4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Acer ICONIA A500 Official Thread V1, ICS OTA is now available!!!

benny888
post Jul 10 2011, 09:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kingguy @ Jul 10 2011, 09:09 PM)
I notice the sdcard is visible in the a500 storage report, but not in the file manager, so how do we utilize it?
You definitely can see all the storage internal sd card,ext sd card and usb thumb drive using any file manager. Just use the file manager to manage files between all these 3 in the tablet utself
benny888
post Jul 21 2011, 05:31 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jul 21 2011, 03:15 PM)
Could it be due to the Iconia is much more stable and less user reporting issues?
Actually no major issues unlike the Transformer - you pop over there and read ; they have so much problems especially with the dock. Most of the major issues I do not find it in the Iconia
benny888
post Aug 12 2011, 09:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 12 2011, 09:30 PM)
But compared to iPad and TF, colour display for Iconia looks a bit dull... rclxub.gif
You don't compare , you will be happy with it. The diaplay, I'd say is decent and nice. Most important you don't hear about bleeding issues as commonly reported in TF and ipad2. Every product has its pros n cons - the pros in the Iconia is its price and features offered : 32GB, ext micro SD slot, full USB all just for RM 1.4-1.5K
It'd be nice if we can have a 10/10 tablet but than be prepared to pay a 11/10 price for it

benny888
post Aug 13 2011, 05:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Iconia A100 dual core Tegra chip 7 inch HoneyComb tab cheap starts at us$329 announced today

http://androinica.com/2011/08/acer-debuts-...b-a100-for-329/

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 13 2011, 07:14 PM
benny888
post Aug 14 2011, 06:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(eetony @ Aug 14 2011, 06:51 PM)
wondering does it able to read the sd/cf/ms card if i connect a all-in-1 card reader through the usb port?

planning to get an android tablet soon, looking at acer and samsung tab 10.1 (waiting 4 the launch, better colour display, batt last longer, thinner & lighter). i'm guessing samsung tab 10.1 3g around rm1899 but is has none of the connectivity port. The usb and sd card adapter cost rm109 and so the total would be rm2009 while compare to acer rm1549 without 3g. what is your opinion, which 1 will you get ??
Your needs is met by the iconia - is a good worthwhile buy
The tab 10.1 is slicker n faster ui, nicer display, its thin and lightweight but poor connection options

benny888
post Aug 19 2011, 05:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(limj881128 @ Aug 19 2011, 05:21 PM)
Care to ask,are we able to use GPS on iconia?or it doesn't have integrated GPS?
Yes. use sygic aura
benny888
post Aug 21 2011, 12:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Aug 21 2011, 12:35 AM)
Can't find in market blush.gif
Download the app from market : Sygic : GPS Navigation
Trial is 7 days
Register/activate it at www.sygic.com/en.
benny888
post Aug 21 2011, 06:44 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Aug 21 2011, 04:47 AM)
How do you compare the iconia and the galaxy 10.1? My friend got 1 today and it seems like the tab is more responsive and faster.
Tab 10.1 is indeed very much more responsive and every process is faster. Very obvious, can say no lag at all
benny888
post Aug 22 2011, 08:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(andy8274 @ Aug 22 2011, 03:49 PM)
how much you sell the a500?  hmm.gif
RM 1200 after a month usage
benny888
post Aug 25 2011, 03:51 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(picang @ Aug 25 2011, 03:26 PM)
It didn't work on my Maxis Mobile BB sad.gif
By default it will not work. Some cook roms now already build this feature in
You need root and install the 3G usb apk

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1118639

If you have a telco modem and since is preconfigured, you can always flash the modem to a generic type to accept all telcos.
benny888
post Sep 1 2011, 08:30 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(keeplwk @ Sep 1 2011, 05:13 PM)
hmm xda forum does not has this version ..Acer_A500_4.010.40_COM_GEN1

if i install the stock rom will auto remove the CWM recovery ?
Installing stock will unroot and remove 3rd party recovery. You can just run the recovery APK file to reinstall it
benny888
post Sep 7 2011, 09:41 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Yes right just install the 3g patch zip to have usb modem working. countercheck modem model compatibility with the list given by developer. most huawei modem will work. i tested only my own unit from celcom
benny888
post Sep 8 2011, 10:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(limj881128 @ Sep 8 2011, 09:39 AM)
Good morning everyone,need your guys help,can I ask why I can't access my recovery mode?
When I follow the page 1instruction,I install the Acer recovery installer,then run the app,I see my install rom:unknown stock or custom rom.
Then I restart my tablet while pressing volume down and power button,manage to see the splash screen with white wording but till I see Android cartoon,it load for a while then show a sign of error on the android stomach.it there any problem?thank you in. Advance
Press down the vol button ( near the power switch ) and press the power button. You will see ACER splash screen and some small white words appearing at the top. Let go both buttons. The tab will boot into recovery mode

If you see the android logo - you have overshot. Try gain
benny888
post Sep 8 2011, 03:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(vh_20 @ Sep 8 2011, 02:49 PM)
u got sdcard inserted or not?  tongue.gif
Do not confuse him. You do NOT need external SD card. All the flash zip files is to be copied to the INTERNAL SD card
Probably he has rename his card zip twice ; a common mistake. Instead of update.zip , it ends up as update.zip.zip
benny888
post Sep 8 2011, 08:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(limj881128 @ Sep 8 2011, 06:48 PM)
OK OK,I think where is my mistake,I didn't rename my zip file. tongue.gif
really thank you to all the sifu for teaching me!!! blush.gif  biggrin.gif

Added on September 8, 2011, 8:02 pmUpdate,the result still the same.can I ask you all,is the any third party app I miss out...my recovery mode always say can't mount my sdcard
You misunderstood. Check your update file with full view of file extension shown. Don't go and change it to become update.zip.zip - it should just be update.zip

There is no need for any 3rd party apps. Go read the instructions again and see what you missed. I have written it out very clearly - check it at page 1 as TS has included it
benny888
post Sep 11 2011, 05:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(chonkit @ Sep 10 2011, 10:52 PM)
hey guys..just now i go check this tablet price in senheng kelana jaya.. it is still rm 1599..where can i get rm 1399 in pj?
Officials SENQ as advertise in this week newspaper is 1499. Member gets rm50 discount n 2 years warranty plus freegift eg bt java headset
benny888
post Sep 12 2011, 11:33 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I don't use screen protectors these days ; have stop using it about a year back. UNless you are a rough user and do not knows how to take care , maybe a SP will help. MY smartphones/tablets are always in a covered casing - it is good enough protection.

benny888
post Sep 12 2011, 12:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Use Friendme or Friendcaster as a replacement for Facebook
It is obvious Google will not be providing any improvement to the Facebook app as they plan Google+ to be the next Facebook
benny888
post Sep 23 2011, 01:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ccfoo82 @ Sep 23 2011, 01:35 PM)
Lately update to 3.2 officially.
but got problem... cannot type Chinese word...
anyone can advice for this?
Just download google pinyin from market
benny888
post Nov 17 2011, 08:37 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ask_Yip @ Nov 17 2011, 07:53 AM)
Abit worry to delete manually cause worry about system problem since I don't have root.

Thanks, will try someday when I am really in need of space. smile.gif
It is very safe to delete. It has nothing related to root

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0311sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:05 PM