ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

White Knight
post Feb 21 2012, 03:35 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(muppet @ Feb 21 2012, 01:34 PM)
so coninsident... mikey zeng come then got people promot paac again...

i will quiet... acca students smart.. they know who bad who good...
Improve your English...don't understand what you're writing.
No offence please.

tzxsean
post Feb 21 2012, 03:38 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(White Knight @ Feb 21 2012, 03:35 PM)
Improve your English...don't understand what you're writing.
No offence please.
i understand what he mean

so does that mean my english is good than you or as bad as him? hmm.gif
White Knight
post Feb 21 2012, 03:39 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(paarmaseelan @ Feb 21 2012, 11:07 AM)
hey guyz, my results just release and sad to say i fail my paper.

Failing is very common in ACCA exam. It's nothing new.

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 21 2012, 03:38 PM)
i understand what he mean

so does that mean my english is good than you or as bad as him?  hmm.gif
Your English is good. No doubt about it.

the correct word to use is 'better'

This post has been edited by White Knight: Feb 21 2012, 03:44 PM
tzxsean
post Feb 21 2012, 03:48 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(White Knight @ Feb 21 2012, 03:39 PM)

hahaha... thanks for correcting thumbup.gif

the consequence of typing too fast and reply without checking if there is any mistake

btw this forum acts as place for students to seek for advice only

as long as one can understand each other, I don't see the need of using formal english. Spare others some slack ya

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Feb 21 2012, 03:50 PM
muppet
post Feb 21 2012, 04:09 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 21 2012, 03:48 PM)
hahaha... thanks for correcting thumbup.gif

the consequence of typing too fast and reply without checking if there is any mistake

btw this forum acts as place for students to seek for advice only

as long as one can understand each other, I don't see the need of using formal english. Spare others some slack ya
i total agree!! thumbup.gif
in everyday life u do not talk formal english... this is MALAYSIA...

as long as i understand u and u understand me then ok liao...

Mickey Zeng
post Feb 21 2012, 05:06 PM

32 posts

PLS do not promote lecturer without evidence like what Tzesean said . I just came in to share that opentution provides free lectures online and guess what its FREE . Why bother paying to repeat . Study at your home. I failed a couple of papers the last round and find this would help me pass . IMO theory papers all no need go for class . OPENTUTION materials is good enough .

Added on February 21, 2012, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(muppet @ Feb 21 2012, 01:34 PM)
so coninsident... mikey zeng come then got people promot paac again...

i will quiet... acca students smart.. they know who bad who good...
nice to have you back after missing a long time Muppet . There goes the quality of english at this forum . doh.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(White Knight @ Feb 21 2012, 03:39 PM)

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Mickey Zeng: Feb 21 2012, 05:13 PM
nothingz
post Feb 21 2012, 05:14 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(Mickey Zeng @ Feb 21 2012, 05:06 PM)
PLS do not promote lecturer without evidence like what Tzesean said . I just came in to share that opentution provides free lectures online and guess what its FREE . Why bother paying to repeat . Study at your home. I failed a couple of papers the last round and find this would help me pass . IMO theory papers all no need go for class . OPENTUTION materials is good enough .

Added on February 21, 2012, 5:11 pm
nice to have you back after missing a long time Muppet . There goes the quality of english at this forum . doh.gif
did you bother to go read the notes published at opentuition? are those notes being updated to reflect the changes in syllabus?
tzxsean
post Feb 21 2012, 05:50 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

fuh ...now i kena drag down oso liao...

muddy
nothingz
post Feb 21 2012, 08:18 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 21 2012, 05:50 PM)
fuh ...now i kena drag down oso liao...

muddy
let him be, he enjoys talking to himself
noonies_naruto
post Feb 21 2012, 10:19 PM

736 posts

my god.. since when this thread become gadoh thread?? XD

nyway, anybody selling their BPP P5 can use for 2012 wan?

my fren got pass p5 with just using only past years..
caillech
post Feb 22 2012, 12:04 AM

247 posts

lol the dupe's post gone liao.. rclxms.gif

who report him??

LOL!! now mickey zeng promote open tuition!!

This post has been edited by caillech: Feb 22 2012, 12:11 AM
muppet
post Feb 22 2012, 07:36 AM

114 posts

if i scold the dupe later i kena ban... report is better...

mickey zeng kena kantoi promote paac... now preten promote opentuition... later promote paac again...

do u realise every time when result out or revision class season then mickey zeng only active...

QUOTE(caillech @ Feb 22 2012, 12:04 AM)
lol the dupe's post gone liao.. rclxms.gif

who report him??

LOL!! now mickey zeng promote open tuition!!
Mickey Zeng
post Feb 22 2012, 11:25 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(muppet @ Feb 22 2012, 07:36 AM)
if i scold the dupe later i kena ban... report is better...

mickey zeng kena kantoi promote paac... now preten promote opentuition... later promote paac again...

do u realise every time when result out or revision class season then mickey zeng only active...
well i never promoted paac . Never in my thread . Pls check before accusing . open tuition is actually good for repeaters That my personal opinion.

Added on February 22, 2012, 11:28 am
QUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 21 2012, 05:14 PM)
did you bother to go read the notes published at opentuition? are those notes being updated to reflect the changes in syllabus?
i am not sure about others . I find P3 and P2 is good . and pls check the comments there all praising them . They ought to be good . Bye bye to colleges for me . unless i keep failing i may attend revision classes only .

Added on February 22, 2012, 11:32 am
QUOTE(Khor SC @ Feb 18 2012, 12:23 PM)
All right, I will come back more often to write some useful guides. Due to my tight schedule of teaching load-P1, P3 and P7, I could not promise the frequency of dropping a comment. Anyhow, I try my best..ya..The reason for drop a thread here is to help all the ACCA students regardless where are you from..Feel sad to see some students are helpless and do not know the right exam technique to tackle the questions. Follow my threads, on and off will put up some useful guides for P1, P3 & P7 and as well as F8 audit & assurance (killing paper)

Chow.

Khor sc
Lecturer, TARC Penang
Mr Khor very nice of you to help out . pls write more here . Any P2 lecturers reading pls join lawyat acca pls. and give some feed back >> thanks

This post has been edited by Mickey Zeng: Feb 22 2012, 11:32 AM
Propernormal
post Feb 22 2012, 01:51 PM

127 posts

Hi Guys,

Can someone help me pls? I failed my P6 with terrible marks and im not sure what to do. Can anyone recommend a good lecturer that i can go to since i did not pass under Mr.Siva Nair.

or shall i do P5 paper eventhough i have to start reading all over again and missed classes since Jan? If yes who is the best lecturer for P5 in KL?

Pls help icon_question.gif
tzxsean
post Feb 22 2012, 02:16 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Mickey Zeng @ Feb 22 2012, 11:25 AM)
well i never promoted paac . Never in my thread . Pls check before accusing . open tuition is actually good for repeaters That my personal opinion.

Added on February 22, 2012, 11:28 am

i am not sure about others . I find P3 and P2 is good . and pls check the comments there all praising them . They ought to be good . Bye bye to colleges for me . unless i keep failing i may attend revision classes only .

Added on February 22, 2012, 11:32 am

Mr Khor very nice of you to help out . pls write more here . Any P2 lecturers reading pls join lawyat acca pls. and give some feed back >> thanks
if anyone wan to promote the website

i dun think they will put unfavorable comment from students about them

anyway there used to be tutor chat for individual papers before exam

but now I no longer see they organise this session anymore.

p/s: I doubt Spencer gonna come and comment tongue.gif
Mickey Zeng
post Feb 24 2012, 03:23 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 22 2012, 02:16 PM)
if anyone wan to promote the website

i dun think they will put unfavorable comment from students about them

anyway there used to be tutor chat for individual papers before exam

but now I no longer see they organise this session anymore.

p/s: I doubt Spencer gonna come and comment  tongue.gif
Perhaps you are right . But what i feel (IMO) P3 so far so good the video lecture . Not gone into P2 videos yet.
May be you can persuade spencer , i will ask Menon and Parminder (like you doubt cos not sure they read all this or not )

Added on February 24, 2012, 3:28 am[quote=Propernormal,Feb 22 2012, 01:51 PM]
Hi Guys,

Can someone help me pls? I failed my P6 with terrible marks and im not sure what to do. Can anyone recommend a good lecturer that i can go to since i did not pass under Mr.Siva Nair.

or shall i do P5 paper eventhough i have to start reading all over again and missed classes since Jan? If yes who is the best lecturer for P5 in KL?

Pls help icon_question.gif

[/quote
Why want to change? It would be easier to do what you have done and prepared. Learning something new at this time (3 months to go ) may not help much . FYI P5 getting harder . any way the best lecturrers list could be found at the 1st page .
Good Luck .

This post has been edited by Mickey Zeng: Feb 24 2012, 03:28 AM
jse
post Feb 24 2012, 11:55 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Khor SC @ Feb 18 2012, 01:31 PM)
Hi Caillech & Ks-fruit particularly and the rest of P3 fighters:

The followings are the useful information and guides for you to prepare for P3.

1. Steve Skidmore is a practical strategist who set the exam questions based on a real organization. (you can see these from his PYQs).

2. He and his marking teams are looking for practical solutions which must be justified by students in their answer scripts.

3. There is no absolute standard answer to the questions.

The above 3 points formed a basis for your answer script. Now I will share with you how to study and tackle P3:Read carefully:

Your time of study should be 30% Theory 70% Practice/Application.

A) How to study? (30%)

1.Understand all the business modals in the syllabus-Follow the sequence: PESTEL > SWOT/TOWS > Porter 5 FORCES > Porter's Diamond > Porter' Generic strategies > Porter Value chain > 7Ps >Mendelow >9Ms >BCG > Ashridge Portfoli Display >Strategic Clock > Ansoff Matrix >BPR> Gantt > Forcefield analysis. You must prepare to explain the models.

2. Ask yourself how to use those models and when to use.

3. Remember, when you study each chapter, focus on How and Why rather than just what is this and that. Because, Steve expects students to apply not knowing what.

Practice questions
1. Fast reading
2. Drawing a small mind map
3. Writing in time constraint.
4. Exchange marking the script with your friends
Examination
1. I always ask my students to begin section B first because they are shorter and able to gain confidence at the beginning stage. Then only move to section A-Question 1 (more than 3 pages)

2. Of cause you must always to stick to time allocation 1.8 minutes for 1 mark. Stop writing for that question if time allocation is up, just leave a few lines. You must attempt all the questions.

3.As usual, read the verb requirement first and allocation of marks and time accordingly  (I think you have done that)

4. Reading the long case study-Q1. A lot students do not have the technique. Follow this:-

-Use 1 page of your answer booklet for planning. On top, just write planning for Q1.
-Draw a simple mind map. The center word is the content of question. For example,DEC 2009 (a) Analyse the primary activities of the value chain for the product range at IL. (10 marks)

Center word is Primary Act

-Each sub-question has a small mind map.
-Next, read the case study and pick up words that can be used to link to your mind map.
-Use the content of case study to support and justify your answers.
-Ask yourself, how this information is here? and how can I use it?
-If figures are given to you, you should calculate the percentage and use it. Don't miss the opportunity to gain marks.
-Your consideration must be from quantitative to qualitative, from management, econ, finance to HR & IT. This is because business is about all factors.

5. When you start to write your answer script, relook at the verb again to ensure you present according to the verb requirement.

6. There is no standardized writing format for P3 but I always recommend to my students to follow this:
-State the theory or model first
-answer how this model used here
- implications/impacts of such practice
-business solutions and its pro and con.
7. Each part of your answer must be small paragraph with a sub-title. and towards the end a simple conclusion should be made to close the argument.

With the above tips of study and tackle the papers, I wish all the P3 candidates could benefits from my teaching experience on how to handle this paper.

bye.

Khor SC
P1, P3 & P7 Lecturer at TARC Penang Campus

Added on February 18, 2012, 1:36 pm

pls check the following thread...
Lecturer Khor SC, I hope you can provide some study tips on P7...I had waited for it in desperation... sweat.gif
tzxsean
post Feb 24 2012, 01:24 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Mickey Zeng @ Feb 24 2012, 03:23 AM)
Perhaps you are right . But what i feel (IMO) P3 so far so good the video lecture . Not gone into P2 videos yet.
May be you can persuade spencer , i will ask Menon and Parminder  (like you doubt cos not sure they  read all this or not )

u overestimated me liao. who am I to persuade Spencer laugh.gif
Kh90
post Feb 25 2012, 12:25 AM

42 posts

hi, anyone know p5 syllabus got any changes from the previous sitting?

thanks in advance!
caillech
post Feb 25 2012, 12:30 AM

247 posts

who going? tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled