Working in Singapore v7

ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 01:53 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(usopp @ Jul 28 2011, 01:32 PM)
tq bro for your reply.. and i'm really appreciate it.  i've been thinking about this job for quite few times.. i think i'm gonna roll the dice after raya. thanks again ya smile.gif  nod.gif
could be this the co ? blink.gif
http://certissecurity.com/sg/

ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 02:46 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jul 28 2011, 02:38 PM)
certiscisco is security and not police force?
http://www.spf.gov.sg/beextraordinary/

police need to be singaporean / PR blink.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 04:39 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 28 2011, 04:35 PM)
But what I don't get it is that y the pay its still in Ringgit Malaysia?shouldn't it be in Singopare Dollars?

Added on July 28, 2011, 4:37 pm
Certis Cisco is not part of the police force...its like polis bantuan....but certis cisco can be hired like for those security guards position like in banks/crowd control/concerts and etc
in ringgit it look more drool.gif , marketing sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 04:53 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 28 2011, 04:41 PM)
Yes of course.....and that's y the Singapore government will offer citizenship, to those Singapore PR males upon completing their 2years of NS.
After that if you're still a PR...your in-camp/re-service will be pretty 'useless' to a certain extend. I mean you won't get a good carrier path in life if one pursue/continue being a military officer for the Singapore government as a PR status, And also they will not allow to be in n around those highly sensitive areas...eg.....defense science n something similar, or like those central intelligence
so u sending your children to NS or not ?

ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 05:08 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 28 2011, 05:00 PM)
Not even married yet ler.......lol
u?

Added on July 28, 2011, 5:02 pm
but dont forget.....u will be spending SGD.......its not like u gonna earn SGD and spend MYR....so it doesnt make sense to put the salary as in MYR4k....if its like this...that means my actual pay in SGD will not be fixed...because of the exchange rates
currently my toughest question sweat.gif
want to deprive my son of the 2 year or not hmm.gif
most of my peers give up already, their son will go NS, they thinking citizenship already

still thinking rclxub.gif

ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 06:10 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(usopp @ Jul 28 2011, 05:25 PM)
overall from what u said is same like working in malaysia as a Supervisor at any perlabuhan.. my frend work as a supervisor at perlabuhan klang.. quite hard to meet him after he work there.. he said, go home only for eat n sleep oni... dont have much time to go outside with frend.. only can during offday.  the payment is around rm2.5k.. this job offers around rm3.6k... quite tempting. huhu.. i've got degree, now i work at one of a big companies in MY, but the post is not for a degree holder.. i need to work from below... and the pay is very low... thats why i keep thinking about this job.. i already tried soo many job application.. but still hard to get one.. even i apply a bank jr officer post, still didnt get it..

honestly, i'm not gud in english oral.. but my english is not bad.. i've got band 4 in MUET.. my only the problem is the speaking thing.. i hope if i got to SG, maybe i can improve my english communication... i wanna be better..

*is this a gud choice or not...? hope someone here can give some opinion...

*thanks to all of u here for give some advice about this job.. its really makes me thinking more deeply. and sorry for asking too many question, because i need to make sure that my choice is the right one for my future.  blush.gif
wow graduate fight rice bowl with spm holder for this job meh..
if rm3.6k look good, why dun consider SIA air steward job, can fly all over the world and i think they pay at
least 2-4 times more than that nod.gif

ivanswk
post Jul 28 2011, 07:04 PM

+J
2,110 posts

but bro u spoiling the market, later all sg employer want cheap grad from malaysia icon_idea.gif
u setting the wrong precedent

wat your degree about? here alot elite member maybe can offer u something

ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 11:49 AM

+J
2,110 posts

try not to rent from a single old lady, my own research stats show this will cause problem and sleepless nite
ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 12:05 PM

+J
2,110 posts

room, my research still apply, avoid single old lady
ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 01:40 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(ashland @ Jul 29 2011, 12:28 PM)
Care to share what is/are the finding(s) of ur research?  brows.gif
long ago, as career progress decided i have the mean to rent a small hdb on my own, so i call agent i saw in the internet which advert a location nearby where i am staying in boon lay, the place is 2 bedroom, where landlord lock one room up, so i get the whole hdb on my own, i went and view it, omg i was like, the place look so nice, and renovated look like a ikea show room with alarm fitted. the agent told me, the landlady, single stay with his boyfriend. smile.gif

i saw the old lady she look nice and quiet, and she mention she come back once in awhile cause she still have some stuff in her lock room, i pay the rental with deposit and agent commision fee and sign the dotted line

the horror begin. sad.gif

after i move in then few day, i found out the landlady actually staying in the house exactly opposite, that the boyfren place, feeling like being watch, then i look carefully, i think she watching with a binocular from the opposite side, then as i felt that got people touch my stuff when i went back malaysia, i did a test i purposely put my cloth according to certain arrangment, indeed when i come back i saw somethign is move, so she is ransacking my stuff and this is only the first month , then it get worse the landlady starting to accuse we temper with the door lock, and we over using the electronic good like the washing machine, i was like rclxub.gif we got the key to the door why ..we want to temper the door lock

then it get worse she call my office and checking on me, asking my snr, how my work performance, lucky my snr is close with me , she came back very often in the middle of nite to her room to take stuff, banging the door, waking me up.

finally i decided, although the contract is for a year, we mutually agree to revoke and i left, i stay for two month i think , i thought i was unlucky only

after thing back to normal.. i look back

i can say the whole thing is a conspiracy .. do u see IT vmad.gif

the agent is in IT shakehead.gif (case 1)

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 29 2011, 01:46 PM
ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 01:50 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 29 2011, 01:48 PM)
where have you tried ? no where ?
uh.. i search in internet, downloaded a copy cool2.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 01:58 PM

+J
2,110 posts

nolah.. my face not handsam enough, dun qualify for SIA also
was staying with my gf that time also .. she in her 50 and i dun think the boyfren is really her boyfren also, 3 of them is in it for the money

Added on July 29, 2011, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(paranoid @ Jul 29 2011, 01:57 PM)
i have the ebook.

i'm planning to go vivo city this weekend - pageone
wanna ask around if anyone has bought it somewhere, so i can go and get them there. wrong to ask??
Borders Wheelock
#01-00 Wheelock Place
501 Orchard Road
Singapore 238880
In Wheelock Place, at the corner of Orchard Road and Patterson Road

Telephone: 6235 7146
Facsimile: 6235 4981
E-Mail: General Enquiries
Hours: Sunday - Thursday: 9:00am to 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 9:00am to midnight

Borders Parkway
80 Marine Parade Road
Unit #B-155 Parkway Parade
Singapore 449269

Telephone: 6345 9796
Facsimile: 6345 0412
E-Mail: General Enquiries Special Orders
Hours: Sunday - Saturday: 10:00am to 10:00pm

call them, give them the ISBN no and reserve.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 29 2011, 02:00 PM
ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 07:28 PM

+J
2,110 posts

for other job seeker

for a 300k per annum job

for my fellow underwriter who wanna hop

ivanswk
post Jul 29 2011, 08:18 PM

+J
2,110 posts

a 400k per annum, almost ringgit 1 mil
based in kl, malaysia can pay
ivanswk
post Aug 1 2011, 09:59 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 1 2011, 06:52 AM)
dun worry, there's always geylang. As long as u pay, they won't ffk (wow it rhymes!!)

how come condo oso nid to lock one room? the owner intend to stay there once a while or something?
6.52 so early, aloong ?

the condo lock one room cause, heheh, u din watch Sliver before brows.gif

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0108162/

ivanswk
post Aug 1 2011, 04:14 PM

+J
2,110 posts

Added on August 1, 2011, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(toda6866 @ Aug 1 2011, 03:53 PM)

Added on August 1, 2011, 3:54 pmbtw, jz got a head hunter contacted me, but i guess i wil stay in this comp till i get my PR
so u apply already ? and waiting ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 1 2011, 04:20 PM
ivanswk
post Aug 2 2011, 01:14 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(xbeelkh @ Aug 2 2011, 12:35 PM)
sienz, I think I fail the last interview....  cry.gif  cry.gif
hehe u pass the interview, just that the Bangla is cheaper than u sweat.gif

Added on August 2, 2011, 1:19 pm
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Aug 2 2011, 12:57 PM)
I been applying for job that allow me to apply for S-pass for few months, so far still fail. I think I have to lower my expected my salary to WP now. is SGD1800 is enough for me save 30% of my salary.

my estimation:
Rental:700
Food:300
Transportation:200
no entertainment
still at bordeline to save 30% of salary. I can apply for similiar job in Malaysia to save on my rental , but my job scope require me to travel using my own transport, when my car had been stolen. really headache now. >_>
with 600 balance, still worth it meh ?
1800 wat industry u looking at ?
KL no 4k job ? cool2.gif

Added on August 2, 2011, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Aug 2 2011, 11:23 AM)
Agreed! Malaysia is only for filthy rich... if you are from low to mid level salaried person (salary below RM7K), u will damn suffer there.
depend on which part of Malaysia, if KL i agree
if my hometown Ipoh , then is alrite..

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 2 2011, 01:22 PM
ivanswk
post Aug 2 2011, 01:42 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Aug 2 2011, 01:32 PM)
I wish i am one. so that you can send me to work sweat.gif
btw to real topic. the range in southern area is around 550-700. I just pick the top one.

Added on August 2, 2011, 1:19 pm

IT industry. I know it is very competitive in Singapore. yes there is 4K job in KL, but you must know backup, database, exchange, windows, linux ALL IN ONE.  doh.gif  If you have all the skill mentioned, do you settle for just 4K?

Added on August 2, 2011, 1:22 pm
dun worry a lot of elite member will advise u later, i just probe for them hmm.gif

wat attract u to Singapore beside the strong currency ? brows.gif
u here already ? since u lowering your pay expectation, maybe u need to keep your cost low as well, 700 is on the high side

Added on August 2, 2011, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 2 2011, 01:33 PM)
If Muar or Batu Pahat leh? the double storey house price in KL may be can get a bungalor or a semi-D house.... hmm.gif
so where u planning to be for later part of your life ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Aug 2 2011, 01:49 PM
ivanswk
post Aug 2 2011, 01:54 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 2 2011, 01:49 PM)
I was able to live quite well in KL with a budget of 7K. Rented a 2 story terrace in Kelana Jaya, drove 2 cars (a 6km/L super petrol guzzling Proton Putra and a backup Datsun 120Y), ate pretty well, but due to the currency - probably had to think a bit longer to buy stuff like playstations, laptops and mobile phones etc.

Didn't feel like I was "damn suffer".
yes i also live comfortably, before i meet a KL gal who demand everyday fine dining, and collegues who like to go clubbing. But the killer was when the mortgage kick in.

ipoh gal is just less demanding .. especially the chinese ed one
ivanswk
post Aug 2 2011, 02:04 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Aug 2 2011, 01:58 PM)
will be back to Selangor at a place where is 1 hour drive from KL where i had already built my mansion ( tongue.gif not lar, just a semi-D) where i will retire there when i think i had earned enuff SGD$$$$. Will set up a shop there so that can have something to do to pass time instead of rotting there.  laugh.gif May be every month can earn 2k, should be enuff to cover daily expenses.. laugh.gif

Added on August 2, 2011, 2:01 pm
Haha...mine is more terror than you meet your KL gal  laugh.gif  laugh.gif , i also live very comfortably before i was introduced to visit the monster on the mountain and everyweek i was fighting that monster until i almost bankrupt.... rclxub.gif
u have the same plan as me , good loh nod.gif
monster on the mountain ? genting is it ? hmm.gif

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0781sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:57 AM