Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

sidewinderz
post Aug 10 2011, 09:49 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Aug 9 2011, 06:12 PM)
Yeah, I understand the yellowish skin tone due to my WB. However, I'm not sure on how to capture the color as accurately as possible for straight out from camera photos (I remember there is a term for this, but couldn't recall sweat.gif).

I'm using Matrix Metering mode all the while in the event I'm shooting. Tried to used Spot Metering, but the tendency of overblown the exposure is very high. Therefore, I kept the settings on Matrix Metering and AWB. I shoot event where movements are fast and I wouldn't be able to pace up with it if I tend to keep changing the settings sad.gif
Yeah. To be exact, flash under uneven lighting. Some yellow some white.
I'm not sure if it's only me to be sceptical, I find that photos above ISO1600 on D7000 has intolerable noise. Well, I turned off both the NORMAL and HIGH ISO NR to preserve the details. Hmm... did not try on luminance setting processing with LR. Usually, what's the level of luminance to be recommended? Is there any recommended value?
Yo bro !

Well, I face the situation where the place has uneven lighting. As per mentioned above, some white and some yellowish. Given if I needed to handover the photos as soon as the event over, how would be the best method to capture the color tone as accurately as possible in a fast moving event?

Free to yumcha moh? Need tunjuk ajar leh biggrin.gif
tried using WB cap? custom white balance works best in tricky lighting situation.
sidewinderz
post Sep 3 2011, 11:07 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(iloveOov @ Sep 3 2011, 08:42 PM)
Yesterday plan to get 85mm...i have no idea in the end get this lens xD

nice purchase bro...

sidewinderz
post Sep 4 2011, 11:07 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Sep 4 2011, 10:57 PM)
24-70 has no VR as well. In fact if memory serves me right, Nikkor's lenses with aperture f/2.8 and larger has no VR such as 17-55 f/2.8, 24-70 f/2.8, 35 f/1.4, 85 f/1.4 respectively. Unless tele zoom lens such as 70-200 or smaller aperture such as 16-35 f/4 smile.gif

VR is not necessarily required for large aperture and short focal length lens.
forgot to mention the 24-120 F4 VR tongue.gif

sidewinderz
post Sep 4 2011, 11:12 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:08 PM)
This one seems good, F4 is sharp, not the girl F4 please.
hehe..yeap yeap!

i dun think nikon will release a version of 24-70 that has VR as 2.8 lens are generally fast and with ISO performance these days are pretty good especially for FF sensors.. smile.gif just blast it to ISO 12800 and you'll be able to get usable shutter speeds. smile.gif
sidewinderz
post Sep 4 2011, 11:26 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Sep 4 2011, 11:16 PM)
WHAT??? Nikkor 24-70 doesn't have VR? Wow, that's quite a ripoff then.. and after a quick check, neither does Canon's version of it.
there is a reason why those fixed apeture F4 lens have VR whereas the F2.8 lens do not...think bout it. smile.gif
sidewinderz
post Sep 19 2011, 10:49 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Sep 19 2011, 10:14 AM)
Does any1 know how much is the market price for a brand new Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 now?
price is around rm5.8k...great lens..using 1 now.. =)
sidewinderz
post Sep 19 2011, 02:10 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Sep 19 2011, 12:13 PM)
http://www.dwidigitalcameras.com.au/store/...?idProduct=1917
http://www.t-dimension.com/revamp/lenses-c...ens-f2-8g-p-388

Both from HK. Not sure if they ship to Malaysia tho. What is the threshold for importing in Malaysia custom for Camera and lenses btw?
ah...yeap..lenses are cheap in HK..got my tokina from there at like rm500+ cheaper as compared to MY.. smile.gif
hehe
sidewinderz
post Sep 19 2011, 02:10 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Sep 19 2011, 12:13 PM)
http://www.dwidigitalcameras.com.au/store/...?idProduct=1917
http://www.t-dimension.com/revamp/lenses-c...ens-f2-8g-p-388

Both from HK. Not sure if they ship to Malaysia tho. What is the threshold for importing in Malaysia custom for Camera and lenses btw?
ah...yeap..lenses are cheap in HK..got my tokina from there at like rm500+ cheaper as compared to MY.. smile.gif
hehe
sidewinderz
post Sep 19 2011, 02:12 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 19 2011, 02:10 PM)
international warranty only applies if u buy authorised sets.
so if u buy grey sets from whichever country ur in and go another country to claim, then cannot.
but if that country like hk states that its international warranty, can still claim it in MY?

0.0380sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:22 AM