SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 01:52 PM

7,044 posts

just sharing something interesting...

it seems that if you sign up for digi's smart plan lite (300mb limit) in the middle of your billing cycle, the charge is pro-rated. when i asked if the limit is pro-rated, i was told it is not.

so if you have 5 days to your next billing cycle, you get charged for 5 days, but you get the 300mb download. for the lite plan, after 300, your data is suspended. i guess if you have 3-4 days before the next billing cycle, this is one good option.

then the day before the next billing cycle, upgrade to the unlimited data plan. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 02:04 PM

7,044 posts

got my sgp ultra silke + ultra crystal clear SP just now. rm85.

wish me luck when i try sticking the SP. have never been good at it (as evident from the failed attempts when trying to stick car stickers and road tax). smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 02:05 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 7 2011, 02:04 PM)
Why need to ask telco to disable data? In the phone there is option for u to choose data enable/disable function to disable data & let your the phone run on 2G only network for normal SMS/voice calls.
well, just to be on the safe side... lol...
mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 02:16 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 7 2011, 02:10 PM)
Another safe method is just delete all the APN setting in the phone  tongue.gif

Btw, finally u got your phone, congrat  rclxms.gif

no sim card inside yet. will do so later tonight.

anyway, just wondering... anyone knows if 'restore to factory default' will delete certain files/ applications that comes ori with sgs2? i mean... for the Asus Transformer tablet, i know that 'restore to factory default' will remove some of the music clips that originally came with the tablet.

i plan to do a restore but if there are files that will get deleted and i want them, i might wanna copy them out first. the music clips in the TF101 was very nice so now i need to ask other TF owners for the files...
mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 03:32 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Jul 7 2011, 03:28 PM)
for those who have rooted, any chance you can access the amazon store?
or is it still locked/there's really no way around their region locking?
for access to amazon store... a known work-around is:
* register as new user
* for address, provide a US address -- you're not shipping anything, so try your luck -- maybe put Google's address?!?
* use those test visa card number (go Google for them)

based on feedback i've seen, it works. have not tried it personally, though.

mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 03:46 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kaenaob @ Jul 7 2011, 03:42 PM)
i really want to get this phone.. anybody knows where i can get this phone thru maxis plan?
digi shops are selling it... just go into digi shop and ask for sgs2 with maxis plan... whistling.gif

already said maxis plan... means maxis outlet lor. if you need to check further, maxis website features this phone. and listed on the phone is a link that says "where to buy".
mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 03:48 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jul 7 2011, 02:16 PM)
anyway, just wondering... anyone knows if 'restore to factory default' will delete certain files/ applications that comes ori with sgs2? i mean... for the Asus Transformer tablet, i know that 'restore to factory default' will remove some of the music clips that originally came with the tablet.

i plan to do a restore but if there are files that will get deleted and i want them, i might wanna copy them out first. the music clips in the TF101 was very nice so now i need to ask other TF owners for the files...
i guess nobody bothered with factory restore -- everyone just get the phone, wipe, flash rom, etc... lol...
mydragoon
post Jul 7 2011, 04:22 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kaenaob @ Jul 7 2011, 04:06 PM)
maxis got no stock la for the time being.. jadi a bit crazy running around for the phone..
actually.. which one is worth? buying this phone with maxis plan or buy it by retail price?
depends on your needs. if you have a data plan already and still in contract, then getting this means you have two contracts.

if you dun have a data plan, you will need to get one -- else its kinda waste to have a smartphone but rely on wifi for data.

if your current telco is not maxis... then ya, worth to just get retail unit. you miss out on the discount but if you're a heavy data user, you're going to be thankful you're not using maxis (unless you have corporate data plan as mentioned by others).

but honestly, this is discussed so many times... some even posted a comparison between maxis vs retail plus some simulation, etc... why dun you read thru or search thru the thread? else, easiest thing for everyone -- just buy retail. Samsung in 1U should still have stocks. even if not, the 'guarantee' no longer than 1 week for orders.

mydragoon
post Jul 8 2011, 08:56 AM

7,044 posts

heh heh... i guess my turn has arrived... thumbup.gif

i just got my sgs2 not too long ago. i m so happy and excited. i read about root in the forum... can anyone PLEASE tell me what is root? what can i get from rooting my phone? and how to root? got step-by-step? newbie here. sorry, thread go so fast and i got no time to read from v1 to v7. rolleyes.gif

seriously though... still have yet to move my sim card from old phone to new one. just applied SP on it last night. did download a few stuffs via wifi... and what else? personally, i quite like the sgs2's android interface... ppl complaining not good, etc... well, i've yet to explore further but so far it seems good enough for basic use.

but i will be rooting my phone coz the dang home screen is screen #1 (left most). i fnd that a bit of a hassle since moving to the last screen means i need to do 6 strokes. they should have put the home screen in the middle like what it is done on Asus TF. root so i can mode the home page and make it page 4. i recall it requires rooting to mod that file.

will be installing kies later to just check for firmware updates, etc...

Added on July 8, 2011, 8:56 am
QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jul 7 2011, 08:58 PM)
i pre order at giant kelana jaya. stock hasnt arrive yet, too many orders already !
from alex? smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 8 2011, 08:56 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 8 2011, 09:00 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(dahool00 @ Jul 8 2011, 08:57 AM)
SGS 2 = RM2099
Belkin Screen Protector RM = RM50
Silicone casing = RM150
Price on the face expression when the phone drops on the floor = PRICELESS

Hehe - joking, sorry
i think he meant his SP... smile.gif
mydragoon
post Jul 8 2011, 09:38 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(KLHC1964 @ Jul 8 2011, 09:13 AM)
Bro or Sis - read la the first page - or google - and if you want to reduce the # of screens just squeeze the screen with the two fingers and drop them into the bin - benny will come after you if you dont do any self help education
u actually take me seriously?!? after i some more bold it?!? lol... doh.gif

nolar, dowan to reduce the number of screens... nvm.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jul 8 2011, 09:39 AM
mydragoon
post Jul 8 2011, 11:13 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jul 8 2011, 11:09 AM)
I think read speed for all MicroSD cards are almost the same, average 20Mbps...
Last time i tested 1Gb class 2(Kingston), 2GB class 2(Kingston), 4GB class 4(Sandisk) and 8GB class 4(Toshiba)... all the read speed is around 20Mbps+...
curious to know how is the write speed... quite sure will be taking lots of photos and videos on sgs2... dun want write to card to be the bottleneck...
mydragoon
post Jul 8 2011, 02:37 PM

7,044 posts

its friday... so letting you guys have a good laugh at my expense...

just got my 1st 'official' call on my sgs2. earlier on, had tested calling myself from the office after i inserted the sim card.

anyway, wanted to answer this official, so pressed the green icon...

...eh, how come phone still ringing?

...pressed again the green button... still ringing.

panic... its an overseas call... means important.

...press and press again the green button. still nothing.

press other buttons... nothing.

call ended. officially, my first miss call.

...then tried to call back. press the phone button.

...eh, what the heck happened to the keypad. how come only see call notification?!? press back. then press phone again. same thing. no keypad.

...repeat 2 more times... thinking... what the heck is wrong with this phone? sim card rosak? why no more keypad?

then realised... the keypad tab was 'hidden' -- scrolled and found it.

tested calling myself from office and see how to answer call... now i know. swipe. smile.gif

hope you guys had a good laugh. now i can understand how i member posted earlier about boss not answering his call. member posted the boss just got the sgs2 and figuring out how to answer...
mydragoon
post Jul 8 2011, 02:49 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 8 2011, 02:46 PM)
Setting/call n set home button to take call
hmmm... i guess i will do that. ya, i was trying the home button too but nothing happened at that time. thought it was screenlock going haywire on me or something... lol... learnt something new.

anyway, found out who called... spoke to him and thanked him for teaching me how to answer call on my new phone. smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0192sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:13 PM