16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

1dollar
post Aug 29 2012, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 29 2012, 03:38 PM)
no la...soon hock n kerapu lombong diff le. soon hock i catch i tapau lo haha
is this how you kerapu lombong look like ?

Attached image(s)
1dollar
post Aug 29 2012, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 29 2012, 04:03 PM)
like this:
[attachmentid=3023138]

maybe its tilapia...haha. but last i caught a similar fish at KD the malay guy say its kerapu lombong.  hmm.gif
Jaguar cichlids, same SP with PB.

1dollar
post Aug 29 2012, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Aug 29 2012, 02:43 PM)
i wanna try the subang lake with the flies that bro chun reco me to use.  icon_idea.gif
Guys any place to find cheap flies?otherwise have to go tacklebox.
Try ebay hehehe china suppliers.
China Flies

let me see,.. cacing bulu or any fly lures on a lead then weight with split shots 2-3ft from the end?
Similar to carolina rig but use a fly lure at the end?? Some sifu told me this is deadly against PB & pacu
it will sink slowly diagonally.

Added on August 29, 2012, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(DizzyDestiny @ Aug 29 2012, 04:08 PM)
Yup that's what i think about..but i think 1set will enough for me..

And i need stock up some lure too.. right now i only left  2x minnow and 1 clankin. still able to go Jurassic pond with you guys if i dont break the line haha

PB , haruan , tomon , sui ma lao these fish are my main target.
Reason why i proposed 2 setup is because BC reel cannot change spool.
For myself,.. i also go on a heavier line if i am not familiar with the terrain and once i know the size of the fishes there I will switch to a lighter line to have more fun. Thats the benefit of using a spinning reel,.. i always alternate my 10 & 6 lb line. It no fun pulling a small PB with 20lb line hehehe no thrill.
Like what bro Inv said and quite sute wetwetwet also agrees.... Okuma Nemesis II is a good rod for RM90!

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Aug 29 2012, 04:41 PM
1dollar
post Aug 30 2012, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Aug 30 2012, 12:58 PM)
yea!!i wish some1 would say that to me for the Steez.
I wish I could loan you a steez or an exist for your noble act. let me strike toto jackpot first.
RESPECT!
1dollar
post Sep 3 2012, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Sep 3 2012, 12:48 PM)
How was the camping trip?
burnt shoulders!
all in all it was a fun and nice trip.
eye ears opening experience for me to learn from so many sifoos especially daddyvw.
new friends and experiences gained, didnt catch as many fishes as we anticipated, water was low.
biggest catch was a sebarau close to 2 kg at the last lubuk on the way back.
tengas ada, kelah ada... macam macam ada!
1dollar
post Sep 4 2012, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 4 2012, 11:18 AM)
not forgetting it's a Volkey.

I almost bought one last month too biggrin.gif

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:31 amDate: Sept 23rd 2012

Water depth: 40ft ~60ft (shallow)
Jig weight: 40~60gram
Action: Popping, casting and jigging
Cost: RM135 per pax. Max out at 7pax.

This is what i propose.
Since it's only shallow water, thus need not extreme size reel or extreme rods. It would not be tiring too, cos casting with jigs or lure, it's just light weight. Perhaps i should call this Feather Jigging.. LOL

Rod: 8~17lb
Reel: Any size reel that can contain 100m of 30lb
Line: 25~30lb braid

As for jig, swivel, split rings, solid rings, 7lam of leader per rod will be all kawtim by me. No need to big any jig or terminal tackle, just use mine. If lost, so be it At least i could minimise costing for you guys

In this case, anglers just need to bring rod, reel and line only

OFBN Feather Jig
Date: TBA - Tentatively Sept
Venue: OFBN
Boat: 50+ feet (it's not a fast boat, will take 3 hours to OFBN, however it's damn spacious)

1. RoryTate
2. Chun
3. Fookie
4. QiW
5. Kumanosuke
6. PK

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:51 amPlease confirm the Feather Jig trip attendance....
this the Fanthom Bank with ah Hon's boat? hmm full liao,.. nvmm will arrange with him for another trip.

1dollar
post Sep 4 2012, 08:21 PM

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Sep 4 2012, 04:28 PM)
hi rorytate, can still slot me in? OFBN, means u guys going out from port klang?
think u can fill fookie's spot since he pulled out. boat parked in klang not at the port. at sasaran
1dollar
post Sep 5 2012, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 5 2012, 09:24 AM)

Bro 1D,
You can slot in if you want.
thinking,.. thinking...
I dont have a reel, my 4k reel not back from warranty claim.
THink Hon should have some spares in his car.... kinda greedy to play bottom and jig but only 1 rod.
argghh cant make up my mind yet.... give other priority first.
1dollar
post Sep 6 2012, 03:31 PM

mmmm rarenium CI4+
anyone tried the Shimano sustain yet?
How is it compared to the rarenium and stradic ci4?

Added on September 6, 2012, 3:47 pmanyone knows where I can get Abu tormentor hard lures?
Looking for the flat body type not the common rounded body.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Sep 6 2012, 03:47 PM
1dollar
post Sep 6 2012, 06:02 PM

OMG its out liao!!!

new 2013 REVO3 STX SHS 8:1
Ebay link

2013 Abu Premier comes in 7.1:1 Yay!!!
Ebay link

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Sep 6 2012, 06:12 PM
1dollar
post Sep 7 2012, 12:50 PM

noted. thanks for the tip. I think ratio of 7 should be just fine for noob like me.
would be nice to twicth those bibless and lipless lures for darting actions.

For divers and spoons i think 6 or below would be just nice.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Sep 7 2012, 01:30 PM
1dollar
post Sep 7 2012, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 7 2012, 01:34 PM)
Paging Bro 1D & Bro Chun,
You buying anything from eBay.com? Wanna tumpang something
Just shipped back 3 parcels. Nothing fancy or cheap on ebay. But if you wan,. can vpost for you. MBB credit card got 30% off.
Cant find a cheap gloomis in ebay also.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Sep 7 2012, 03:52 PM
1dollar
post Sep 7 2012, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 7 2012, 04:00 PM)
owwwh vpost dont have thailand in their route. Only Europe, Japan and US.
Sorry mate.
1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Sep 10 2012, 02:36 PM)
and did you saw one handsome pond assistant working on Sunday?  hmm.gif
Whahahah he probably busy fishing in one corner himself wakakaakka

1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 11:43 AM)
Yoyo check out the year 2012 shimano aldebaran BFS. NOM NOM NOM
Viox,... you buying the alderbaran BFS ar??? Jeff and his team was testing in Jurassic liao.
You got your Diawa TDA also never use.

Finally got mine and tested yesterday...woot!!!!!

1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 03:45 PM

we should have gone and break our lines on purpose, make him busy.
Or probably he also too busy snapping pics of leng lui or teaching some leng lui how to cast BC.
1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(zizheng @ Sep 10 2012, 03:51 PM)
hello fellow anglers! i'm rather new to fishing and i would highly appreciate your help. i was wondering if anyone could recommend me some reputable and well priced tackle shops at kl or pj? wanna get myself a rod and reel.
thanks in advance!
HI Zizheng,

Whats your budget?
A full setup can range as low as 200-300 till thousands. Its easier to shop if you have a budget.

Have you fished before ?
Reason i asked this because I too just picked up fishing back in March, i was asked all these similar questions which I dont understand why or how.
Spinning setup would be easier to learn as a beginner.

What sort of fishes are you keen to hook up ?
Also another question i was asked. I now understand it fully.
If you are going for bottom fishing or bait fishing then get a Medium action rod and reel is good enough. (3000 - 4000 size)
If you wanna hunt for small fighters like peacock then got for light or ultralight setups which are more fun. (2500 size)
If you hardcore and all out for carnivorous fishes then a ML - MH rod and reel will be a better choice. (3000 reel)
If you want a multi purpose setup for salty and fresh water ponds i think a 10-20lbs with a 3k or 4K reel should be good for bottom/bait fishing.
Luring would require lighter rods cause you will be flicking the rod for hours, lighter rod will help to reduce tiring arms.

My opinion - Okuma Nemesis II is a good rod to start with for luring.

If you know what you want in term of rod and reel, then bigger shops like Kepong and OceanSea will have choices for you to look for.
If you require more advice from the shop keeper then try places like SS2 Fever, Digital in Puchong, SS4 Anglers Central, Red hot tackle in SS24.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Sep 10 2012, 05:27 PM
1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Sep 10 2012, 05:37 PM)
wow.. impresive explaination bro... very good...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
I learn from you all sifoo ma. heheheh
also learn from watching astro wakakakka
1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 06:00 PM)
guys wanna go shopping 2morow? lure shoppings.not reel n rods =P
where about ?? **&#^$&^ i just lost my new river2sea crank bait in subang lake on Sat.
Kasi bukak new,.. tie, cast, snap hahahah

Added on September 10, 2012, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(zizheng @ Sep 10 2012, 06:06 PM)
hello 1 dollar,
thanks a lot for your reply.
I've actually done fishing before few times previously using my old man's rod and reel.not lending me his toys now I presume?haha.but no harm investing for a good rod and reel anyways eh?
my budget is rm500tops which includes rod,reel, and line.
usually do bottom fishing and no specific type of fish.just for the fun of it atmo.
I was thinking of paying the kepong tackle shop which I saw online cause they open till late at night and I still can go over after work wink.gif.they sell lots of Shimano it seems.
currently looking at the shimano tekota reel.no idea how much tht is.any info?
500 is a lot for a first setup... i too paid some where close including lines and lures.
Kepong close at 8PM i think.
Owhh you keen with tekota round profile bait caster, not too sure if thats available in Malaysia.
Tekota is a US marketed product and I dont think your budget of RM500 is enough to get it. Ebay cheapest priced at RM450 just for the reel at 300 size.

If you like this sort of round profile baitcaster, maybe you can try Abu garcia.
If money is not a problem and you really wana invest and keep one for good there are some of my fav reels :
Shimano Calcutta Conquest DC
Daiwa Pluton
Daiwa Ryoga

All RM2k and above rofl.... my dream round profile bc reel.

Abu Garcia Ambasseduers are good decent round profile reels.
Some reels to consider if when you go shopping :
Shimano Cardif
Daiwa Millionaire
Daiwa Luna
Abu garcia ambasseduer BCX / C3 / C4

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Sep 10 2012, 06:23 PM
1dollar
post Sep 10 2012, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 06:42 PM)
sri muda shah alam they carried quite alot of lures also,.they don carry much jdm lure but i think  got cultiva and megabass lures,so i help u check out lo..

how much issit the x70lures?
interesting! I want cultiva, u scan price for me pls. where is the shop ar?

16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0491sec    0.89    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:23 AM