The Official Blu-ray Thread v13, Let's sharing BD news & BD purchase. ;)
refnulf
Jul 21 2011, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 21 2011, 05:44 PM) Amazon, I also surprise. (My mistake, he only get the Oceans, not the earth). But Oceans also quite old title already. ** Anyway if I can't get it with slipcover for all Disneynature series, I just not getting it. Is ok for me.. .they is plenty BD out there, can't finish to buy. Could be a different fulfillment center. That's crazy talk man  The series is too good to be missed! This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 21 2011, 09:54 PM
refnulf
Jul 23 2011, 09:50 AM
Andrew, maybe you should get some plastic sleeves to protect the slipcovers on the blu-rays.
You might leave em up on the shelf and not handle the blu-rays much, but there will be shelf wear eventually.
This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 23 2011, 09:51 AM
refnulf
Jul 23 2011, 12:58 PM
These are the only ones (for a decent price) that will fit the blu-ray + slipcover and protect it well enough. http://www.shop4tech.com/item1674.htmlThe rest on the market are not that great and don't fit the blu-rays + slipcover well enough. There are some from the UK which are the same size as the ones from shop4tech. And the cheaper ones on ebay (from HK) don't fit slipcovered blu-rays. If you want to keep your slipcovers well, you'll need plastic sleeves. In fact, I'd recommend them just for the normal blu-rays as well. You wouldn't want the covers scratched either. This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 23 2011, 01:06 PM
refnulf
Jul 27 2011, 10:02 AM
Earth The Biography is possibly the best documentary I have ever watched in my life!
refnulf
Jul 27 2011, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 27 2011, 10:05 AM) Oh! I plan to buy last time, then pending... Anyway still pending... maybe next month... I am full schedule for BD I want already.. can't add more  Normally with documentaries, you can stop and perhaps watch it a little later depending on your mood. This one, I couldn't stop watching. Had to finish it in one go  5 x 45 minute episodes.
refnulf
Jul 27 2011, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 27 2011, 10:28 AM) Oh! that great! kind of interesting... Lots of facts about our precious earth I never knew about. It'll keep you glued to the screen. At least it did for me, and I've watched almost all the documentaries available on the market! Visuals might not be as impressive as Planet Earth (due to it having older footage of events pre HD) but it's just as amazing. Also, How The Earth Changed History looks pretty good. Just started last night at 1am, but I had to sleep because of work This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 27 2011, 10:30 AM
refnulf
Jul 27 2011, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 27 2011, 10:39 AM) Actually I am interesting with UK release - Earth: The Box Set. If not mistaken UK is call Earth: The Power of the Planet (US is Earth: The Biography), and this box set came with extra title call "How The Earth Made Us" (US call How The Earth Changed History). http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00395ATR2Edit: I just check blu-ray.com review, it is confirm:US - Earth: The Biography = UK - Earth: The Power Of The Planet US - How The Earth Changed History = UK - How The Earth Made Us ** Thanks for your comment, I will get it soon Earth: The Box Set.  I prefer BBC edition from UK as it is much more cheaper and BBC origin from UK.  Cheaper yes, but even the US versions have the original presentations. You won't regret the set! I'd be careful though, not sure if it's region free. This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 27 2011, 10:54 AM
refnulf
Jul 28 2011, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 28 2011, 02:26 PM) Haha! Actually they is a part showing an old classical film... not fun if I said out that film. Added on July 28, 2011, 2:27 pmhow?  Clint Eastwood yes? And by slipcovers!
refnulf
Jul 29 2011, 04:58 PM
Sharpay's Fabulous adventure had a pink case yes. Here's a few more...
refnulf
Jul 29 2011, 06:52 PM
Early cases of Whip It and all that were green, but all new ones are in blue.
refnulf
Jul 31 2011, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 30 2011, 11:57 PM) Check around others forum, I notice more and more, nearly 90% UK new release blu-ray slipcover is top naked now, UK blu-ray packaging now not only ugly because of nipples, now it became extreme ugly as Topless with Nipples!  That's how it's been since UK had blu-rays. Take it easy.
refnulf
Jul 31 2011, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 31 2011, 12:00 PM) Welcome  actually they is plenty FNAC cool packaging but difficult to get and I worried on hard print subtitle as France often loving doing that, also region issue. Beside this, all Netherlands release is different packaging and pretty nice as well. I am ok with the nipples but not the topless, last time not that much shorten slipcover, but now seems every new release is shorten edition. Yark! Actually, majority of UK slipcovers are like that. Only a few are full case.
refnulf
Jul 31 2011, 06:40 PM
Nevermind was the first CD I ever bought. Wow.
Too bad the deluxe, super deluxe is out of my price range!
HP Collections from France looks good. Too bad I only buy the US/UK. I hope they release a decent collection with more than what they offered in the Ultimate Editions.
This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 31 2011, 06:43 PM
refnulf
Aug 3 2011, 07:05 PM
Andrew, it looks like it's just for eastbound. Don't panic yet. Might just be that HBO show.
refnulf
Aug 4 2011, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 4 2011, 11:40 AM) I do not take the reviews there seriously. You must remember that each reviewer there has his own movie tastes and sometimes that features heavily in the reviews. Even the pq and aq is sometimes incorrectly stated. Plus, one man's meat is another man's poison so never buy a blu-ray based on a review. The user reviews (in the other section) is a lot more informative I believe. This post has been edited by refnulf: Aug 4 2011, 11:47 AM
refnulf
Aug 4 2011, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(jmdibr @ Aug 4 2011, 12:08 PM) arrived yesterday ....was shipped on 23 July via i-parcel, only 12 days new records from i-parcel i suppose  Almost didn't see LOTR, blends in nicely with your rug.
refnulf
Aug 5 2011, 03:03 PM
Premiered on Cartoon Network on the 29th of July 2011. Only 2 episodes out so far, I don't think you'll see a blu-ray for it anytime soon.
refnulf
Aug 9 2011, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(scmah73 @ Aug 9 2011, 04:20 PM) can i ask those who have BBC planet earth BD, it's the background music most of the time like as the link below when watching the documentary or just the uploaded person edited it ? cause i felt awesome when watching with soundtrack like that. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6v2L2UGZJAM&feature=relatedSome music, but mostly narration along with the real sounds from wherever they might be at that particular time.
refnulf
Aug 10 2011, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Aug 10 2011, 09:14 AM) Bro WiNd, beli jgn tak beli.. this movie very awesome wan.. esp. if they include the interview footage.. I dunno is real of fake (repeating Andrew San sentence!) but it will make you think a lot after you finish watching the whole movie.. this movie not like your typical E.T. , MIB etc..  It's fake. Good concept but not very convincing. Also, the stories were not integrated very well. This post has been edited by refnulf: Aug 10 2011, 09:47 AM
refnulf
Aug 11 2011, 08:25 AM
Plus, you can't confirm how many more POTC movies that will be made. Maybe 6 total? Depp is already on the verge to confirm participation in the 5th installment (reported on 6th July). So I wouldn't bother with any collections right now till they're all out.
Hard to say.