4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V7, The ultimate Android super smartphone ??

Eiraku
post Jul 6 2011, 05:05 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Jul 6 2011, 04:48 PM)
ermm i did not clear cache.. how to knw if its hardware defect? there is no obvious problem of the phone.. i just feels it.. i felt my previous iphone 4 was smoother than this. or did i expected too much from a dual core??
Yes, you did expect too much. Go use an Ipad 2 for a while. IMHO it HAS it's laggy points, which shouldn't even happen supposedly.

BUT, IT SHOULDN'T BE LAGGY ALL THE TIME. If it is, something's wrong.

haishhh i just hope this is really just bugs... yes i do reads ppl are satisfied with SGS 2.. but i dunno y my SGS2 like this.. or is it just ME? i used DHD before, its just more or less the same with it.. dual core should be wayyyy better right?
Better yes. Wayyyyy better? Android, and most of it's apps ARE NOT QUITE dual-core optimized yet, really. And the stock browser is crap to tell you the truth. Get something else.

And again, about lag, it should have it's laggy points, but should be smooth generally. Android IS NOT GPU ACCELERATED, so it will NEVER be as smooth as the i4. At least not on Gingerbread.

am i from apple?.. how should i define my niche.. i use both OS and changing regularly.. i like both, and im not fanatic to either one, just looking for the best, even if Symbian better i will go for it. i used android since HTC HD1 (Symbian before that), then keep on upgrading, then change to 3gs, then to desire Z, then DHD, then back to 3gs, then iphone 4, then IS, then SGS2 (this is my very first samsung)  sweat.gif .. well, maybe its just me, or my phone.. HARD RESET tonight! haishhh..
Do try hard resetting. If it's still laggy most of the time, either something IS wrong or everything is simply not smooth enough for your preference. And do go try comparo with somebody else with a stock SGS2.

And actually, to tell you the truth, the i4 might seem smooth and quick, but is in truth quite slow. I ran my i4 back in the day with fakeclockup - faster animations - and my i4 will more often than not take it's sweet time after the transition animations (app launch) have finished to launch whatever I tapped on.

Apple hides the slowness of the OS behind those smooth and extended transition animations. Clever and devious.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 6 2011, 05:14 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 12:24 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Jul 6 2011, 11:45 PM)
Stock player can't play mkv file. Need 3rd party player like MoboPlayer.

SGS2 can play mkv files smoothly. I've tested it with DIVX Plus HD format. If you wanted to test, download the video from this link...

http://www.divx.com/en/electronics/solutio...x-plus-hd/video

The videos I've tested were the GI Joe and Ironman.
Eh, my SGS2 plays MKV what?

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jul 6 2011, 11:43 PM)
Use Go Launcher EX. Better than ADW Launcher.
Go Launcher EX is overkill for me. I don't need its app drawers AND it's RAM consumption was a tad bad for a mere launcher so I sudah buang. Also felt like my battery drained a tad while using GoLEX.

Tried LauncherPro, it FCs all the time, Zeam is just boring bcoz it's unthemeable. So that leaves ADW for me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 7 2011, 12:25 AM
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 04:04 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Slekerz @ Jul 7 2011, 03:30 AM)
I just order genuine samsung galaxy S2 MHL adapter for RM 115, you can order from this website drool.gif  biggrin.gif MHL adapter
I got from exportprive.com for about RM90. RM10 is shipping minimum, but I chose express for a little bit more.
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 09:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

About the people not being able to set up push in K9, just use IMAP. IMAP = Push lar brader, polling is just to keep the connection from dropping out. POP3 is the one that is NOT push. I'm personally using Kaiten (a far, far smexier modified - and paid - version of K9) and my mail comes to my phone instantaneously. Even with that I still get 10 hours of medium usage so no worries about battery life here.

That being said, while I'm absolutely raving about the Digitally Imported app, it eats batteries AND data like no tomorrow. I went back to a 5-6 hour battery cycle today, largely because the thing prevents deep sleep.

I wonder if the stock music player prevents deep sleep too, which means that music heads have a 5-6 hour battery life or worse? Crappilicious.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 7 2011, 09:25 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 09:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Wait a minute. Anybody here with:

1) A yaobao battery (or any other 1000/2100mA output battery pack)
2) A usb split cable (like the ones for older external 2.5' HDD in case your USB port don't have enough power)
3) USB OTG wire
4) A 2.5' external HDD.

I have an idea I have been toying with since the day I experimented with OTG on my old N810. It's like this, a 2.5' HDD WILL NOT work with the SGS2 or any other OTG device because it is not supplied with enough power right? So....

1A USB BATTERY PACK
\\
=====SPLIT CABLE============= USB OTG CABLE=== SGS2
//
2.5' HDD

Anyone willing to try if this would work?

I've done it before with a 500ma output battery pack, and my N810 COULD READ the HDD for about a second, but trying to access it kills the connection out. I've been thinking I needed to supply power or something.

Seems kinda pointless but really, you guys with Yaobao packs already carry them around everywhere right? You just need a spilt cable.

Oh and guys:

UPDATE FOR BULK PURCHASE GUYS: Bulk ordered, wires on the way.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 7 2011, 09:46 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 09:53 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Jul 7 2011, 09:47 PM)
bro u reli planned to develop ur SGSII into pocket pc doesnt u  brows.gif
Well mate, I DID have plans to buy OR build something similar to THIS for my iPhone 4:

I mean, we have tablets for that, but you can't fit a tablet in your pocket now rite? And I only need the screen to be huge when I'm stuck on my desk. Still searching for a well priced fresnel lens to do this.

But yeah, I've been trying to find the perfect "pocketable mini-PC" for years. Palm Zire -> Sony Clie -> Dell Axim -> Nokia 5800 -> Nokia N97 -> Nokia N900 -> E71 + Nokia N810 -> iPhone 4 -> SGS2. I think its a similar thing with every other smartphone enthusiast too.

I mean, I now can take pictures for an event, and frigging ask for a pendrive for anyone who wants the pictures lol. That's just how "pocket PC" the SGS 2 is, battery life notwithstanding.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 7 2011, 10:01 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 11:30 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 7 2011, 11:09 PM)
just got my otg cable... eh so it is same with microsd card, can't read NTFS also lor? T-T
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1131924

Thread about enabling NTFS for SGS2. Which has existed even before I got my SGS2, the reason why I'm wondering why there's all this halabaloey about not being able to mount NTFS.

BUT: It IS a bit technical, involving *GASP* the terminal. As for me, I don't have a need for it YET, so maybe later.

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Jul 7 2011, 11:21 PM)
These step taken from GMAIL web...anyway all my email sync in BB 9780 and my SGS2 (both phone will alert same times)....but make sure u enable your IMAP in GMAIL account.

To configure the 'Email' app on an Android device for access to Gmail, just follow the steps below:

Enable IMAP in your Gmail settings.
    On your phone, press < Home >, then open the Email application.
    On the 'Your accounts' page, select Next to get started with setup.
    Enter your full Gmail address and password, then select Next.
    On the next screen, you can give the account a nickname and choose the name to display on your outgoing messages. Tap Done.
It's this part that people always don't know about.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 7 2011, 11:35 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 7 2011, 11:49 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Jul 7 2011, 11:42 PM)
i been using that IMAP function since my HTC Tytn II day.....
Yeah, as I did back in my winmo days (tho for some odd reason I prefer pop3 for my desktop t-bird).

But most other "push" systems don't require users to go to gmail and change settings, so they don't know.

And about not sharing the ntfs link, well I mentioned it before on v4 or v5, thought it made page one edi.
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 12:58 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jul 8 2011, 12:43 AM)
Slightly over priced ......RM300+ if i am not mistaken
You're not mistaken, though in the greater scheme of things, it's not bad. Though not as good as certain Class 6s in random read/write.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jul 8 2011, 12:05 AM)
Just curious, why need to use third party app for push notification? Samsung social hub not good enough for that?
For some people, they would be perfectly happy with the stock apps provided. Nobody's stopping you from enjoying that.

On the other hand, for some people, the stock Samsung email app is simply insufficient and thus they need to replace it with something else. Social hub for Facebook/Twitter use was not cutting it for me too - so I ditched everything.

That's the beauty of Android, is it not? Replace what you don't need/want with what you need/want. Nobody is stopping you from doing - pretty much - what you want.

Stock SMS - BAM frozen, replaced with GO SMS. Stock Email and Social Hub - BAM frozen, replaced with Kaiten, the Facebook app and Tweetcaster Pro. TouchWiz - BAM frozen, replaced with ADW Ex. I've pretty much frozen or uninstalled every piece of Samsung Software on the device that I don't need or I don't use. And the phone just chugs along fine, no reboots, no freezing, nothing (though I DO NOT encourage people to go on a freezing warpath like I did).

Right now I'm just happy my email client is MILES better then what I had on iOS. AND, Kaiten Mail does things by auto-magic too, really - like every other modern email client. Those instructions are there IN CASE auto-magic runs out of pixie dust and stops working.

@The guy who asked what WIFI sharing does: It's controls the hotspot functionality and also seems to be needed for Kies Air. It also seems to like draining my battery when not in use, so I froze that too and replaced it with Barnacle WIFI sharing (which you might not want to use if you're tethering to another Android device) and SSHDroidPro (for wireless transfer of stuff to the phone).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 8 2011, 01:11 AM
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 01:11 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

We're gonna need a whole entire sub-forum for Samsung Android devices soon, really. This place is like ALL the threads in the iPhone section, crammed in one thread.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 8 2011, 01:12 AM
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 08:23 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(KLHC1964 @ Jul 8 2011, 08:04 AM)
Hi ppl

Here are my observations when flashed a lot of ROMs since I got my S2. You would have noticed my earlier noobie posts on rooting and thanks to many in this forum, have now got to an ideal stage in using the ROM that's suitable to me

Background - I need to get mails from all over - company mail via a non-listed app in Market (Lotus Notes) which had its own calendar, contact directory linked back to the global network, email, and instant messaging (sametime). On top of this I have my email account in yahoo and gmail. I dont have any games or movies to download. So to me I need long battery life to keep on pushing those mails to me day and night.

Tried KE2 out of the box, then KE4, then made a foray into VillianROM 1.4 and VR Tweaks and installed JuiceDefender and Juice Plotter. Battery life was good but thought it was due to JuiceDefender as it switches off the radios (3G) when the screen is off, and reconnects when screen is on. So I ditched the ROM and JuiceDefender and went to a stock kernel KF1, then KF2. Bored with the same stock look - then tried Litening 1.5. While looks nice, it did not match what I needed, and had several FCs of which I then uninstalled the ROM. All this while, I normally charge whenever I could. So went back to KF2 with CF4. Then unsatisfied with the battery performance, uninstalled my company email app and wiped and cleared all data (had a backup Titanium so that's really neat) and reinstalled VillianROM again. This time I didn't use JuiceDefender at all. And surprisingly now after one full charge, the battery is still alive at 70+% after almost 14 hours. And I have long phone calls - at least for one or two hours three times a day (that's why BB to me was the best then, no issues and company paid data and voice plan). So VillianROM 1.4 is so far the best for me. Haven't tried 1.5 because heard of some existing bugs which have not been solved yet.

BTW am not paid in any way and no association with the ROM developers - just my experience since I got my AP set in early June because couldn't wait to get the S2.
Nice. I can concur that so far, Villain 1.4 has been economical with juice and VERY stable. At least for me lah. No weird FCs, no reboots (except when I'm playing around with system utilities, but that's to be expected), just smooth sailing.
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 09:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 8 2011, 08:50 AM)
Installing Villian now as we speak smile.gif

I got to ask you this:
I tried to push email via K9 but unable to. There is another forumer who gave me instruction and I followed through 100% (am using Yahoo) but for some reason, not able to connect to server for IMAP yahoo.

Did I miss out anything?

Also, stock email has push email for all (Yahoo, Live etc) right?
Yahoo has wonky IMAP, really. Have you allowed IMAP access for Yahoo Mail through the website? Last I heard, IMAP only works properly with paid customers and certain apps/devices.

Last I heard la. I sold my soul to El Googster a long time ago.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 8 2011, 09:49 AM
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 03:58 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jul 8 2011, 01:46 PM)
Hello Galaxy S2 pioneers,

I just want to ask how is the music audio quality? The S2 uses a Yamaha DAC which is not very highly rated compared to the Wolfson DAC in the Galaxy S. For those who upgraded how is the sound quality compared to the S? For those who have used iphone 3gs/4 before how does it compare? Music playback is very important to me so I have to find out first before I jump in.
It simply DOESN'T compare to an iPhone 4 (I dunno about the 3GS) - but for my semi-audiophile ears, it's serviceable. I run it with FA Eternas (V2, my V1 died out) with a Impedence Adapter - same setup I ran on the i4 - and my ears aren't actually bleeding, so it's okay.

Also, somehow, MP3/AAC playback with the stock player at normal portable bitrates (128/192/256) sounds like crap compared to using the CM7 DSP + Player mod so it might ALSO be a software issue - even though the DAC is NOT that good, the stock player on the SGS2 MIGHT be making it worse.

But, as I have said once before, as this thing is rocking a USB-OTG port, there will ALWAYS be a possibility that one day, it will be able to ran an EXTERNAL USB DAC-AMP setup, which WILL result in mind-blowing SQ.

In conclusion, it's not as bad as you might think (I've definitely heard worse) but at the same time, it's not on the same level AT ALL as the iPhone 4 in terms of overall SQ.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 8 2011, 03:59 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 06:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(alucard31 @ Jul 8 2011, 05:58 PM)
what's the VERY FIRST thing u should do is........
charged the phone in power off mode for 8 hours  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

after fully charged in 8 hours.. u can start ur "molesting" actions to it..  blush.gif
Why in God's name is the "8 hour charging myth" so widespread?

Sigh. We're past NICAD battery times edi people.
Eiraku
post Jul 8 2011, 10:10 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zumapuma @ Jul 8 2011, 09:59 PM)
this theme has the "data" option when u pull the notifications tray down!
i noticed that Darkyy's SGS2 ROM has this option 2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1138692

but i think it only works with Cognition ROM..and im on Litening..
zzzz
It would be RAD if that was a 3G/Edge switch rather then just a data toggle, tho.
Eiraku
post Jul 9 2011, 08:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Woot, we is the haz 2.3.4!

Noice.
Eiraku
post Jul 9 2011, 10:24 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Dang, needed to fullwipe my SGS2 before VR2.0 could boot. Back to restoring everything then.
Eiraku
post Jul 9 2011, 10:55 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jul 9 2011, 10:47 AM)
VR2.0? btw to install latest firmware need to factory reset right?
From what I went through, seems like it.
Eiraku
post Jul 9 2011, 11:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jul 9 2011, 11:09 AM)
VR2.0 is voice recognition 2.0? new firmware got mods d?
Nolah, VillainRom 2.0. Oven fresh gingerbread 2.3.4.
Eiraku
post Jul 9 2011, 12:33 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jul 9 2011, 12:27 PM)
Sorry guys I got to quote on this. Don't really get it.

I am using the older version of VR and in order to get VR2.0 installed, do I need to wipe like the first time installing or I can just flash the VR2.0 and everything will be ok?  rclxub.gif
SUPPOSEDLY, you just flash over VR1.4 and it SHOULD work. Didn't work for me though, thankfully I backed up everything over in TitanBack, forgot to tell google to backup my stuff though.

For me, it was a reflash through Recovery and a complete wipe (dalvik/userdata/cache). Now things are working better, though I think Pulser needs to get a symlink fix out on VT soon. Browser's fuched up too, but I'm running Xscope so no issues there.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 9 2011, 12:36 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0530sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:55 PM