-AMOLED+ that I used daily. I do find the whiteness (or brightness) amazing. Not because of its brightness level, but it felt so comfortable to look at high brightness without getting annoying like iPad2. iPad2 whiteness (brightness) is annoying and is not uniform across the screen. Certain part is brighter than the rest. The uniform whiteness is really in the class of its own.

I havent seen anyone done any serious test on Tegra2 and Honeycomb to see who is at fault here. Seriously, Samsung has what it takes, but maybe with next generation tablet. Apps launching is smooth, just the GUI lag pose the 1million dollar question. Issit Nvidia fault or Google fault?
IMO, its the OS's fault, hence Google's, Tegra 2 actually already has what it takes to make a fluid UI.
Honeycomb does have accelerated GUI, but apparently its not well optimized enough.
Hopefully ICS can solve this UI stutter and lag, a problem which a lot of users have complained, I'm not even sure if they can make it but I sure hope so.
phantomash
post Aug 23 2011, 12:04 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 23 2011, 12:01 AM)
I've finally bent over an bought myself a tab 10.1 lol. My first android device
yay rclxms.gif do post questions if you have any, enjoy it (or not). tongue.gif

0.0226sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled