English Clubs Chelsea FC - All Blues, Chelsea 2 Bayer Leverkusen 0
ericling
Aug 15 2011, 05:26 AM
I don't understand there are still any reason to blame Torres. This guy, is the main attacker for us. Sharp. Good on the ball, he can hold the ball. When he started his run, Stoke defense was totally ripped apart. What we're poor in, Torres's strike partner on the two flanks, Malouda and Kalou performed really terrible.
Kalou was unbelievable terrible. He's out. Anelka might offer more. Lampard looked heavy, lack of composure, but I am not too worry about it, because Josh can replace him directly. Next game against West Brom at Stamford Bridge, Josh in for Lampard because west brom doesn't play too much physical,like Stoke did.
Speaking about all the replacement, again, we need to replace Malouda with someone has pace and can cross. But what, we have no squad depth at all. Anyone can replace him? No one. Well. I got to whine again about our lack of activities in transfer windows again.
I shall stop it. Winger, come on AVB. GRAB A WINGER.
This post has been edited by ericling: Aug 15 2011, 05:27 AM
mr_hahn_nemo
Aug 15 2011, 05:57 AM

i hate kolou.. he only perform as a supper sub.. we need our sturridge.. then HE can play alongside torres.. and if either one doesn't perform.. they can sub with drogba.. or vice versa.. A CREATIVE MIDFIELDER should be put as a 1st team line-up and a NEW FAST WINGER should replace malouda sometimes..
dynames07
Aug 15 2011, 08:41 AM

My MoTM is Torres. Played very well up alone even when the support suck big time (malouda, kalou and lampard). He even stand up to all the challenge by Woodgate. Looks very determined to change his luck but sadly, he didn't get the best supply out of his team mates. IMO, I'm proud because my new jersey got his NN at the back. I got high expectations from him ^^
Midfield is out of shape, like last season with the exception of Ramires and Mikel. Ramires is good INDIVIDUALLY but since this is a football game, he didn't combined well with Bosingwa. Maybe because last season Bosingwa is injured and Ramires didn't play during pre-season. So, they need time to click together. Mikel is good defensively. But he need to shake off the title 'King of Square Passes'. Instead being a totally defensive midfield, at least try to be our deep-laying playmaker. You can actually count how many forward pass he make and compared it to the amount of sideway pass.
Overall, this is actually a tough start for the team. Away to Stoke. We should be very grateful because the 1 solitary point come without any casualties. United won their game but they loss Ferdinand (6 weeks), Rafael (10 weeks) and Vidic. Nobody is injured and lets look forward for our next game!
imin
Aug 15 2011, 08:46 AM
glad to hear torres is regaining his old form. going to download the highlight now!
hidzwan
Aug 15 2011, 08:52 AM
ya lor. Torres damn good last nite. Kalou and Malouda as usual being below par. is it just me or we did pretty good in 4-4-2 instead of 4-3-3? 4-3-3 is so predictable thus allow opponent to easily prepare in shape.
Lampard is chelsea legend but no eternityl. if modric do come, please stay on the bench Mr. Frank. i hate to curse u in front my TV coz u're my fav player, but u've pass u prime. don't push it.
madfag
Aug 15 2011, 10:05 AM
the ref was ridiculous last night. its as if he was wearing stoke shades. multiple penalties denied, fine. some referees rarely give penalties because they dont have the cojones to do it. but what pisses me off is the manhandling of Cech EVERY corner/free kick into the box.
Malouda and Kalou was definitely below par, Lampard wasnt much of an impact either. what is lacking is still ammunition. we did not create enough chances!
epsonstylux
Aug 15 2011, 11:38 AM
IMO chelsea can never change the way they play if they are using the same player. imma chelsea fan dont get me wrong but since the latter stage of mourinho era, i noticed about how boring we play. this continues til now, even when we won. i do support chelsea but as a football fan sometimes arsenal, united, or even west brom plays beautiful game. in order to bring changes into chelsea, this may be a lil bit harsh but we need to kick out the backbone of this boring style of playing football. lamps shouldve follow mourinho to inter back then. malouda, and also kalou. sometimes mikel doesnt have any impact to the game.
in our defender, though terry is aging, i admire his braveness n determination. what we need is total revamp. i expect this in january
madfag
Aug 15 2011, 12:19 PM
but how do you explain our double winning season?
however i do admit that we need to clear out some aging players that are not performing
mr_hahn_nemo
Aug 15 2011, 12:35 PM

do what ferguson does.. combining youth + experience = MADNESS
epsonstylux
Aug 15 2011, 12:48 PM
that is why i said "even when we won" in the first place.
we won, but i wouldn't say im proud with the way we play. the transition ranieri to mourinho era was epic
masterpoloking
Aug 15 2011, 01:19 PM

frankly, im quite disappointed with the result but satisfied with the team performance... anyway it was a tough game after all (away vs stoke) looking forward to this saturday's match against west brom at SB ! http://www.chelseafc.com/page/LatestNews/0...2420400,00.html"Fernando Torres was many fans' pick of the Chelsea players on display during the 0-0 draw that opened the season" one of them, me This post has been edited by masterpoloking: Aug 15 2011, 01:26 PM
wintzen
Aug 15 2011, 02:12 PM
Despite the result, I think it was a pretty good match.
nanamiwashio
Aug 15 2011, 02:25 PM

even Tony Pulis oso said torres was lively
Nitheon
Aug 15 2011, 02:33 PM
Ok everyone, put sentimentality aside and let's be practical. If your job was on the line, who would be in the team?
Makes things clearer doesn't it?
Allow me to state the positives and negatives from last night.
PROS
1. Torres getting back to his old form. Very promising. Was able to create his own chances as well as for others.
2. Defence was solid. Even Bosingwa showed improvement (would still want to get someone else to replace him though).
3. Ramires, all energy, all hustle and bustle. Why not use him as our holding midfielder instead of static old Mikel?
4. Anelka still showing some desire and finesse. Drogba, if given more time could've fashioned a goal I'm sure.
CONS
1. Not much ingenuity and guile when faced with Stoke's resolute defence. CREATIVE MIDFIELDER AND WINGER NEEDED FOR THE UMPTEENTH TIME.
2. Lamps, it increasingly looks like it's time for you to take a backseat. Anonymous except for the penalty claim. Can't help but think Lamps is taking the place of someone more deserving or potentially so (McEachran, Modric?)
3. Woeful finishing, a constant throughout last season and on display again yesterday.
4. Passing was messy at times, lacked mobility and verve going forward.
All in all, 0-0 on paper looks bad but the performance gave us some positives worth building hopes on. Most noticeably that Torres could be depended on to lead the line.
So, team for the season ahead:
Cech
Bosingwa/Ivanovic, Terry, Luiz/Alex, Cole/Van Aanholt Ramires, Mikel/Romeu, Modric?/McEachran/Benayoun X, Torres/Drogba/Lukaku, X
I would think we need at least 3 new players. Two wingers to flank Torres and that troublesome creative midfielder spot.
hidzwan
Aug 15 2011, 02:43 PM
Kalou is not a natural winger. atm, only Malouda suit than position. probably sturridge wil regain the right spot back. my only concern is Lampard. his replacement is desperately needed. for god sake, just splashing the cash in bring in modric/ sneijer/ xavi/ kaka/ shweinsteiger.. #muppetryrage
Nitheon
Aug 15 2011, 02:48 PM
Oh yes, forgot all about Sturridge. He can take Malouda's spot anytime. But still, he's also best suited for a centre forward role to be honest. At least in terms of centre forwards for the future, we have Lukaku & Sturridge. Touchwood.
arezz
Aug 15 2011, 05:26 PM
same player and same style of play. need to sell malouda, kalou & anelka and bring in some new faces.
arezz
Aug 15 2011, 05:45 PM
bring in modric. also hijack nasri from city..
xhacker
Aug 15 2011, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(Akmal47 @ Aug 15 2011, 05:31 PM) hi guys....just wanna share my opinion on torres coz i see many of the "fan" seem love to bash him..i think torres play a good game last night....his movement with and without the ball is superb...he need someone to supply the ball.....in my opinion torres cannot fit with chelsea type of play... sometimes i feel pity for him coz whenever he in the right position and ready to make a run, the midfielder pass the ball somewhere else...the player like modric is maybe the answer for this situation....thats all  this.. i've seen not only torres but other players too.. lack of creativity i think..