Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

RAMChYLD
post Jun 22 2011, 03:02 PM

1,715 posts

If you haven't bought a DVB-T tuner yet, don't consider. The stupid SKMM is considering switching to DVB-T2, so it's not really worth it now. Their DMB-T signal apparently already ceased, I powered up my Pontus this morning and scanned, and found zero signals. Not sure about TV3, haven't kept track on their signal in ages.

If you already have a DVB-T1 tuner, the frequency is now 649MHz.

My decoder (AverMedia AverTV Hybrid 1080i) can only pick up these channels on last scan:
1. TV1
2. TV2
3. Muzik Aktif
4. Berita Aktif
5. Panggung
6. Ilham.

One thing that just crossed my mind: What's the point of digital if the TV station only know how to screw shows over and cancel shows in the middle of a season?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 23 2011, 10:26 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 23 2011, 10:37 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Jun 22 2011, 03:20 PM)
Please bear in mind, DTV broadcast is UNofficial transmission, say beta test run and its FOC. Viewers are subjected to their whim and fancy during this trial run.
There's 2 DTV channels, Channel 44 & 46. You've to align your antenna to receive these 2 signal band transmission. Align wrongly and either you get none or one channel.
Thanks for the heads up. I'm aware that it's experimental.

But you sure it's channel 44? Last I check the frequency moved to 549MHz. Or is that because I'm using boosted indoor antenna?

As for the other channel, my decoder can't find it. Is it DVB-T2?

Btw, my remark about how TV shows are cancelled mid-season refers to current analog stations like TV1 and NTV7.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 23 2011, 10:39 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 23 2011, 02:44 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(KSBond @ Jun 23 2011, 12:01 PM)
Dear RAMChYLD, let me provide answer on behalf of bsl555.
A quick check on my DTV setting reveals the following:-
1. Ch 44 provides: Music Active, ILHAM & PANGGUNG
2. Ch 46 provides: TV1, TV2, TV-i, Games, EPG ++ Radios
Music Active, ILHAM & PANGGUNG were previously on channel 46.
Noted with thanks. smile.gif

Truth to be told, I have not used my decoder for a while. Most likely it all changed again already. I'll rescan when I get home.

Although I wish they'd carry better programming on ilham. All half-assed local cartoons only hmm.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 23 2011, 02:46 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 30 2012, 09:08 PM

1,715 posts

Ok, bought a LG 32LW4500 from Harvey Norman a few days ago mainly for gaming, but since this model has built in DVB-T receiver, I decided to plug antenna in to see what I can get.

It can pick up two extra channels that the AverTV STB cannot receive- EPG and Games. But it labels both channels as invalid service.

It did not detect any HD signal, SinErgi is received as SD signal.

Problem is, this model DVB-T is only DVB-T1. So if RTM HD is in DVB-T2, I cannot get sad.gif

Btw, how to get Windows to detect Digital Signal? Last I tried it stubbornly refuse to let me tune digital if I select Malaysia.

QUOTE(azamyn @ Jan 25 2012, 04:03 PM)
can anyone confirm whether everywhere in KL can get the signal? anyone had experience in sg besi? how can we confirm this since tuner will cost a few hundreds rm. i'm trying to free myself from astro and no luck with normal analog signal
I'm in Klang and can receive using Indoor antenna with booster. So I assume Sungei Besi can receive also.

I hope they follow UK and keep DVB-T1 for normal signal and use DVB-T2 only for HD. Since I just bought this TV, if they change only two months down the road, hancurlah. LG didn't say this model has DVB-T2 tuner. Otoh, LG didn't say this model support NTSC signal either, but it does.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 30 2012, 10:16 PM
RAMChYLD
post Feb 2 2012, 12:41 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smanszy @ Feb 2 2012, 11:26 AM)
There is no issue DVBT 1 or 2 because its about their signal compression at their station. But the problem is about mpeg2 and mpeg 4 on your tuner. Now they using mpeg2 and will turn to mpeg4. For HD Sinergi channel they set up tv platform and test transmitt via sd before they plug in the real hd encoder then they will transmit direct hd 720p. i want to see olympic london and hope they will test and take direct hd to sinergi channel like olyimpic china. all we need is get the hd decoder/tuner mpeg4.
DVB-T2 supports few new modulation algorithms not supported by DVB-T1 at all. And they ensure no backwards compatibility by using different continual pilot value and completely different error correction method.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVB-T2#System...nces_with_DVB-T

My TV supports MPEG4 stream over DVB-T1. It is possible to transmit MPEG4 via DVB-T1 since many European countries are doing that.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Feb 3 2012, 11:14 AM
RAMChYLD
post Feb 28 2012, 10:02 AM

1,715 posts

http://www.avforums.com/forums/12051745-post2.html

This thread pretty much confirms my suspicions.

DVB-T tuners are not forward compatible with T2.

Thing is, up until now, RTM has been doing HD in T1 (something Singapore, Australia and New Zealand is doing). But now, they planning to go completely T2 and shut off T1.
RAMChYLD
post Mar 1 2012, 09:30 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 28 2012, 06:00 PM)
Is it already confirmed? hmm.gif
Idk, but smanszy said that it would happen, right? sweat.gif

QUOTE(smanszy @ Jan 30 2012, 01:03 PM)
If u are using dvbt tuner now when malaysia broadcaster launch the digital broadcasting using dvbt2, u will not be able receive the digital signal like now.
I'm trying to point out what kaspersky-fan said in a later post is wrong- T1 tuners can never receive T2 signals because it's more than codec changed- the transmission layer has also changed. T1 tuners do not recognize LDPC+BCH FEC (they only recognize Convolutional Coding + Solomon-Reed), and should have problem detecting the signal because the continual pilot (I presume is a pilot tone used by the tuner for locking) also changed.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 1 2012, 09:44 AM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 1 2012, 12:10 PM

1,715 posts

Ah, okay. Sorry for misunderstanding.

I think RTM HD went down for a while oredi. My TV has never detected said channel since day 1.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 1 2012, 12:10 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 1 2012, 01:47 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Mar 1 2012, 12:39 PM)
Scanning with my pctv dvb-t2 tuner

so far only saw these channels..

[attachmentid=2712736]
Hmmm, no T2 test signal yet? The PCTV fell back to T1 BC mode and pick up T1 channels... hmm.gif

Or signal power too low that outside their super-secret test area cannot get? hmm.gif

Maybe by the time 2012 Olympics start, Digital already launch and we can see for ourselves if the predictions thrown around true or not biggrin.gif

Let's hope they launch before June! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 1 2012, 01:57 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 2 2012, 09:59 AM

1,715 posts

They already stopped DMB-T/H last I checked tho. Unless my Pontus receiver is dying, it failed to pick up MP signal since last test.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 2 2012, 10:06 AM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 5 2012, 10:13 PM

1,715 posts

Oh god, hope they don't delay sumore to "trial" ISDB-T also.
RAMChYLD
post Mar 7 2012, 12:17 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 5 2012, 11:58 PM)
Just like the gomen, even flip-flop of using new digital tv signal. sweat.gif  thumbup.gif  doh.gif
Hope they don't even consider it. Because ISDB-T allow the use of CAM cards like assteruk.

See, in Japan, they still have TV license requirement. So their gomen use CAM card to potong those who dun renew their lesen.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B-CAS
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Integrated_Se...ting#B-CAS_Card

If MCMC choose this system, then surely they considering reimplementing lesen TV?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 7 2012, 12:19 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 7 2012, 02:27 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 7 2012, 12:49 PM)
If to reconsider how many profit will be make... hmm.gif
Agreed. On one hand, maybe it will mean an increase in quality of shows airing on RTM channels. On the other hand, you know lah..
RAMChYLD
post Mar 13 2012, 03:52 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 12 2012, 08:30 PM)
Hmm... laugh.gif Still wondering when will SD channel on Astro and Media Prima turned both digital and in MPEG4.
Document contains a lot of struck out info and use of obsolete tech like PSTN (56k modem) and ISDN laugh.gif

Overly ambitious caused the project to stagnate for so long? tongue.gif

Hmmm, CI... not good. That's a CAM card system used by some European countries. Just added recently sumore.

So gomen thinking of somehow making a Lesen TV system again... No wonder considering ISDB also...

As for Hbb TV, I think not feasible. If you're in a small town, say, Mersing or one of the kampung in Tioman- how to get broadband?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 13 2012, 04:09 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 14 2012, 10:11 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 13 2012, 06:15 PM)
So, for LCD TV & LED TV who doesn't have DVB-T/DVB-T2 tuner (also older CRT TV), need gov. to provide some STB. hmm.gif
LCD TV & LED TV with only DVB-T tuner will also kena, because T2 signal not backward compatible with T1 receivers.

QUOTE(cedyy @ Mar 13 2012, 05:45 PM)
The Philips 6000 series LED TV comes with built-in DVB-TC tuner

http://www.philips.com.my/c/televisions/60...fl6606h_12/prd/
Well, confirm that the Sony EX520/720, as well as sharp LE830/835 and LG LW45 series have T1 tuner.

The new Sony HX/NX series may have T2 tuner, LG LW65 series may have T2 tuner, LG LW57 series confirm has T2 tuner.

Also, TVs sold in Malaysia may need to support PCMCIA CAM card slot in the future due to CI+. Which people have to buy from pos office and renew yearly, just like lesen TV in the old days. Unless...

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 13 2012, 06:15 PM)
P.S: Possiblity the emas channel (Media Prima channel on Unifi) would be available FTA on digital tv signal? hmm.gif  icon_idea.gif
Maybe they will make it so you must pay yearly for these channels. It's possible because of the CI CAM implementation, and France is testing out that idea according to Wikipedia. For example, 1,2,3,7,8,9, Al-Hijrah, WBC and TVi free and can receive without CAM card, but for Pelangi, Sinergi, Panggung, Emas and whatever new channels they launch in the future, must subscribe and renew yearly, or even monthly, or they disable your CAM card from receiving the channel.

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Mar 13 2012, 05:35 PM)
Sigh... u know why? Singapore T2 testing is also encrypted...

Got these last night, still visiting Sg. Have a look:
rclxub.gif

Expected tho, they still have lesen TV...

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:36 pm
QUOTE(chikana @ Apr 24 2012, 05:36 PM)
RTM HD
Frequency/UHF Channel Number?

Also, is it T1? Or T2? I just scanned from Channel 21 to 69 on my LG 32LW4500 and cannot find it, only found the usual 4 channels on 658/44 and 5 channels on 674/46

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 24 2012, 09:37 PM
RAMChYLD
post May 9 2012, 05:18 PM

1,715 posts

By going digital, the players will need to migrate to a different band, which requires new infrastructure.

This is bull. Digital or analog, it's still riding on UHF (470MHz-862MHz). Unless they go DMB-T/H and use L-band (between 1452.96-1490.624MHz).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 9 2012, 05:23 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 10 2012, 10:29 PM

1,715 posts

Typical Malaysian outcome. Delay switch off again to 2020 XD

FAIL!
RAMChYLD
post Jun 12 2012, 10:49 AM

1,715 posts

Given that mr Rice recently accepted RM500million broad daylight bribery from assteruk to allow assteruk to seksa people who cannot get FTA TV in their area... mad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 12 2012, 10:51 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 24 2012, 07:01 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 23 2012, 12:38 PM)
There was 720-test channel, but,  I cannot view it. I think this is the T2 new format broadcast. At the Broadcas Asia 2011, I saw DVB-T2 related booths every where. smile.gif So, most probably, Malaysia will go for the T2.

Doubtful. If it's T2 then a T1 tuner will not be able to find at all. In other words, if one frequency is T2, then the T1 tuner will not be able to see all the channels in that frequency. I.e. all three MHP_Portal, MHP_720Test and HD5 will not show up on the scan.

MHP tho is Digital Teletext. Maybe the tuner chip not compatible with Digital Teletext? Or not compatible with HD Digital Teletext?

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 23 2012, 12:38 PM)
RTM only, eh? other tv station are too lazy using DVB-T/T2 kah? sweat.gif
Yeah, sadly. A LYN member actually asked MP when they want to go digital. Their answer? Once RTM digital launch, maybe end of 2013.

Not that they haven't tested digital tho. MP announced testing DMB-T (China system) back in 2008. I actually got to see it thanks to my mom bringing back a handheld DMB-T TV from China. And the frame rate was terrible. They shut off test in late 2011.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 25 2012, 10:12 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jun 25 2012, 11:40 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 25 2012, 10:36 AM)
There's DVB-T LCD tv available here, but when will DVB-T2 one to be available...? (Just incase of preparing) hmm.gif
I read somewhere that LG LW5700 and LG LW6500 is supposed to have T2 tuner, but now the posts have disappeared. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 25 2012, 11:40 PM

0.2062sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:49 PM