V4 Volkswagen Cars Discussion : Golf,Polo,Scirocco, ..Eos/Passat/Tiguan etc. Das Auto!

omichael
post Sep 9 2011, 11:27 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(feeroz @ Sep 9 2011, 09:09 PM)
I have encountered a problem on my RCD 310, where my MDI couldn't detect both my Usb and ipod. It was working fine this morning.  Any ideas or where to start troubleshooting?

TIA.
I had this problem a few weeks back. Strangely after I turned off my engine and turned it on again, everything went back to normal. Hope your fix is as easy as mine!
omichael
post Sep 9 2011, 11:29 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(andy_heartless @ Sep 9 2011, 10:18 PM)
That one is mk6 or mk5? what's the difference for the 2010 gti?
And also, where can i find them?
MK6. Call a showroom dude.
omichael
post Sep 10 2011, 10:37 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Sep 10 2011, 10:16 PM)
One of the sales consultant in the Das Auto show told me that VW Polo sedan might cost around RM 9x,xxx.

If it is, is this good value?
VW cars are heavily customizable, so it really depends on the specs we get in Malaysia.

If it comes with DSG, a twin charged engine and bi-xenon headlights, then RM90k+ is awesome! thumbup.gif

omichael
post Sep 10 2011, 11:22 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Sep 10 2011, 10:40 PM)
I doubt.

India already launched Polo sedan, sold as Vento.

1.6 litre petrol, 6 speed automatic with tiptronic.

Russian spec Polo sedan also comes with 1.6 litre petrol.
Compared to other countries, the CBU VWs in Malaysia have pretty high specs to justify their "premium" positioning in Malaysia.

Given that the CBU Polo hatchback already comes with DSG and TSI engines, and costs less than RM110,000...

It might be possible that Polo sedan CKD, with its tax breaks, will have similar specs as the hatchback, but with a lower price.

If this really happens it's going to convert quite a few City, Vios and Forte buyers. Let's wait and see...

omichael
post Sep 10 2011, 11:47 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Sep 10 2011, 11:35 PM)
Spyshots in Port Dickson suggests that it is 1.6 litre...

http://paultan.org/2011/04/07/volkswagen-p...n-port-dickson/
Well that sucks.

omichael
post Sep 11 2011, 01:08 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 11 2011, 11:24 AM)
that's alot to be worried about, stock the best laugh.gif
Hehe stock Scirocco = nice.

My stock Golf TSI = sad.gif

I'm not a fan of cosmetic mods but every time I look at it I feel like... falling asleep.

omichael
post Sep 11 2011, 11:01 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(richardt3o @ Sep 11 2011, 10:09 PM)
Nah.. what i'm saying is...

in terms of power, the experience and all? opinion?

i know japan and conti is 2 complete car. so yeah. moving from japan to conti isn't easy. the mindset of japan being more reliable. not anymore though.
From a quality and performance standpoint, the GTI is worlds apart in every sense. If you had been to a showroom to test drive a GTI, you wouldn't need to ask this question.

Its build quality, especially the interior, makes the Vios look like a cheap pasar malam toy.

Power and driving refinement are at least 10 years ahead, thanks to tech like DSG and TSI. Handling is responsive, torque is abundant, acceleration is smooth, and driving at 180 km/h feels like 120 km/h in any lesser car.

But if you're looking for reliability, remember that VW is not as reliable as people think it is. DSG, especially the early batches, is known to be problematic, and Malaysian VW dealers are notorious for poor after sales service.

Many local VW owners are happy. But a few unlucky ones have to deal with issues like leaving their car at the SC for months while they wait for warranty claims.

You'll just need to decide if it's worth the potential hassle. I personally have no regrets... yet.

omichael
post Sep 15 2011, 01:21 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Sep 15 2011, 10:51 AM)
I read from review Mk5 have lot of minor issue which is solved in mk6.  I'm looking forward at normal Golf, i was wondering golf interior quality similar with gti mk6?
Interior quality of all Golfs are exactly the same. Doesn't matter if it's TSI, GTI or R.

The only difference is some of the accessories. For example GTI has steel pedals, tartan fabric and a flat bottom steering wheel. Normal Golf doesn't, but even its regular accessories are of equally good quality.

omichael
post Sep 18 2011, 01:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(fr0sti3 @ Sep 18 2011, 12:34 AM)
since the last changes to hire purchase act, buyers can only place down payment once loan has been approved by bank.
however bookings with vendor are not related to banks, it's to make sure you'll have priority getting the car.
Yeah deposit and downpayment are different. Deposit is simply to confirm your intention to purchase the car.

As for discounts, the sales agent should tell you upfront how much he can offer you. As far as I know VW discounts are mostly uniform regardless of what dealer you visit.

When I bought my Golf 2 months ago, the deal was 1% discount and 1 free service. I've heard of people pushing for 1% discount and 2 free service, but not any more than that.

The latest deal I heard of is RM3,500 discount for Golfs. Not sure if this is still valid, but if it is it's a pretty good deal.

There are also separate discounts if you buy a pre-registered 2010 car. This can vary quite a bit, so best to shop around if you want a 2010 model.

omichael
post Sep 18 2011, 02:45 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Sep 18 2011, 01:45 AM)
I'm very keen of upgrading to Golf 1.4 TSi, thing is i'm from Kelantan and i have to drive down to Penang everytime for servicing  rclxub.gif . Do you guys think i should go for it ?
It could be a little tough bro. VW service centers are notoriously slow, and sometimes they have to keep the car for a few days even for simple warranty claims.

Last time I had some rattling in my dashboard, it took them almost a week to return my car.

omichael
post Sep 20 2011, 12:23 AM

49 posts

Remember a while back somebody managed to screencap a prototype mould of the Golf MK7 from a VW promo vid?

Somebody's used that screencap to speculate on what the MK7 will look like:

When it comes out, I hope it doesn't make our MK6's look too outdated...
omichael
post Sep 21 2011, 04:08 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Sep 21 2011, 03:55 PM)
hi all, just wandering why the polo dont have alarm? coz the other day me n my wife go to giant. my wife was holding our baby so she doesnt close the door and i didn't check. i left my polo with the side door open for almost 2 hours....luckily nothing got stolen.....if got alarm sure it will sound if the door not close right?
My Golf doesn't have an alarm either, but the central locking will refuse to engage if one of the doors is not properly closed. It's very easy to tell because the locking lights won't flash when you press the lock button.

I assume the Polo should be like this too.

This post has been edited by omichael: Sep 21 2011, 04:09 PM
omichael
post Sep 24 2011, 02:13 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Lancc @ Sep 24 2011, 01:38 AM)
wow! Shadow blue is so nice.  Wish they had the this color option here
When I bought my Golf 2 months ago at Wearnes Bangsar, they still had Shadow Blue.

But now when I log on to the site, the option is gone. Discontinued maybe?

But to be honest I don't really like this color in the flesh. It looks kinda cheap and flat from certain angles, depending on how the sun shines on it.

Blue graphite is a much classier color, in my humble opinion.

omichael
post Oct 4 2011, 07:44 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(SeraphimGecko @ Oct 4 2011, 07:10 PM)
Btw, what do you guys do with the 2 wires behind the accelerator? Got casing for it?

Let me rephrase:
What do you guys do with the 2 wires behind the accelerator pedal?
Got casing for it? since it is exposed. Or the factory forgotten to install the casing for my car?

Looks weird that the 2 wires are exposed and it is located behind the pedal. I might accidentally step on it.
I asked the exact same question when I got my car. SA said it's normal.

It's ugly but I don't think it's a problem. It's not in a position where you'd accidentally step on it, and even if you did you'd need to use extraordinary force to do any damage to it.

This post has been edited by omichael: Oct 4 2011, 07:44 PM
omichael
post Oct 17 2011, 09:54 PM

49 posts

Been noticing something weird with my Golf TSI.

Sometimes when I get into the car and turn the knob on the driver's door to extend my side mirrors, it takes 5 - 10 seconds before the mirrors are extended. But sometimes it's instant.

Is this a fault or just a characteristic of the car? Has anyone else experienced this?
omichael
post Oct 19 2011, 02:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(zackloy @ Oct 19 2011, 11:38 AM)
Sadness.....bike knocked into my back and broke my left rear lamp...made police report but apparently want to claim third party insurance from bikes is very slim chance. Anyone has spare ori GTI rear lamp? Or can point me to a reasonable workshop? Ori from VW is RM414
Get the smoked rear lamp that comes with with GTI SE! Looks nice (but not as nice as Golf R lamp of course).
omichael
post Oct 29 2011, 10:10 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Oct 28 2011, 09:40 PM)
Hi Folks

What are goodies now for VW car? Thinking of getting the ROC 1.4 soon before year end.

Can recommend your SA? So far I see only 1% discount and 3 free service....
Why get a new car at end of the year bro? Better to wait until early next year so you get a 2012 car no?

Can recommend you my SA from Wearnes Bangsar. His name is Makhdzir and he served me quite well. PM me if you want his phone number.

omichael
post Oct 31 2011, 11:00 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 31 2011, 10:18 PM)
I collected the 1.4 Roc for a review. I've just swapped it today for this:

Nice pic bro. It's not easy to make the Golf TSI look sexy (I have one) - but you succeeded thumbup.gif
omichael
post Nov 2 2011, 02:49 PM

49 posts

Is anyone here actually planning to get Golf R? I can't imagine paying RM280k for a Golf, even with all the extra goodies. There are so many other options at that price point...
omichael
post Nov 7 2011, 11:04 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Nov 7 2011, 02:21 AM)
Sunroof is useless...Push start maybe ok..10k discount is greast deal..mine just 7k discount only
All you folks are getting good discounts! When I got mine about 4 months back I only got 1% discount plus 1 free service.

I guess it's because they know people don't wanna buy cars at the end of the year huh?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0280sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:06 AM