SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB : Official Thread V3, Best and most portable 7" Android tablet
Jul 1 2011, 11:24 AM
4,776 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Thanks for setting up v3, bro! The Tab thread lives on..
Jul 6 2011, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(kokifung @ Jul 6 2011, 06:32 PM) Ic thanks for reply.. Does it have the record of puchase apps, then will allow me to download again without charging me right. Yes. Except for some purchased apps that tie to IMEI, like RockPlayer (waste of my money) and PhoneWeaver (licensed only for my SGS' IMEI). |
Jul 6 2011, 08:33 PM
Jul 7 2011, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 7 2011, 10:57 AM) Noted Overcome site is down and will only be up over the enxt 24 hours - probably a better version of Hermes. I am still on 1.6.4 Froyo - the best I find to date, virtually no issues. I think a new overcome release based on a different gb stock base is coming very soon. like u, I also find oc1.6.4 froyo to be the most stable and solid custom rom for the tab. hermes gb is slicker and smoother ui-wise but doesn't feel as good..Wanted to try Hermes but procrastinating until wanted to - site down |
Jul 7 2011, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(thepittbull @ Jul 7 2011, 01:19 PM) Hi Uncle Benny/kmrdeva, Checked my inbox and it made my day, bro! Yup, there's a new version coming up. We're moving to a new base, instead of the older Italian-JQ1 base. This one is indeed much smoother that the first Gingerbread version Samsung released. Should be released tonight (MY time) Check your inboxes yeah, and please do me that favor I asked in that PM? Thanks. tpb Don't worry, I will abide by your request. |
Jul 7 2011, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 7 2011, 06:51 PM) Officially no honeycomb Ya, I don't quite see the benefit of running HC on our Tabs, if ever a stable non-Samsung one is available. Have not experienced anything super-impressive when I payed with HC tablets currently available at shops, other than thinking, 'damn, too big la, cannot slide into my manbag'..unofficialy at xda there is a rom based on it but plenty bugs actually having use hc 3.1 on my iconia nothing great or exciting in it. It is an os you will not die for . |
Jul 7 2011, 11:37 PM
Jul 8 2011, 12:34 AM
Went the non-wipe upgrade path from Hermes a couple of hours back. No complaints, just full of praises!
Thanks OC team, especially to dear thepittbull for the sneak preview! This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jul 8 2011, 12:34 AM |
Jul 8 2011, 06:19 PM
Jul 8 2011, 06:26 PM
Jul 11 2011, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(alambiru @ Jul 11 2011, 09:37 AM) Hmmmm... seems like all the sifus here only talking about customising and updating this & that! We newbies no one wana answer... I asked some simple starter questions, and they havent been answered? sorry abt that. well generally your questions will be ignored if:Or is there another forum thread I shud ask simple questions in? Please guide me. Tx. 1. they've been answered in the first few posts where all basic (and some advanced) stuff has been compiled for newbies who sometimes seem to have problem with reading but can are good at typing questions. 2. your questions can be easily answered via a bit of DIY in Google search. 3. we don't know the answers so kinda pointless to reply with 'i don't know'. we're not all sifus here. 4. we missed your post as the thread is very active. 5. someone else asked similar questions and they were answered a few pages or posts back. if you are lazy to search the thread or read a few pages, most of us will be lazy to reply to the same questions again also. 6. some sifus are busy with their lives so they may reply much later than expected |
Jul 11 2011, 04:09 PM
Jul 13 2011, 10:46 AM
Icarus is working fine for me, no issues at all that I can notice. I don't UV or OC since battery life is good enough for me. Don't use my Tab as a phone though since my Maxis broadband sim is in it. I've even set my Tab to 3G only and I've not had any issues.. Not sure why so many here and at xda-dev are encountering problems, I upgraded via CWM (non-wipe) from Hermes, wiped cache, dalvik cache and fixed permissions before my first boot.
Jul 17 2011, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(joeyap @ Jul 17 2011, 07:10 PM) as for me, when I'm on the move, I use my sgs phone. whenever I can sit down somewhere (eg coffee bean, kopitiam) I will use my tab. phone calls and SMS only with phone. games and videos only with tab. other than that, since I have identical apps on both devices, I will use my tab when my backside is rested and phone when it's not.. |
Jul 18 2011, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(epul @ Jul 18 2011, 12:37 PM) American dude - darkpal Don't forget alterbridge86, the main developer. American youngster, if I am not mistaken.Egyptian dude - mkhattab Malaysian dude - pittbull. Only 3 person but can create new rom very fast Donated a little bit to his paypal account twice. Am thinking to donate one more time, the OC team's work breathes new life to the Tab, so much so that I am not the slightest bit tempted by any of the newer honeycomb tablets. This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jul 18 2011, 12:43 PM |
Jul 18 2011, 01:02 PM
Jul 18 2011, 02:49 PM
Jul 18 2011, 09:59 PM
Jul 18 2011, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 18 2011, 10:10 PM) Gone back to 1.6.4 - still the best and most stable. Latest Jupiter issues of scanning SD continually and slow is irritating. Also faced several auto resets while browsing Not facing any issues yet so far with Jupiter. As I had agreed before, I still think OC 1.6.4 is still the best custom ROM by far for the Tab.I installed a fresh Jupiter from scratch , reinstalling my apps one by one Added on July 18, 2011, 10:15 pm QUOTE(joeyap @ Jul 18 2011, 10:12 PM) I carry it everyday outside for daily use as a tablet This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jul 18 2011, 10:15 PM |
Jul 19 2011, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(YCK @ Jul 18 2011, 10:20 PM) What kind of problem?Added on July 19, 2011, 10:28 am QUOTE(epul @ Jul 18 2011, 11:26 PM) yup did try oc 1.6.4 only for few hours. can play nove full screen compare to the other OC rom. still stick with hermes I think I read somewhere that Nova does not work properly or run at all on any GB rom for the Tab, even stock roms, not only on Overcome GB roms.Added on July 19, 2011, 10:30 am QUOTE(Alternation @ Jul 19 2011, 01:11 AM) I've accidently upgraded my tab to gingerbread 2.3.3 european version which is XXJQ1 using Odin. I need to revert it back to DXJPE in order to type in Chinese. I thought we just need to install a keyboard that supports chinese input on any ROM to enable chinese text input? No need to change to Asian rom for this as far as I know.This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jul 19 2011, 10:30 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0454sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:12 PM |