Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

munchoong
post Aug 2 2017, 01:39 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Jul 30 2017, 02:45 PM)
Don't put much hope on that. There had been a lot of talk about Caya TV to be on air in June. Then the plan was postponed to July. It's already end of July but we have yet to sense any plan for Caya TV to be launched.

Whatever Caya TV or Syok TV is, it is useless and not watchable if the content is like TVi.
Syok TV approached my wife's business pitching an advertorial package... was not aware of Syok TV prior to this.

munchoong
post Aug 2 2017, 03:59 PM

414 posts

they said $$ not finalized yet... but the intent is to compete with Astro's Go Shop

their plan is to have one-click shopping, just press one button on the remote to buy. It sounds like it's using HbbTV services
munchoong
post Aug 8 2017, 07:49 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(tany @ Aug 3 2017, 08:07 PM)
How come digital channel picture only half and the sound suck
All channels are broadcast in standard definition 576p 4x3 aspect ratio.

Only exception is Al Hijrah, which is 1080i 16x9.
munchoong
post Aug 10 2017, 12:46 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Aug 8 2017, 10:52 PM)
Well, TV Alhijrah is also not real HD, because it is upscaled from 720.
Not sure if the master is 720p... the quality doesn't look that much different from the standard definition version on Astro. More likely it's just an upscale from 576p considering the image blurriness of the image and how dull the colors are.

Ultimately it's all about $$$... most Malaysians don't really care about broadcast quality, otherwise Astro would've been forced to abandon standard definition a long time ago.

CRTs still have their uses... I wouldn't mind buying a 25" Sony Trinitron tube to hook up some old video game consoles and Laser Disc player. smile.gif

As far as I can see, 32" LCD TVs are no lower than RM700 (this is from my bad memory walking around shops), which is still a considerable sum for the lower income folks, especially since many have incomes between RM900 - RM1800 per month. I don't know how true this is for the REALLY rural folks, but this is based on my observations in central and south Perak.

On another note, has anyone checked the audio output from Freeview? It is shown as AAC Stereo on my TV, but when I output to ARC to my receiver it's shown as Dolby Digital 5.1 instead of PCM 2.0.
munchoong
post Aug 11 2017, 02:52 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Aug 10 2017, 02:29 PM)
The audio is definitely not in Dolby Digital 5.1 format. Perhaps you choose Dolby Digital function in your AV receiver, and the receiver still shows Dolby Digital but the actual output is not Dolby Digital. If you have 5.1 speakers setup, it is very easy to differentiate Stereo and Dolby Digital 5.1.
It's clearly stereo audio only, but the signal is being flagged as a 192kbps Dolby Digital 5.1 stream by my Yamaha RX-A3050. Just curious if it's some auto-conversion done by my TV's ARC output or if it's native to Freeview.

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Aug 10 2017, 03:47 PM)
confirm not Dolby Digital 5.1 as the sound quality really sucks big time  puke.gif
Format is not indicative of quality... a high bandwidth uncompressed audio stream can sound as bad as a low bandwidth heavily compressed one if the originating source is shit.

This post has been edited by munchoong: Aug 11 2017, 02:59 AM
munchoong
post Aug 11 2017, 08:08 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(soundtrick @ Aug 11 2017, 07:22 PM)
Hi all..  is it the new digital transmission format is DVB-T2? I cannot pickup any digital signal.. my tv is sony w650 series which is DVB tuner only..
DVB-T2 only... older DVB-T tuners cannot decode the signal
munchoong
post Aug 17 2017, 06:37 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Aug 17 2017, 04:54 PM)
That's true. Most of my friends and relatives in KL don't know what the hell this myFreeview/MYTV is, not to mention analogue or digital TV or DVB-T2. They have already subscribed Astro, Njoi, HyppTV or IPTV, so they don't care about analogue switch off for terrestrial TV. Unless myFreeview really offers something interesting that Astro/Njoi don't have, otherwise I don't think people would bother about at this moment. Also, MYTV/myFreeview has done very little to educate the entire Malaysia about digital TV and analogue switch off.
That's true.

NOBODY I know is aware of myFreeview and the pending analogue TV cutoff. And those of us here who are participating in this forum are simply interested in the topic... if it wasn't for this forum, I wouldn't even know where to find such information. The myFreeview website/Facebook page don't contain any useful information.

My younger cousins/nephews/nieces couldn't care less because they don't even use TV and rely completely on their tablets/smartphones to consume media. Friends within my own age group are either on Astro or Netflix or rely on their Blu-ray player. Older folks like my parents are content with Astro, and still can barely see the difference between SD and HD.

IMO it's an uphill battle to make people aware of this service, and as long as the viewership is low, advertising revenue will be low, thereby causing the likes of Media Prima not to want to spend too much on this, especially considering their channels are readily available on Astro and NJOI.

And when the analog switch off does happen, who would ultimately care? Who is going to take the initiative to distribute more MYTV boxes, unless it's an election year? Or just wait for everyone's CRT to die (shouldn't be long now, maybe within the next 10 years)? By then all TVs will have internal DVB-T2 decoders anyway.
munchoong
post Oct 31 2017, 10:24 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(Fazrien97 @ Oct 27 2017, 12:38 AM)
update
104-drama sangat
105-TV3 HD
106-cj wow
Need to retune to get new channels, or will they automatically appear? I haven't turned on my TV in 2 weeks.... tongue.gif
munchoong
post Jun 23 2018, 04:29 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jun 16 2018, 01:39 PM)
guys, my condominium wont allowed plugged in antenna individually but they said they provided it and just plug my cable to the tv plug on the wall. how to know they are using the right antenna for digital tv?  đŸ¤”
Can check with your condo management if the master antenna can receive UHF?

I live in 15-year old condo, and have no problems receiving MyFreeview through the wall TV outlet. Neither I nor my condo had to do anything.
munchoong
post Jun 24 2018, 03:19 PM

414 posts

Is RTM HD a permanent channel (even though it's testing like TV3 HD), or is it just a temporary channel for the World Cup?
munchoong
post Aug 5 2018, 06:32 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Aug 5 2018, 05:16 PM)
Red button is there all these while on TV1, TV2, TV3, TV3 HD and RTM HD. Uses HbbTV and requires Internet connection, works on MYTV Advance STB and Sony Android TVs. Can access Video-on-demand (VOD), weather info, RTM Superteks, news, EPG, etc.
I can confirm the HbbTV service works on LG TVs as well... works without a hitch on my LG OLED65E6 smile.gif
munchoong
post Oct 10 2018, 02:50 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Oct 8 2018, 02:56 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/myfreeview/photos/...?type=3&theater

Operation last minute job and delaying are our culture.  laugh.gif
March 2019? Sure or not?
This sounds very rush, and I bet most Malaysians are not even aware of the digital transmissions
munchoong
post Nov 13 2018, 12:41 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(newbieockids @ Nov 13 2018, 12:36 PM)
anyone here living inside an apartment?.. which antenna is good for better reception?.. indoor or the centralized building antenna?..
This depends on your building's antenna

For me, I just use my building's centralized antenna and I am getting very good digital reception, but some of the other forummers here have reported this did not work for them and they had to buy external antennas.

Just test the centralized building one first, since that is the cheapest method cos you would only need an RF cable to connect to the wall. I only spent RM6 for one in Ace Hardware.
munchoong
post Nov 14 2018, 07:34 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(newbieockids @ Nov 13 2018, 12:58 PM)
im using it right now, cable from ace hardware too.. laugh.gif 
but reception is not really stable.. so will it get better with the indoor antenna?..
If there is sufficient demand, you can get your apartment management to maybe look into changing the direction of the antenna to point to the nearest MYTV transmission tower?

The fact that you're able to get a reception, even if it's not stable, shows that the hardware and infrastructure in your building is in place, just a matter of adjustment I believe.
munchoong
post Dec 9 2018, 12:48 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Dec 7 2018, 03:23 AM)
I am glad to see that to be happen now. This also includes international channels streamed over tonton (NHK/DW) too. Now Tonton live streaming has better picture and audio quality than all digital broadcast TV (SD only except TV3 on DTT), which is indeed an big disgrace.

However it is an huge issue to able to stream 1080p reliably, which uses roughly 3GB/hour (although the option for lower quality, which uses far less data, exists). Many households simply do not have high speed fixed line internet connection/have limited mobile data/throttled speed while using video streaming, not to mention the reliability of Internet speeds.
How to watch Tonton livestream on TV? Is it via hbbTV?
munchoong
post Dec 20 2018, 02:29 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Dec 20 2018, 02:36 AM)
Actually for English/Chinese/Indian movies and English/Chinese dramas, if RTM has budget problem, they can air some of the movies they used to show back in the 90s and 2000s, although a bit dated, it is still watchable and enjoyable.

I use to remember RTM airing very good action packed Hollywood movies and dramas back then, Iḿ sure it is stored in their archive or video library somewhere. It wont hurt to rebroadcast these shows.

Would like to request RTM to re-air Highlander, Babylon 5, Space:Above and Beyond and Seaquest DSV TV drama series, and acquire Z-Nation horror/thriller/action drama and Killjoys sci-fi drama for broadcast.

What happen to the The Transpotter drama series? Has all seasons come to an end?
Older movies and TV series still have broadcasting rights fees to pay... and for some they might not be that much lower than modern content. This is especially true for evergreen titles like Friends, Star Trek, X-Files, Smallville, et al.

Not sure there's much of an audience these days for those sci-fi shows you mentioned above though, since they had difficulties getting people to watch them when they were brand new.

I love Babylon 5 (heck I have the entire show + movies + Crusade on DVD) and seaQuest DSV as much as the next guy, but it's doubtful we will ever see them on Malaysian airwaves ever again.
munchoong
post Apr 5 2019, 10:20 AM

414 posts

I am unable to get a signal from 698MHz, only 666MHz sad.gif
munchoong
post Apr 5 2019, 01:22 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 5 2019, 11:11 AM)
Fresh from the oven? I complained to MYTV yesterday morning that MYTV should publish frequency information for all transmitters. MYTV acknowledged they overlook the problem and indicated that such information would be made available in their website and social media.
I can say that currently MUX 2 in KL area is transmitted at a lower power. Those using outdoor antenna will unlikely be affected. However, if you use a cheap indoor antenna, you will need to change it to a better type. I managed to receive all channels in MUX 2 only after I changed my rabbit-ears antenna to a better indoor antenna. Signal strength for MUX 1 80% vs MUX 2 60%.
MUX 2 is 698MHz right? I am getting 0% signal from it.

I am getting 60% signal quality from MUX 1, which is a slight downgrade cos I used to get 90%.

I am just relying on whatever antenna is at the roof of my condo block.
munchoong
post Apr 15 2019, 01:57 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 15 2019, 01:03 PM)
HD channels in Astro have better image quality than HD channels in MYTV platform. Besides that, audio in Astro HD channels is exactly Dolby Digital 5.1 surround quality, while audio quality in MYTV channels is really poor if you have a 5.1 home theater setup. I am not sure about the current bitrate in Astro HD channels. Someone posted the information before.
I tested MyFreeview audio with my receiver, it got flagged as PCM 2.0.
munchoong
post May 16 2019, 09:44 PM

414 posts

Yay! Finally able to get MUX2!

Have to say the four RTM HD channels do look good smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2195sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:20 AM