The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V2, Sony NEX 5N & NEX7 Unveil

nlik
post Oct 11 2011, 09:03 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Oct 10 2011, 04:52 PM)
i nvr heard that filter can make ur picture better.... all those extra mirror do is make ur pic quality worse than better.... they only surf as protection for ur precious piece of lens..... unless u are doing Film photography or else UV has no effect on ur digital sensor.
Filters do help, and some will provide you with options that are not reproducible in post processing. I've got a polarizing filter which visibly cuts out reflections at locations like lakes or shooting through windows.
The downside of a filter is that it would reduce the amount of light received by the sensor, meaning that you may need to reduce shutter speed or dial up the EC.

nlik
post Oct 16 2011, 12:49 AM

876 posts

Hmm.. I see now, 1 reason why some DSLR users move away from the NEX..

It's because NEX-3/5 can't easily trigger external flash units. There are some workarounds, i don't even know if they sell those stuff in shops here.

Adding more insult to NEX, it has a preflash that would trigger external flashes before the actual NEX flash fires. The shutter not open yet with the preflash, but the external flash would have already fired.

Wifi, wireless trigger would be the best. would be awesome if someone built a real Alpha equivalent Hot-Shoe for the Nex accessory port.

This post has been edited by nlik: Oct 16 2011, 12:50 AM
nlik
post Oct 16 2011, 11:22 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 16 2011, 01:08 AM)
It has already happened.

It's called NEX 7.
Der.. everyone here probably knows it. But that doesn't help the existing 3/5 users. Got a blog that attached a light trigger that was attached to a wireless transmitter, finally the 2 parts attached on the NEX flash... hmm..
nlik
post Oct 20 2011, 09:11 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(mrkudin @ Oct 19 2011, 09:22 AM)
I've test Nex with Yongnuo YN560 which I borrowwd from my friend. I can say it's work with S2 mode successfully as long as the Slave can detect the flash triggered from Nex flash. Wanna go and buy YN560 this weekend.. ;-)
This is good news wink.gif. let us know the results.

if NEX shook up the Dslr market. This one is an even bigger distruptor : https://www.lytro.com/camera it's a real wow!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by nlik: Oct 20 2011, 09:12 AM
nlik
post Oct 21 2011, 03:33 PM

876 posts

Sony ALpha get's a nosebleed session ahhaa...

Alpha Bikini Challenge - Penang - 30.10.11 Click here for more details
Sunday, October 30, 2011

first time ever !

9am-registration

10am-1pm - photoshoot

1-3pm - photo submission/ judging/ prize giving

limited seats - if you don't get to attend this time - we will open again in future

Also.. NEX-5 Shot yesterday nite:

This post has been edited by nlik: Oct 21 2011, 04:28 PM
nlik
post Oct 25 2011, 10:18 PM

876 posts

Got a chance to hold the A77 and A65 at Sony Center , Times Square. Heavy duty that A77, almost feel like i am carrying a military grade translucent weapon. FEels heavier than the D7000 as well.
nlik
post Oct 25 2011, 11:39 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 25 2011, 10:52 PM)
What lens was mounted on the a77? 16-50?
Yes yes, the DT 16-50mm. The zoom and focus rings are very tight though, hard to turn them.

Not everyday you get to test out a RM6k camera.. phew.. sweat.gif The mode dial is rubberized , where the A65 is still metal. A77 articulate screen can do wonders at different angles even a yoga guru would be pleased.Very neat and concealed wires.

very slight delay on the EVF reacting to your eyes. I wonder if your thumb could swipe at the evf, before your eye reaches it to workaorund the delay??. I didn't try that as i just thought of it.
nlik
post Oct 31 2011, 09:25 AM

876 posts

- Alpha Melaka Challenge on 12/November with Bus from KL. interesting that they put who should attend... "expecially NEX users"

- Fu-You Light Painting talk by Dr Low Boon Toh -KL on 13.11.11 available on My Sony Workshops.

Anyone going for it or both?? I probably will go for the light painting talk, the melaka trip hmm..

nlik
post Nov 20 2011, 01:48 PM

876 posts

Yesterday had printed 259 pictures in 4R size, at 40 cents each. re-lived an old experience of slotting pictures into an album. The shop used Fuji paper, delivered within an hour and i'm satisfied with the results la. Different kind of satisfaction to see your own shots in print.

Slightly softer pics than what you can see on the screen but still acceptably sharp n no jaggies, no noise. gave them in roughly the resolutions of 1920x1280. Wide angle shots will have white bars at the top and bottom. Well.. u can always write something there smile.gif

Nowdays at 40 cents, they will only provide the stack of photos, no more individual photo albums and they don't slot in the pics for you.

Anyway, just sharing another fun part of photo taking. hapi 2011.2011

nlik
post Nov 22 2011, 05:05 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Frida8 @ Nov 21 2011, 05:49 PM)
may i know the shop name?
i seldom print out the pics but its good to know if they have good printing quality:) Thanks!
Foto EOE , upper floor of Tesco Puchong. yea, I can't complain on the quality and they delivered within the hour.

QUOTE(yuman @ Nov 21 2011, 11:03 PM)
haha, that's quite cute actually! haven't done that in a while. maybe i should do an album for my vacation
Can ar wink.gif . The reason i did it is because it seems that relatives age more than 50+ still prefer to view them in hardcopy.
-----------------------------

Wow.. how u all can afford the 18-200?, priced more than the body+ cam.
nlik
post Nov 30 2011, 09:01 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(shukrie @ Nov 30 2011, 02:13 AM)
i cant register my product onlinelah .. incorrect product model .. add NEX-5N / NEX5N oso cannot .. anybody ?
It may be confusing which site to register.. since it can be on sonystyle, mysony, playstation is on a 3rd different site.

can try this?
https://mysony.sony.com.my/ExpressProductRegistration.aspx
nlik
post Dec 3 2011, 01:51 AM

876 posts

Don't be afraid of Big Black DSLR's with towering flashes at PC Fair. Go on, and smile with your tiny NEX smile.gif

I think she's one of the more photogenic gals there.

It's christmas month:

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 3 2011, 06:09 PM
nlik
post Dec 5 2011, 10:16 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Dec 5 2011, 06:52 AM)
I like the first 1.

----------------

Yea..If that spicy sel18200 wasn't so pricy, i would like to get 1 too. Endless wait for Tamron/Sigma native E-mount with VS..

nlik
post Dec 6 2011, 09:23 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(LoBil @ Dec 5 2011, 11:24 PM)
Guys, did any one know where can we buy the flash difuser for our Nex original flash?
yes. go sports shop, buy a box of ping pong balls. THen cut a rectangle out of it, and engulf the NEx flash with the ping pong "pacman".

More 'light painting' attempts.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 6 2011, 09:34 PM
nlik
post Dec 7 2011, 01:10 PM

876 posts

Cool... NEX underwater housing, price seems to be in the RM400 to 600 range. Still cheaper than buying a lumix FT3.

http://www.foto-tip.pl/sklep/product_info....218&language=en

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 7 2011, 01:11 PM
nlik
post Dec 8 2011, 11:33 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(axii @ Dec 8 2011, 02:15 PM)

Added on December 8, 2011, 3:41 pmHOTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/hot-tamron-...c-lens-for-nex/

HOT! Tamron announces a new 18-200mm f/3,5-6,3 Di III VC lens for NEX!!!

For those trying this:

I'll buy if it is around 50 to 60% of the sel18200 retail price. In other words if it is priced around other current Tamron 18200 prices as per Shashinki, then i think it's worth it.

---------

That aside, tomorrow to visit pudu plaza, see if i can find a YongNuo and test it out.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 8 2011, 11:57 PM
nlik
post Dec 11 2011, 09:18 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(axii @ Dec 9 2011, 03:30 AM)

Added on December 9, 2011, 3:37 am
Regarding the Yong Nuos, here's a good read detailing situations where it will not trigger:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/readflat...40016735&page=1
I tested the YN-560 in Pudu Plaza with NEX-5. It reliably fired every time we tested using S1 mode, 5 out of 5 times, fill flash settings. It doesn't fire using S2. However, we believe it kept firing on the preflash. The problem is the sync and timing which i believe requires much more time to fine tune and test. THey are selling another add on kit to actually sync the flash properly but no stock at that time la.

Found out also that YongNuo is cheap because it is a 1 piece construction meaning that if the bulb blows, there is no way to just disassemble the head and replace the bulb. It has to be sent back to China for warranty. Thus, I am now thinking about Nissin hmm.gif , higher price but more peace of mind.

QUOTE(stormswys @ Dec 10 2011, 03:42 PM)
any recommendation for a non-ori 2nd/backup battery? brand? thanks.
Pisen. I have used it for more than 5 months without any problems. The battery life is similar to Ori.

Here's my putrajaya shot.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 11 2011, 09:18 AM
nlik
post Dec 11 2011, 08:06 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(stormswys @ Dec 11 2011, 02:08 PM)
bro, you using Nex-5 or 5N? saw some reviews that Pisen is not compatible with 5N? btw where did you get it and for how much?
Oh ok. I'm on the pioneer 5, not the 5N. I'm sorrie but am not sure if it works on 5N. Yea, i did searched for info and there is some news that 5N will reject non Sony batts for now. dpreview forum thread even claimed the Sony batt for NEX-5 and NEX-3 did not work on the 5N.

This guy seems to have found 1 working with 5n. dpreview forum2

I speculate that perhaps from warranty or claims of defect for the camera, Sony may think that 3rd party batteries are causing issues for customers. Therfore they probably lock it in some way to only particular Sony batteries. Yea.. some can say that they want more sales of their own batteries.

Anyway, I got it for RM90 from a shop at Pudu Plaza, ... well I'm not a fan of that location, but it is one of the LRT train stops on the way home.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 11 2011, 08:16 PM
nlik
post Dec 11 2011, 11:48 PM

876 posts

Another NEX shot, during the weekend to share smile.gif
nlik
post Dec 14 2011, 04:20 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(shahibbul @ Dec 14 2011, 03:25 PM)
Hi guys, I decided to buy either these 2 prime lenses for my NEx-5n

1. Canon 50mm F1.8 MF (RM 320)
2. Minolta 55mm F1.7 MF (RM 320)

My question is
1. Is it worth it for the price?
2. Is there a better option out there?
3. Do I need an adaptor?

Thanks in advance guys
2. I am using the 35 mm Nikon 1.8. WHY? because 50mmX1.5=75mm and without stabilization, will get more shaky photos.
- 35 X 1.5= 52.5mm which is equals a normal lens and les prone to shaky pics.
- Canon cannot manually adjust aperture.

3. Yes, need to add in adapter cost ~Rm200. nett would be Rm320+Rm200.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0287sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:05 AM