ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

jse
post Feb 19 2012, 10:26 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Khor SC @ Feb 18 2012, 01:31 PM)
Hi Caillech & Ks-fruit particularly and the rest of P3 fighters:

The followings are the useful information and guides for you to prepare for P3.

1. Steve Skidmore is a practical strategist who set the exam questions based on a real organization. (you can see these from his PYQs).

2. He and his marking teams are looking for practical solutions which must be justified by students in their answer scripts.

3. There is no absolute standard answer to the questions.

The above 3 points formed a basis for your answer script. Now I will share with you how to study and tackle P3:Read carefully:

Your time of study should be 30% Theory 70% Practice/Application.

A) How to study? (30%)

1.Understand all the business modals in the syllabus-Follow the sequence: PESTEL > SWOT/TOWS > Porter 5 FORCES > Porter's Diamond > Porter' Generic strategies > Porter Value chain > 7Ps >Mendelow >9Ms >BCG > Ashridge Portfoli Display >Strategic Clock > Ansoff Matrix >BPR> Gantt > Forcefield analysis. You must prepare to explain the models.

2. Ask yourself how to use those models and when to use.

3. Remember, when you study each chapter, focus on How and Why rather than just what is this and that. Because, Steve expects students to apply not knowing what.

Practice questions
1. Fast reading
2. Drawing a small mind map
3. Writing in time constraint.
4. Exchange marking the script with your friends
Examination
1. I always ask my students to begin section B first because they are shorter and able to gain confidence at the beginning stage. Then only move to section A-Question 1 (more than 3 pages)

2. Of cause you must always to stick to time allocation 1.8 minutes for 1 mark. Stop writing for that question if time allocation is up, just leave a few lines. You must attempt all the questions.

3.As usual, read the verb requirement first and allocation of marks and time accordingly  (I think you have done that)

4. Reading the long case study-Q1. A lot students do not have the technique. Follow this:-

-Use 1 page of your answer booklet for planning. On top, just write planning for Q1.
-Draw a simple mind map. The center word is the content of question. For example,DEC 2009 (a) Analyse the primary activities of the value chain for the product range at IL. (10 marks)

Center word is Primary Act

-Each sub-question has a small mind map.
-Next, read the case study and pick up words that can be used to link to your mind map.
-Use the content of case study to support and justify your answers.
-Ask yourself, how this information is here? and how can I use it?
-If figures are given to you, you should calculate the percentage and use it. Don't miss the opportunity to gain marks.
-Your consideration must be from quantitative to qualitative, from management, econ, finance to HR & IT. This is because business is about all factors.

5. When you start to write your answer script, relook at the verb again to ensure you present according to the verb requirement.

6. There is no standardized writing format for P3 but I always recommend to my students to follow this:
-State the theory or model first
-answer how this model used here
- implications/impacts of such practice
-business solutions and its pro and con.
7. Each part of your answer must be small paragraph with a sub-title. and towards the end a simple conclusion should be made to close the argument.

With the above tips of study and tackle the papers, I wish all the P3 candidates could benefits from my teaching experience on how to handle this paper.

bye.

Khor SC
P1, P3 & P7 Lecturer at TARC Penang Campus

Added on February 18, 2012, 1:36 pm

pls check the following thread...
Sir, can you help me by providing P7 tips? I am in desperate to pass for this sem now. Thanks.

jse
post Feb 24 2012, 11:55 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(Khor SC @ Feb 18 2012, 01:31 PM)
Hi Caillech & Ks-fruit particularly and the rest of P3 fighters:

The followings are the useful information and guides for you to prepare for P3.

1. Steve Skidmore is a practical strategist who set the exam questions based on a real organization. (you can see these from his PYQs).

2. He and his marking teams are looking for practical solutions which must be justified by students in their answer scripts.

3. There is no absolute standard answer to the questions.

The above 3 points formed a basis for your answer script. Now I will share with you how to study and tackle P3:Read carefully:

Your time of study should be 30% Theory 70% Practice/Application.

A) How to study? (30%)

1.Understand all the business modals in the syllabus-Follow the sequence: PESTEL > SWOT/TOWS > Porter 5 FORCES > Porter's Diamond > Porter' Generic strategies > Porter Value chain > 7Ps >Mendelow >9Ms >BCG > Ashridge Portfoli Display >Strategic Clock > Ansoff Matrix >BPR> Gantt > Forcefield analysis. You must prepare to explain the models.

2. Ask yourself how to use those models and when to use.

3. Remember, when you study each chapter, focus on How and Why rather than just what is this and that. Because, Steve expects students to apply not knowing what.

Practice questions
1. Fast reading
2. Drawing a small mind map
3. Writing in time constraint.
4. Exchange marking the script with your friends
Examination
1. I always ask my students to begin section B first because they are shorter and able to gain confidence at the beginning stage. Then only move to section A-Question 1 (more than 3 pages)

2. Of cause you must always to stick to time allocation 1.8 minutes for 1 mark. Stop writing for that question if time allocation is up, just leave a few lines. You must attempt all the questions.

3.As usual, read the verb requirement first and allocation of marks and time accordingly  (I think you have done that)

4. Reading the long case study-Q1. A lot students do not have the technique. Follow this:-

-Use 1 page of your answer booklet for planning. On top, just write planning for Q1.
-Draw a simple mind map. The center word is the content of question. For example,DEC 2009 (a) Analyse the primary activities of the value chain for the product range at IL. (10 marks)

Center word is Primary Act

-Each sub-question has a small mind map.
-Next, read the case study and pick up words that can be used to link to your mind map.
-Use the content of case study to support and justify your answers.
-Ask yourself, how this information is here? and how can I use it?
-If figures are given to you, you should calculate the percentage and use it. Don't miss the opportunity to gain marks.
-Your consideration must be from quantitative to qualitative, from management, econ, finance to HR & IT. This is because business is about all factors.

5. When you start to write your answer script, relook at the verb again to ensure you present according to the verb requirement.

6. There is no standardized writing format for P3 but I always recommend to my students to follow this:
-State the theory or model first
-answer how this model used here
- implications/impacts of such practice
-business solutions and its pro and con.
7. Each part of your answer must be small paragraph with a sub-title. and towards the end a simple conclusion should be made to close the argument.

With the above tips of study and tackle the papers, I wish all the P3 candidates could benefits from my teaching experience on how to handle this paper.

bye.

Khor SC
P1, P3 & P7 Lecturer at TARC Penang Campus

Added on February 18, 2012, 1:36 pm

pls check the following thread...
Lecturer Khor SC, I hope you can provide some study tips on P7...I had waited for it in desperation... sweat.gif
jse
post Feb 27 2012, 08:17 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 27 2012, 05:41 PM)
can anyone tell me about how many things learned in f6 will be examined in p6?
Basically, it's so much different compared to f6 and p6. f6 syllabus like individual tax computations and several employee incomes benefits and business incomes, etc. are not highly examined in p6. p6 is a whole lot different and approximately half of the syallbus in f6 can be ignored. And a whole bunch of new chapters will be added in the p6 syllabus.

jse
post Feb 28 2012, 05:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 27 2012, 09:53 PM)
well...cos I'm taking p6 without f6 knowledge

im now try to catch up on f6 by self study while attending p6 class

so i need to noe where I need to read more

cos I felt awkward in class when lecturer is teaching but I duno a single thingĀ  doh.gif

eg. IBA, CA, RPGT and even computation on statutory income --> tax liability
Yeah, it's really really hard to self study f6. Maybe you should ask your p6 lecturer what are the chapters in f6 that are relevant for p6 purposes.

IBA and CA are less examined in detail (and maybe it is not important at all) in p6 since they are tested in detail in f6. As for rpgt, it is essential to revise it since it is one of the main chapters in p6. You need to look into the rpgt computations as well.

But the most important thing is that the main summaries in f6 must be revised, so that you can continue in attending p6 class. (although some of the topics in f6 like CA, IBA are not important in p6)

Added on February 28, 2012, 5:20 pm
QUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 28 2012, 09:51 AM)
certain additional stuff in P6 that i noticed were Investment Holding Company computation, mining & petroleum tax, real property company (RPC), different types of tax incentive (pioneer status, investment tax allowance, export allowance etc).  all these did not appear in F6
Yeah, you're right. smile.gif Some more are reinvestment allowance, unit trust, reit, trust, estate, stamp duty and many more. Basically, p6 covers a lot of small, small topics. So you must prepare all topics for the upcoming exam.

Added on February 28, 2012, 5:23 pmtzxsean, do you take p7 for your other optional papers? If you are, how I can cope with p7....

This post has been edited by jse: Feb 28 2012, 05:23 PM
jse
post Feb 28 2012, 08:18 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 28 2012, 07:05 PM)
however things like dividend income deemed total income... interest income exempt and etc seem appear alot in many places even in estate administration, trust, unit trust/ property trust, IHC (these are the one taught in class recently)

guess I should slowly cover it

p/s: i actually took p3 p5 p7 last sitting

but then i failed p7 ultimately
Dividend income deemed total income, int. income exempt, etc. are the examples of core topics in every tax papers that you faced in ACCA exams. You must know all of their basic key principles, since they are blended with other new bunch of topics in p6.

The examples mentioned, already covered in f6.

jse
post Feb 28 2012, 09:25 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 28 2012, 08:33 PM)
in other words, must know everything from F6 and bring forward to P6. at P6 level, you are a tax consultant, you have to know Malaysia Taxation from top to toe.

At ACCA P6 paper, you are mainly examined on Income Tax Act 1967. my friend who studied CTIM, they even have exam on income tax case law
You are right.

By the way, do anyone know how to cope with p7.
jse
post Feb 28 2012, 10:13 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Feb 28 2012, 10:03 PM)
that's why i wonder why you dump P7 and go for P6? somemore you don't have the basic for P6 aka F6.  it is double the difficulty.  If i have a choice, i will still choose P7 over P6
Truly support on what you say. P6 needs a lot of hardwork and you needs a lot of memory power on the whole bunch of topics during your p6 study, unlike p7
jse
post Feb 28 2012, 10:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(M90 @ Feb 28 2012, 10:12 PM)
Guys, i'm not sure whether i should take P6 in June sitting or not.

If i take it in December, will the Income Tax standards change? Actually i'm currently attending P6 classes. I'm afraid those tax standards will be very much different with what i'm studying now... Any opinions?
Why do you think it is that matters?! If you try to take p6 this sem, just follow the tax standard that is examinable in p6 currently. I think you should not fear about the tax standard change in the real world.
jse
post Feb 28 2012, 10:19 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 28 2012, 10:17 PM)
from my personal experience

p7 not hard to study

exam questions look not hard

but freaking damn hard to earn marks
Yeah it is true. But although i had failed my p7, I still think it is worthwhile trying it. I just have an interest in p7 syllabus.
jse
post Feb 28 2012, 10:35 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Feb 28 2012, 10:29 PM)
for me...now it is utmost important to pass

rather than choosing which is my interest

to be honest...tax used to be more preferable choice comparing to audit for me

however as I'm taking 3 papers at one go every time

i cant take p6 as I dun have f6 knowledge

but now I'm left with only 1 paper

so not that hard to do p6 ...

The decision lies in your hand. If you feel it is alright, you should go ahead then. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jse: Feb 28 2012, 10:36 PM
jse
post Mar 6 2012, 11:37 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 6 2012, 04:56 PM)
Thank you for the reply.

However, if the person owns a company, what are the items that he needs to indicate in the business column?

Say, the business year end is 31 December, but the person (as an individual needs to submit individual tax return by 30-Apr-2012.

Does the needs to apportion the director's remuneration?

And in the case of dividends payout, does he needs to indicate that in the personal tax return, as have not know whether the company is going to give out dividends? Or does the dividends be declared in the following year's tax return?

Kindly advice, thanks.
What do you mean by company? A company itself is a separate legal entity and it does have its own company tax computation. And it is separated from employees and CEO. The company year end is based on its own financial year end, say 31 December. And the company will submit its return not later than 7 months from the financial year end.

I think it is correct to say a person owning a business or employment income. Business - submit its return by 30 June whilst employment - submit its return by 30 April if let's say you are talking about a director, he earns employment income s4b) income. There is no need to apportion income since it is the same respective source of I one belonging to one person.

For dividend income, it is recorded under s4c) income and the incomes above must be summed up to calculate personal tax computation.

0.0543sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:00 PM