7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

K5WHITE
post Mar 16 2012, 06:26 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 16 2012, 06:17 PM)
Can't complaint much, the 400k new audi  A6 also using similar glovebox cooler.
hahaha..i like this quote...hahaa..
we must understand, what we are paying actually suppose to get a underpower 2.0L car with fabric seat, nothing much else, but got comfort and brand name (T or H) and just maybe, good after sales service and re-sale value

got my audio system fixed lioaw..rupanya, the "load" button on the top got stucked at the panel...as thou being pressed continuously..

K5WHITE
post Mar 17 2012, 10:54 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(sidhu13 @ Mar 17 2012, 10:45 AM)
Hey, i had the same problem as well with the load button. Did they fix it for you? Which service center?
My service center said that they need to claim for a new set as they cant fix it... so they put claimed under warranty, new set should be coming soon
it is NOT the audio system fault...actually, the in-built player's "LOAD" button got pressed/stucked under the console panel...thats why the system abit confused and hang
took it to Kia Glenmarie, they took out the console panel, sandpaper off little more clearance for the LOAD button, and fix it back..and okie lioaw in 1 hr or so...bluetooth no problemo at all after that..pair easily with my android gbread S2...

K5WHITE
post Mar 17 2012, 02:17 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 17 2012, 12:45 PM)
Press set button once, then press 1 or 2 until you hear two beeps. Then release it.

You can't set the it while you're on the move.
while u are stationary (no need P, N oso can)adjust ur seat to the desire position.
Press "SET", then press 1 or 2.
U will hear 2 beeps and the setting is done.
U dont have to hold the button 1 or 2.
Just press and release immediately.
To recall the setting position stored in 1 or 2, your car oso must be in stationary.

U got fed up coz the prob is the car have to be in stationary, same as setting the oil change menu. Have to be in stationary for safety reason.

Blue colour is nice, so is black, and red as well...maybe those stocks are hot cakes, so they bring to m'sia those unwanted colours?
K5WHITE
post Mar 19 2012, 11:12 AM

92 posts

cybermaster88 question 3
i noticed that the car radiator fan has good flow direction or it is designed to be directed towards the side rear..reason i saying so is that, u can try opening the engine boot and u can find that there is no heat or hot air blowing out upwards...

so, is not abnormal that u feel hot air if u standing at the siderear of the car
K5WHITE
post Mar 19 2012, 12:20 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 19 2012, 12:02 PM)
Yes the aircon takes about 1min to actually start cooling. The longest ive seen in any car actually. In all other cars (including my 9 yr old Vios), the cooling starts after about 10 secs and there's a gradual increase. But in the Optima's case, there is 100% hot air blown for the first minute or so.

But i can live with that. What worries me is the burning smell. Never noticed it in any other test drive car from other manufacturers. And the smell permeates into the cabin as well. The vibration in the steering wheel is also kinda disturbing. Its like the tyres are losing grip.

Added on March 19, 2012, 12:04 pm

Well that solves only 1 'problem'. Doesnt explain the high amount of heat being released. I would expect that if the car has been in use for a few hours but we're talking only about 20mins here. Why would there be that amount of heat being permeated? I mean its quite hot. Has it got anything to do with the burning smell?

Added on March 19, 2012, 12:05 pm

But how come ive never faced a similar problem on any other car make ive tested? Come to think of it, i dont think i experienced this when i tried out the Forte when it was launched either. Its really worrisome.  icon_question.gif

Added on March 19, 2012, 12:06 pm

Are u sure? It was always the norm for local dealers to offer higher prices due to the local number plate.
the number plates has nothing to do with the price already..few years back, the dealer had to do the ownership transfer at the respective state, hence the extra cost...but now, any plates at any states oso can lioaw..so no difference...
the reason other states can take higher coz it is very simple...supply n demand ..
other states where the income of ppl there are generally lower than in the main city or KL in this case. And u can see actually there are demand there for used cars, but very few population or cars means less ppl trade in there. So they need to get stocks from outside. Again, this work as supply and demand lor..Naza can give bigger rebates, if demand is low, but stock is aplenty...same rite?

i sold my last proton (will never get one again) at a price 3k higher to a dealer from ipoh..

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Mar 19 2012, 12:21 PM
K5WHITE
post Mar 19 2012, 03:22 PM

92 posts

dont be surprise that actually engine get more hot leaving it idling, not moving...compare to moving at average speed..coz of air blowing the radiator cooling effect is much more than the radiator fan itself...
K5WHITE
post Mar 20 2012, 11:06 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 20 2012, 07:41 AM)
Which showroomm did you test? Any contact? Btw, i thought our CBU units are coming from Korea now while US has a separate manufacturing plant?

But i think that the explanation on the CBU units being under the assumption is for showroom use only doesnt make sense. How many showrooms are there in Malaysia anyway? Now, most showrooms have ready stock for the platinum graphite (as its not a popular color) and other colors are on display. The silver is in high demand. Im sure its common knowledge that the CBU cars brought in are being sold. The CKD versions of the Optima will only start earliest after June. They just started the Sportage CKD in Feb this year.
Actually, it is possible. A company can request for tax exemption or special rebate for imports for purposes that can be manipulated. For this instance, the SA say for showroom units, but in actual, it could be for Naza R&D/CKD project or many others which im sure the tax lawyer at Naza can find loopholes. I been in such situation in my previous company, but not in importing cars. In machinery that in tax alone cost 5 figures at least. How true this K5 case, i cannot comment further, just sharing my point, that it is possible.
K5WHITE
post Mar 20 2012, 12:47 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 20 2012, 12:45 PM)
Don't get platinum graphite la. I wanna be unique. White colour chun. Btw, does K5 have audio mute button? Anybody changed rims already?
u be the unique wan lor...change the rims and post pics here...heheehe

Added on March 20, 2012, 1:40 pmmute button, dont think there is. But u can off the system via press hold the "MODE" button on the steering

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Mar 20 2012, 01:40 PM
K5WHITE
post Mar 20 2012, 02:05 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(stanleychai @ Mar 20 2012, 01:59 PM)
Bros, get my K5 soon...anyone interested to change the front shape lighting? http://www.superichmotors.com/front/php/pr...display_group=1
i saw this product before, and went back and boot-up to check and see the headlight if there is socket ready over there..interested to get the yellow 4-rectangular light...

u now how it is installed? and how much? can mod ownself?
K5WHITE
post Mar 21 2012, 11:13 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 21 2012, 08:37 AM)
If i purchase my car in Ipoh but want a KL plate, does the car need to be driven to KL for the Puspakom inspection and JPJ?
the inspection can be done at any puspakom, but registration, ie handing in the K1 form, getting registration card have to be done at any JPJ branch in KL.

Added on March 21, 2012, 11:15 am
QUOTE(DJSoo @ Mar 21 2012, 01:38 AM)
Drive my K5 whole day PJ-KL KL-PJ .. Nice ride.. And a lot of ppls looking on it.. Haha.. smile.gif
But i found something not right is.. I speed up to 100mph, my next passenger seat will shake and even making sound out.. I checked and adjusted again make sure it lock in right position, but then is the same.
Any1 have this matter too?
100mph = 165km/hr...and the seat shaking? sound from fixture at the bottom of the seat?
better get it check, mine so far touch wood no problem...onli sound is the tyre and road sound tongue.gif

but this morning, while wearing my shoe to work, noticed the front bumper at the bottom kena scratched lioaw..but to my knowledge, i never hit any road curb oso...must be some high road bump....imagine putting lowered spring and front skirting somemore....wah !!!

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Mar 21 2012, 11:17 AM
K5WHITE
post Mar 21 2012, 04:22 PM

92 posts

clarify wat u mean by taillight all working?
K5WHITE
post Mar 21 2012, 04:26 PM

92 posts

u mean, the tail light lighted continuously to the boot lid strip?
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 10:08 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(bomohhantu @ Mar 22 2012, 09:54 AM)
Here will tell you buy K5 only.
hahaha...

i think best is u spend some time reading this thread, and if got more time, google and read from overseas forums...and then, after that, if got more time, test drive them all...thats the best way to help u decide...
i find reading comments from direct owners in forums are really helping me to decide...even better than reviews by so called experts, coz they might be biased or 'bought over'

but then of course if u r lazy and got plenty of money to spend, just flip coins

Added on March 22, 2012, 10:49 amwas trying to feel the sharp edge at the rear of the steering at eco button...but cant find the sharp edge that cut our friend's butter finger here...hehehee....nope, dont have !!

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Mar 22 2012, 10:49 AM
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 11:08 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 22 2012, 11:06 AM)
What the, early early morning kena attacked. Looks like my steering wheel has serious quality issues. I'm going to check the showroom units before further comments. Will report here later.
hahahaa...just kidding...
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 11:23 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(stanleychai @ Mar 22 2012, 10:07 AM)
Bro, go to test the cars, don't trust any other comments. I never drive accord before, but i can share to you my experience about Camry. No deny, Camry is a very comfortable car, but seriously under power with the engine and gearbox. If you intend to buy a comfortable car, go for Teana or Camry, (Teana better). If you want a better performance in D-Segment with 2.0 engine, Rm150 budget, go for K5. Volkswagon Passat is another good option, but for me, Passat consider a car between C-D Segment. Although Volkswagon price it like D-Segment Car. Spend 40k for better performance? hmm.gif

Go to test it yourself! smile.gif
passat is IN D-segment...although some might feel doubt abt it, try sitting in the car, and yeah..bigger than accord for the interior space

Added on March 22, 2012, 11:36 am
QUOTE(texass @ Mar 22 2012, 11:20 AM)
A test drive cannot make me decide which is the best!. Maybe someone who got the experience with the car for sometimes can give a suggestion.
Anyway thanks for all opinion and suggestion.
well, test drive at least can really finalize ur decision...the feel of the car, the size of the car, the driving pleasure..coz some experience or situation cant be explained by words, very subjective..

for me, at first im skeptic abt korean car...seeing many of my friends stucked with old sonata, kia sephia...i was reluctant at first...but reading and seeing many ppl expecially from other countries really help, coz the car was launched close to 2 years over there, and u can see if there is any reliability problems or watever problems...

i can remember one quote from the forum...he is replying to a review by an expert in car testing, saying the car seat cushion is too thin for long ride comfort... his reply was, "his whole review of finding faults of the car conclude ONLY that" which is the car seat cushioning onli...

well, of course over time, i find some owners have complains as well, but whose are minor or not really deterring me from selecting this car

it got looks, more power than others in its range, leg room front n rear(overall space), specs(long list), and cheapest (2nd to sonata low spec), resale value no one knows for sure..
took my dad-in-law for a spin..he owns the latest E250...and i can see he is surprise at the car overall..some things in K5 not even present in E250

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Mar 22 2012, 11:38 AM
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 11:48 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Mar 22 2012, 11:42 AM)
Are you kidding? Accord has the largest cabin space of any currently available D-segment in the country bar none...

http://www.conceptcarz.com/vehicle/default...carID=19362&i=2

http://www.conceptcarz.com/vehicle/default...=17366&i=2#menu
not much..but somehow i feel passat has bigger leg room than accord. Im just saying what i felt, coz i thought passat is small, judging by its exterior look, but after test drive, and having driven accord before as well, thats just my opinion
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 12:02 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 22 2012, 11:58 AM)
So good meh? I was just setting E250 as my mid term goal. Any way, I've just parked my car beside a camry and accord yesterday and spent some time looking at them. ail else ignored, K5's design is at least two generations ahead of the other two. No offence.
i never say K5 better than E250 lar...im jsut saying he is surprised at the korean car K5..E250 tarak reverse camera, tarak easy access seat, sunroof tarak fabric cover (yes, daytime sunllight beam in wan..he cursing say hot ler!!), tarak headlight washer..aiyor, of course E250 overall is better car than K5 lor...almost 3 times the price ler !!
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 01:32 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 22 2012, 01:24 PM)
Exactly! The Passat is kinda cramped at the back. No match for the Camry, Teana, Accord or K5 at all.
really? maybe my ear stucked full of shit...cant extimate space..my fault...

but i still think passat is IN d-segment, and it is surprisingly big inside...cathedral...yeah..thats the word one reviewer said abt it...
K5WHITE
post Mar 22 2012, 02:30 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Mar 22 2012, 02:27 PM)
Quick!!!! Someone please post a killer PG K5 before i regret taking it!!!!
hahaa...tot u wanna be unique?

hey guys, K5 oil change is 5 ltr...is it true?
K5WHITE
post Mar 23 2012, 11:58 AM

92 posts

yesterday was rushing to KL from shah alam using kesas n mex, to meet up wif frens..quite hard pressing the pedals, rpm ard 5k using pedal shifter all the time...didnt notice brunt smell after that..

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:05 PM