377 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

nag
post May 20 2015, 08:23 PM

336 posts

It made a lot of ppl sick that no proper DVB-T2 schedule published at MYTV Facebook. Compared to Thailand, they have proper estimated timetable published for public reference when and where digital UHF signal coverage about to start and the direction for antenna to point to etc.

MYTV seems sleeping. If anyone visit to their Facebook, their admin posted unrelated info on it. Is this the way MYTV working towards vision 2020 ?

Just google 'MYTV Broadcasting Facebook', you will be link to MYTV Facebook. See their Facebook admin writing about on their timeline, NOT reflecting their role as digital tv player for public acknowledgment about the trial progress !

dicfai
post May 20 2015, 09:37 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(nag @ May 20 2015, 08:23 PM)
It made a lot of ppl sick that no proper DVB-T2 schedule published at MYTV Facebook. Compared to Thailand, they have proper estimated timetable published for public reference when and where digital UHF signal coverage about to start and the direction for antenna to point to etc.

MYTV seems sleeping. If anyone visit to their Facebook, their admin posted unrelated info on it. Is this the way MYTV working towards vision 2020 ?

Just google 'MYTV Broadcasting Facebook', you will be link to MYTV Facebook. See their Facebook admin writing about on their timeline, NOT reflecting their role as digital tv player for public acknowledgment about the trial progress !
Well cool2.gif malaysia style icon_idea.gif

smileguy
post May 21 2015, 08:47 AM

3,147 posts

Well our only concern is they MUST take off ,we had enough of talk big from Mitv,Finetv, ABN,Detv etc etc,this time we want someone to make it happen! We are sick of the monopoly!
nag
post May 21 2015, 01:28 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 21 2015, 08:47 AM)
Well our only concern is they MUST take off ,we had enough of talk big from Mitv,Finetv, ABN,Detv etc etc,this time we want someone to make it happen! We are sick of the monopoly!
monopoly is ok if they really have good workout for public. But this......!
chuppachop
post May 27 2015, 10:10 PM

957 posts

Just an update to my last post, CNA HD launched yesterday via DVB-T2 and Starhub. Singtel launched it today via the IPTV platform.

Qash-M
post May 29 2015, 07:23 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 27 2015, 10:10 PM)
Just an update to my last post, CNA HD launched yesterday via DVB-T2 and Starhub. Singtel launched it today via the IPTV platform.
So jelly lah. laugh.gif
MK84
post Jun 1 2015, 07:49 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

In KL you get this on a loop.

ameri
post Jun 1 2015, 08:49 PM

484 posts

What's this? What is HbbTV and WeTek?
MK84
post Jun 2 2015, 12:12 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

This is WeTek.

WeTek Play Android/OpenElec based media player with built-in DVB-T/T2 tuner. I was testing it when I noticed a new channel in the list labeled HbbTV. Must be testing the transmission or something since it's just clips of Anugerah Juara Lagu on a loop.

HbbTV - Hybrid Broadcast Broadband TV. That's the system MyTV will use to deliver interactive content. It combines both DVB-T2 digital transmission and broadband internet service. It's similar to FreeviewPlus in Aussie and NZ.
ameri
post Jun 2 2015, 10:27 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 2 2015, 12:12 AM)
HbbTV - Hybrid Broadcast Broadband TV. That's the system MyTV will use to deliver interactive content. It combines both DVB-T2 digital transmission and broadband internet service. It's similar to FreeviewPlus in Aussie and NZ.
Nice info and video.
WeTek interface looks clean and simple.
About HbbTV, first time I heard about it. Never heard MyTV mention about HbbTV. So in the future, will we consumer need broadband connection to receive the digital signal in Malaysia?
calvin
post Jun 2 2015, 01:08 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 2 2015, 12:12 AM)
This is WeTek.

WeTek Play Android/OpenElec based media player with built-in DVB-T/T2 tuner. I was testing it when I noticed a new channel in the list labeled HbbTV. Must be testing the transmission or something since it's just clips of Anugerah Juara Lagu on a loop.

Are those other local channels (ntv7 and astro awani) going through DVB-T2 ? Or its actually IPTV sources ?

MK84
post Jun 2 2015, 08:06 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(ameri @ Jun 2 2015, 10:27 AM)
Nice info and video.
WeTek interface looks clean and simple.
About HbbTV, first time I heard about it. Never heard MyTV mention about HbbTV. So in the future, will we consumer need broadband connection to receive the digital signal in Malaysia?
They had a seminar where they give out the info. You can find the slides from the seminar here : http://www.planetdigital.my/
More on HbbTV : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hybrid_Broadcast_Broadband_TV

For the interactive services part, you need some form of internet connection, at least 3G speed. I believe they give a MiFi router as part of the package based on the Trial video they uploaded. The internet connection is for communication, most content delivery is via DVB-T2 transmission. Catchup services might need full broadband connection.

QUOTE(calvin @ Jun 2 2015, 01:08 PM)
Are those other local channels (ntv7 and astro awani) going through DVB-T2 ? Or its actually IPTV sources ?
From 2:13 to 3:15 it's the IPTV app.

This post has been edited by MK84: Jun 2 2015, 08:08 PM
ameri
post Jun 2 2015, 08:37 PM

484 posts

Thanks. I kinda get the idea of HbbTV roughly.
From what I've read, we need hybrid STB to watch HbbTV.
Can normal HDTV with DVB-T2 tuner & WIFI/LAN connection benefit from this HbbTV without the need of hybrid STB?
MK84
post Jun 2 2015, 08:55 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(ameri @ Jun 2 2015, 08:37 PM)
Thanks. I kinda get the idea of HbbTV roughly.
From what I've read, we need hybrid STB to watch HbbTV.
Can normal HDTV with DVB-T2 tuner & WIFI/LAN connection benefit from this HbbTV without the need of hybrid STB?
Unfortunately no, they're pretty clear about that. Also there will be some form of conditional access system (ie smartcard or simcard) for their STB.

This post has been edited by MK84: Jun 2 2015, 08:55 PM
ameri
post Jun 2 2015, 10:31 PM

484 posts

The conditional access system will be use only for those who wants extra service ie on demand, catch up service?
Those who just wants to watch the FTA channel, is DVB-T2 tuner TV do the works?
Is this kind of model they implementing?
MK84
post Jun 2 2015, 10:42 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(ameri @ Jun 2 2015, 10:31 PM)
The conditional access system will be use only for those who wants extra service ie on demand, catch up service?
Those who just wants to watch the FTA channel, is DVB-T2 tuner TV do the works?
Is this kind of model they implementing?
Supposedly. They were cagey when explaining it during the seminar, the way they explain it, it sounds like you MUST use their STB and MUST have their smartcard/simcard. CA also used for encrypted pay-TV channels. From what I hear otherwise, and from the trials going on in the east coast at the moment, you can receive FTA channels with any DVB-T2 tuner.
ameri
post Jun 3 2015, 01:01 PM

484 posts

Wow.
At this point seems like nothing is certain yet, no?
Yup, as for now FTA channels from the trial can be received by DVB-T2 tuner.
I'm afraid when the digital broadcasting fully commence, they'll make the smartcard system compulsary.
Qash-M
post Jun 8 2015, 02:26 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

For sale (to those who have the dvb-t2 box, but have no antenna).
smileguy
post Jun 8 2015, 02:56 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 8 2015, 02:26 PM)

For sale (to those who have the dvb-t2 box, but have no antenna).
Is that an indoor aerial? I wonder if can be used in Johor hmm.gif
Qash-M
post Jun 8 2015, 05:28 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jun 8 2015, 02:56 PM)
Is that an indoor aerial? I wonder if can be used in Johor hmm.gif
Sure can. Also, i think it can be use on some DVB-T2 box that has this function...

377 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:41 PM