Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

ieR
post Aug 16 2011, 09:36 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

color gel work till a limit only. but somehow, i dont like sb900 gel, its not that accurate, usually i force custom WB to it, add a little more magenta to get back the skintone. minus 2 contrast.

also, any lens with aperture wider then F4 usually will mess up the whole eV equation... due to wide open aperture like F2.8, the camera detect enough light, so the flash fires at lower power, hence the ambient color will still over power your flash, gel or non gel.

Added on August 16, 2011, 9:38 pmalpha_company: execution is prefect and impressive, just the composition is not impressive. i wanted to see the others who critics so much to actually come out photo like yours.

This post has been edited by ieR: Aug 17 2011, 11:26 AM
ieR
post Aug 17 2011, 12:57 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 17 2011, 04:02 AM)
Not too sure of your problem but metering can be fooled and the flash will underexpose. Perhaps that is why you see suggestions to use centre weight metering and using full manual flash or full manual exposure to fix more variables and less chances of the camera screwing up.

For me, the advantage of a f/2.8 lens is that I can expose close to the ambient light and let the flash be the fill light.
dude, it was a statement, not a question. yes, manual might solve it, but how many people understands it?
flash eV and ambient eV is totally 2 diff exposure, 2 diff WB(non gel),... if the FeV is enough, its enough, and if eV overpower FeV, u will get more eV color tint/cast. that why people use gel in the first place, and meter to kill ambient. unless you are capturing available light, then the WB just adjust to the ambient, u dont have a flash wb to disturb the equation.

another tedious work is to adjust back the mixture of dual WB by using photoshop, its easy for me, but the rest of people who never play with photoshop manual color balance will jump off KLCC.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 17 2011, 07:25 AM)
I rest my case, you just don't get what I'm trying to tell here.  doh.gif No point trying to explain to you.

OT: alpha_company, I wonder why... my NOD32 blocks your signature ._. first time coming across this kinda condition lol.
i second you.... doh.gif

-kytz-: not sure whose photo u seen, but many PRO, does heavy processing, FG/subject/BG.... so it look prefect, for example, see how wedding gallery burn the BG so much, sometimes they leave traces of improper exposure between sky(BG) and couple(subject). many of people here still shoot direct out jpeg. smile.gif so its not uncommon to see bad FG/BG exposure.

----------------------------------------------------------------
as for skintone issue, watch your environment! its important, shooting at jungle/with lot of green leaves, or brown trunks, the bounce light from sun/flash will cause tint, the WB is infra detection on light coming it, it detects Sun UV and it will run around 6500k, but after u shoot, realize there is too much brown/green tint from wood and leaves, its normal, use photoshop to correct it, its important to know basic skill on photoshop too.

Agito666 to simplify, to have dramatic effect, compose a contrast image. meaning strong differences in FG/Subject/BG
ieR
post Aug 17 2011, 01:09 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

well, see, skintone debate has been forever. there is no right or wrong.

chinese usually love white, fairer the better, hence canon was big pick by the chinese due to their low contrast and saturation sensor, (reason for low contrast and saturation is to help in the NR)

some people prefer ambient light to be capture to give the feeling, we were there. but photographer has been influence so much by the "rules" that white has to be white.

so in the end, its up to you. but then, i cannot stand photo taken around green trees, the terrible green skintone is bad.

This post has been edited by ieR: Aug 17 2011, 01:10 PM
ieR
post Aug 17 2011, 01:15 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

chilled~ lol, well, the gel thing, gimme sometime i find where is my old post regarding the aperture vs flash issue.

anyway, the worst WBskintone but great photo.

This post has been edited by ieR: Aug 17 2011, 01:16 PM
ieR
post Aug 17 2011, 01:21 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

oh ok, not that great... lol! notworthy.gif anyway i posted wrongly, that one by sony camera doh.gif (later kena tembak by mod)

this by nikon... sorry bout the noise, need to hit 3200 to shot this. total darkness. 1/2 sec exposure time, a little blurry.

This post has been edited by ieR: Aug 17 2011, 01:22 PM
ieR
post Aug 17 2011, 07:22 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Aug 17 2011, 04:33 PM)
people loves to comment, whereas actually they dont  have anything to show...
hehe~ yo bro~

i guess, they are still limited being bound to the "rules" which they cannot breakthrough... must rule of third, cannot cut hand, cannot show hidung hole,... i guess they never taken boudoir so doesnt know how to appreciate human body must flash if dark, must proper exposed,... wink.gif

Agito666: my composition :/ well, those 2 layer, subject + bokeh bg, is boring, so i push to 3 layer. if u understand.
ieR
post Aug 20 2011, 12:38 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

ikki9394: buying D7000 now, free 50mm F1.8D lens, why need to buy another 50mm?

This post has been edited by ieR: Aug 20 2011, 12:42 PM
ieR
post Aug 20 2011, 01:54 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 20 2011, 01:08 PM)
So called free 50mm, actually the prices of 50mm f1.8d already included in there.
nope, when my order before the promo start, but sold to customer during promo period, i get to claim the 50mm for free. its not included in the price. smile.gif

Darkripper: cokin holder is rotatable. smile.gif so u can just focus, then rotate the holder. or hold the holder when focusing.
ieR
post Aug 24 2011, 01:01 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:59 PM)
Help me with filter for my 50mm 1.8g

Q1, If i wanna get Tian ya filter, i get the followings? What else i miss? and Is it correct combination of adapter and filter holder?

Tian Ya TY26 Filter Adapter Ring - 58mm (Cokin P Series Compatible)
Tian Ya TY28 Filter Holder (Cokin P Series Compatible)
Tian Ya TYCPL Circular Polarizing Filter (Cokin P Series Compatible)

Sunset?

2) I need to put the adapter ring to my lens, then filter holder then only put in filter right?

3) The Circular Polarizing Filter is round round de, where to put, not like those Square filter slot in?

4) My only other lens is the kit lens 18-55mm, so i just need to get this: Tian Ya TY26 Filter Adapter Ring - 52mm (Cokin P Series Compatible)?

Appreciate sifu to help and feedback.

when the thing reach your hand, u will automatically say "owhhhhh, like that harrr" its easy wink.gif
ieR
post Aug 24 2011, 10:56 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

hahaha, actually, to be honest, i love this discussion, for new people who read these, they gain a lot of knowledge rather then, buy D7k, buy D7k, buy this that, why? because its good. can do this and that, but noone actually talked in-depth ~

i mean, without opposition, how the leading will improve themselves?

canon has been proud with their great iso, but ever since sony pops up, and nikon took sony sensor, canon position now is pretty unstable and looking back, canon has nothing much inside the camera except great iso... now sony iso is catching up, with so much add ons, with nikon leading metering (and other hardwares spec)... its a tough competition...

but, in the end, i hope we all still can be friends and learn from each other, what are OUR WEAKNESS and how we can overcome it. not what are our strength and show it off.

(partly i see nikon thread is so slow (unlike other spam thread) i come over to make some constructive argument to grow~ biggrin.gif)
ieR
post Aug 25 2011, 02:08 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

aiyo, in end of day, shoot raw la.. then mouse 2 click u adjust kao WB liao tongue.gif
ieR
post Aug 26 2011, 12:23 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

errr, my share of recomposition after lock, it takes experience, to actually uses it, in the past, F1.4 i recompose, sure out of focus, but today, i can do it and still maintaining sharp at the point i wanted to focus. i know this sound funny, but experience somehow let ur body automatically react to do things rite.
ieR
post Aug 26 2011, 05:23 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Aug 26 2011, 03:39 PM)

You mean you manually do 'front focus' and 'back focus' when recompose?

i mean, the body knows to move around when recompose to compasate the error.... er i dunno how to say this la... i use FF 50mm at F1.4, thats hell of shallow DOF. subject maintain sharp, and i know my unit doesnt has those tracking thing.... not everyone can felt it. because i understand my camera very well like my arm and leg, so i can somehow, do it.
ieR
post Aug 27 2011, 06:23 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

no, they suppose to announce the new mirrorless, but due to tsunami, they delayed the mirrorless, then everything also delayed, even D400. D800/4 will be next year story.
ieR
post Aug 28 2011, 07:11 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

oi, sztan and william, balik alpha there, jangan cause war sini.... my A300 picture pawn u two... tongue.gif (joking)
ieR
post Aug 28 2011, 10:18 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

oiii, when we used to say, we photographer is not control by camera, we control the camera (output) >.< kekekekeke~

jimlim: i like your picture.... cuteeeee (although is taken from othersite)

well, we are judging too early ler, cant say sony will do good this round until the financial report are out... or Statistics are out... i pretty sure nikon can pawn back anytime, nikon fans are waiting for their mirrorless system....and why SLT woul;d change the game? its just a new direction, it will not affect OPTICAL viewfinder market, because there is always, and WILL always has demand for it. the SLT will only create a new "breed" of photographer, like rangefinder group... or leica breed... even NEX is changing the mirrorless market game. smile.gif just more mix breed~ hehehe
ieR
post Aug 29 2011, 06:16 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Aug 29 2011, 09:57 AM)
all sony need now is the produce the 200mm, 300mm, 400mm, 500mm lenses for the sports photographers
naaa, i think they should target wedding shooters, there is more wedding each day then sport... so these photo story spread faster...
ieR
post Aug 29 2011, 11:54 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

3100 better in image quality~

but for future proof, 3100 lack of a lot space to improve.

reconsider D7000 or A580 or A35 or 600D
ieR
post Sep 4 2011, 10:47 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Sep 4 2011, 07:38 PM)
geez, a disadvantage to rivals for entry level face to face  hmm.gif may be nikon still seeing ppl buying this, so the sale spell out is not a concern  hmm.gif now i am clear on this, i previous asked by someone and i jam on this simple question  doh.gif thanks lwliam
well new people are not well educated, and after buying only shout "sh*t" and blame it all on being cheated.

but its not easy to educated people as many people are just gearhead and talks bout specs, brands, etc and easily mislead into "brand" conscious without really understanding the limitation of each "model"
ieR
post Sep 5 2011, 03:25 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:56 PM)
Hahaha I like the flash answer.

But if flash nt allow. Then VR will be handy.

There's a lot of if, better than none imo
what happens, when using iso1600 (say, D90 body), F1.4(obviously its prime), and u only get 1/5 shutter? thats when VR comes in handy...

This post has been edited by ieR: Sep 5 2011, 03:27 AM

0.0557sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:11 AM