5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 03:21 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 15 2011, 03:06 AM)
Sorry, don't know whats wrong with your partitioning, regarding 7-Zip try to run it as administrator by right clicking on the icon and choose Run As Administrator before you set file associations.
Don't know 6114TX have indicator for Numlock On/Off. sweat.gif

That guy is very smart... i could just lol all day long. rclxms.gif
Ok... i try running it as administrator... my dv6-6114tx's numlock problem solved itself... now the numlock is permanent... LOL... laugh.gif
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 02:48 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Momojii @ Jul 15 2011, 02:39 PM)
So they don't give you a cd?
Nope, the package is just the product key. Dont worry, the office 2010 is already pre-installed in your dv6 tongue.gif
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 03:35 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2011, 02:56 PM)
You can use 3rd party partition software to shrink it to smaller..
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2011, 03:06 PM)
That one should work..
sifu lee, yesterday i tried using the minitool and follow ThisIsBoletaria's guide, but i failed which i think is due to my own reason.
I wanna ask whether what im trying to do is correct or not, please correct me if im wrong:
This is what im going to try again tonight:
-first, install the minitool partition home wizard
-then open it, i see 4 things: system, C: drive, D:Recovery and E:HP_TOOL and all these 4 things are "primary"
-then i first shrink the C:drive into let's say 100GB which is still in "primary"
-then the remaining space i set it to "logical" is it?
-after that only i repartition the remaining space according to the number of my preferred drives number is it?

rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 03:43 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2011, 03:40 PM)
You would need to set it to logical, since MBR could only hold 4 primary partition or 3 primary + logical..
you mean, i shrink the C: drive which is still a primary partition down first, then only i reassign the remaining space as logical?

Added on July 15, 2011, 3:46 pmyesterday i set the C: drive to logical first, then only i repartition and then it failed.... when i rebooted so that the minitool kicks in, after it run the C:drive repartitioning for around 20%, then screen goes black, and it hangs... i have to force shut down it in the end.... and the windows memory diagnosis helped me revert back to normal....

This post has been edited by rurushu: Jul 15 2011, 03:46 PM
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 03:53 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2011, 03:48 PM)
I think because you set it to logical,
OS partition need to be primary so there is bootloader..
Okay... so meaning first i shrink C: drive down in its original primary partition state.
Then i assign the remaining space as logical partition and im good to repartition my remaining space?
rurushu
post Jul 15 2011, 03:58 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2011, 03:54 PM)
Yup.
Okay, I will try it again tonight. Many thanks for your help, sifu lee!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
rurushu
post Jul 18 2011, 01:53 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jul 17 2011, 11:39 PM)
boss, compare the BR and DVD, which one is the best you think?? hmm.gif
Of course BD drive > DVD
With BD, you can play blu-ray, dvd and etc, with dvd, you can only play dvd and etc
with BD, you get +1 option laugh.gif

Added on July 18, 2011, 1:57 am
QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Jul 17 2011, 09:38 PM)
Most people using this rig are snsd fan zzzz
QUOTE(kailoonthedog @ Jul 18 2011, 01:24 AM)
Many snsd fans using this laptop
Why? you having problem with SNSD fans using this laptop?

This post has been edited by rurushu: Jul 18 2011, 01:57 AM
rurushu
post Jul 22 2011, 03:40 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 22 2011, 12:54 PM)
Guys how to ensure 6770m is running ah ? My WEI keep showing intel one .. And my HWmonitor keep show 6770 but no temp, fan speed or wahtsoever =.=
Yeah, i also having that issue. Downloaded HWmonitor and run as admin but only display the CPU and ram speed/temp, the GPU and fan no speed and temp is displayed... wonder why... hmm.gif
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 22 2011, 01:01 PM)
Use GPU-Z to check the temp ?
If yours using the auto switch, WEI won't detect/display the HD6770M..
Then how? sifu lee, im using 6114tx, i used the HWmonitor and it cant check my radeon hd6770m, the fan and the hdd speed/temp.
if use CPU-Z, it cant check the radeon card also? coz mine is the auto-switch.... cry.gif
rurushu
post Jul 22 2011, 03:44 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 22 2011, 03:42 PM)
GPU-Z, not CPU-Z.
OOps, sorry for the mistake. MEaning if i get the GPU-Z can detect even though it is auto-switching one?
rurushu
post Jul 22 2011, 03:49 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(RiverDrifte @ Jul 22 2011, 03:45 PM)
^ If your 6770M is not running then the value will be 0 for HWMonitor and GPU-Z..

no fix on this yet. but doesn't seems to matter.  doh.gif

how to know if your 6770M is running?

when there is value in HWMonitor/GPU-Z/MSI Afterburner or any other monitoring tools out there..
Yeah, mine it appears as 0 even though im running crysis 2.... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 22 2011, 03:45 PM)
Should be,
but fan speed most likely cannot detect, which is normal for laptop...
OKay, so now. I need both CPU-Z and GPU-Z to monitor all of the hardware right? Since the fans cannot be detected and HWmonitor is not responding on the HD6770m icon_question.gif
rurushu
post Jul 22 2011, 04:18 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(RiverDrifte @ Jul 22 2011, 03:53 PM)
Crysis 2 also no 6770M?!?!?!

high performance (in Power Option) + switchable graphic setting and set crysis 2 to High Performance (in CCC)..

if not then plug in AC adapter?
Nono, what i mean is, the HWmonitor didnt detect even though my hd6770m is running crysis 2. The left palm rest is so hot and i was puzzled why the HWmonitor is showing "0" for the hd6770m.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 22 2011, 03:54 PM)
CPU-Z is just for info, it isn't for temperature...
and don't check HD6770M temp all the time, you wouldn't want it keep ON and OFF every seconds just to check its temp, it would defeats the purpose of switchable GPU..
I see... i ddnt on it and off it just to check the temp. i just checked once before i start the game, and once after i game. To monitor the temp difference, so that i doesnt go to a worrying state. While i game, i didnt exit and check the temp, then go back to game, i scared it would damage the card i on it and off it like that.... but because yesterday when i played, the left palm rest is so hot that my hands are basically soaked in water.... when i exited the game, i go check the HWmonitor and it showed "0" on hd6770m, that is why i asked this question in the first place. I was thinking "it was so freaking hot and there is no way, just no way it would be "0" reading!!!! " rclxub.gif
Sifu lee, i just wanna check once after i game, the temp is around what range, and may i ask what range is consider safe?
Im playing in a non-airconditioned environment, set the coolsense to coolest and using a U2 cooler pad. notworthy.gif
rurushu
post Jul 22 2011, 09:50 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 22 2011, 04:21 PM)
Its better to leave the temp apps running during the games, then check the max temp it got. If you start it after done gaming, it won't be accurate..

When you exit the game, the HD6770M is turned off, hence the 0 temp..

Best if can below 80C, 90C still acceptable..
oo.... okok, thanks for the advice and guidance, sifu lee! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jul 22 2011, 04:36 PM)
rurushu, try download openhardwaremonitor from lee's signature and try. I got it working to check my temp. Got it on wit maplestory and the temp around 51.5 . Not bad cause im putting the lappy on a wooden table, i think that would increase the temp abit. Wait till i get the U3 then should get very nice temperature for gaming smile.gif
Ok avengers88, i will try get the monitor from sifu lee's signature. Will post my temp when done testing. nod.gif
rurushu
post Jul 23 2011, 12:55 PM

2,021 posts

Guys, yesterday at 12.00 am i tried playing crysis 2 to check my dv6-6114tx's temperature.
this is the settings/conditions:

-played crysis 2 for an hour from 12.00am to 1.00am in the lowest settings
-set coolsense to performance optimised
-use the U2 coolerpad
-in a relatively warm room with no air-condition
-set the CPU-Z and GPU-Z running

Results:
when system is idle, average temperature is around 40 something to 50 something (all the cores and hdd)
one hour after playing crysis 2, the temperature shot up to 94 degree celcius!!!! (all cores the max temp is around 90 something and the hdd also)
the HD6770M is peaked at 87 degree celcius also....

Guys, is this normal? What should i do to improve the temperature? Now i dont even dare to play crysis 2 after learning the temperature, cant even sleep well yesterday after gaming... cry.gif cry.gif
first day when i played, i played for 2 hours+ under the same condition... Any help? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
rurushu
post Jul 23 2011, 01:01 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Jul 23 2011, 12:58 PM)
why dun set to coolsense?? i have the same temp also, but mine worst,1 of the core hit 96, i guess only u and me hit this temp compare to others, i also dun dare to play crysis d. sad.gif
this is just... sad cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
our intention of getting our baby is to play games with her... and now.... she's having extreme "fever" whenever we play games.... cry.gif
rurushu
post Jul 23 2011, 01:12 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ Jul 23 2011, 01:08 PM)
Ask the service centre re-apply thermal paste lar...........
How long needed for them to reapply the thermal paste? If i brought it there that day, can they finish it on that day? hmm.gif
rurushu
post Jul 24 2011, 11:12 PM

2,021 posts

guys, i think i'll go to the HP service centre first thing tomorrow morning to get my dv6-6114tx thermal paste reapplied. The high temperatures when i played crysis 2 is scaring the crap out of me.... now i cant sleep well due to 2 reasons: 1: dont dare play crysis 2 due to the high temperatures
2: when closed my eyes, keeps thinking about crysis 2 and it was so stressing that i cant play it even when i wanted... >.<
rurushu
post Jul 24 2011, 11:21 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jul 24 2011, 11:12 PM)
guys, i think i'll go to the HP service centre first thing tomorrow morning to get my dv6-6114tx thermal paste reapplied. The high temperatures when i played crysis 2 is scaring the crap out of me.... now i cant sleep well due to 2 reasons: 1: dont dare play crysis 2 due to the high temperatures
                2: when closed my eyes, keeps thinking about crysis 2 and it          was so stressing that i cant play it even when i wanted... >.<
Erm... guys, i wanna ask, where is the HP service centre in Selangor located? I looked into the service centres/authorized reseller section on hp official website and i was confused by it.... because it displays mobility square and others which i think are resellers.... may someone tell me where is the HP service centre in Selangor or KL? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
rurushu
post Jul 25 2011, 01:57 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Jul 24 2011, 11:32 PM)
You should go directly the HP Tower that located at Bukit Damansara, that's the main HP service center.
Ok... gonna go later morning... hope can get it done fast.
QUOTE(louisfjh @ Jul 24 2011, 11:58 PM)
after u go do the thermal paste give us know the result... rolleyes.gif
Yeah, will tell results after done thermal pasting.... hope she gets well from the "fever" sad.gif
rurushu
post Jul 25 2011, 12:36 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 25 2011, 02:39 AM)

Added on July 25, 2011, 6:13 amI saw few guys with 6100TX in NBR forum get new windows update for their 6770M graphic and it has new option in the Switchable Graphic section. Still need to wait for the BIOS from HP for it to work properly tho... but this is a good progress.

user posted imageuser posted image
For those who still don't know how to configure the switchable graphic can refer to this article from HP.
Link: How to Configure ATI Mobility Radeon Switchable Graphics
So what you mean acid, is that after getting the new BIOS (which HP claims will be coming soon), our dv6-6114tx or dv6-6108tx can behave like your dv6-6001tx? Meaning can finally manual set the GPU in use? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by rurushu: Jul 25 2011, 12:36 PM
rurushu
post Jul 26 2011, 09:53 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 25 2011, 02:57 PM)
Yesh, u'll have both auto and manual option for GPU switching.
Whoa!!!! That's awesome news.... Thanks for the early tease moderator acid! icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 25 2011, 04:33 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
The sound quality is pretty good especially the bass is a blast. Its down the personal preferences, what type of music u listening too? tongue.gif
Yeah, first i listened to my songs without beats audio turned on, then after i turn it on, OMFG the difference is so SIGNIFICANT!!! Like some surround sound is being turned on and the bass is very pleasing to the ears i must agree thumbup.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0615sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:09 AM