12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

inv
post Sep 9 2012, 08:33 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Sep 9 2012, 04:38 PM)
so it all come to no boat = no catch  sad.gif
and the right bait, technique and spot to cast as well..
inv
post Sep 10 2012, 07:18 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(Einjahr @ Sep 9 2012, 11:09 PM)
hey guys, went fishing during the weekend ? any Catch Reports to poison this thread ? hehe

as far being the kraken guy all this while, the weather in KK isn't looking good for another egi bash tomorow-o, so I was thinking of  drifting by to a favourite freshwater lake( also bloody netter country!) to have a hand at PB and snakehead fishing; but I've never caught a fish with lures before.

I bought these guys today and wonder if they're any good ?

Can i ask any of you pros, how do i impart the action on the rod ? twitch-twitch pause, twitch pause ? any tips ?
nice lures! and u r spot on regarding the action.
inv
post Sep 10 2012, 10:27 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Shimano scorpion dc 7!
inv
post Sep 10 2012, 12:32 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 11:43 AM)
Yoyo check out the year 2012 shimano aldebaran BFS. NOM NOM NOM
Buy buy buy!
inv
post Sep 10 2012, 02:15 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Sep 10 2012, 01:26 PM)
Bro inv, rory,

Any updates on the bearings?
No luck for me so far.

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 01:38 PM)
Think it's not released in Malaysia market yet.would wanna sell of my saltiga to get a better bc set. Good idea?
Finesse reel. Shallow spool equates to limited line. If u have the budget, I don't see why not. But keep in mind that the Aldebaran bfs is a freshwater reel. Go saltwater with it sure die.

QUOTE(DizzyDestiny @ Sep 10 2012, 01:56 PM)
My saturday & sunday catch report on J pond

I arrrived at J pond at 7.10am and start fishing at 7.30am till 10.30am

1st round catch.
5 small 1big haruan & 8 toman 4 of these toman were over 3kg.. the heaviest toman is 3.53kg.. maybe got some heavier toman but never measure..
My luck was not so good that many fish bite but i just can't get the fish on..
A'whole pond just me 1man show and others angler don't have a single fish  brows.gif

2nd round ( 3pm~6pm )

4small haruan 3toman 1 cat fish
Just the weather not so good.. these fish rarely take a bite on my lure on the last hour.
And got a sifu stealing my fish away.. he just casting right side of me and he keep getting fish.. maybe his minnow are bigger than mine these toman only bite the sifu minnow..  cry.gif

3rd round sunday (4~8pm)

2small haruan 2toman over 3kg.

Same as the 2nd round on saturday weather not so good.. these fish are not so active.. all angler in pond almost eat white fruit.

And now my elbow is hurting me now..

Jeffery just asked me to join their J pond club..  brows.gif
Wow! Loaded nampak! Good catch! I never kena more than 2 digit before oso.

inv
post Sep 10 2012, 06:30 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 06:00 PM)
guys wanna go shopping 2morow? lure shoppings.not reel n rods =P
hey bro, if u go, help me check out the availability of megabass x70. i know ss4 no more stock adi, red hot oso takde. the only places left to check out is kepong tackle, extreme anglers and digital.

would appreciate if you could help me keep an eye out on GG Jabara Fire and M Shinko Wakasagi.
inv
post Sep 10 2012, 06:40 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 06:39 PM)
im going sportsliner
where is sportsliner?
inv
post Sep 10 2012, 07:29 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 10 2012, 06:42 PM)
sri muda shah alam they carried quite alot of lures also,.they don carry much jdm lure but i think  got cultiva and megabass lures,so i help u check out lo..

how much issit the x70lures?
Should be around 50-55. tqvm!

This post has been edited by inv: Sep 10 2012, 09:48 PM
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 07:02 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Sep 12 2012, 01:15 AM)
haha catching a toman in the wild memang diff story. im yet to experience it, been close but still not there yet. now need to tune down fishing abit...finals coming in. need to save up on a new setup also  tongue.gif
what new setup?! tell ler!
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 08:32 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Sep 12 2012, 07:29 AM)
going light.  tongue.gif scare budget nt enuf only.
Light bc or spinning?

Light bc setup gonna cost u quite a bit.

As for spinning setup, my choice would be majorcraft trapara with pflueger supreme xt 9225/9230. Nom nom nom..
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 09:52 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(trowachin @ Sep 12 2012, 09:33 AM)
Din know LYN fishing thread so active one wei...

Kayent... UL is the trend nowdays... hehheh...
I have to agree. With catches getting smaller nowadays, ul setup gives more fun.

Looks like shimano Aldebaran bfs xg is officially launched. Anybody got lubang?
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 10:15 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(trowachin @ Sep 12 2012, 09:58 AM)
wait till you bring 5lbs line Jurassic Pond and hook one toman and let your shallow spool reel scream like no tomorrow. ohhzem... of course with UL setup you get to cast 2g trout spoons, arm length sized haruan also give satisfying fights...
Been there, done that on my first official fishing trip with the LYN guys. Didn't manage to get the toman but was having so much fun with the red tail. 5lbs powerpro on biomaster 2500.

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Sep 12 2012, 10:01 AM)
the word aldebaran bfs makes me drool everytime i see it. laugh.gif
rory where u'll be dropping by today? forget return ur rod. sweat.gif
Let us know the price if u manage to see one! I got a strong feeling that digital will have it in stock.

QUOTE(rorytate @ Sep 12 2012, 10:02 AM)
Bro Inv,
Since you like UL so much, suggest that you get Platypus 4lb IGFA rated line from Oz. It's a mono.

If you are using 5lb line but braided, the breaking point is about 10lb/11lb, thus you can actually hentam much much bigger specimen smile.gif

Give a chance for the fish to bust your line ler... biggrin.gif
Igfa rated line ka? Must give that a go. Then again, I already lost a lure on my 12lbs vanish to the fish in Jurassic adi while using my ul setup.. many heartache..

inv
post Sep 12 2012, 10:42 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(trowachin @ Sep 12 2012, 10:25 AM)
vanish 2lbs or powerpro 5lbs is bang for buck nowdays. i used to get 2lbs fireline for UL last time but the price i see nowdays not worth it wei.

somehow got the urge to try out the nanofil for UL setup. am looking high and low for lower lbs if you all know where stock 2, 4, 6lbs pls lemme know smile.gif

it all boils down a lot to rod, technique and basics of fish fighting instead of brutely bringing the fish back to shore.

yup, asian red tail is good on this set up also. but i did it at the natural pond beside J pond on chicken innards... only managed to get asian red tail on UL, hv not hooked an amazonian though...
Best la.. got another ul kaki here.. ss2 said they ordered the lower poundage of Nanofil adi. Dunno when the stock coming in.
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 11:39 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Sep 12 2012, 11:25 AM)
The major problem with going light is the rods for me. The usual light weight rods come in circa 5.5ft. "Cast-ability" is reduced by much here. Longer rods are out of reach as according to my wallet. LOL!
Majorcraft trapara range is about rm260.
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 07:41 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Sep 12 2012, 07:15 PM)
u guys banyak racun la hahaha.  tongue.gif

bro 1dollar, i still havnt decide la...considering my options still. currently looking at MC rods.

need to go tackle shop scout, pegang pegang n feel feel abit first.  biggrin.gif
come! join the MC bandwagon! even our bro 1dollar oso jadi member adi..
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 08:25 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 12 2012, 08:24 PM)
MC is makes good and affordable entry level rods.
Theres no ending to this rod and reel combo game, after hearing stories of Dam fishing and river fishing, I dont think our UL rods will suit those fishing.
It only takes 1 mishap or fish swim into roots, you have to cut line. Also as much as we want to practice and be a sport fishermen, we dont want to over exhaust the fishes by fighting too long.

So, my advice is,.. keep some UL, L, M, MH & H setups just for fresh water heheeh
I am getting there. Got my L, M, ady, MH / H / UL on the way.
wow.. THAT IS A LOT OF SETUP! u super loaded!
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 09:29 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 12 2012, 08:37 PM)
Pls brader,.. your collection also almost complete. You dont have MH and H only.
Its doent matter if its BC or Spinning.
i have MH adi.. my lemax red sword rated 10-25lbs...
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 09:53 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(evildonkey @ Sep 12 2012, 09:44 PM)
Got kang tao for mint in box left handed 7.1:1 MGX interested? Condition is superb and scratchless. Ada minat boleh pm me.
u punya racun manyak kuat!
inv
post Sep 12 2012, 10:10 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(evildonkey @ Sep 12 2012, 10:03 PM)
You still ada minat? I tot u addi got the ltx? talak cukup?

Btw i just realize i did a dumb mistake all these while with my MGX. i just spooled half the spool so no wonder i'm not getting the damn distance i'm suppose to. Just add some old cacated braided as backing today and went out to test on the field and you know what ? i can finally cast 5g lure at a very very satisfied distance and i can cast almost double the distance i normally could on heavier lures. Minor CBH issue pop up when setting the brake to zero but thats my mistake coz too long didnt do thumbing hehe.

Gonna try em 3g and below lures once i've gotten my hand on some of them. If i can do it then probably MGX is more suitable to you than your current LTX and yeah i'm spreading more poison muahahahaha.
my ltx is just fine atm. my hati gerak because of the price. if i take a step back and think carefully, i don't need the mgx. i don't have any rod to pair it with anyway..

i am still getting used to my setup. manage to cast quite a far distance with 4.5g lures with pinion brakes on minimum. still testing the swing speed, release point and what-not to get optimal distance.

This post has been edited by inv: Sep 12 2012, 10:10 PM
inv
post Sep 13 2012, 07:06 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Sep 13 2012, 01:41 AM)
got rapala snow ma! can match with mgx
the snow is yours! you shud get the mgx instead!

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0904sec    0.34    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:40 AM