Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

munchoong
post Nov 25 2013, 02:09 PM

414 posts

Are there HDMI DVB-T/T2 decoder sticks out there? smile.gif
munchoong
post Nov 26 2013, 08:11 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Nov 25 2013, 05:54 PM)
Where are you located? got signals of which tv channels?
In Segambut. I don't have any way for me to test if I am getting the digital TV signals or not.
munchoong
post Apr 23 2017, 02:25 AM

414 posts

so i just got myself a new TV (LG OLED65E6) with built in DVB-T2 receiver

as I live in a condo, do I just connect the RF coaxial cable directly to the wall, or do I still require an external antenna like this --> https://www.lelong.com.my/digital-18dbi-boo...7-01-Sale-I.htm

also, does anyone know if Segambut even receives these digital transmissions?

This post has been edited by munchoong: Apr 23 2017, 02:26 AM
munchoong
post Apr 23 2017, 09:28 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 23 2017, 05:51 AM)
If your condo is newer and it has a centralised antenna, just connect coaxial cable to the antenna slot provided on the wall. Segambut area is close to the nearest transmitter, it should be able to receive digital TV channels. If not, then buy an indoor antenna.
thanks 😊
the condo I am living in is almost 15 years old, so I'll just buy the indoor antenna.

also, my older TV has a DVB-T (not DVB-T2), is it still compatible?

This post has been edited by munchoong: Apr 23 2017, 09:28 AM
munchoong
post Apr 25 2017, 07:34 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 23 2017, 11:13 AM)
Malaysia digital TV adopts DVB-T2, no longer DVB-T. You need a DVB-T2 set top box for your old TV.

Also, your condo is old, I doubt the old centralised antenna could support digital TV reception. You can try coaxial cable first. If not, then buy a cheap indoor antenna from hypermarket or hardware store to try it out as your area is near transmitter.
Noted... will just ignore my older TV then...

Which of these antennas would be the best value for money in your opinion?

https://www.lelong.com.my/indoor-gain-30dbi...7-01-Sale-I.htm

https://www.lelong.com.my/digital-18dbi-boo...7-01-Sale-I.htm

https://www.lelong.com.my/free-view-aerial-...7-01-Sale-I.htm
munchoong
post Apr 25 2017, 10:28 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 25 2017, 07:43 PM)
You don't actually need to spend so much for a TV antenna if you stay in high-rise building and close to transmitter. My area is within 15km from the nearest transmitter. I just use a coaxial aerial cable to connect to the wall (centralised antenna provided by condo) and manage to receive 60%-80% signal strength and quality. I also bought a cheap indoor rabbit antenna from Aeon Big (below RM10). It can receive 70%-90% signal.
thanks! will test the quality by plugging in to the wall first smile.gif
munchoong
post May 6 2017, 02:49 PM

414 posts

Finally bought 2 75ohm RF cables, running one from my wall to my Belkin surge protector, and another from the surge protector to my TV

Getting pretty good reception whenever it's not raining, since I am only 11km from KL Tower

Able to receive 9 channels - TV1, TV2, TV3, ntv7, 8TV, TV9, BNC, TV Al-Hijrah (only channel in 1080i), and TVi, along with a test channel that's a duplicate of TV2.

TV guide works on all channels except the 4 Media Prima channels, which do not have even the currenr program info.

Also noticed TV1 and TV2 have interactive content accessible by pressing the RED button on my remote.

Are there any other channels I am missing?

This post has been edited by munchoong: May 6 2017, 02:52 PM
munchoong
post May 6 2017, 02:51 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ May 6 2017, 11:20 AM)
Witin an hour in Malaysia, those ads probably be torn off, plastered on with tuition/loan/other ads, blown down by wind, some people will throw rock/paints and even be stolen by 'collectors'/thieves.
It is not easy or cheap for legitimate advertisers to put ads around.....but it is sure damn easy for illegitimate advertisers... whistling.gif
lol tell me about it

my company put up 40 banners in the Bangi area (fully legal with permits from MPKJ). only had 10 left by the end of the campaign 😓
munchoong
post May 9 2017, 12:13 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(izz70 @ May 7 2017, 05:22 PM)
Can we have some screenshots of the interactive content please?
These are from RTM

These are from TV3, which surprisingly includes access to their radio stations and news portals

munchoong
post May 9 2017, 12:18 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(pAndaKillerZ @ May 7 2017, 06:12 PM)
Tried manual search 666Mhz 8M, still can't find. Gonna wait for a while sleep.gif
I'm on 666MHz smile.gif

munchoong
post May 9 2017, 06:59 PM

414 posts

Not using anything... just the aerial RF cable connected from my wall to my TV, using internal DVB-T2 decoder.

Just press the Red button on the remote control to bring the menu up.
munchoong
post May 10 2017, 10:32 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(izz70 @ May 10 2017, 12:36 AM)
I assume that you are located in Klang Valley cos last I checked was that HBBTV is currently tested only in Klang Valley. Also assume that your TV is a smart TV with internet connectivity, right?
Thanks for the screenshots. The features are pretty darn impressive. Might become better than Astro.
yes, I'm in KL, and yes my TV has smart features smile.gif

It was using my Internet connection? I so blur... I thought it was somehow able to pull data over the air like Astro tongue.gif
munchoong
post May 11 2017, 08:55 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 11 2017, 06:28 PM)
njoi now is the internet version of njoi.
just need an android box to watch. no need to buy anything, no need dish
this in interesting

I hope they release a version for Apple TV, webOS, and Firefox OS.
munchoong
post May 16 2017, 10:12 AM

414 posts

I'd like to help... but I have no idea how to access what my LG TV is doing sad.gif

I imagine it would be registered somewhere in the router's log? (it's running on the asusWRT-Merlin firmware)
munchoong
post May 16 2017, 03:20 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(lonewalker @ May 16 2017, 01:23 PM)
A router would/could log dns queries. Tho what we want is a full http query. If the tv could be configured to take a proxy server, we could point it to a proxy server that you control and have it log queries made to it.

PS: on the side note of Internet of Things security prudence: it would be educational to learn about what your 'smart' digital TVs are sending out/reaching out into the internet to do
problem is such TVs are closed boxes... not exactly as accessible as a Windows or Android machine sad.gif

However, it does not appear LG is surreptitiously doing anything with webOS (see https://www.wired.com/2017/02/smart-tv-spyi...zio-settlement) smile.gif

I checked my router log... it only logs IPs, not even DNS sweat.gif

Not sure how useful this is to you, but it looks like both RTM and Media Prima use Sofia Digital (see https://sofiadigital.com/new-tv-services-case-example) for their HBBTV content, including the EPG.
munchoong
post Jul 5 2017, 09:45 AM

414 posts

i rely on my TV's built in DVB-T2 decoder
munchoong
post Jul 6 2017, 02:36 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(tim_1335 @ Jul 5 2017, 05:10 PM)
Guys, can a DVB-T2 decoder be compatible with a DVB-T antenna?

Having trouble getting a signal ohmy.gif
An antenna that can receive UHF signals is all you need
munchoong
post Jul 11 2017, 10:10 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tim_1335 @ Jul 7 2017, 04:15 PM)
I connected my old antenna from which I used to watch good old analog tv, to my DVB-T2 and no channels came up after searching ohmy.gif
that's what I am using... the standard 75-ohm RF cable...
digital signal coming in clean and clear (I am located only 11km from KL Tower, so that may play a factor)
munchoong
post Jul 30 2017, 09:37 AM

414 posts

Was fooling around with the HbbTV services last night and noticed both RTM and TV3 have started beta testing their VOD service

RTM's MyKlik unfortunately shows the video in a tiny thumbnail, and zooming in stretches the 4:3 image to fill the entire 16:9 area sad.gif

Media Prima's tonton is much better, and many programms such as Majalah 3 and Nona are archived all the way back to 2013 (I assume this is when they started HD mastering of their productions?). When streamed it is still SD 576i image, but it is proper 16:9 widescreen (what we normally see letterboxed in live transmission). Picture quality is rather meh, kinda like YouTube from 10 years ago.
munchoong
post Jul 30 2017, 12:58 PM

414 posts

Besides the forthcoming Caya TV, looks like another channel Syok TV coming soon as well, which is being promised by Afdlin Shauki to provide one-button TV shopping. Should be interesting to see how this is implemented smile.gif

This post has been edited by munchoong: Jul 30 2017, 12:58 PM

0.0336sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:12 AM