SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V6, The ULTIMATE Android experience is here
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 02:10 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ Jun 26 2011, 02:09 PM) Yes, I read that. Sorry if i'm being too dumb, but what do you mean by /mnt/sdcard? I don't see any mnt nor sdcard folder when i connect my phone to my laptop. btw i'm using samsung usb drivers to connect, not samsung kies the /mnt means mounted and you see it only when you view files inside your phone using a file explorer . Added on June 26, 2011, 2:14 pmQUOTE(ksh9394 @ Jun 26 2011, 02:07 PM) what case do u all recommend for SGS 2? Since its quite new at malaysia, i hardly find any case a t low yat. Please write down " CASES for SGS II, or leather cases or resin cases , xenus cases, argos cases etc etc " in Search topic and you will see discussions on this topic. I'd suggest you go to official version 4 and 5 - there are a lot of discussions on this with purchase links and many photo shots This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 26 2011, 02:27 PM
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 03:12 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 26 2011, 02:58 PM) So which mean the internal flash memory using MicroSD card?and that mean originally it come with 1 MicroSD card BUILT-IN right? if not why people keep repeating INTERNAL MicroSD card and EXTERNAL MicroSD card..I think this is why some people cannot get to understand it.. Hope my question can help people out there  Bro, I never said the internal is micro SD card . It is FLASH MEMORY and is partion into a 2 GB for apps and balance ( about 12 GB) for support data of the apps. I also never said it is a 1 GB ? More you ask, more you confuse other people The terminology used is always internal SDcard . There is no "micro" word - you don't see this word when you access the file system. If you use a computer to access , the internal SD is shown as NO NAME OMG my English must be getting bad that I what I write, people still don't understand
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 03:14 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 26 2011, 03:08 PM) What if the INTERNAL BUILT-IN MicroSD card spoil already? Just wondering  It is FLASH memory NOT micro Sd. If spoilt, say sayonara lah
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 04:01 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 26 2011, 02:44 PM) 3rd, 4th and 5th link seems not working... couldn't locate SEP info. Anyway I'll be in KL coming weekend, how high is the chance I able to get a set off SEP outlets, can I book a unit with them? Thanks for the headsup.All photos and links fixed
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 04:11 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(gingerman2408 @ Jun 26 2011, 04:07 PM) Yea Sygic locks very fast but the downside is it needs an internet connection to get started up like what Benny said. As i'm currently not on any data plan, I can't really use it. Thinking about trying the Google Maps 5.6.0 ownhere but that also need internet connection right? Use Google Maps and you will incurred data charges when using navigation. Refer page 1 FAQ post#4 Q23 on how to enable navigation in Google Maps. By default is disabled in Malaysia
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 05:18 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 05:13 PM) Luckily there is Jig... Now it is breathing again... Where did you download the samsung kernel. since you have jig just use it to remove yellow triangle.
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 05:40 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(iori57 @ Jun 26 2011, 05:32 PM) Just wondering if my old capdase car charger for iphone 3gs is suitable to charge galaxy II? It has two usb ports.. wondering if i could just plug the usb cable to it.... thanks [attachmentid=2296700] Yes definitely
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 05:46 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 05:27 PM) from XDA forum. This should be the stock kernel GT-I9100_TGY_I9100ZSKF1_Kernel.tar Yes, the jig did serve its purpose. Thanks again. Btw, a new question, iinm, using titanium backup can freeze unwanted apps that running background right? I did grant it superuser right, however i can't find any options of "freezer" Did you flash it as a zimage file . You cannot flash it as a tar file for this purpose Added on June 26, 2011, 5:50 pmQUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 05:40 PM) titanium backup pro My bad, only red color apps is able to freeze.. No , it should be able to freeze ALL apps except core system apps. I have freeze most of the samsung default apps and widgets I don't use. I am using orinal purchased version. Other versions abound on the web I cannot vouch for it This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 26 2011, 05:50 PM
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 05:56 PM
Gadget Freak
An interesting study on battery behaviour. Pick this up at sensation thread http://byrong.com/PowerTesting/
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 06:08 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:02 PM) I am following on this guide at XDA, however stuck at step no.6. He stated flash the Samsung kernel, doesn't he mean flash the tar at PDA using ODIN?
(1) Make sure you have CF-Root flashed (see the first post). You must have the "CWM Manager" app available.
(2) Make sure you have the same version of CF-Root extracted until you have the zImage file. (ZIP --> extract --> TAR --> extract --> zImage).
(3) Push the zImage file to /sdcard . It must still be called zImage !
He has make it very clear you flash a zimage file not the tar file, you have to e/tract the tar file one level down to have the zimagefile
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 06:36 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(BeHappy @ Jun 26 2011, 05:56 PM) Hi all, I am trying to use Supercurio 3 to root. Can anyone guide me the steps? There's a link in the website to download the below file. What do we do next with the file? "100_Kernel_Gingerbread-supercurio-3.tar" Please refer to page 1 post # 5 where I have write down a tutorial covering all the prerequistes on PC, links to file downloads, Odin etc. Just follow it exactly
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 06:41 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(mydendenmushi @ Jun 26 2011, 06:35 PM) Tks uncle benny. been thinking if something goes wrong and want to claim warranty id rather not leave any trace of rooting whatsoever i.e as stock n official condition.. Yes, this will do. So do write down your phone original specs so that your official rom you find matches it Record down your firmware specs, example mine original was : Baseband/PHONE : I9100XXKDH Kernel : 2.6.35.7-i9100xwkdd-cl161513root@dell103#2 Build : gingerbread.xwkdd PDA : I9100XWKDD CSC : I9100XEUKD1
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 06:54 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:17 PM) I did extract the zimage into sdcard folder as mentioned in step 3. in step 4, he mentioned Find an original Samsung signed stock kernel (preferably from the same stock firmware you have, but it's not terribly important)that is why i flash using the tar (stock kernl) . So i should put the zimage file into sdcard folder, then open ODIN, on PDA, browse to sdcard and put zimage? btw, i found a newbie guide (long and details explanation guide at XDA). May be you can put it at 1st page? http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1126522Updated tutorial link in page one YES ; you just copy the zimage file and select it as PDA .
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 06:56 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(gone83 @ Jun 26 2011, 06:50 PM) thanks jumanz, I've installed PAPAGOx5.1, map version: MFM PPG Version 1-5-11. How to download the Malfreemaps? & how to check the latest map? I'm kind a noob here, my last phone is P1i.  This question don't know how many times being asked - refer back several posts up or just refer Page 1 post# 6
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 07:06 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Jun 26 2011, 07:04 PM) icic...that is my mistake there. Thanks again uncle benny. At least you save your phone with the JIG. Moral of story - READ the steps , READ IT AGAIN and you will not make any mistake I cannot overemphasize again how important this simple rule is
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 07:27 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Jun 26 2011, 07:16 PM) Seriously bro , what is your prob ? Here u go again saying how bad is the phone build quality yet in these thread i posted below , u r actually trying to trade your HTC Sensation for a SGSII http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1922969&hl=http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1783068&hl=http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1865325&hl=Aiseh ! Noobie secret fan/follower of our friend celcom.axiata
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 09:35 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(ksh9394 @ Jun 26 2011, 09:32 PM) i just installed root explorer but the apps FC when open. Any reason? i'm using litening rom btw. If you have FC, just go to settings/applications/manage application - browse for the app and select clear data. Or you uninstall the app and install again. Did you do a clear data/factory reset before flashing this litening rom . Such issues will occur if you did not do it flashing the first time or moving to this rom from another rom
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 10:00 PM
Gadget Freak
This thread really moving very fast , exactly 2 days already at 39 pages. But sadly a lot of repeated questions, flaming debating which is better bla bla bla... New users please do read page 1 where I have attempted to post commonly FAQ and root/rom/flashing guidelines
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 10:03 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(wcpon @ Jun 26 2011, 09:58 PM) how about nandroid backup? what is the difference between titanium backup pro and nandroid backup?? Is this also doing the same function ? Nandroid is a 100 % FULL backup of your phone . If your phone crashed, restoring from this backup will give you back the phone exactly as it was at backup time. Titanium backup only backup your system apps, 3rd party apps and your data. If your phone crashed , Titanium Backup cannot restore your phone. You use TB to restore back your data when the phone is in working condition
TSbenny888
Jun 26 2011, 10:06 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(gfx @ Jun 26 2011, 10:03 PM) hey guys, im having a problem while trying this *#0*# code. received some error saying connection problem or mmi code invalid. edited: is this only for the sets bought outside malaysia? This is standard codes - works with any Samsung phone not only SGS II. Try again, maybe you mistype. After you finish typing, you will see immediately a silver background titled LCD TEST with 17 boxes of tests parameters If it doesn't work at all, your phone has problem