Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

Einjahr
post Jul 11 2012, 10:21 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jul 10 2012, 12:08 PM)
Ya la! Another UL kaki in the making. My ul setup is major craft trapara 2-4lbs on powerpro 5lbs line.
what powerpro2.. use dynema sunline la or varivas... anything from 6lb-10lb + 8-15lb hard fluoro leader

Pls PM me if you guys happen to see the above brands or any hard fluoro leaders anywhere in KL~

coz I need them..

Anyways, have the 2012 rarenium ci4+ arrived in KL yet ? Have you guys seen this particular reel being sold in tackleshops at KL ? coz i really2 need to upgrade my ci4 stradics...

link

following the update, the new rareniums have made their opening debut in selected tackleshops in SG and im just wondering if they have arrived in malaysia yet... unsure.gif
Einjahr
post Jul 12 2012, 10:48 PM

121 posts

NiSSin Egi squid rod: Isn't this awesome or whaaaaaaat? hahah

especially the orange visio prime dreams, paired with a rarenium CI4+ would be one sick shiiiiiit...
Einjahr
post Jul 18 2012, 12:45 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 16 2012, 09:38 AM)
Well, this is what i know...

Casting distance Braid vs Mono (assuming casting at the same weight of 12g)
20lb braided vs 20lb mono on a BC setup

Usually, these good quality leaders' will burn a hole in our pocket. Some as cheap as RM0.50 and branded ones goes from RM80 to RM150 for 20M of leader!!

Hope these helps smile.gif
My Vanish leader FAILED on me. I cast my Egi lure and it snapped, and my lure went flying away. And its hard enough looking for fluoro leaders in the 15lb and below, because there are NONE.
Einjahr
post Jul 18 2012, 05:38 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(evildonkey @ Jul 18 2012, 04:42 PM)
megabass rod you gotta look at yahoo auction jp...a used megabass destroyer use to cost roughly around 500-700 myr (rod price only) after conversion but now i seldom go see de and a lot of tackle shops are bringing em in so i think its cheaper to get locally.

28th i'm not sure whether i can make it or not might still be in sg
you can get your JP fishing rods from Samurai tackle

http://www.samuraitackle.com/

I highly recommend their service. Am a Happy customer here, i got my breaden squid rod from them.

user posted image thumbup.gif

just in case you guys are worried about shipping, the dude at Samurai tackle packed the rod real good .. comes together with a hard casing and delivered, but they have alot of other stuff on their online shop. If they dont have it, you can always contact them and ask what you want and they will try and geddit for you.

quick, very efficient service.

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 18 2012, 05:45 PM
Einjahr
post Jul 18 2012, 05:48 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 18 2012, 09:22 AM)
Bro 1Dollar,

Bro Ein,
What knot did you use?

From braid to leader?

From leader to snap?

As far as i know, Vanish are pretty hard leader(unless you use the mono line as a leader) and not likely to fray or furry due to abrasion.

PM me your address, i'll get you something smile.gif
I used a Uni knot to merge braid and fluoro but the leader snapped at the lure man, nothing to do with the knot. sigh.

I'm looking for anything around 10lb hard fluoro leader if you have some... else, I have to go back to Mono.

what are you gonna mail me ? haha.. but I am already expecting some gancraft jigs from Japan

Added on July 18, 2012, 6:08 pmhey guys

are these out yet in KL ?

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 18 2012, 07:26 PM
Einjahr
post Jul 18 2012, 09:32 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Jul 18 2012, 09:19 PM)
I think I saw this in digital the other day.. $1 was this the model we saw?
they are already selling in Singapore cry.gif
Einjahr
post Jul 19 2012, 09:13 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jul 18 2012, 10:49 PM)
Those the rarenium comes with the pg version? HG gear no power.
why dont you just grab the stella, bro... lol
Einjahr
post Jul 19 2012, 09:38 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 19 2012, 09:32 AM)
Bro Ein,
Did you use any snap or direct knot to the squid jig?

What knot you are using for the leader to squid jig? Try to learn up rapala knot if possible and make sure the loop is about 3~5mm diameter. If too big, not an effective knot smile.gif

When i was popping big game, i was using 50lb~80lb hard leader and i used rapala knot. The knot have not failed on me yet smile.gif As it allows the lure to move freely compared to Albright or any knot where the tension is on the eyelet of the lure itself smile.gif

I'm trying to get some 10~12lb leader and mail to you wink.gif

Added on July 19, 2012, 9:33 am

Sure do bro. Anyone can join smile.gif Main problem here is the 4x4 ride.

Bro Viox and Bro 1$,
Can get 4x4?

Added on July 19, 2012, 9:34 am

Ah... yes, i was lofting around too. But when i stay put and cast, yes you were with me smile.gif I hope i didnt jinx you that day... LOL
I use a snap, convenient and fast to quickly switch jigs. Yamashita experts recommend it coz a direct knot would result in faster abrasion, as the jig sinks to the bottom and graze its nose against rock and stuff.

Thanks bro, whereabouts are you located btws? KL? will send you my ad later, got some work to do tis morning

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 19 2012, 09:39 AM
Einjahr
post Jul 19 2012, 10:47 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 19 2012, 09:42 AM)
Bro Ein,
Seems to me all is allright with your setting.

this was exactly the type i used, except I used a 6lb, but that 6lb fluoro snapped on a 20-30 gram egi jig ? im never using Vanish again~
Einjahr
post Jul 20 2012, 09:52 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Jul 19 2012, 11:13 PM)
ohhh this is vanish mainline. I'm using this too cos cheaper than the leader fc. no complaints with fresh water usage.lasted me in jurassic whole day.

bro the area u go egi a lot of corals?
theres alot of rock i guess but its not because of abrasion im sure of it. The lure didn't even reached the water when suddenly... there was a loud " TWACK" then I just watch my jig fly into the sea.

The line snapped...
Einjahr
post Jul 20 2012, 11:19 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 20 2012, 10:26 AM)
Bro Kuman,
100m of 25~30lb is sufficient. The depth is at 40~60ft nia. smile.gif super shallow

Added on July 20, 2012, 10:27 am

1 day trip smile.gif

Added on July 20, 2012, 10:28 am

6lb line to cast 30g, not ok. At the torque that you were casting, it is actually heavier and 6lb kenot tahan. Suggest to check your guides for nicks smile.gif

Lai Lai Lai... Last sekopek smile.gif
Thanks for your offer to help me get a new line poundage but I guess I will rely on a 10lb mono for now onwards. Doesn't justify the transport fee to deliver just one roll of 10lb fluoro, will let you know though. thanks again.
Einjahr
post Jul 20 2012, 11:33 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Jul 20 2012, 10:49 PM)
spider wire ultracast invisible braid? still a braid ler....
leader line i wont save because some lures are more expensive and worth saving.
I have 5 leader lines
15lb Suffix floro lead
25lb ygk shocker
20lb Xzoga
10lb Vanish FC mainline

Would you rather keep losing your megabass lures ? or spend more on the leader line ? Tho my lures are all el cheapo 20-30 bucks each.
where did you get your 15lb suffix ? smile.gif
Einjahr
post Jul 21 2012, 06:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 21 2012, 09:25 AM)
Sunline if not mistaken is carried by SeaTackle. Check out their HQ showroom, i have seen some there, but unsure of the poundage smile.gif

Added on July 21, 2012, 9:26 am

CLOSED!

Added on July 21, 2012, 9:30 am

Try to check out TCE tackles, they may have those old stock of suffix. Suffix no longer carried by TCE Tackle, now it's Rapala VMC smile.gif
Meh.. TCE Tackles no longer support Suffix ? for the largest retail tackle franchise they sure have a scarce range of stuff, they really need to diversify their range...

I just got back from a TCE tackle branch in sadong Jaya, KK and all they have is alot of local brands.Anxiously, I got myself a 10lb Lemax Steelpower mono anyway to replace the Vanish im unhappy with, what do you guys think about them tomman, tali hantu, ajiking lines? are they any good ?

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 21 2012, 06:11 PM
Einjahr
post Jul 22 2012, 12:26 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jul 21 2012, 11:44 PM)
Fishing is extremely expensive and time consuming hobby! sad.gif
But I like it! Unfortunately, I don't have time and money to spend.. My dad used to bring me out for fishing last time.. But no more.. Cause he's thinking that's expensive and time consuming.. But the moment the fish on hooked, you feel like kena TOTO like that.. haha
which is more expensive? fishing or golf ? hmmm
Einjahr
post Jul 24 2012, 07:29 PM

121 posts

guys, my parcel just arrived from Japan!

unboxing
sumizoku, gancraft and fishleague
fish league

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 24 2012, 07:44 PM
Einjahr
post Jul 24 2012, 07:43 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jul 24 2012, 07:40 PM)
lol u're a real ufo lover
I cant help it, the sea is at my doorstep~
Einjahr
post Jul 24 2012, 10:43 PM

121 posts

shit man... the lures are too pretty, damn it.

too pretty to go into the water, maybe i should make them into earrings instead

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 24 2012, 10:43 PM
Einjahr
post Jul 28 2012, 12:46 PM

121 posts

hey guys, never use lemax monos despite whatever they say about it.

Bought a 10lb mono (4.5 kg) which failed on me not once but twice, and to think I was using this crap on my other expensive jigs. Sigh

The first, was when I hooked on a smallish fish after imparting some darting retrieves . It all lasted about 10 seconds when the fish jumped out of the water and the line snapped. Okay, So i thought I may have lost the line to the fish which snapped the line but when i inspected closer , it was a clean snap. So nevermind, did a uni knot fixed another setup

But this time was ridiculous, I attached a 2.2 size squid jig (10 grams) and cast it out. I think I may have held the line by accident, and I hear a loud twack and my lure was gone . What...

I have used a Seahawk mono before this and even after a year onwards ,the seahawk was alot stronger than this brand-new lemax 10 pounder, despite clear signs of ageing.

There goes my Yamashita squid jigs... One taken away by a satisfied fish, and another by Lemax

This post has been edited by Einjahr: Jul 28 2012, 12:47 PM
Einjahr
post Jul 30 2012, 11:36 PM

121 posts

behold! the new Daiwa zillion! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

link
Einjahr
post Jul 31 2012, 12:06 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Jul 30 2012, 11:56 PM)
ooooooo nice salty zillion. are you buying it for your egi weekends?

Added on July 30, 2012, 11:59 pm
next trip, we go stay ipoh. then can whack yummy food.
no.. zillion for egi ? naah mate... to pull in a fish

haven't heard of baitcasting egi yet..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0773sec    0.28    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:33 AM