Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?
RAMChYLD
Jun 27 2012, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Jun 27 2012, 11:07 AM) Bro justĀ a question,once analogue signal isĀ switched off does that mean those in Johor wl no longer hv acess to spore channels? Possibly. Because DVB-T2 signal can be scrambled thanks to an extension called CI, which introduces the need to have a smart card and smart card reader on the tuner to access the channel. Most likely countries like UK and Singapore pressed for it because they still have TV license requirement (one thing Malaysian gomen got right is to abolish need for lesen TV- though it seems that they thinking of starting lesen TV again because they also considering CI according to their document). Singapore's Digital T2 test signal is found to be encrypted, but currently their T1 Digital signal still clear and can receive from most of Johor. Again, possibly that once they shut off T1 and analog, south Malaysia will no longer be able to watch Singapore TV (unless someone finds out how to make a cracked smart card). source that SG digital T2 signal is encrypted: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=49705904This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 27 2012, 12:48 PM
RAMChYLD
Jun 27 2012, 08:45 PM
Well, if Malaysia T2 is broadcast clear, then SG will be able to receive. But if RTM and MP decides to CI-protect their signal as well (may possibly happen), then SG will be blocked out of Malaysian TV. SG signal has a high probability of being CI-protected already because they need to pay TV license and their test signal is already CI-Protected.
RAMChYLD
Jul 2 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jul 1 2012, 11:38 AM)  someone should get them to clarify... They want their own frequency or what??? One frequency is enough to carry 3, 7, 8, 9 and 9 more new channels. However if they plan to make 7,8,9 available only via pay TV platform and only transmit 3 digitally OTA, there will be backlash, no doubt about it. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jul 3 2012, 11:18 AM
RAMChYLD
Nov 28 2012, 05:25 PM
Malaysia, well, 2013 July only final round of bidding. That's before they even set up one transmitter...
RAMChYLD
Feb 8 2013, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 14 2012, 03:46 PM) Unlike Singapore, malaysia digital tv progress is still slow...  Delay again to 2014 No. Just... No. As if Rice just want to hold on to his old National VHF-only black-and-white CRT TV as long as he can stay in power as info minister.  NAJIS! Y U PICK COMPUTER-ILLITERATE CONSERVATIVE TECHNOPHOBIC TO BE INFO MINISTER AND MCMC/SKMM HEAD?!? This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Feb 8 2013, 11:59 AM
RAMChYLD
Feb 19 2013, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(yoksan @ Feb 17 2013, 03:19 PM) Anywhere in Malaysia that got sell Set Top Box DVB-T2 ? How many channel can be receive for the time being ? Well, I think JB will be selling DVB-T boxes because it's for the time being required to receive Singapore. Outside JB, I don't think so. At least, I know one store that used to sell (IT Superstore e@Curve) but they stopped. At the time being, no T2 signal. Only T signal, and at that only 4 active TV channels (1, 2, i, and Muzik Aktif). Pelangi, Panggung and Sinergi appeared to have shut down transmission already - since late last year they only transmit test pattern. Aside from that, there's two channels that never worked from the start - EPG and Games, which only result in "Not Supported" error on my LG TV. There's also 7 radio channels. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Feb 19 2013, 04:45 PM
RAMChYLD
Mar 14 2013, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(klphang @ Mar 14 2013, 12:35 AM) Yes JB can receive all 4 digital SG channel. But SG tv program is as boring as Malaysia TV. Eh, no. I'd kill to get all the cartoons that's on TCS Okto. You can NOT get the new Strawberry Shortcake in Malaysia, especially Season 2 onwards. And Arthur which in Malaysia has not shown beyond Season 4 for stupid reasons, but Singapore has aired up to the latest Season, Season 16!  But as it stands, Selangor too far from Singapore This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 15 2013, 01:10 AM
RAMChYLD
Apr 7 2013, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(bahathir @ Apr 7 2013, 10:46 AM) As a 'RAKYAT'/people,Ā I hope after the PRU13, 'we may get better DVB-T[2] service.  Vote for change then  . The problem was, Mr. Rice hates all manner digital... This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 7 2013, 09:49 PM
RAMChYLD
Apr 8 2013, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(bahathir @ Apr 8 2013, 11:12 AM) Off Topic Yes. you may or not be right  ... We cannot see the future, still we can hope for the best. If we 'changed' the government, does it guarantied a better digital broadcast in near future? BTW, RTM already put the plans of the digital broadcasting, eventhough the 'dateline' changed several times.  But, there still hope.  Eventually, sooner or later most of the countries will broadcast in digital, and our beloved country will need to follow. So. whether the government is changed or not, the broadcasting technology will changes/evolves. Just my MYR 0.02 opinion. Yes, that's true. Just hope Rice doesn't get chosen again and whoever that's taking his place isn't as unqualified for the position as he is.
RAMChYLD
Apr 24 2013, 01:11 PM
I think HD is only coming once they get the transmitters set up. Which, if be end wins again, won't happen until at least June (and if new info minister is just as incompetent, expect more delays).
Or maybe experimental stream pop up if got special event. Whichever happens first.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 24 2013, 01:13 PM
RAMChYLD
May 31 2013, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 31 2013, 03:18 PM) f.y.i. Samsung & Sony models with DVB-T2 tuners in-corporated. http://www.mda.gov.sg/Public/DigitalTV/Pag...SRReceiver.aspxDoesn't look like any of the models is being sold in Malaysia Sony Malaysia still selling HX/BX/EX models. No W models. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 31 2013, 03:55 PM
RAMChYLD
May 31 2013, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ May 31 2013, 04:43 PM) Is Malaysia actually broadcasting in DVB-T2? And what makes you think FTA broadcasts in Malaysia is watchable. Malaysia so far broadcasting DVB-T1. And well, you're right, FTA here is full of Gomen BS propaganda. But some times there's good stuff. And when there is (I.e. Wild Wild West some times back) the quality is even better than Assteruk SD and with no rain fade problems too. I think T1 here is transmitted in Dolby Pro Logic since the TV show Dolby symbol and say it's stereo on digital channels. There is announcements that they're going to officially launch with T2. Just that the previous imbecile info minister rice keeps causing delay to the launch! QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 31 2013, 04:27 PM) *sigh* The waiting can be good. Saving some money.  Thing is, I'm all for a new 3D HD TV now. Cannot stand the LG TV lagging on analog input anymore because I'm actually using the TV as a HD3D monitor for my consoles- the tuner is just a nice extra. Even sometimes HDMI will lag... And I figure if I have to get a TV since here is no such thing as a 32" HD3D monitor (no tuner screen) with four HDMI ports (and thus don't need external switch), might as well future proof it with a working T2 tuner... This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 31 2013, 10:37 PM
RAMChYLD
Jun 1 2013, 07:42 PM
I eat my word. Just saw Sony Center selling DL42W804A.
Very nice set, but RM3499 :/ Have to think carefully before taking installment :/
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 1 2013, 09:29 PM
RAMChYLD
Jun 2 2013, 02:41 AM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 2 2013, 12:14 AM) http://www.sony.com.my/product/kdl-55hx955Didn't stated if it's DVB-T/T2 ready, just only "Digital" was mentioned. But the thing is, the W804A series have made it to Malaysia. Although the price isn't cheap as per all Sony products...
RAMChYLD
Jun 2 2013, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(arslow @ Jun 2 2013, 03:20 AM) Someone in another thread here said its 2999 for the 42 inch. At Aeon Midvalley. I need to go check Aeon. Since Sony store selling for 3499, sounds like Aeon has a better deal. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 2 2013, 12:13 PM
RAMChYLD
Jun 20 2013, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 20 2013, 02:02 PM) Meanwhile, at Media Prima HQ...DVB-Unknown progress...  Maybe they're still butthurt because they support DMB-T which was shot down by gomen? >.< Last I checked RTM's DMB-T signal only carry radio channels, no more TV channels. So I guess gomen decide to go with DMB-T for radio only, which would understandably upset Media Prima who wants to use DMB-T for both TV and radio (their test signal was in DMB-T, and actually carries TV3 live, TV3 delayed a few hours, and HOT FM). This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jun 20 2013, 05:06 PM
RAMChYLD
Sep 13 2013, 01:17 PM
I need to test to see if RTM switch to DVB-T2 and render my DTV tuners uselsss already...
RAMChYLD
Sep 13 2013, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 13 2013, 08:56 PM) And...how did it goes?  No change so far. Still the same as before. Although for some reason Arena Sukan is simulcasting RTM1 at this time...
RAMChYLD
Sep 21 2013, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Sep 21 2013, 04:43 PM) Maybe need to go near the Angkasapuri, then got some changes.  Maybe the project stalled again already. Because you know, the current info minister is just as lousy as the last one
RAMChYLD
Jan 2 2014, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 24 2013, 08:14 PM) Nothing yet so far. I think. http://www.nst.com.my/latest/digital-tv-to...nister-1.444703Slowww and steady, bolehland style.  Idiot style thinking. Unless STB is subsidized so much that it's given away for free, I don't think those areas will have people who can even afford a new TV let alone a STB to watch digital  . Nevermind that most people in the west coast already own T2 capable TVs On the plus side, at least we already have T1 signal in west coast. It's shit, sure, but then there's nothing worth watching on terrestrial TV anymore anyway. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 3 2014, 10:18 PM